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General information

Who Must File Form CT-185

Form CT185 must be filed by farmers, fruit growers and similar
agricuttural corporations organized and operated cn a
cooperative basis as described in Article 6 of the Cooperative
Corporation Law of the State of New York. Receivers, liquidators,
referees, trustees, assignees, and other fiduciaries, appointed by
any court, who conduct the business of such a corporation must
also file this form. Section 185 imposes a franchise tax on the
net value of issued capital stock employed in New York State.
The net value of issued capital stock may be allocated in and
out of New York, based on the gross assets employed in

New York (see Schedule E).

Tax Rate

You must pay the highest tax computed by one of the following
three methods:

— allocated value of issued capital stock multiplied by tax
rate of .001;

— allocated value of issued capital stock multiplied by a rate
based con dividends equal to or in excess of 6%; or

— minimum tax of $10.

If a corporation has more than one kind of stock, a combination
of tax on capitat stock using the tax rate of 1 mill and the
dividend rate, as computed in Schedule D, is possible.

Tax on Gains Derived from Certain Real Property
Transfers - Article 31-B, Section 1449-a

A corporation with an interest in real property must keep a
record of the transfer of its stock, report annually every transfer
of a controlling interest in its stock, and provide any other
information that may be required to enforce this article.

Controlling interest of a corporation is either 50% or more of the
total combined voting power of all classes of stock or 50% or
more of the capital, profits or beneficial interest in the voting
stock.

Answer both questions on page 1 of Form CT1-185. If the answer
to both questions is Yes, attach the following information:

— name, address and identification number of the new
controlling stockholder {use the social security number of
an individual or the federal employer identification number
of a corporation);

— date the transfer was made; and
— location of the real property.

Foreign Corporations -
Maintenance Fee and License Fee

Foreign corporations authorized to do busjness in New York
must pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. This fee may be
applied against the taxes due under Article 9. If the total tax
payable with your return for December 31, 1994, is $300 or
more, you have satisfied the requirement to pay a maintenance
fee. If the total tax payable is less than $300, add the difference
to produce a total tax and fee of $300. Foreign corporations must
also file Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License Fee Report.

When and Where to File

File your 1984 Form CT-185 on or befere March 15, 1995. Attach
a copy of your federal return.

Mail to: NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, P O Box 1909,
Albany NY 12201-1908.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Return

i you need more time to file your return, file Form CT-5.9,
Application for Three-Month Extension of Time to File an Article
9 Tax Return, on or before March 15, 1995. An extension of time
granted by the IRS to file a federal return does not extend the
due date for filing Form CT-185.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business name,
identification number, mailing address, business address,
telephone number or ownerfofficer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. If you don’t have a form, cail foll free (from
New York State only) 1 B0OO 462-8100. From areas outside

New York State, cali (518) 438-1073 to request one.

Specific Instructions

Line 1 - Enter the highest value of capital. To determine this
amount subtract line 18, column B, from line 17, column B, or
compute the average in Schedule C. The amount cannct be less
than $5 per share of issued capital stock.

Line 2 - Allocation computation - multiply the amount on line 1
by the allocation percentagefissuer's allocation percentage from
line 41.

Line 3 - Multiply line 2 by the tax rate (.001).
Line 4 - Enter the tax based on dividend rate from line 56.

Line 6 - Enter the amount from line 3, 4 or 5, whichever is
largest. If you are an authorized foreign corporation, see
maintenance fee information above.

Line 7 - You may take credit against your franchise tax for
certain “special additional mortgage recording tax” you paid.
This credit may not reduce your tax below the minimum tax, or if
you are an authorized foreign corporation, it may not reduce the
tax below the $300 maintenance fee. Any unused credit may be
carried forward. Aitach Form CT-43, Claim for Special Additional
Mortgage Recording Tax Cradit.

Line 9 - Enter total of all payments, including any overpayment
carried over from a preceding period.

Line 11 - if you do not pay the tax by March 15, 1995, you must
pay interest on the amount of underpayment from the due date
to the date paid. You may call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

for the current rate. To have the interest computed for you, cali

toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5828). From areas outside New York State, call

(518) 438-8581.

