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General Information

Who Must File

All general business corporations other than
New York S corporations must file franchise tax
returns on either Form CT-3 or Form CT-4. This
includes both corporations organized under
New York State law and foreign corporations
(those organized under the laws of any other
state or country) that do business, empioy
capital, own or lease property or maintain an
office in New York State. A general business
corporation that has elected to be treated as an
S corporation (by filing Form CT-6) must file
either Form CT-3-S or Form CT-4-S, New York S
Corporation Franchise Tax Return, instead of
Form CT-3 or Form CT-4.

The definition of corporation, as used in Article
9-A of the Tax Law and in these instructions,
has been expanded to include associations and
publicly traded partnerships which are taxed as
corporations under the Internal Revenue Code.
See TSB-M-89(12)C for further information.

A general business corporation includes all
corporations except:

— Banking corporations (Article 32)
— Insurance corporations (Article 33)

— Transportation and transmission
corporations (Article 9)

— Utility companies (Article 9)

— Farmers and agricultural cooperatives
(Article 9)

— Nonstock, not-for-profit corporations (these
may be subject to an unrelated business
income tax) (Article 13)

Exception: Foreign taxicab and foreign bus
corporations that annually conduct fewer than
12 trips into New York State should file Form
CT-184-R. However, corporations that do not pay
the required tax and file Form CT-184-R on time
will then be taxable under Article 9-A for that
tax year and must file Form CT-3 and pay the
appropriate taxes, interest and penalties. See
Form CT-184-R and TSB-M-88(8)C for more
information.

Which Form to File

Form CT-4, General Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Return, is a simplified general
business franchise tax return that will meet the
filing needs of most small businesses.

You may use Form CT-4 (short form) if you

meet all of the following:

® You are a qualified small business
taxpayer. A corporation qualifies as a small
business taxpayer if:

its entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000; and

The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year; and

The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return;

* Your total franchise tax and state tax
surcharge is $1,000 or less;

= You have no federal adjustment or tax
preference items other than the depreciation
adjustment used to compute the minimum
taxable income base.

You must use Form CT-3 if your total franchise
tax and state tax surcharge is greater than
$1,000 or you do not meet all of the above
conditions as a small business taxpayer. Even
if you do meet the above qualifications, you
must file Form CT-3 if any of the following
conditions exist:

¢ You claim a deduction for a net operating
loss, capital loss or optional depreciation.

e You claim any tax credits. Tax credits
include eligible business facility tax credit,
investment tax credit, employment incentive
tax credit, special additional mortgage
recording tax credit, research and
development tax credit carryover, economic
development zone credits, and minimum tax
credit.

* You are a real estate investment trust, a
taxable domestic international sales
corporation (DISC) or a stockholder in a
DISC (see Special Instructions for DISCS).

* You have business income or capital
attributable to sources outside New York
State, and you want to allocate this income
or capital.

* You have investment income and capital.

* You have a subsidiary (another corporation
you control because you own more than
half of its voting stock).

* You were involved in a merger, acquisition
or consolidation in the current year.

* You are a new small business corporation
(first or second year) and you want to claim
an exemption from the capital base tax.
(See the instructions for Form CT-3, line 69.)

* You have any adjustments (other than for
depreciation) or tax preference items used
to compute the minimum taxabie income
base.

Other Forms You May Have to File

Form CT-3M/4M, General Business
Corporation MTA Surcharge Return, must be
filed by any corporation taxable under Article
9-A that does business, employs capital, owns
or leases property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District.

Form CT-5, Application for Six-Month
Extension of Time to File a Franchise or
Business Tax Return, is an application for a
six-month extension of time to file a tax return
for general business corporations. File it on or
before the due date of the return. 285

Form CT-5.1, Application for Additional
Extension of Time to File a Franchise or
Business Tax Return, is a request for
additional time to file a tax return. File it on or
before the expiration date of the original
extension.

Form CT-5.3, Application for Six-Month
Extension of Time to File a Combined
Franchise Tax Return, must be used by a
combined group to request a six-month
extension of time to file a combined group tax
return and to provide detailed information about
the amounts and kinds of payments made by
the members of the group.

Form CT-5.4, Application for Six-Month
Extension of Time to File a New York S
Corporation Franchise Tax Return, is an
application for a six-month extension of time to
file a New York S Corporation Franchise Tax
Return. File it on or before the due date of the
return with a payment of at least 90% of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge.

Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule, must be used to compute the
allowable New York State depreciation
deduction if you claim the federal Accelerated
Cost Recovery System (ACRS) depreciation
and Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery
System (MACRS) deduction for certain property
placed in service after December 31, 1980.

This form also contains schedules for
determining a New York State gain or loss on
the disposition of ACRS or MACRS property.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax by a Corporation, will help you determine
if you have underpaid an estimated tax
installment and, if so, compute the penalty due.

Form CT-244, (Formerly CT-3, Schedule F)
Acquisition, Merger and Consolidation
Information Report, must be filed by any
corporation taxable under Article 9-A that is
involved in an acquisition, merger or
consolidation.

Form CT-3-A, General Business Corporation
Combined Franchise Tax Return should only
be filed by corporations that have been granied
permission or are required by the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance to file a
combined return.

Request for permission to file a combined
return must be submitted no later than 30 days
following the end of the tax year.

Form CT-3-B, Tax Exempt Domestic
International Sales Corporation (DISC)
Information Return, must be filed by domestic
international sales corporations within 82
months after the end of the tax year. See
Special Instructions for DISCS (page 4 of these
instructions).

Form CT-3-S or CT-4-S, New York S
Corporation Franchise Tax Return, must be
filed by a business corporation whose
shareholders have made a valid election (by
filing Form CT-6) to be treated as a New York S
corporation.
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Form C1-33-D, Tax on Premiums Paid or
Payable to an Unauthorized Insurer, must be
filed if you have purchased or renewed a
taxable insurance contract from an insurer not
authorized to transact business in New York
State. This return must be filed within 60 days
following the end of the calendar quarter in
which the contract was purchased or renewed.

Form CT-186-A, Utility Services Tax Return —
Gross Operating Income, must be filed by a
corporation not supervised by the New York
State Department of Public Service who
engages in the sale or furnishing of gas,
electricity, steam, water, refrigeration, telephony
or telegraphy.

Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License
Fee Report, must be filed by all corporations
organized under the laws of any other state or
country which do business in New York State.
This report must be filed when you file your
first franchise tax return, or if the capital stock
employed in New York State has increased
since the last license fee report was filed.

Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations,
must be filed by any corporation whose New
York State tax and state tax surcharge liability
can reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000.
See Estimated Tax and Tax Surcharge.

Form CT-3360, Federal Changes to Corporate
Taxable Income, must be used to report any
correction made by the Internal Revenue
Service in taxable income previously reported
for any year, including changes based on the
renegotiation of a government contract.

Unrequested Refunds to be
Credited Forward

If you overpay your tax, you will not
automatically receive a refund. Instead, we will
credit your overpayment to the following tax
year unless you request a refund. We will notify
you that the overpayment has been credited.
You may then claim a refund of the
overpayment before the original due date of the
following year’s return.

Forms for Requesting Refunds

Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of
Corporation Franchise Tax Paid, is used to
request a refund of other than an overpayment.
To speed up processing of the claim, mail it
separately from your annual returns. Claims for
refund based on a net operating loss carryback
must be filed within three years of the
extended due date of the return for the loss
year or within 27 months from the date of the
federal credit or refund. A refund based on a
federal change must be filed within two years
from the date the federal change was required
to be reported. All other claims for refunds
must be received within three years from the
date the return was filed, or two years from the
date the tax was paid, whichever is later.

Request for refunds due to overpayment of tax
must be made on Form CT-3, CT-3-A, or CT-4.

Form CT-9, Claim for Tentative Refund from
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, should be
used by all corporations requesting refunds, not
exceeding $1,188, based on net operating loss
carrybacks.

Returns that are the basis for these refunds will
be subject to review after the refunds have
been processed. The claim must be filed within
90 days after the receipt of the federal refund.

Federal S corporations must file a claim within
15 months from the end of the loss year. For full
description of the limitation and requirements,
see Form CT-9-1, Instructions for Form CT-9.

When and Where to File

File your return within 2%2 months after the end
of your reporting period. If you are reporting for
the 1993 calendar year, file your return on or
before March 15, 1994.

Mail returns to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

P O BOX 1909

ALBANY NY 12201-1909

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a
six-month extension of time by filing Form CT-5.

You may be subject to other
business taxes such as:

Sales and Use Tax — If you sell goods or
services delivered in New York State you may
have to collect and remit the New York State
sales and use tax.

Employer’s Withholding Tax — If you hire
anyone to help operate your business in New
York State you must withhold and remit New
York State (and New York City and Yonkers, if
applicable) income taxes from the wages of
your employees.

Motor Fue! Taxes — Motor fuel distributors
and diesel motor fuel distributors or users in
New York State must register with the Tax
Department and file the appropriate tax returns.

Highway Use Taxes — Any motor vehicle
having a maximum gross weight, alone or in
combination with another motor vehicle, of
more than 18,000 lbs. is subject to this tax.

Independently Procured Insurance Tax — If
you purchase or renew a taxable insurance
contract from an insurer not authorized to
transact business in New York State under a
Certificate of Authority from the Superintendent
of Insurance, you will be liable for a tax of
36% of the premium. (See Form CT-33-D and
TSB-M-90(9)C for more information.)

Tax on Importers of Natural Gas — Article 9,
section 189, imposes a tax on gas importers
who import or cause to be imported, gas for
their own use The tax is computed at the rate
of 414% of the consideration given for the gas.
(See Form CT-189, Form CT-189-WR and
TSB-M-91(5)C for more information.)

Tax on Utility Services (Article 9, section
186-a) — A corporation not supervised by the
New York State Department of Public Service
who engages in the sale or furnishing of gas
electricity, steam, water, refrigeration, telephony
or telegraphy must pay a tax of 3.5% of its
gross operating income.

For more information, contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau. See the last page of these
instructions for address and telephone
numbers.

Tax Rates
The current tax rates are:
Entire net income base. ............. 09

Entire net income base for qualified
small business taxpayers

Entire net income base of

$200,000 or less. . 286 ...... 08

Entire net income base of
more than $200,000 but
not more than $290,000
1. $16,000 plus
2. 9% of amount over
$200,000 but not over
$290,000 plus
3. an additional 5% of amount
over $250,000 but not
over $290,000

Capitalbase ......................
Minimum taxable income base ....... 05

The fixed dollar
minimum tax is:

For a corporation
with a gross payroll of:

— $6,250000 or more . .......... $1,500
— Less than $6,250,000

but more than $1,000,000 . ... .. $425
— $1,000000 or less ............ $325
— However, if the corporation’s

gross payroll, total receipts and

average value of gross assets

are each $1,000 or less ....... $800
Subsidiary capital base .......... 0009
Qualified cooperative housing

capital base .................. 0004

State Tax Surcharge
(for periods ending after
June 30, 1990, and before
July 1,1994) ................... 15% (.15)

(for periods ending after
June 30, 1994, and before
July 1,1995) ... ... 10% (.10)

Short periods - Fixed dollar minimum tax —

Gross Payroll for Short Periods — Annualize
gross payroll for tax periods of less than 12
months by dividing the amount of gross
payroll by the number of months in the
short period and multiplying the result by 12.

The fixed dollar minimum tax and
maintenance fee may be reduced for short
periods:

Period Reduction
¢ A period of not more than
6émonths .................. 50%
* A period of more than
6 months but not more
than9 months . ............. 25%
* A period of over 9 months .... None

How to Avoid an Erroneous Assessment
Based on Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax
Rates

The fixed dollar minimum tax rate has four
levels. The amount of the tax ranges from $325
to $1,500.

Your fixed dollar minimum tax rate is
determined by the corporation’s gross payroll,
total receipts and average value of gross
assets.

To avoid an erroneous assessment or a delay
in your refund, you must enter an amount in
each of the three boxes provided on Form CT-3,
line 70, or Form CT-4, line 22. If you do not
have assets, payroll or receipts, enter “0” in
the appropriate boxes.

Failure to make an entry in each box will result
in an assessment of tax or reduction of your
refund.



Cooperative Housing
Corporations

A qualified cooperative housing corporation is
entitled to use a reduced tax rate of .0004
when computing its tax using the capital base.

A corporation that has only one class of stock
which entitles the shareholder to live in a house
or an apartment in a building owned or leased
by the corporation, may be a cooperative
housing corporation. For a complete definition,
see IRC section 216 or 20 NYCRR 3-1.2.

Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax (MTA Surcharge)

Any corporation taxable under Article 9-A
(except a New York S corporation) that does
business, employs capital, owns or leases
property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
(MCTD) must file Form CT-3M/4M and pay a
metropolitan transportation business tax
surcharge on business done in the
Metropolitan Transportation Authority region
(MTA surcharge). The MCTD includes the
counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Foreign Corporations —
Annual Maintenance Fee and
License Fee

A corporation organized outside of New York
State that is authorized to do business in New
York must pay an annual maintenance fee of
$300. This fee may be claimed as a credit
against tax due under Article 9-A. Full payment
of the franchise tax and state tax surcharge
due will satisfy the maintenance fee
requirement. It is not necessary to file a
separate return. If you claim nontaxability in
New York State because you did not employ
capital, maintain an office or otherwise do
business in New York State, you must file Form
CT-245 and pay the maintenance fee.

A foreign corporation must also pay a license
fee, based on its issued capital stock. For
details see Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation
License Fee Report.

Estimated Tax,
State Tax Surcharge and
MTA Surcharge

If your New York State franchise tax and State
tax surcharge liability can reasonably be
expected to exceed $1,000, you must file a
declaration of estimated tax.

If this expectation arises before the 1st day of
the 6th month of your tax year, file this
declaration on or before the 15th day of the 6th
month of the fiscal or calendar year. Include
with it a payment of V3 of the estimated tax
liability. If you made an initial payment with the
preceding year’s tax return or applied an
overpayment of the tax from that return, deduct
this amount from the estimated tax before
computing the Y5 payment. Additional 5
payments are due on the 15th day of the 9th
and 12th months. If you report for the calendar
year, file a declaration of estimated tax on
June 15, September 15 and December 15.

If the expectation of a tax liability of more than
$1,000 arises on or after the first day of the 6th
month of your tax year, see 20 NYCRR 7-2.3.

A declaration of estimated tax may be amended.

A penalty will be imposed if you fail to file a
declaration of estimated tax or fail to pay all or
any part of an installment payment of estimated
tax. (See Interest and Penalties, below.)

Penalty will not be due on an instaliment if the
total estimated franchise tax and tax surcharge
payments made on or before an installment
due date equals or exceeds the amount which
would have been required to be paid on or
before that date if the amount of the estimated
tax and tax surcharge were the smallest of:

For large corporations — a corporation that

had (or whose predecessor had) allocated

entire net income of at least one million dollars

for any of the three tax years immediately

preceding the tax year involved:

1. Ninety-seven percent (97%) of the current
year’s franchise tax and tax surcharge.

2. Ninety-seven percent (97%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year
computed on an annualized basis.

3. Ninety-seven percent (97%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year
computed on a recurring seasonal income
basis.

For all other corporations:

1. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the current
year’s franchise tax and tax surcharge
shown.

2. One hundred percent (100%) of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge for the
preceding tax year (if it was for a period of
12 months).

3. A franchise tax and tax surcharge computed
using current tax rates applied to last year’s
facts and laws.

4. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year
computed on an annualized basis*

5. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year
computed on a recurring seasonal income
basis.*

* To avoid underpayment penalties, you
must make up a reduction in an estimated
franchise tax and tax surcharge payment
resulting from using annualized income or
seasonal income (exception 4 or 5) by
increasing the amount of the next
installment determined under exceptions 1,
2 or 3 by the amount of such reduction.

The above penalty provisions also apply if you
fail to file a declaration of estimated MTA
surcharge or fail to pay all or any part of an
installment payment of MTA surcharge.

Interest and Penalties

You must pay the entire tax and tax surcharge
due on or before the original due date of the
return to avoid a late payment charge. An
extension of time for filing the tax return does
not extend the due date for payment of tax.

Late Payment - Interest

If you do not pay the tax and tax surcharge
due on or before the due date, you must pay
interest on the amount of the underpayment
from the due date of the return to the date the
tax and tax surcharges are paid. Exclude from
the interest computation any amount shown on
line 80a or 80b, first instaliment of estimated
tax for next period. Interest is always due,
without any exceptions, on any underpayment

of tax. 287
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Interest is compounded daily. You may call the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current
interest rate or to have the interest computed
for you; call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Late Filing and Late Payment -
Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing and late
payment are computed on the amount of tax
and tax surcharge less any payment made on
or before the due date. Exclude from the
penalty computation any amount shown on line
80a or 80b, first instaliment of estimated tax for
next period.

a. If you do not file a return when due or if the
application for extension is invalid, add to
the tax 5% per month, up to a total of 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of
the due date, the addition to tax cannot be
less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of
the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085 (a)(1)(B)).

¢. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return,
add to the tax ¥2% per month, up to a total
of 25% (section 1085 (a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and
¢ may not exceed 5% for any one month
except as provided for in b (section 1085 (a)).

If you think you are not liable for these
additional charges, attach a statement to your
return explaining the delay in filing, payment,
or both (section 1085).

Penalty for Understating Tax

If the tax you report is understated by 10% or
$5,000, whichever is greater, you will have to
pay a penalty of 10% of the amount of
understated tax. You can reduce the amount on
which you pay penalty by subtracting any item
for which (1) there is or was substantial
authority for the way you treated it, or (2) there
is adequate disclosure on the return or in an
attached statement (see Article 27,

section 1085(k)).

Penalty for Underpaying
Estimated Tax

If you can reasonably expect your New York
State franchise tax and tax surcharge liability to
exceed $1,000, you must file a declaration of
estimated tax, Form CT-400. A penality will be
imposed if you fail to file a declaration of
estimated tax or fail to pay the entire installment
payment of estimated tax due. For complete
details see Estimated Tax, State Tax Surcharge
and MTA Surcharge on this page and

Form CT1-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
a Corporation.

Penalty for Failure to Provide
Information Relating to Interest Paid
to Shareholders

A penalty of $500 will be imposed if you fail to
provide information about interest payments
made to shareholders that were deducted in
computing entire net income. See instructions
for line 104 (Article 27, section 1085(n)).

Penalty for Failure to Provide
Information Relating to Your
Issuer’s Allocation Percentage

A penalty of $500 can be imposed if you fail to
provide information needed to compute your

issuer’s allocation percentage. See instructions
for Form CT-3, line 40.

k3
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Civil and Criminal Penalties

The Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement Act
imposes strong civil and criminal penalties for
negligence or fraud. For more information
about this act contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau (address and telephone numbers on
the last page of these instructions).

Net Operating Losses

You must determine a New York State net
operating loss deduction as if you had elected
under IRC section 172 to relinquish the
carryback provisions, except for the first
$10,000, which may be carried back to the
three preceding years (section 208.9(f)).

In addition, special net operating loss
provisions apply to aviation corporations and
corporations involved with mergers, acquisitions
or consolidations.

These rules apply:

¢ |IRC section 172 federal losses must be
adjusted in accordance with Article 9-A,
section 208.9(a) and (b).

* You may carry net operating losses forward
15 years.

¢ |f you have elected to carry back a net
operating loss for federal tax, you may carry
back only the first $10,000 of a net operating
loss to the three preceding years.

¢ Any portion of the $10,000 NOL not used as
a carryback may be carried forward.

* If you have elected for federal tax purposes
to relinquish the three-year carryback of a
net operating loss, you may not carry back
a net operating loss for state tax purposes,
and you must submit a copy of your federal
election.

* A New York C corporation is not allowed a
deduction for a net operating loss sustained
during a New York S year.

¢ Make the net operating loss carryforward on
Form CT-3, line 13.

e Attach a separate sheet to Form CT-3,
providing details of both the federal and
New York State net operating losses
claimed.

* A real estate investment trust will be allowed
a deduction for net operating losses.

* These rules also apply to a federal S
corporation not electing New York S
corporation treatment and corporations
included in a group reporting on a
consolidated basis for federal tax. These
corporations must carry losses to the same
year and in the same manner as provided
in these instructions with one exception:
Instead of a copy of the federal election to
relinquish the three-year carryback of a net
operating loss, a request in writing to
relinquish the carryback must be filed on or
before the due date (or extended due date)
of the return for the loss year. Any
corporation that does not make a timely
election with the Tax Department must carry
the first $10,000 of the net operating loss
back before the loss can be carried forward.

Aviation Corporations -
Net Operating Losses

Corporations principally engaged in aviation are
taxable under Article 9-A and are permitted to
claim a net operating loss deduction in the
same manner as other Article 8-A corporations.
Air freight forwarders acting as principal and

like indirect carriers are limited to net operating
losses sustained in years that they were
taxable under Article 9-A.

Aviation corporations (other than air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers) will be allowed to carry forward any
net operating losses sustained during the
federal tax periods covering the years 1985
through 1988 if they were taxable under

Article 9, sections 183 and 184 during those
periods.

The New York State net operating loss must be
computed as if the corporation had filed Form
CT-3 for the tax years 1985 through 1988 and
treated as if the loss had been sustained in the
tax year immediately preceding its first Article
9-A tax year. The 1985-1988 net operating loss
must be carried forward.

Merger, Acquisition and
Consolidation - Net Operating
Losses

In general, in a highly leveraged transaction,
any net operating loss of a target corporation,
from prior years or a loss sustained in the year
of merger, acquisition or consolidation, cannot
be used by the acquiring corporation. For
complete details see Form CT-244-1, Instructions
for Form CT-244, and TSB-M-89(17)C.

Special Instructions for DISCs

A domestic international sales corporation
(DISC) is a corporation that meets the
requirements of section 992(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code. Investments in the stock of a
DISC or debts of a DISC must be treated as
business capital. Stockholders of DISCs must
report all income from DISCs included in
federal taxable income as business income and
cannot make any adjustments to federal taxable
income on lines 10 and 11 of Form CT-3, unless
actual dividend distributions were paid out of
other earnings and profits as provided in
section 996 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Tax-Exempt DISCs

A DISC is exempt from tax under Article 9-A of
the Tax Law if, during the year, it received more
than 5 percent of its gross receipts from the
sale or rental of property obtained from
stockholders, or received more than 5 percent
of its total receipts, other than sales or rentals,
from its stockholders. it must file an information
return on Form CT-3-B, within 8%2 months after
the end of the return year. Stockholders of tax-
exempt DISCs must file an individual return on
Form CT-3 and a consolidated return with the
DISC on Form CT-3-C.

Taxable DISCs

A DISC not meeting the 5% test must file Form
CT-3 within 82 months after the end of the
return year. It is subject to the tax on allocated
capital or the fixed dollar minimum, whichever
is higher, plus a tax on subsidiary capital.

Do not complete lines 1 through 25 or lines 42
through 68 of Form CT-3. Enter the initials DISC
after the name of the corporation in the
address section of the return.

Combined Returns

A combined return (Form CT-3-A) may be
required by the tax commissioner for a
taxpayer and a taxable DISC if the taxpayer
beneficially owns substantially all of the DISC’s
issued and outstanding capital stock. A

288

corporation which owns all of the capital stock
of a taxable DISC will be allowed, at its
election, to file combined returns with the
DISC. Any other corporation may be required
or permitted to file combined returns if the
requirements described in Subpart 6-2 of the
Regulations are met.

New York S Corporation -
Termination Year

if your federal and New York S election
terminates on a day other than the first day of
a tax year, the tax year is divided into two tax
periods (an S short year and a C short year).
You must file Form CT-3-S or Form CT-4-S for
the New York S short year and Form CT-3 or
CT-4 for the New York C short year. See the
instructions for Form CT-3-S and Form CT-4-S
and TSB-M-90(11)C for more information.

The due date of the New York S short year
return (Form CT-3-S and Form CT-4-S) is the
same as the New York C short year even
though they are treated as separate short tax
years.

Change of Business
Information

If there have been any changes in your
business name, identification number, mailing
address, business address, telephone number
or owner/officer information, complete Form
DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If you
don't have a form, call toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside
New York State call (518) 438-1073 to request
one. If your address has changed, check the
box next to the name and address on

Form CT-3.

Final Return

Do not mark a franchise tax return Final unless
a Certificate of Dissolution or Surrender of
Authority is attached and you are going out of
business. If you do not legally dissolve the
corporation and liquidate all assets, you will
continue to be liable for the filing of corporation
franchise tax returns and the payment of tax.
For detailed information about the legal
dissolution and surrender of authority see
Publication 110, Termination of Business
Corporations.

Whole Dollar Amounts

Amounts may be shown in whole dollars rather
than dollars and cents. Round an amount from
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher
dollar and round any amount less than 50
cents to the next lower dollar. if you round to
the nearest dollar, round for all amounts.

Processible Forms

Returns must be prepared in a manner that will
permit their routine handling and processing.
Interest will not be paid on an overpayment of
taxes until the return is in a processible form.