Line 12 - Additionai charges for late filing are computed on the
amount of tax less any payment made on or before the due date.
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a. If you do not file a return when due or if the application for
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to
25% (section 1085{a}(1){(A)).

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date,
the addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100
or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085(a){1}(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax
20 per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in b
above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing or
payment or both (section 1085).

Schedules A and B

Complete these schedules using the information that appears on
the balance sheet of your federal return. Attach a copy of your
federal return.

Schedule D

The dividend rate on par value capital stock is computed by
using the par value and should not include any paid-in capital.

The dividend rate on stock without nominal or par value is
computed by dividing the dividend paid by the amount paid for
the stock (stated value of no par stock) and paid-in capiial on the
stock. It does not include capital arising from appreciation of
assets, amounts not contributed by the stockholder gr retained
earnings.

Schedule E - Allocation Percentage/lssuer’s
Allocation Percentage

Your issuer's allocation percentage is used by corporate
shareholders to compute their corporate franchise tax. It
represents the amount of your issued capital stock employed
within New York State compared to the total amount of issued
capital stock employed everywhere. This percentage is also used
to compute the amount you enter on line 2.

Recent amendments to the Tax Law require most corporations
doing business in New York State to provide the information
needed to compute their issuer’s allocation percentage. Section
1085(0) of the Tax Law provides for a penalty of $500 for failure
to provide information needed to compute your issuer’s allocation
percentage.

If you have assets outside New York State, complete Schedule E
using the amounts shown on the balance sheet of your federal
return. If all of your assets are located in New York State, enter
100% on line 41.

Line 35 - |f the assets of any company whose stock is owned by
this corporation are employed both in and outside New York, you
may allocate your holding on the hasis of the percentage of
employment by the issuer of the stock.

Line 36 - Bonds, loans and other securities are considered
located where held.

+

Line 41 - Divide line 40, column A, by line 40, column B. Use
this amount to compute your New York base on line 2.

Schedule F

If you paid dividends of 6% or"more on all classes of issued
capital stock, do not complete lines 51 through 55.

If you did not pay dividends of 6% or more on all classes of
stock, you must compute a tax on the dividends based on the
value of the stock on which dividends of 6% or more were paid
plus a tax at the “Capital Stock™ rate on the remaining value of
all capital stock. The remaining value of all capital stock
depends on which class of capital stock.the dividend was paid
on. If the dividend was paid on preferred stock, the remaining
value of all capital stock is retained earnings plus common
stock. If the dividend was paid on common stock, the remaining
value of capital stock is preferred stock. Retained earnings are
normally associated with common stock. The foliowing examples
show how the dividend rates and remaining value of capital
stock are computed.

Example 1 — Dividend paid on preferred stock

Par value, common stock $10,000
Par value, preferred stock 50,000
Retained earnings 80,000
Dividends paid con preferred stock ) . - 3,000
Dividends rate ($3,000 + $50,000) 6%
6 x 00025 (Tax Rate) 0015
Tax ($50,000 x .0015) 75
Remaining value of issued capital stock (common

stock plus retained earnings $90,000 x .001) : 90

Total tax $ 165

Exampie 2 — Dividend paid on common stock

Par value, common stock $10,000
Par value, preferred stock 50,000
Retained earnings 80,000
Dividends paid on common stock 3,000
Dividends rate ($3,000 +— $10,000) 30%
30 x 00025 (Tax Rate) 0075
Tax ($10,000 x .0075) 75
Remaining value of issued capital stock

{preferred stock only, $50,000 x .001) 50

Total tax $ 125

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (from the
continentat U.S. only} 1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll free {from New
York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday
through Friday.

Persong with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and
other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommaodaiions for persons with disabilities, please
call the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hofiline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - if you have a hearing or
speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications device for the
deaf (TDD}, you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by
calling our toll-free hotline 1 800 634-2110 (within New York State). Hours of
operaticn are frem 9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do
not own a TDD, check with independent living centers aor community action
programs to find out where machines are available for public use.

If you need lo write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227