See Publication 76, Specifications for
Reproduction of New York State Corporation
Tax Forms. For information, see back page.

Use of Reproduced Forms

Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they
are of good quality and are signed in the
proper place (see Publication 76).



Computerized Returns

Computer-produced corporation tax returns will
be accepted if you have received permission to
file them, and they meet our specifications.
See Publication 76, Specifications for
Reproduction of New York State Corporation
Tax Forms.

Do You Need a Tax Packet?

If you use a paid preparer, or if you use
computer software to prepare your return, or if
for any other reason you do not need a tax
packet mailed to you for next year’s taxes,
please check the box above the certification
and signature. When you check the box, we
will send you a mailing label that you or
whoever prepares your return should use on
your 1994 return. By checking this box, you will
help us reduce printing and mailing costs.

Signature

The return must be certified by the president,
vice president, treasurer, assistant treasurer,
chief accounting officer, or other officer
authorized by the taxpayer.

The return of an association, publicly traded
partnership or business conducted by a trustee
or trustees must be signed by a person
authorized to act for the association, publicly
traded partnership or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the
return, the signature of the person and the
name, address and identification number of the
firm must be included.

Privacy Notification

Our authority to require and maintain
personal information, including identifying
numbers (social security numbers, etc.), is
found in sections 211, 213-a and 1096,
Article 9-A in general of the Tax Law and
Parts 6 and 7 of the Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Regulations.

We will use this information primarily to
determine New York State corporation tax
liabilities under Article 9-A of the Tax Law.
We will also use it for tax administration and
as necessary under Tax Law section 211
and for any other purpose authorized by
law, and when the taxpayer gives written
authorization to this department for another
department, person, agency or entity to
have access, limited or otherwise, to
information contained in the return.

Your failure to provide the required
information may result in civil penalties
under sections 217 and 1085 of the Tax Law
and Part 9 of the Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Regulations or criminal
penalties under Article 37 of the Tax Law, or
both.

This information will be maintained by the
Director Data Management Services
Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8
Room 905, W A Harriman Campus, Albany
NY 12227, telephone (from New York State
only) 1 800 CALL TAX 1 800 225-5829);
from areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581.

Your Rights Under the Tax Law

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part,
that the Tax Department advise you, in writing
of your rights and obligations during an audit,

when appealing a departmental decision and
when your appeal rights have been exhausted
and you need to understand enforcement
capabilities available to the department to
obtain payment. For a complete copy of the
information contained in all of these statements,
you may requesl Publication 131, Your Rights
and Obligations Under the Tax Law, by calling
toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York,
call (518) 438-1073.

Resolving Tax Problems

The best ways to avoid tax problems are to
keep accurate tax records and to stay on top of
current tax requirements. We have free
publications you can order and toll-free
numbers you can call for answers to your
specific questions.

Most tax problems can be resolved informally.
If you receive a tax deficiency notice that you
think is in error, promptly call the number listed
on the notice.

Only a relative handful of tax problems fail to
be resolved by informal means. However, if you
are issued a Notice of Deficiency or a refund
denial and you feel that the Tax Department
has made a mistake, you still have a number of
options available to you:

e You can request a conciliation conference
through the Bureau of Conciliation and
Mediation Services. The conference is
conducted informally by a conferee who
issues an order that is binding on the Tax
Department but not on you (you can appeal
by filing a petition for a formal hearing, as
explained below). To set up a conference,
get Form CMS-1, Request for Conciliation
Conference, by calling toll free (from New
York State only), 1 800 462-8100 from areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581
or by writing to the Bureau of Conciliation
and Mediation Services, NYS Tax
Department, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

* You can request a small claims hearing
before an impartial presiding officer if the
disputed amount is within certain dollar
limitations set by the Rules of Practice and
Procedure. The presiding officer's decision
is final, but'at any time before the end of
the small claims hearing, you can request a
transfer to a formal hearing before an
administrative law judge. A copy of the
Rules of Practice and Procedure will be
sent to you when you request a petition
form as explained below.

* You can file a petition for a tax appeals
hearing. The hearing is held before an
administrative law judge, and both you and
the Tax Department may appeal the judge’s
decision to the Tax Appeals Tribunal. The
Tax Department cannot seek a review of the
Tribunal’s decision, but you can by
instituting an Article 78 proceeding in the
Appellate Division of the State Supreme
Court. You can get the petition forms by
writing to the Division of Tax Appeals,

500 Federal Street 4th Floor, Troy NY
12180-2893.

Regardless of which appeal option you
exercise, you may appear on your own behalf
or you may have an authorized representative
present your case for review. An authorized
representative must have Power of Attorney
from you in order to appear on your behzlf.
Further, your representative must be in
compliance with the Ethics in Government Act
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which restricts appearances by former
department employees. A summary of these
restrictions is included on the back of form
DTF-14.1, Power of Attorney (Corporate).

Instructions For
Form CT-3

Reporting Period

Your tax year for New York State must be the
same as your federal tax year. If you have a
fiscal period beginning in 1993 and ending in
1994 or a short period ending before
December 31, 1994, use this tax return. If your
tax period is not a calendar year be sure to
enter the correct reporting period at the top of
the front page of your return.

Principal Business Activity

Enter the one activity that accounts for the
largest percentage of total income. State the
broad field of business activity as well as the
specific product or service (e.g., mining copper;
wholesale meat; retail men’s apparel; real
ostate rental). Be sure to enter the business
activity code number from your federal return.

Line A

Payment — After completing your return, enter
the amount of your payment. This must be the
full amount shown on line 87c.

Line 1

Enter your federal taxable income (before net

operating loss and special deductions) as

required to be reported to the US Treasury

Department.

¢ |f you file federal Form 1120, use the
amount from line 28.

¢ |f you file federal Form 1120-A, use the
amount from line 24.

¢ |f you are a member of a federal affiliated
group which files a consolidated return,
complete a pro-forma 1120 reporting the
federal taxable income you would have
been required to report on a separate
federal tax return and attach a copy of the
federal consolidating workpaper indicating
your separate taxable income before any
elimination of intercorporate transactions
included in the federal consolidated return.

¢ If you are an S corporation filing federal
Form 1120S but you have not made an
election to be treated as a New York State S
corporation, you must determine the amount
you would have had to report as federal
taxable income (before net operating loss
and special deductions) were you not a
federal S corporation. Attach a separate
sheet showing how you determined this
amount. In general, the items affected are:

Dividends — Form 1120, line 4

Interest — Form 1120, line 5

Gross rents — Form 1120, line 6

Gross royalties — Form 1120, line 7

Capital gain net income — Form 1120, line 8
Contributions — Form 1120, line 19

¢ If you are exempt from federal income tax
but subject to New York State franchise tax,
you must determine the amount you would
have had to report as federal taxable
income (before net operating loss and
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special deductions) were you not exempt.
Attach a separate sheet showing how the
amount was determined.

Lines 2 through 8 —
Additions

Use lines 2 through 8 to add items that are not
included in federal income but must be
included in New York State entire net income.

Line 2

Enter all interest received or accrued from
federal, state, municipal and other obligations
that was exempt from federal income tax and
is, therefore, not included on line 1. You may
deduct from this amount any expenses
attributable to that interest but denied
deductibility under IRC section 265. Attach a
list of items included on this line.

Line 3

Enter the amount deducted in computing
federal taxable income for interest on
indebtedness paid to a corporate stockholder
owning more than 50% of your issued and
outstanding capital stock. If you do not make
this entry, the indebtedness will not constitute
subsidiary capital in the hands of such
corporate stockholder, and the parent
corporation will not be allowed to exclude the
interest from its entire net income as income
from subsidiary capital.

Lines 4 ‘and 5
Subsidiaries

A subsidiary is a corporation (except a DISC)
that you control because you own more than
half of the voting stock issued and outstanding.

If you have a subsidiary, complete lines 4 and
5. Attach a list of all items included. If you do
not have a subsidiary, enter “0” on lines 4
and 5.

“Subsidiary capital” is the value of certain
assets reduced by attributable liabilities. These
assets include all investments in the stock of
subsidiary corporations plus all debts from
subsidiary corporations (other than accounts
receivable acquired for services rendered or
property sold to customers in the ordinary
course of business) whether or not evidenced
by bonds or other written instruments, on which
interest is not claimed and deducted by the
subsidiary under Article 9-A, 32 or 33 of the
New York State Tax Law.

If you have a subsidiary, you will also have to
complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule D.

Line 4

Enter all amounts, including interest expense,
deducted on your federal return that are
directly attributable to subsidiary capital or to
income, losses or gains from subsidiary capital.
Include capitai losses from sales or exchanges
of subsidiary capital, all other losses, bad debts
and any carrying charges attributable to
subsidiary capital.

Line 5

Enter all amounts, including interest, which are
indirectly attributable to subsidiary capital or to

income, gains or losses from subsidiary capital.
To determine these amounts, use the following

formula:

Average value of assets

Total amount of included in subsidiary capital

deductions subject to
indirect attribution

Average value of all assets

To determine the total amount of deductions
subject to indirect attribution, use the following
procedure:

(a) Subtract from the amount of federal
deductions included on federal Form 1120, line
27, the following:

s Those federal deductions included in the
line 27 amount which are required to be
added back to federal taxable income in
computing entire net income, other than
the amounts on lines 4 and 5, deductions
directly or indirectly attributable to
subsidiary capital; and

e The New York excess depreciation add-back
described in Tax Law, section 208.9(b)(11)
(relating to the disposition of certain
decoupled property) to the extent that such
amount was included in (b) below.

(b) Increase the amount arrived at in (a) by the
fallowing deductions which are subtracted from
federal taxable income in computing entire net
income.

o Interest expense attributable to interest
income not includable in federal taxable
income but required to be included in entire
net income (e.g., municipal bond interest),
to the extent such interest expense is not
deducted for federal purposes (Tax Law,
section 208.9(b)(2); see also Franchise Tax
Regulations, 20 NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(2)).

« in the case of a taxpayer organized outside
the United States, deductions attributable to
income which is not included in federal
taxable income but is required to be
included in entire net income (e.g., foreign
source income) (Tax Law, section 208.9(c);
see also Franchise Tax Regulations, 20
NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(9)).

e The portion of wages and salaries paid or
incurred for the tax year for which a
deduction is not allowed pursuant to section
280C of the Internal Revenue Code (Tax
Law, section 208.9(a)(7)).

e Depreciation deductions permitted under
Article 9-A with respect to decoupled
property pursuant to Tax Law, section
2089(a)(11) and (12).

» Deductions arising from decoupling from
federal safe harbor lease provisions
pursuant to Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(10).

(c) Reduce the amount arrived at in (b) by
these deductions included therein which are
directly attributable to subsidiary, investment or
business capital.

For more information see TSB-M-88(5)C.

To compute the value of an asset, real property
and marketable securities should be valued at
fair market value and all other property should
be included at the value shown on your books
in accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP).

Line 6

Enter the amount deducted on your federal
return for New York taxes imposed under
Article 9, sections 183, 183-a, 184, 184-a, and
Articles 9-A and 32. This includes the state tax
surcharge and the MTA surcharge. However, do
not include New York City taxes. Include the
amount deducted for taxes paid or accrued to
other US states, their political subdivisions and
the District of Columbia if they are on or are
measured by profits or income or include
profits or income as a measure of tax,
including taxes expressly in lieu of the
foregoing.

Line 7

Before making any entry on this line, complete
Form CT-399. Include from Form CT-399, line 4,

the amount of your federal deduction that must
be added back to federal taxable income, or if
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you disposed of property this year use the
amount from line 12, column A. (Enter your
recomputed deduction on line 14.)

Line 8

If you have any of the following other additions
to federal taxable income, enter the total
amount of those additions and attach a list.

A-1 Optional depreciation: If you have claimed
optional depreciation in prior years on certain
property acquired from January 1, 1964,
through December 31, 1968, you must include
on this line any depreciation and any federal
losses on the disposition of that property that
you deducted from gross income when
determining federal taxable income. The
adjustment for New York gain or loss on
qualified New York State property is made on
line 23. See additional instructions for line 15,
S-1. Attach Form CT-324.

A-2 Worldwide net income and losses: A
corporation organized outside the United States
must include on this line all income from
sources outside the United States, less all
allowable deductions attributable to it, that was
not included in federal taxable income.

A-3 If you are claiming a special additional
mortgage recording tax credit (section 210.17),
you must include on this line the amount
claimed as a credit and used as a deduction in
the computation of federal taxable income.

The gain on the sale of real property on which
the special additional mortgage recording tax
credit was claimed must be increased when all
or any part of the credit was also used in the
basis for computing the federal gain.

A-4 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance Exchange,
you must include the following:

® Your distributive or pro rata share of any
item of loss or deduction for federal income
tax or which you are required to take into
account separately for federal income tax.

e Your distributive or pro rata share of the net
loss, if any.

¢ Your distributive or pro rata share of the
allocated entire net income of such
business as determined on Forms CT-33 or
CT-33-X under Article 33 of the Tax Law.

See additional instructions for line 15, S-5.

A-5 If your corporation has a safe harbor lease
you must include:

¢ Any amount you claimed as a deduction in
computing federal taxable income solely as
a result of an election made under section
168(f)(8) of the IRC as it was in effect on
December 31, 1983.

* Any amount you would have been required
to include in the computation of your federal
taxable income if you had not made the
election permitted under section 168(f)(8) of
the IRC as it was in effect on December 31,
1983.

A-6 Any windfall profit tax (imposed by IRC
section 4986(a)) deducted in the computation of
federal taxable income must be included on
this line.

A-7 In general, you must include on this line up
to 5% of certain interest paid by an acquiring
corporation, in the year of an acquisition, and
for the next three years. Use Form CT-244
(formerly, CT-3, Schedule F) to determine if you
are liable for this addition and to compute the
amount to be entered on this line. :



A-8 Combined filers only - When a member of
a selling consolidated group, as defined in IRC
section 338(h)(10), has made an election under
such section, any loss on the sale or exchange
of stock of a target corporation must be
included on this line. (NYCRR 20 3-2.2(c))

Lines 10 through 16 —
Subtractions

Use lines 10 through 16 to subtract items that
are included in federal taxable income but
should not be included in New York entire net
income.

Line 10

If you have a subsidiary, complete Schedule D
of Form CT-3-ATT and enter the amount from
Part I, line 50. This amount must include
capital gains and any other income and gain
from subsidiary capital that was included as
part of federal taxable income. Do not include
foreign dividend gross-up under IRC section 78.
A DISC does not qualify as a subsidiary.

If a subsidiary’s stock or assets (excluding cash
and assets disposed of by the subsidiary in the
regular course of business) are sold within
eighteen months after the date of acquisition,
subsidiary capital treatment will not be allowed
to the parent.

Line 11

Enter 50% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock. Do not include the
following: (1) grossed-up dividends, pursuant to
section 78 of the IRC, (2) dividends from stocks
not meeting the holding period requirement set
forth in section 246(c) of the IRC, (3) subsidiary
dividends treated as investment income
pursuant to Article 9-A, section 208.9(b)(12). For
more information about item 2 dividends, see
TSB-M-89(14)C and for item 3 dividends, see
TSB-M-89(17)C.

Regulated investment companies do not qualify
for this deduction.

Line 12

Enter foreign dividend gross-up pursuant to
section 78 of the IRC (see federal Form 1120,
Schedule C, line 15). Entire net income does
not include any amount treated as dividends
pursuant to section 78 of the IRC (section
208.9(a)(6)).

Line 13

Enter any New York State net operating loss
carried forward from prior years. Attach a
separate sheet with full details of both federal
and New York State net operating losses
claimed. For detailed information on net
operating losses, see page 4 of these
instructions.

Line 14

In place of the disallowed ACRS and MACRS
deduction entered on line 7, you may compute
a depreciation deduction by any method
permitted under IRC section 167 (as it would
have applied to property placed in service on
December 31, 1980). For more information see
Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule. Enter the amount from Form CT-399,
line 5, column I, or, if you have disposed of
property this year, use the amount from Form
CT-399, line 12, column B, and attach the form.

Line 15

If you have any of the following other
subtractions from federal taxable income, enter
the total amount of those subtractions and
attach a list.

S-1 Optional depreciation: If you claimed
optional depreciation in prior years on certain
property acquired from January 1, 1964,
through December 31, 1968, include on this
line any federal gain on the disposition of
qualified property that was included in federal
taxable income. The adjustment for New York
State gain or loss on qualified New York
property is made on line 23. See additional
instructions for line 8, A-1. Attach Form CT-324.

S-2 Receipts from the operation of school
buses: Include all receipts from the
transportation of pupils, teachers and others
acting in a supervisory capacity to and from
school or school activities, less any deductions
allowed in computing federal taxable income
that are directly or indirectly attributable to
those receipts.

S-3 Include any refund or credit of a tax
imposed under sections 183, 183-a, 184 and
184-a of the Tax Law, or Article 9-A or 32 of the
Tax Law for which no deduction was allowed in
computing your entire net income in any prior
year.

$-4 Include the amount of wages disallowed in
the computation of your federal taxable income
because you claimed a federal jobs credit.
Attach a copy of federal Form 5884.

S-5 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance Exchange,
include the following items:

® Any item of income or gain from the
business which you are required to take into
account separately for federal income tax.

® Your distributive or pro rata share of the
income or gain of the business for federal
income tax.

S-6 If your corporation has a safe harbor lease,
include the following items:

® Any amount included in your federal taxable
income solely as a result of an election
made under IRC section 168(f)(8) as it was
in eftect on December 31, 1983.

® Any amount you could have excluded from
federal taxable income if you had not made
the election provided for in IRC section
168(f}(8) as it was in effect on December 31,
1983.

Leases for qualified mass-commuting vehicles
as defined in IRC section 103(b)(9) are exempt
from these adjustments.

§-7 Combined filers only - If you are a member
of a selling consolidated group, as defined in
IRC section 338(h)(10), and have made an
election under the section, you must include
any gain on the sale or exchange of stock of a
target corporation on this line.

(NYCRR 20 3-2.2(c))

Line 17

Subtract line 16 from line 9 to determine your
entire net income. Show a loss by using
parentheses.

Lines 18 through 24 —

Entire Net Income Base

The entire net income base is the portion of
your entire net income allocated to New York
State with certain adjustments. it may consist of
both business and investment income.
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Use Schedule A, Part [ or II, to compute your
business allocation percentage.

Use Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C, Parts I and 11,
to compute your investment income.

Line 18

Complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C, Part I
and enter the amount of your investment
income from linc 46. Do not enter more than
the amount on line 17. If you had no
investment income, enter “‘0” and do not use
Schedule C.

Line 19

Subtract line 18 (investment income) from line
17 (entire net income) to determine your
business income.

Line 21

Multiply line 19 by your business allocation
percentage from Schedule A, line 115 or 135. If
your property, payroll and sales were entirely
within New York State, enter the full amount
from line 19.

Line 23

You may claim a deduction for optional
depreciation on this line. Include any gain or
loss on the disposition of property on which
optional depreciation was claimed. Attach
Form CT-324.

Line 24

If line 23 is a gain, add lines 22 and 23. !f line
23 is a loss, subtract line 23 from line 22. This
is your entire net income base.

Line 25
Entire Net Income Base Tax
Computation

If you do not qualify as a small business
taxpayer, multiply line 24 by 9% (.09). Enter the
amount on line 25 and line 68, then continue
with line 26.

A corporation qualifies as a small business

taxpayer if:

* |ts entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000, and

* The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year, and

e The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return.

Complete lines 106 and 107 if you use the
small business taxpayer tax rate.

Small business taxpayers: If you are a qualified
small business taxpayer and your entire net
income base is $200,000 or less, multiply line
24 by 8% (.08) and enter the amount on line
25 and line 68.

If your entire net income base is more than
$200,000 your effective tax rate will be between
8% and 9%. The closer the entire net income
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base comes to $290,000 the closer the effective
tax rate comes to 9%. Your tax is:

1. $16,000 ($200,000 times 8%) plus

2. 9% of any amount over $200,000 but not
over $290,000 plus

3. 5% of any amount over $250,000 but not
over $290,000

Use the worksheet below to compute your tax.

Worksheet
16,000

Entire net income

from line 24

Subtract 200,000

Multiply balance —

Subtract 50,000

Multiply balance by 05 =
Tax: Add boxes A, B, and C. Enter this

amount on lines 25 and 68.

A

by 09 =

1L

A small business taxpayer’s tax on the entire
net income base will never exceed $26,100.

Lines 26 through 39 —
Computation of Capital Base

To determine the value of your assets for the
capital base computations, you must include
real property and marketable securities at fair
market value. All other property must be
included at the value shown on your books in
accordance with generally accepted accounting
principles. Use lines 26 through 30 to adjust the
value of the assets you reported on your federal
return.

On lines 26 through 31, enter the values at the
beginning of the year in column A and at the
end of the year in column B. Enter the average
value in column C. Average value is generally
computed quarterly if your usual accounting
practice permits it. However, you may use a
more frequent basis such as monthly, weekly or
daily. If your usual accounting practice does not
permit a quarterly or more frequent computation
of the average value of assets, you may use a
semiannual or annual computation if no
distortion of average value results.

Line 26

Enter your total assets from the balance sheet of
your federal tax return.

Line 27

Enter the federal balance sheet value of any
real property and marketable securities included
on line 26.

Line 29

Enter the fair market value of real property and
marketable securities included on line 27. The
fair market value of an asset is the price
{without deduction of an encumbrance whether
or not the taxpayer is personally liable) at which
a willing seller will sell and a willing purchaser
will buy. You can generally find the fair market
value of marketable securities from price quotes
in financial newspapers. To determine the fair
market value of real property, you might
consider recent sales of similar property, and
insurance value where fully insured,
disregarding any co-insurance provisions.

Line 31

Enter the amount of all liabilities, both long and
short_term.

Use the same method of averaging used to
determine average value of assets.

Line 33

Enter subsidiary capital from CT-3-ATT, Schedule
D, Part 1I, line 52. If you have no subsidiary
capital, enter "0

Line 35

Enter total investment capital from CT-3-ATT,
Schedule C, line 35, column E. If you have no
investment capital, enter “0.”

Line 38

Multiply line 36 by the business allocation
percentage from line 115 or 135. This is your
allocated business capital. If your property,
payroll and sales were entirely within New York
State, do not use Schedule A; enter the full
amount from line 36.

Line 40

Your issuer’s allocation percentage represents
the amount of your capital employed within New
York State compared to the total amount of
capital employed everywhere. Every taxpayer
using Form CT-3 should compute an issuer’s
aliocation percentage. If you do not supply the
information needed to compute your issuer’s
allocation percentage you may have to pay a
$500 penalty.

To determine the percentage, add line 39
(capital base) and CT-3-ATT, Schedule D, line 53
(subsidiary capital base), then divide by the
amount on line 32 (total capital). If you have no
subsidiaries, divide the line 39 amount by the
line 32 amount.

Combined filers must compute a combined
issuer’s allocation percentage by using amounts
from Form CT-3-A. The combined issuer’s
allocation percentage should be entered on
Form CT-3-A, Schedule J, line 90.

The issuer’s allocation percentage used to
compute subsidiary capital allocated to New
York and investment capital allocated to New
York is the percentage determined on the New
York State tax return filed by the issuing
corporation for the preceding year. You may
obtain some of these percentages from tax
service publications.

Issuers’ allocation percentages will also be
supplied by this department upon written
request (in duplicate) to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAX ASSISTANCE BUREAU
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From

areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581.

Line 41

Capital base tax computation: Multiply line 39
by the tax rate of .00178. Enter the amount on
line 69, but do not enter more than $350,000. If
you have been taxable in New York State for
less than two years read the instructions for line
69 to see if you qualify as a new small business
corporation.

Cooperative housing corporations multiply line
39 by .0004.

Lines 42 through 67
Computation of Minimum
Taxable Income Base and
Minimum Taxable Income Tax

The calculation of minimum taxable income
requires the addition to entire net income of
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three federal tax preference items, the addition
or subtraction of certain federal adjustments
used to compute federal alternative minimum
taxable income and the addition of the New
York State net operating loss deduction.
Minimum taxable income is allocated by the use
of an alternative business allocation percentage
and investment allocation percentage. See
Article 9-A, sections 2088-B, 210.1(c) and 2103-a
and TSB-M-90(13)C.

The tax law also provides for a minimum tax
credit, available for use against tax computed on
the entire net income base. The credit is
designed to prevent double-counting of income
which might otherwise arise because of timing
items of tax preference and adjustments. See
article 9-A section 210.13 and Form CT-3-ATT
and instructions.

You must determine a minimum taxable income
base and tax, whether or not you file federal
Form 4626.

Lines 43 through 50
Adjustments

Enter “0” on any line that does not apply to
you.

Line 43

Enter an amount determined by recomputing the
adjustment from line 2a of federal Form 4626 to
include only property that is included in the line
2a computation and that is:

a. property subject to Internal Revenue Code
section 280F,

b. property placed in service in New York State
in tax years beginning after 1984, or

¢. property of a taxpayer principally engaged in
the conduct of aviation (other than air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers) which was placed in service
before tax years beginning in 1989.

If your alternative minimum tax depreciation
adjustment on federal Form 4626, line 2a,
includes only property placed in service in New
York State, enter that amount.

If your depreciation adjustment on federal Form
4626, line 2a, includes only property placed in
service outside New York State and does not
include property described in a and ¢ above,
enter zero.

If you were not required to file Form 4626,
compute the figure called for on line 2a
including only property described in a, b and ¢
above. Use Form CT-399, lines 13, 14 and 15 to
compute the depreciation adjustment.

Attach a copy of Form CT-399 or Federal Form
4626 to your return.

Line 44

Enter federal item of adjustment for mining
exploration and development costs as
determined in section 56(a)(2) of the Internal
Revenue Code (from federal Form 4626, line 2c).

Line 45

Enter federal item of adjustment for circulation
expenditures of personal holding companies as
determined under section 56(b)(2) of the
Internal Revenue Code (from federal Form
4626, line 2d).

Line 46

Enter federal item of adjustment for adjusted
basis as determined under section 56(a)(7) of
the Internal Revenue Code (from federal
Form 4626, line 2e), modified as follows.

Do not include any basis adjustment made in
determining the gain or loss from the sale or
exchange of pollution control facilities.



Enter the difference between the gain or loss
reported on your tax return for regular tax
purposes and your recomputed gain or loss for
minimum taxable income purposes. If the latter
is larger than the former, enter the difference
as a negative amount.

Line 47

Enter federal item of adjustment for the
treatment of certain long-term contracts as
determined under section 56(a)(3) of the »
Internal Revenue Code (from federal

Form 4626, line 2f).

Line 48

Enter federal item of adjustment for instaliment
sales of certain property as determined under

section 56(a)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code

(from federal Form 4626, line 2g).

Line 49

Enter federal item of adjustment for merchant
marine capital contruction funds as determined
under section 56(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue
Code (from federal Form 4626, line 2h).

Line 50

Enter federal item of adjustment for
disallowance of passive activity loss as
determined under section 58(b) of the Internal
Revenue Code (from federal Form 4626,

line 2k).

Lines 52 through 54
Tax Preference ltems

Enter “0” on any line that does not apply to
you.

Line 52

Enter federal item of preference for depletion
as determined under section 57(a)(1) of the
Internal Revenue Code (from federal Form
4626, line 3a).

Line 53

Enter federal item of preference for appreciated
property charitable deduction as determined
under section 57(a)(6) of the Internal Revenue
Code (from federal Form 4626, line 3c).

Line 54

Enter federal item of preference for intangible
drilling costs as determined under section
57(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code (from
federal Form 4626, line 3d).

Line 56

Enter net operating loss deducted in the
computation of the entire net income base.
This is the amount on Form CT-3, line 13.
Include only the maximum amount permitted
on Form CT-3, line 13. See page 4 of these
instructions.

Do not add back losses that were generated in
the tax year for which this return will be filed.

Line 59

Enter any amounts from lines 43 through 56
that represent income from investment capital
that was not included on line 42. This would
include (1) the portion of your New York net
operating loss deduction which is attributable
to investment income, and (2) the portion of the
income from installment sales of property
constituting investment capital which is
included in alternative minimum taxable income
by reason of the adjustment for instaliment
sales of certain property.

Line 60

Combine lines 58 and 59 to determine the
alternative investment income available for
allocation. Alternative investment income is the
sum of investment income and that portion of
minimum taxable income that consists of
income from investment capital and which was
not included in entire net income.

Lines 68 through 93 —
Computation of Tax

Line 69

Enter the tax computed on your capital base
from line 41. Do not enter more than $350,000.

A new small business corporation may claim
an exemption from the tax on the capital base
for its first two tax years if it meets the
requirements below. If you are claiming this
exemption, enter “0” on line 69 and check the
box indicating which year the exemption is for.
You will continue to be liable for the highest tax
computed on lines 67, 68, or 70, in addition to
the tax on line 72. Attach a separate sheet
covering all points listed below. If you do not
supply the information, the exemption will be
disallowed.

Do not confuse this definition with the definition
of a small business taxpayer on line 25.

To qualify, the corporation must meet the
federal definition of a small business
corporation (Internal Revenue Code section
1244(c)(3) disregarding the second sentence of
subparagraph (A)). The requirements are:

® The total amount of money and other
property the corporation received for stock,
as a contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, may not be more than $1 million on
the last day of its tax year.

® |t cannot be similar in ownership and
operations to a business now taxable or
previously taxable under New York State Tax
Law, Article 9 (section 183, 184, 185 or 186),
9-A, 22, 32 or 33 (or a business entity
which had income or losses includable
under Article 22 or which would have been
taxable under Article 23 had that article not
been repealed).

® 90% of the corporation’s assets and 80% of
its employees must be located in New York
State.

® |t cannot have as a shareholder a
corporation that owns over 50% of its voting
stock, and that is taxable under Article 9
(section 183, 184, 185 or 186), Article 9-A,
32 or 33, unless the corporation itself
qualifies as a small business corporation.

Line 70
Fixed dollar minimum tax

The fixed dollar minimum tax consists of four
levels and is determined by the corporation’s

gross payroll, total receipts and average value
of gross assets.

For a corporation with a
gross payroll of:

The fixed dollar
minimum tax is:

— $6,250,000 ormore .. ....... .| $1,500
— less than $6,250,000 but

more than $1,000000 .°..... .. $425
— $1,000000 or less . ........... $325

— Gross payroll, total receipts
and average value of gross
assets are each $1,000 or less.. $800

Enter your gross payroll, total receipts and
gross assets in the appropriate boxes.

To avoid an erroneous assessment or a delay
in your refund, you must enter an amount in
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each of the three boxes provided on Form CT-3,
line 70. If you do not have gross assets, gross
payroll or total receipts, enter “0" in the
appropriate boxes.

Gross payroll — The total wages, salaries, and
other personal services compensation of all
employees including general executive officers
wherever located. For a period of less than 12
months, annualize gross payroli by dividing it
by the number of months in the short period
and multiplying the result by 12.

Use the total amounts shown on federal Form
1120 or Form 1120-A, lines 12 and 13a, plus
any wages included in the cost of goods sold,
Form 1120, Schedule A, line 3.

Total receipts — Receipts from the sales of
tangible personal property, services performed,
rentals, royalties, receipts from the sales of
rights for closed circuit and cable television
transmissions and all other business receipts
received in the regular course of business.
These items can be found on federal Form
1120 or 1120-A Income Section, lines 1c, 6, 7
and 10.

Do not include any nonbusiness dividends,
nonbusiness interest, or business or investment
gains or losses.

Average value of gross assets — The average
fair market value of real property and
marketable securities plus all other property at
the value shown on your books, in accordance
with generally accepted accounting principles.
Use the amount from Form CT-3, line 30,
column C.

Line 71

Enter the amount from line 67, 68, 69 or 70,
whichever is largest. Small business taxpayer
exception: if line 69 (tax on capital base) is
larger than line 68 (tax on entire net income
base) only because of the reduced rate
applicable to small business taxpayers, enter
the largest amount from line 67, 68 or 70.

Taxable DISCs must enter the larger of lines 69
or 70. Real estate investment trusts and
regulated investment companies must enter the
amount from line 67, 68 or 70, whichever is
largest.

Line 74

Complete line 94 and enter the total amount of
the tax credit that you are claiming. When

claiming more than one credit you must apply
them against your tax in the order listed below.

Tax credits cannot reduce your tax below the
higher of the fixed dollar minimum tax or the
tax on the minimum taxable income base.
1. Eligible business facility tax credit
(Form CT-45)
2.Economic development zone capital
corporation tax credit (Form DTF-602)
3. Economic development zone wage tax
credit (Form DTF-601)
4.Investment tax credit carryforward -
pre 1987 (Form CT-46)
5. Additional investment tax credit carryforward
- pre 1987 (Form CT-46)

6. Research and development tax credit
carryforward - pre 1987 (Form CT-42)

7. Additional investment tax credit
(Form CT-46)

8. Investment tax credit (1987) (Form CT-46)

9. Employment incentive tax credit (1988)
(Form CT-46)

10. Economic development zone investment tax
credit (Form DTF-603)
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11. Economic development zone employment
incentive tax credit (Form DTF-601)

12. Special additional mortgage recording tax
credit (Form CT-43)

13. Minimum tax credit (CT-3-ATT, Schedule B,
Part II).

Aviation Corporations - A corporation principally
engaged in aviation (including air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers) that qualifies for an investment tax
credit (item #8 above) cannot apply the credit
against its tax due for a tax year ending in
1989. However, the investment tax credit can be
carried over to the next seven tax years.

Mergers, Acquisitions and Consolidations - In
general, the tax credits of a target corporation
cannot be used by the acquiring corporation.
See Form CT-244 (formerly CT-3, Schedule F).

For more information about the order of
application of credits see TSB-M-89(4)C.

Indicate which credits you are claiming on
line 94. Attach copies of all forms and
schedules used.

Line 75

Subtract line 74 from line 73. If your tax credits
are more than the tax shown on line 73, enter
“Q

Line 77

Enter the amount from line 75 or line 76,
whichever is larger. This is your tax after the
deduction of tax credits. Use it to compute the
state tax surcharge.

Line 78

Enter the appropriate state tax surcharge rate
in the box on line 78 and multiply the tax from
line 77 by that rate.

If your reporting period has not changed and
your return covers a full year (calendar year
1993 or fiscal periods ending on or before
June 30, 1994), multiply the tax shown on line
77 by 15% (.15).

If your reporting period ends after June 30,
1994, multiply the tax shown on line 77 by
10% (.10).

Short Period Computation for Periods
Ending On or Before June 30, 1994

If your reporting period has changed, resulting
in a tax period of less than 12 months on any
return filed since July 31, 1990 (including this
return), compute your state tax surcharge as
follows:

First, use your prior year returns to determine
the number of months for which you have been
liable for the 15% tax surcharge. Subtract the
number of months for which you have been
liable from 48 (the total number of months for
which you must pay the 15% tax surcharge).
The result will be the number of months still
subject to the 15% surcharge. Then to
determine the amount of the surcharge, follow
one of the three steps below.

1. If your current return covers a full year and
the number of months still subject to the
15% tax surcharge is 12 or more, multiply
the tax on line 77 by 15% (.15).

2. If your current return is for a period of less
than 12 months and the number of months
still subject to the tax surcharge is more
than the number of months covered by the
return, multiply line 77 by 15% (.15).

3. If the number of months in your current
return is more than the number of months

still subject to the tax surcharge, prorate the
tax. Divide the number of months still subject
to the 15% surcharge by the total number of
months covered by the return. Prorate the tax
by multiplying it by the percentage obtained.
Then to figure your tax surcharge, multiply the
prorated tax by 15% (.15).

Example:
Limitation of 15% tax surcharge . . .. 48 months
Return filed for
8/1/89 through 7/31/90 . . .. ... ... 12 months
8A1/90 through 7/31/91 .. ........ 12 months
8/1/91 through 7/31/92 . . ... ... .. 12 months
8/1/92 through 12/31/92. ... ... .. 5 months
Total number of months of 15% tax
surcharge paid................ 41 months
Remaining months subject to 15%
tax surcharge ................. 7 months
Current return
1/1/93 thru 12/31/93. Since your
current return covers 12 months,
and the number of months that
you are still subject to the
surcharge is less, follow Step 3
Tax reported on return $1,000
712 of the tax $583.30
Tax surcharge rate 15%
Tax surcharge .................. _8750
Total tax and tax surcharge due . ... $1,087.50

Line 80a

If you have filed an application for extension
(Form CT-5), enter the amount from Form CT-5.

Line 80b

If you did not file Form CT-5 and the amount on
line 79 (tax and state tax surcharge) is more
than $1,000, you must pay a mandatory 25%
first installment for the period following that
covered by the return.

Line 83

If line 82 is smaller than line 81, subtract line
82 from line 81. This is the balance of tax due.
if line 82 is larger than line 81, enter “0” on
line 83.

Lines 84 and 85

If you are not filing this return on time, you
must pay interest and additional charges. (See
Interest and Penalties on page 3.)

Line 86

If you underpaid your estimated tax, use Form
CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a
Corporation, to compute the penalty. Attach
Form CT-222. Check the box and enter the
penalty on line 86. If no penalty is due, enter
“0" on line 86.

Line 87b

If you want to make a gift to the wildlife fund,
enter the amount of your gift on this line. The
amount you give must be in whole dollars. Your
gift will increase your payment or reduce your
overpayment. You cannot change the amount
of your gift after you file your return.

Lines 87c and 88

Add lines 81, 84, 85, 86 and 87b. If line 82 is
less than the total, subtract line 82 from that
total. Enter the difference on line 87c. This is
your balance due and should represent the
total amount of tax due, interest, penalties and
the gift to wildlife. Enter your payment on
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If line 82 is more than the total of lines 81, 84,
85, 86 and 87b, subtract the total from line 82.
Enter the difference on line 88 as an
overpayment.

Lines 89 through 92

You may apply an overpayment as a credit to
your next state franchise tax period or to your
MTA surcharge for this period or you may have
it refunded. Indicate on line 89 through 92 the
amounts you wish transferred as credits or
refunded.

Line 93

If you can claim a refund of unused investment
tax credit, check box, enter the total amount
claimed, and attach Form CT-46.1, Claim for
Refund of Investment Tax Credit. Do not
include this amount in the total tax credits
claimed on lines 74 and 94.

Line 94

Enter in the appropriate space the amount of
any tax credits that you are claiming. Enter the
total amount of tax credits claimed in the space
provided on line 94 and on line 74.

Lines 95 through 100
Prepayments

Enter all prepayments you have made on
lines 95 through 99 and total them on line 100.
Enter total amount of prepayments on line 82.

Line 101
Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax (MTA Surcharge)

Every corporation taxable under Article 9-A that
does business, employs capital, owns or leases
property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
(MCTD) must also file Form CT-3M/4M and pay
a business tax surcharge on business done in
the Metropolitan Transportation Authority region
(MTA surcharge). The MCTD includes the
counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

If you do not do business, employ capital, own
or lease property in the MCTD, you must
disclaim liability for the MTA surcharge by
answering No on this line.

Lines 102 and 103
Real Property Gains Tax

Every corporation with an interest in real
property located in New York State must keep a
record of the transfer of its stock and report
annually every transfer of a controlling interest
in its stock and any other information that may
be required for the enforcement of this tax
(Article 31-B, section 1449-a, Tax on Gains
Derived from Certain Real Property Transfers).

Controlling interest is either 50% or more of
the total combined voting power of all classes
of stock or 50% or more of the capital, profits
or beneficial interest in that voting stock.

Answer both questions. If you answer Yes to
both questions, attach a separate sheet
providing the following information:

* Name, address and identification number of
the new controlling stockholder (use social
security number for individuals and federal
employer identification number for
corporations).

e Date transfer was made.
¢ |ocation of real property.

® Whether the corporation is a cooperative
housing corporation.



Lines 104 and 105
Interest Paid to Shareholders

Corporations that made interest payments,
deducted in computing entire net income, to a
shareholder or shareholders owning, directly or
indirectly, individually or in the aggregate, more
than 50% of its issued capital stock must
provide the information requested in this
section (section 211.2-a). A penalty of $500 is
imposed for failure to provide this information
(section 1085(n)).

Lines 106 and 107

Small Business Taxpayer

If you used the small business tax rate on line
25 you must complete this line to show that
your corporation qualifies for the lower tax rate.
Use the worksheet below to determine the
amount to enter on line 107..

No. of Shares Amount

Par value stock

No par stock

Contributions to capital & paid-in surpius

Total Capital Contributions - Enter on line 107

A corporation qualifies if:

e |ts entire net income (before allocation) is not
more than $290,000,

¢ The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million on the
last day of its tax year, and

* The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined return.

If you qualify, provide the information requested
in this section. Use your balance sheet amounts
for stock and other paid-in capital.

Federal Returns

Indicate which type of federa! return you filed
and list any years during the past five for which
you were audited by the IRS.

Interest Deducted

Enter the total amount of interest deducted on
your federal return that you used in computing
your federal taxable income on line 1.

Do you need a tax packet?

If you use a paid preparer, or if you use
computer software to prepare your return, or if
for any other reason you do not need a tax
packet mailed to you for next year’s taxes,
please check the box above your signature, on
page 3. When you check the box, we will send
you a mailing label that you or whoever
prepares your return should use on your 1994
return. By checking this box, you will help us
reduce printing and mailing costs.

Signature

This return must be signed by an officer of the
corporation or in the case of an association,
publicly traded partnership or business
conducted by a trustee, a person authorized to
act for the association, partnership, or business.
Failure to sign the return will delay the
processing of any refunds or may resuit in
penalties.

Schedule A — Computation of
Business Allocation
Percentage and Business
Allocation Percentage for

Minimum Taxable Income Base
Use Schedule A to allocate your business
income (a component of entire net income) and
business capital.

The election to allocate all income and capital
as either investment or business was repealed.
If you have both types of income or capital, you
must complete Schedule A and Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedule C, Parts I and 11

If your property, payroli and sales were entirely
within New York State, you do not need to
complete Schedule A.

You allocate by multiplying business income or
business capital by your business allocation
percentage.

Part | is used by aviation corporations to
compute the business allocation percentage.
Three factors are averaged: aircraft arrivals and
departures, revenue tons handled, and
originating revenue. This percentage is used to
allocate business income, when determing both
the entire net income base and the minimum
taxable income base, and business capital when
computing the capital base.

In Part I the business allocation percentage is
computed by averaging four factors: property,
payroli and business receipts (the business
receipts factor is included twice). This
percentage is used to allocate business income
when computing the entire net income base and
is used to ailocate business capital when
computing the capital base.

in Part 111 the alternative business allocation
percentage is computed by averaging three
factors: property, payroll and business receipts.
The factors are determined using the same
rules that apply to Part 11, except that any factor
used to determine the alternative business
allocation percentage must be adjusted to reflect
modifications made in the computation of
minimum taxable income (lines 42 through 57),
which may change an amount used in a
particular factor. For example, a depreciation
modification wouid change the amounts used in
computing the property factor. The Part 11
alternative business allocation percentage is
used to determine the minimum taxable income
base only.

The property factor is the percentage of the
average value of your real and tangible personal
property, whether owned or rented, that is
located within New York State. The business
receipts factor is the percentage of your
business receipts attributable to New York State.
The payroll factor is the percentage of your
payroll that is attributable to New York State.

You must value real and tangible personal
property owned by the corporation at the
adjusted basis used for federal income tax.
However, you may make a one-time, revocable
election to value real and tangible persona!
property at fair market value. You must make
this election on or before the due date (or
extended due date) for filing the franchise tax
return for your first tax year. This election does
not apply to corporations included in a
combined return unless all of the corporations
included in the return make the election.

If you are attributing property or wages outside
New York State, attach a separate sheet listing:

e Number, location and duties of your
employees located outside New York State.

® Location of real and tangible personal
property and a description of how that

property is used.
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If you are claiming a business allocation
percentage, you must complete Schedule A.

Schedule A, Part 1 —
Computation of Business
Allocation Percentage for
Aviation Corporations

Line 108

Aircraft arrivals and departures — Enter the
number of landings and takeoffs of an aircraft of
an aviation corporation and the number of
pickups and deliveries by the aircraft. Arrivals
and departures for maintenance, repair, refueling
{where no debarkation or embarkation of traffic
occurs), training, emergencies, and nonrevenue
flights should not be included.

Line 110

Revenue tons handled — Enter the weight, in
tons, of revenue passengers (at 200 pounds per
passenger) and revenue cargo first received as
originating or connecting traffic or finally
discharged at an airport.

Line 112

Originating revenue — Enter revenue from the
transportation of revenue passengers and
revenue property first received as originating or
connecting traffic.

Schedule A, Part II —
Computation of Business
Allocation Percentage
Lines 116 through 132

Enter the New York State amounts in column A
and the total amounts in column B.

Line 116

Enter the average value of real property you
owned. Do not include real property and related
equipment (except inventoriable goods) that are
under construction and are not occupied or
used during construction. Include property or
equipment under construction that is partially
used in the regular course of business only to
the extent used.

Line 117

Enter the average value of rented real property.
The value of rented real property is generally
eight times the gross rent payable during the
year covered by this return. Gross rent includes
any amount payable as rent or in lieu of rent
(such as taxes, repairs, etc.) and amortization of
leasehold improvements that revert to the lessor
at the end of the lease.

Line 118
Enter the average value of inventories.

Line 119

Enter the average value of tangible personal
property you owned such as machinery, tools,
and implements. Do not include cash, shares of
stock, bonds, notes, credits, evidences of an
interest in property or evidences of credit.

Line 120

Enter the average value of tangible personal
property you rented. The value of rented
tangible personal property is generally eight
times the gross rent payable during the year
covered by this return.

Lines 123 and 124
Enter receipts from the sale of tangible personal
property.
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Line 125

Enter receipts for services performed, based on
where they are performed. Corporations
engaged in broadcasting or the publication of
newspapers and periodicals must allocate to
New York State receipts from the sale of
advertising to the extent that the broadcasts or
publications are delivered to the ultimate
purchasers, subscribers, listeners or viewers in
New York State.

Receipts for Services to Regulated Investment
Companies - For tax periods beginning in 1989,
100% of the receipts received from an
investment company for the sale of
management, administration or distribution
services must be allocated based on the
domicile of the sharehoiders of the investment
company (section 210.2(a)(6)(A)(ii)). For more
information see TSB-M-88(9)C.

Receipts for services performed by air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers are allocated to New York State as

follows.
Receipts from: Allocate Receipts

— Pickup and delivery
both made in NYS

— Pickup only made in NYS

— Delivery only made
in NYS

Line 126

Enter receipts from all property you rented to
others.

Line 127

Enter receipts from royalties, allocated where
earned.

Line 128

Enter all other business receipts, allocated
where earned.

Line 131

An additional receipts factor must be included
in the computation of the business allocation
percentage. Enter the same percentage
computed on line 130 (section 210.3(a)(4)).

Line 132

Enter the total amount of all wages and
compensation of employees other than general
executive officers.

100% to NYS
50% to NYS

50% to NYS

General executive officers include the
chairman, president, vice-president, secretary,
assistant secretary, treasurer, assistant
treasurer, comptroller and any other officer
charged with the general executive affairs of
the corporation. An executive officer whose
duties are restricted to territory either inside or
outside New York State is not a general
executive officer. Employees within New York
include all employees regularly connected with
or working out of an office or other place of
business you maintained within New York
State, no matter where the services of the
employees were performed.

Line 135

Divide line 134 by four or by the number of
factors. This is your business allocation
percentage. Enter this amount on Form CT-3,
lines 21 and 38. If a factor is missing, add the
remaining factors and divide by the total
number of factors present. If all but one factor
are missing, the remaining factor is the
allocation percentage. A factor is missing only
if both column A and column B are zero.

Example

Computation of allocation percentage for business
income and capital:

CORP. A CORP.B  CORP.C
Property factor (line 122)  80% 60% 60%
Receipts factor (line 130) 20% 30% 30%
Add'l receipts factor
(line 131) 20% 30% 30%
Payroll factor (line 133) 60% 0% None*
Total 180% 120% 120%
Divided by 4 4 3

Aliocation percentage for

business income and
capital 45% 30% 40%

*In the examples above, Corporation C has no payroll
factor since it has no employees either inside or outside
New York State. Corporation B has no empioyees in New
York State but has employees outside New York State.

Schedule A, Part III —
Computation of Business
Allocation Percentage for
Minimum Taxable income Base

if you entered zeros on lines 43 through 50
and 52 through 54 you may use the same
percentages determined in Schedule A, Part 1.

If you made entries on lines 43 through 54 that
altered an item used to compute the property
or receipts factors in Schedule A, Part I, you
must make appropriate changes when
determining the alternative business allocation
percentage for allocating the alternative
business income on line 62 and Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedule B, Part I, line 10.

Line 154

Divide line 153 by three or by the number of
factors if fewer than three. This is your
alternative business allocation percentage for
minimum taxable income. If a factor is missing,
add the remaining factors and divide by the
total number of factors present. If all but one
factor are missing, the remaining factor is the
aliocation percentage. A factor is missing only
if both column A and column B are zero. Enter
this percentage on line 62 and on

Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule B, Part I, line 10.

Example

Computation of allocation percentage for minimum
taxable income base:

CORP. A CORP.B  CORP.C

Property factor (line 142) 80% 60% 60%
Receipts factor (line 150) 10% 30% 30%
Payroll factor (line 152) 60% 0% None*

Total 150% 90% 90%
Divided by 3 3 2
Allocation percentage for
minimum taxable income  50% 30% 45%

*In the examples above, Corporation C has no payroll
factor since it has no employees either inside or outside
New York State. Corporation B has no employees in New
York State but has employees outside New York State.

When preparing and mailing your 1993
corporate franchise tax return, please be
sure to:

* Use the preaddressed label. It will assist in
the proper recording of your franchise tax
return.

* |f you are not using the label, include your
employer identification number and file
number on each form filed. These numbers
can be copied directly from the label.

* Have the appropriate individuals sign the return.

® Make your check payable to: New York
State Corporation Tax.

® Attach a complete copy of your federal
return.

e Attach Forms CT-3-ATT, CT-244 (formerly,
CT-3, Schedule F), and any other schedules
and tax credit claim forms used to compute

your tax. 2 96

e Assemble your returnand attachments this way:

Copy of your
federal return

Separate sheets
(identify by the number)
Other required forms

Tax credit forms

Form CT-244

Form CT-3-ATT

Form CT-3

Payment

L |

Mail to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
P O BOX 1909
ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Instructions for Form
CT-3-ATT — Schedules
B, C and D

Computation and Application
of Minimum Tax Credit
Schedule B, Part I —
Computation of Adjusted
Minimum Tax

Complete lines 1 through 22 only if your tax
due, shown on Form CT-3, line 77, is based on
the minimum taxable income base. The amounts
used in Part I will be found in other schedules
throughout Forms CT-3 and CT-3-ATT except for
line 7. The figure entered on line 22, may be
used to compute your minimum tax credit in
future years. If your tax due is not based on the
minimum taxable income, enter “0” on line 22.

Line 7

Enter any portion of the amounts from lines 2, 3
or 4 that represents income from investment
capital. See instruction for CT-3, line 59.

Schedule B, Part I1 —
Application of Minimum Tax
Credit

The minimum tax credit can be used to reduce
your franchise tax only if the tax is based on
your entire net income base. The amount of
credit is the adjusted minimum tax computed in
Schedule B, Part I, less any amount used as a
minimum tax credit in prior tax years.

Complete lines 23 through 28 only if you
computed adjusted minimum tax in & prior year
tax return.

Line 23

Enter the date and amount of each prior year
adjusted minimum tax. If you only have one
prior year adjusted minimum tax amount, enter
that amount on line 24.

Line 25

Enter any amount you have used as a minimum
tax credit in a prior year. Otherwise, enter “0”
on this line.




Line 27

If your franchise tax for this tax year is based
on your entire net income base, enter the
amount (or portion of the amount on line 26)
that will, after applying all other tax credits,
reduce your tax on your entire net income base
to the higher of the fixed dollar minimum tax or
the tax on the minimum taxable income base.

Schedule C, Part I —
Computation of Investment
Capital and Investment
Allocation Percentage

The term “investment capital” means the value
of the taxpayer’s investments in stocks, bonds
and other corporate or governmental securities,
reduced by directly and indirectly attributable
liabilities. Include in investment capital only
those stocks, bonds or other securities that are:

(1) stocks and similar corporate equity
instruments, such as business trust
certificates, and units in a publicly traded
partnership taxable as a corporation pursuant
to section 208.1 of the Tax Law;

(2) debt instruments (such as bonds) issued by
the United States, the District of Columbia,
and any state, territory or possession of the
United States, any foreign country or any
political subdivision or governmental
instrumentality of the foregoing;

(3) qualifying corporate debt instruments (see
Section I);

(4) options on any item described in (1), (2) or
(3) above and not excluded from investment
capital nor deemed to be cash (see
Instruments Deemed Cash on this page) or
on a stock or bond index or on a futures
contract on such an index, unless the
options are purchased primarily to diminish
the taxpayer’s risk of loss from holding one
or more positions in assets that constitute
business or subsidiary capital; or

(5) stock rights and stock warrants not in the
possession of the issuer.

The term “instrument” includes stock and debt
that is held in book entry form.

investment capital does not include:
(1) stock issued by the taxpayer;

(2) stocks, bonds or other securities constituting
subsidiary capital. Stock of a subsidiary is
not subsidiary capital in the case of a target
corporation in certain corporate acquisitions.
See Tax Law section 208.4. Debt instruments
issued by a subsidiary are also not
subsidiary capital if the subsidiary claimed
and deducted interest on the instruments for
purposes of Article 9-A, 32 or 33 of the Tax
Law;

(3) securities of an individual, partnership, trust
or other nongovernmental entity that is not a
corporation pursuant to section 208.1 of the
Tax Law (such as FNMA and GNMA pass
through certificates);

(4) stocks, bonds and other securities of a DISC,
or any indebtedness from a DISC;

(5) regular and residual interests in a real estate
mortgage investment conduit (REMIC) as
defined in section 860D of the Internal
Revenue Code;

(6) futures and forward contracts; and

(7) stocks, bonds and other securities held by
the taxpayer for sale to customers in the
regular course of business.

If you own a stock, bond or other security that
is subject to a repurchase agreement, include
this instrument as investment capital. Do not
include if it is held as collateral. See regulation

section 3-4.2(f) for a full discussion of securities
held subject to a repurchase agreement.

Column A categorizes investment capital into
two sections:

Section I - Corporate and governmental debt
insiruments

Section 11 - Corporate stock, stock rights, stock
warrants and options

Section I — Cc; imns A through G
Column A - List investments in governmental
and qualifying corporate debt instruments
(including certificates of deposit), debt
instruments issued by the US, any state, territory
or possession of the US, the District of
Columbia, or any foreign country cr any political
subdivision or government instrumentality of any
of the foregoing. Do not include instruments
deemed to be cash. See Instruments Deemed
Cash on this page.

The term “qualifying corporate debt instrument”
means all debt instruments issued by a
corporation other than the following:

instruments issued by the taxpayer or a DISC;

* instruments which constitute subsidiary
capital in the hands of the taxpayer;

® instruments acquired by the taxpayer for
services rendered or for the y'le, rental or
other transfer of property ii the obligor is the
recipient of the services or property.
However, when a taxpayer sells or otherwise
transfers property which is investment capital
in the hands of the taxpayer and receives in
return a corporate obligation issued by the
recipient of the proparty, the corporate
obligation, if it is not otherwise excluded from
investment capital, would constitute
investment capital in the hands of the
taxpayer;

* instruments acquired for funds if (i) the
obligor is the recipient of the funds, (ii) the
taxpayer is principally engaged in the
business of lending funds, and (jii) the
obligation is acquired in the regular course
of the taxpayer’s business of lending funds.
A taxpayer is principally engaged in the
business of lending funds if, during the tax
year, more than 50% of its gross receipts
consist of interest income from loans or net
gain from the sale or redempiion of notes or
other evidences of indebtedness arising from
loans made by the taxpayer. Receipts do not
include return of principal cr nonrecurring,
extraordinary items;

® accepted drafts (such as banker's
acceptances and trade acceptances) if the
taxpayer is the drawer of the draft;

® instruments issued by a corporation that is a
member of an affiliated group which includes
the taxpayer. The term “affiliated group”
means a corporation or corporations and the
common parent thereof. The term “common
parent” means an individual, corporation,
partnership, trust or estate that owns or
controls, either directly or indirectly, at least
80% of the voting stock of the corporation or
corporations. An affiliated group also
includes all other corporations at least 80%
of the voting siock of which is owned or
controlied, either directly or indirectly, by one
or more of the corpdrations included in the
affiliated group or by the common parent and
one or more of the corporations included in
the affiliated group:

e accounts receivable, including those held by
a factor.

Instruments Deemed Cash

A debt instrument described above or included
in investment capital must be treated as cash:
1) if payable on demand;
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2) if payable by its terms within 6 months and 1
day from the date the debt was incurred; or

3) if payable by its terms more than 6 months
and 1 day from the date the debt was
incurred, on each day in the tax year on and
after the first day in the tax year which is not
more than 6 months and 1 day prior to the
maturity date (see Examples).

Cash, under certain circumstances, may be
treated as investment capital. See instructions
for line 34.

Examples

1. A calendar year taxpayer owns a municipal
bond with a maturity date of 1/31/94. As of
7/30/93, the first day not more than six
months and ore day before the maturity
date, and on each day thereafter, the bond is
deemed to be cash. The bond should be
included in Part I, but in computing the
average value of the bond and attributable
liabilities, the taxpayer should be treated as
no longer owning the bond on any date on
or after 7/30/93. The value of the bond
should then be treated as cash for each day
the taxpayer continues to own the bond after
7/29/93.

2. A taxpayer purchased a four-month qualifying
corporate debt instrument on the day it was
issued, and on the maturity date renewed it
for an additional four-month term. The two
four-month debt instruments are deemed to
be cash. The renewal of the first four-month
debt instrument is treated as the creation of
a second, separate debt instrument, each of
tha two instruments being due within six
months and one day of the date on which
the debt was incurred.

3. A calendar-year taxpayer at all times during
the taxable year owns a five-year qualifying,
marketable corporate bond with a maturity
date of 1/2/94. The taxpayer also owns
corporate stock, but has no cash at any
point during the 1993 tax year. The bond is
deemed to be cash as of 7/1/93, the date six
months and one day prior to maturity. The
fair market value of the bond is $95000 on
3i31/93, $90,000 on 6/30/93, $98,000 on
9/30/93 and $100,000 on 12/31/93. The bond
should be listed in Section I, column A
because it qualifies as investment capital. Its
average value, to be stated in column C of
Section 1, is computed as ($95,000 +$90,000
+ 0 + 0) - 4 =$46,250. The use of the
zeros represents the fact that the taxpayer is
deemed to own cash, and not a bond, on
9/30 and 12/31. The average value of the
bond insofar as it is deemed to be cash is
computed as (0 + 0+ $98000 +
$100,000) +~ 4 = $49500. The use of the
zeros represents the fact that the taxpayer
owned no cash on 3/31 or 6/30. The figures
$98,000 and $100,000 represent the fact that
the taxpayer is deemed to own cash in such
amounts on 9/30 and 12/31, respectively. The
taxpayer had liabilities attrributable to the
bond. The amount of the liablities should be
treated in conformity with the above
treatment of the value of the bond itself.
Thus, the liabilities, which were in the
amount of $10,000, $12,000, $8,000 and
$6,000 on the four test dates yield an
average liability of $5500 attributable to the
listed bond ($10000 + $12000 + 0 +
0) + 4 = $5500, to be entered in column D
of Section 1, and an average liability of
$3500 (0 + O + $8000 + $6,000) ~ 4 =
$3,500 to be applied to determine the net
average value of the taxpayer’s cash. If the
taxpayer elects to treat the deemed cash as
investment capital, it would include $49,500
on line 34, column C and $3500 on line 34,
column D. If the cash election is not made,
the $49,500, reduced by $3500, would
constitute business capital.
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4. A taxpayer purchased a debt instrument,
includable in Section 1, with a maturity date
of 12/15/93. Any such investment will be
deemed cash on the same numerical date
as the maturity date, less one day, six
months prior. Thus the date on which this
debt instrument becomes cash is 6/14/93.

Column C — Enter the total average fair
market value of each item listed in column A.
On any date, the fair market value of stocks,
bonds and other regularly traded securities is
the mean between the highest and lowest
selling prices.

The average value is generally computed
quarterly if your usual accounting practice
permits it, but you may use a monthly, weekly,
or daily average. If your usual accounting
practice does not permit a quarterly or more
frequent computation of average fair market
value, you may use a semiannual or annual
computation if no distortion of average fair
market value results. If the security is not
marketable, value it using generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP). (See Example 3
on page 13)

Column D - Deduct all liabilities, both long-
term and short-term, directly or indirectly
attributable to investment capital. Use the same
method of averaging used to determine the

average value of assets in column C. Enter for
each item of investment capita! listed in column
A the sum of the liabilities directly or indirectly
attributable to it. Liabilities directly attributable
to an asset are those that were incurred to
acquire that asset. (See Example 3 on
page 13)
Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

Worksheet

Total liabilities A

Liabilities directly
attributable to:
Subsidiary capital B
Investment capital c
Business capital D
E
F

Add lines B, C and D
Subtract line E from line A

Enter amount from
Schedule C,
line 35, column C G
Enter amount from
Form CT-3, line 30,
column C
Divide line G by line H
Muttiply line F by line I

)

[l o

Value of the
particular asset
Enter amount from line G

Enter amount from line J

K
L
Divide line K by line L M__ %
N
o

Muitiply line M by line N

In column D, on the line for the asset in
question, include the sum of the amount from
line O of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E — Determine the net average value
of each item listed in column A by subtracting
column D from column C. The net average
value of any item cannot be less than zero.

Column F — Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each investment listed in
column A. For information, see the instructions
for Form CT-3, line 40. The issuer’s allocation
percentage on goverment bonds listed in Part |
is 0%.

Issuer’s allocation percentages will be supplied
by this department upon written request (in
duplicate) to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS

ALBANY NY 12227

Call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From
areas outside New York State, call

(518) 438-8581.

Issuer’s allocation percentages are now
available on some electronic and print tax
services.

Column G — Determine the value of each
investment in column A by multiplying each
item in column E by the issuer’s allocation
percentage listed in column F.

Section Il — Columns A through G
Column A - List investments in the following:

e stock issued by a corporation;

* options as described in item (4) of the
definition of investment capital listed above;

® units in a publicly traded partnership treated
as a corporation for purposes of Article 9-A
of the Tax Law;

® pusiness trust certificates;

e stock rights and stock warrants not in the
possession of the issuer; and

e other corporate equity instruments similar to
stock.

Columns C through G - See instructions for
Section 1, columns C through G.

Line 33

The investment allocation percentage is
computed without the addition of cash on line 34.

Line 34 - Cash Election

At the election of the taxpayer, cash on hand
and cash on deposit may be treated as either
investment capital or business capital. However,
no election to treat cash as investment capital
may be made when the taxpayer has no other
investment capital.

Cash includes shares in a money market
mutual fund. A money market mutual fund is a
no-load, open-end investment company
registered under the Federal Investment
Company Act of 1940 that attempts to maintain
a constant net asset value per share (ie., a
“money market”” fund). See also Instruments
Deemed Cash on page 13.

Cash cannot be split between business capital
and investment capital. It must be treated as all
business capital or all investment capital.

Schedule C Part II —
Computation of Investment

Income for Allocation

Complete this schedule if you are allocating
part of your entire net income by using an
investment allocation percentage from
Schedule C, Part 1. Investment income is
income from investment capital to the extent it
is included in entire net income, less any
deductions allowable in computing entire net
income that are attributable to investment
capital or investment income, and less a
portion of any net operating loss deduction
allowable in computing entire net income.

Income from investment capital includes
dividends (other than from a subsidiary or a
DISC), interest and capital gains and losses
from sales or exchanges of investment capital
that are included in the computation of entire
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net income. Professional services corporations
(Article 15 or 15-A BCL) must use an
investment allocation percentage of 100%
(section 210.3(b) (3)).

Line 36

Enter interest income received from investment
capital listed in Schedule C, Part I, Section I,
column A, to the extent included in entire net
income.

Line 37

Enter interest income received from bank
accounts (cash) if included on line 34. Include
interest income received from a savings
account, checking account, time deposit
account (i.e., certificate of deposit) or similar
accounts, which are usually evidenced by a
passbook. Enter “0” on this line if the
investment allocation percentage on line 33 is
zero. In that case, this interest will be allocated
by the business allocation percentage as part
of business income.

Line 38

Enter interest income from money market
mutual funds and debt instruments deemed
cash, if included on line 34.

Line 39

Enter dividend income received from
investment capital listed in Schedule C, Part [,
Section II, column A, to the extent included in
entire net income. Include the following:

* 50% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock which meets the
holding requirements of IRC section 246(c).
50% of these dividends were deducted on
CT-3, line 11;

* 50% of subpart F income constituting
dividends received from a controlled foreign
corporation in which you own 50% or less
of the voting stock (see federal Form 1120,
Schedule C, line 14). See TSB-A-87 (23.1)C
for additional information;

* 100% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock which did not meet the
holding requirements of IRC section 246(c);
and

* 100% of dividends received from the stock
of a target corporation (if you were required
to file Form CT-244, check the acquisition
box and answer Yes on line 15 or 16). See
Tax Law, sections 208.4, 208.9(b)(12) and
208.9(b)(14).

Line 40

Enter any net capital gains or losses from the
sale and exchange of securities constituting
investment capital, that were used in
computing federal taxable income.

Line 41
Other items of investment income include but
are not limited to the following:

¢ premium income from an unexercised
covered call option, if the item which covers
the call is an asset constituting investment
capital;

* interest income from a target corporation or
capital gain or loss of a target corporation
(if you were required to file Form CT-244,
check the acquisition box and answer Yes
on lines 15 or 16). See Tax Law, section
208.4 and 208.9(b)(13).

Line 43

Enter deductions directly or indirectly
attributable to investment income or investment
capital. To determine the amount of deductions
indirectly attributable, use the following formula:

Total amount of

r Average value of assets
deductions

x included in investment capital

subject to

indirect attribution Average value of all assets



To compute the value of an asset, real property
and marketable securities should be valued at
fair market value and all other property should
be included at the value shown on your books
in accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP).

To determine the total amount of deductions
subject to indirect attribution, use the following
procedure:

(a) Subtract from the amount of federal
deductions included on federal Form 1120,
line 27 the following:

e Those federal deductions included in the
line 27 amount which are required to be
added back to federal taxable income in
computing entire net income, other than
the amount of deductions directly or
indirectly attributable to subsidiary capital;
and

e The New York excess depreciation add-back
described in Tax Law, section 208.9(b)(11)
(relating to the disposition of certain
decoupled property) to the extent that the
amount was included in (b), for prior tax
years which began on or after January 1,
1987.

(b) Increase the amount arrived at in (a) by the

following deductions which are subtracted from

federal taxable income in computing entire net

income:

® Interest expense attributable to interest
income not includable in federal taxable
income but required to be included in entire
net income (e.g., municipal bond interest), to
the extent you did not deduct this interest
expense on your federal return (Tax Law,
section 208.9(b)(2); see also Franchise Tax
Regulations, 20 NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(2).)

® In the case of a taxpayer organized outside
the United States, deductions attributable to
income which is not included in federal
taxable income but is required to be included
in entire net income (e.g.. foreign source
income). (Tax Law, section 2089(c); see also
Franchise Tax Regulations, 20 NYCRR
3-2.3(a)(9).)

® The portion of wages and salaries paid or
incurred for the tax year for which a
deduction is not allowed pursuant to section
280C of the Internal Revenue Code. (Tax
Law, section 2089(a)(7).)

e Deopreciation deductions permitted under
Article 9-A with respect to “decoupled”
property pursuant to Tax Law, section
2089(a)(11) and (12).

e Depreciation arising from “decoupling” from
federal safe harbor lease provisions pursuant
to Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(10).

(c) Reduce the amount arrived at in (b) by any
deductions included in (b) which are directly
attributable to subsidiary, investment or business
capital.

For more information see TSB-M-88(5)C.

To compute the value of an asset, real property
and marketable securities should be valued at
fair market value and all other property should
be included at the value shown on your books
in accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP).

Line 45

Apportion any net operating loss deduction
claimed on Form CT-3, line 13, between business
income and investment income. Divide
investment income before deduction of any net
operating loss by entire net income hefare
deduction of any net operating loss. Muttiply the
result by the net operating loss deduction.

Schedule D

Complete this schedule if you have any
subsidiaries. A subsidiary is a corporation which
is controlled by the taxpayer, because the
taxpayer owns more than 50% of the total
number of shares of the corporation’s voting
capital stock, issued and outstanding. A DISC is
not a subsidiary.

Schedule D, Part I — Income
Attributable to Subsidiary
Capital

Lines 47 through 49

Enter interest, dividends and capital gains
attributable to subsidiary capital. In addition,
include on line 45 items such as collapsible
corporation gain and sale of subsidiary capital
which is not a capital asset for federal tax.

Line 50
Add lines 47, 48 and 49. Enter this amount on
Form CT-3, line 10.

Schedule D, Part II —
Computation and Allocation of
Subsidiary Capital Base and
Tax

Subsidiary capital is the taxpayer's total
investment in shares of capital stock of its
subsidiaries and the amount of indebtedness
owed to the taxpayer by its subsidiaries
(whether or not evidenced by written
instruments) on which interest is not claimed
and deducted by the subsidiary against any tax
imposed by Article 9-A, 32 or 33, less liabilities
directly or indirectly attributable to subsidiary
capital.

Subsidiary capital does not include accounts
receivable acquired in the ordinary course of
trade or business either for services rendered or
for the sale of property primarily held for sales
to customers. Each item of subsidiary capital
must be reduced by any of the parent’s liabilities
which are directly or indirectly attributable to that
item of subsidiary capital.

Column A — Enter the full name and federal
employer identification number of each
subsidiary.

Column C — Enter the average value of each
item of your investment in subsidiaries. Average
value is generally computed quarterly if your
usual accounting practice permits. However, you
may use a more frequent basis such as a
monthly, weekly or daily average. If your ususal
accounting practice does not permit a quarterly
or more frequent computation of average value,
you may use a semiannual or annual
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computation if no distortion of average value
results. Value marketable securities at fair
market value and other property using generally
accepted accounting principles.

Column D — Deduct all liabilities, both long-
term and short-term, directly or indirectly
attributable to subsidiary capital. Use the same
method of averaging used to determine the
average value of assets in column C. Enter for
each item of subsidiary capital listed in column
A the liabilities directly or indirectly attributable
to it. Liabilities directly attributable to an asset
(stock or debt) are those that were incurred to
acquire that asset.

Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities Indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

Worksheet

>

Total liabilities

Liabilities directly
attributable to:
Subsidiary capital
Investment capital
Business capital

Add lines B, C and D

Subtract line E from line A

Enter amount from Schedule D,
Part 11, line 51, column C
Enter amount from Form CT-3,

line 30, column C
Divide line G by line H
Multiply line F by line 1
Value of the

particular asset
Enter amount from line G
Divide line K by line L
Enter amount from line J
Multiply line M by line N

mTmoow

Il

—%
—

oZErx «=x 6

In column D, on the line for the asset in
question, include the sum of the amount from
line O of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E — Determine the net average value
of each item listed in column A by subtracting
column D from column C. The net average
value of any item cannot be less than zero.

Column F — Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each item listed in column A.
See instructions for Form CT-3, line 40.

Column G — Multiply net average value,
column E, of each item listed in column A by its
issuer’s allocation percentage in column F. This
is the value of subsidiary capital allocated to
New York State.

Line 52

Add the amounts in column E. This is the total
net average value of subsidiary capital. Enter
this amount on Form CT-3, line 33.

Line 53

Add the amounts in column G. Enter this
amount in the box on Form CT-3, line 72.

Line 54

Multiply line 53 by the tax rate of .0009. This is
your subsidiary capital base tax. Enter this
amount in the money column on Form CT-3,
line 72.

State’s fish and wildlife.

Return a Gift to Wildlife

When you Return a Gift to Wildlife on your corporation tax form, you are investing in the future of New York

We all have a vested interest in our natural resources. The dividends are endless for ourselves and future generations.

Return a Gift to Wildlife is a fund dedicated to the maintenance and enhancement of our fish and wildlife.

Don’t forget to Return a Gift to Wildlife on your New York State corporation tax form.

To make a direct corporate donation or to receive additional information, please write to:
RETURN A GIFT TO WILDLIFE, NYS DEC, 50 WOLF ROAD-ROOM 532, ALBANY NY 12233-4830
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When preparing and mailing your 1993 General Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Return, please be sure to:

¢ Read the instructions.
¢ Use the correct forms.

* Use the preaddressed label. It will assist in the proper recording of your franchise tax return. If you are not
using the label, include your employer identification number and file number on each form filed.

« If you do not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box located above the signature area on Form CT-3.
* Have the appropriate individuals sign the return.

* Make your check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax.

e Attach Form CT-3-ATT and all other schedules you are required to file.

e Attach Form CT-244 (formerly CT-3, Schedule F), if the corporation was involved in a merger, acquisition or
consolidation.

¢ Attach a complete copy of your federal return to Form CT-3.
* Attach appropriate tax credit forms to substantiate Form CT-3, line 74 and line 93 entries.
¢ Mail your return to: NYS CORPORATION TAX, PROCESSING UNIT, P O BOX 1909, ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Mailing Label

Use the mailing label provided by the Tax we have the necessary identifying information from your
Department. preprinted label. If you are not using the label, please
include your employer identification number and file

The preprinted mailing label contains the account number on each form filed.

identification information necessary for correct and

effective processing of your tax form. These numbers can be copied directly from the label:
Check your label to see that the information is complete
and correct. If it is incorrect, make any corrections / \

directly on the label. (You must also file Form DTF-95,

Change of Business Information, with the Tax Employer ID number File number

Department as soon as possible.) If the address has Name

changed, check the box next to the name and address Number and Street

on Form CT-3. City and Town State  ZIP code

Remove the peel-off label from the front cover of your

packet and place it in the name and address box at If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make
the top of your corporation tax return or application for sure they use the mailing label or the label information
extension. when completing all forms prepared for you.

To ensure that your corporation tax forms are processed Mail all returns to: NYS CORPORATION TAX, PROCESSING
as quickly and efficiently as possible, it is important that UNIT, P O BOX 1909, ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (from the continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and
other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations for disabled persons, please call
the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications device
for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by calling our toll-free hotline 1 800 634-2110 (within New York
State). Hours of operation are from 9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check with independent

living centers or community action programs to find out where machines are available for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus,

Albany NY 12227.
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