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New York State
Department of
Taxation
and Finance

New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for Form ST-101 (Annual Return)

Tax Facts For Vendors
You are subject to a $50 penalty if you don’t prominently display your Certificate of Authority at your place of business.

Your Certificate of Authority can be suspended or revoked if you:
— don't file a return, or willfully file a false return, or

— willfully fail to collect, truthfully account for or pay over any state or local sales tax, or

— have been convicted of a crime under the Tax Law.

You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you issue a receipt without itemizing the sales tax, or you advertise either directly or indirectly that the
sales tax is not part of the price paid by your customer for goods or services.

For more information on these and other penalties which may be imposed under the Tax Law, see Pub 400, /nformation on . . . Omnibus Tax Equity
and Enforcement Act of 1985, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau. (See telephone number and address on page 4.)

These instructions will help you complete your annual return,

Form ST-101, New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return for
Annual Filers. If you need further assistance, call the Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau at the telephone numbers provided on page 4. You
should keep all records and other supporting documents used in
completing your return and be able to produce them on request by the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agents for at least three
¥Iet:1rs fa{ter the due date of the return or the date when the return was
iled, if later.

The Sales and Use Tax Return

Two copies of the sales and use tax return are mailed to each registered
vendor. You must file the preaddressed copy. If you did not receive a
return with a preaddressed label, please complete the name and
address portion including your sales tax identification number.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use the
name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use the partnership name. A
sole proprietor must use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed name if
diffarent from the legal name. For a corporation, it is the name that

ars on the trade name certificate filed with the New York State
L . -artment of State. If the business is not incorporated, it is the name
filed with the county clerk’s office pursuant to Section 130 of the General
Business Law.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the mailing
address. Include your business telephone number and the number
where you can be reached during the day if different.

The completed annual return, Form ST-101, must show your actual gross
sales, taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax for the 12 month
period covered by the return, unless you are a seller of motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel. If you are a seller of motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel, see Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel Motor Fuel,
on page 2. The return must also show the receipts subject to the special
5% tax imposed on passenger car rentals and the number of quarts
subject to the new ten cents per quart tax imposed on lubricating oil.
Lubricating oil is a petroleum based or synthetic lubricant suitable for
use in the engine of a motor vehicle, and includes automotive
transmission fluid but not gear oils, grease or kerosene. See Publication
201, Computation of Tax on Lubricating Oil, to determine how to compute
this tax.

The front of the return is used to summarize the business activity and
tax due. Page 2 is used to report the details of taxable sales and
services and purchases subject to use tax and the total state and local
taxes due for each taxing jurisdiction. Page 2 is also used to report the
details of the special 5% tax due on passenger car rentals and the ten
cents per quart tax on lubricating oil. Although this return is all that is
required for most vendors, certain vendors are required to file separate
schedules in addition to the return. (See Schedules Which May Be
Required.)

Change In Filing Period

Quarterly Filing

If your total tax due for the 12 month period ending May 31st is more
than $250 or you expect to owe more than $250 in tax for the next 12

4 h period, you must begin filing quarterly sales tax returns. You

s .d consider recent rate changes in determining your anticipated tax
for the next annual period.

To change your filing period, you must notify the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau either by mail or by telephone. Call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside

New York State, call (518) 438-8581. Failure to file a return on time may
result in penalty and interest charges.

If you are the holder of a validated Certificate of Authority for Show and
Entertainment Vendors, Form PR-169.1, ?ou are not permitted to file
annually. You must file quarterly even if you expect to owe no more than
$250 in tax for the next 12 months.

Schedules Which May Be Required

g_Iyou must file any of the following schedules, attach them to Form
-101. With the exception of the amounts from Schedules CT and NJ,
inciude total tax amounts on line 1 of the applicable return. Refer to the
instructions accompanying each of the schedules for additional
information related to that specific schedule.

Form ST-100.1, Schedule U
Use Schedule U to report sales or purchases subject only to local sales
and use taxes:

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of machinery and
equipment used directly and predominantly in production;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of central office
equipment or station apparatus used directly and predominantly in
receiving or initiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts, tools and
supplies used in connection with the above machinery, equipment
or apparatus;

— machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less and tools and
supplies used directly and predominantly in production within New
York City only; and

— parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and supplies used
in or on central office equipment or station apparatus used directly
and predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching telephone
and telegraph communication within New York City only.

Form ST-100.2, Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report tax on hotel room occupancy, food and drink,
admissions to places of amusement, club dues and cabaret charges, the
special tax on hotel occupancy and the Hudson River Valley Greenway
Fee.

Form S$T-100.3, Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the schedule that
imposes a sales and use tax on the following energy sources and
services: )

— telephone services, telephone answering services” and telegraph,
refrigeration and nonresidential gas (including propane sold in
containers of 100 pounds or more), electric and steam services;

— residential gas (including propane sold in containers of 100 pounds
or more), electric and steam services; and

— residential use of coal, fuel oil, and wood used for residential
heating.

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax due to those
localities on the above energy sources and services purchased tax-free
under direct payment permits or otherwise.

Retailers of heating oil only must not use Schedule B to report tax due
on heating oil used in their motor vehicies. They must use Form ST-101
and take credit on Form ST-101 for any prepaid tax paid on the fuel
used. No credits may be taken for any prepaid tax passed through to
them on their purchases of enhanced fuel later sold for residential
heating (reported on Schedule B). They may recover this portion of the
tax by applying for a refund using Form FT-1010, Application for Refund
of Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail
Service Stations.

* Subject to tax as of September 1, 1991.
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Form ST-101.4, Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
NJ to report the tax dus, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property into New Jersey or services subject to tax in New Jersey.

Form ST-101.5, Schedule N

Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within the City
of New York:

— parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities other
than garages that are part of premises occupied as private one- or
two-family dwellings.

— credit rating and credit reporting services;
— protective and detective services (except port watchmen);

— beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services;

— charges from sales of services or for the use of weight control
salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths, sauna baths
and similar establishments; and

— charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar
establishments.

— interior decorating and design services and

— interior cleaning and maintenance services.

Form ST-100.10, Schedule FR

Schedule FR must be filed by vendors to report sales tax due on either
motor fuel (leaded, unleaded and premium gasoline) or diesel motor fuel
when sold to the ultimate customer at retail, or, to report tax due on
personal use of this fuel.

Form ST-101.11, Schedule CT

If you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
CT to report the tax dus, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property into Connecticut or services rendered in Connecticut.

Completing Your Return
Complete page 2 of Form ST-101 and any required schedules before
completing page 1.

Instructions For Page Two

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New York State
law to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed by local
jurisdictions. The information on page 2 of the sales tax return enables
the department to make the correct distribution. Credits that can be
identified by locality should be taken on the appropriate line on page 2
of the return. Net credits (negative amounts) should be shown in
parentheses.

Since the special tax on the rental of a passenger car is 5% in all
jurisdictions, it must be reported separately, as is the special tax of ten
cents per quart imposed on lubricating oil.

Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel

If you are a retail seller of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, you must
report all sales, personal use and sales taxes due on this fuel on
Form ST-100.10, Schedule FR. File this schedule with Form ST-101
together with any other applicable schedules.

Important: If you are a retail seller of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, do
not include sales, purchases for personal use or sales tax on the above
fuel on page 2 of your Form ST-101.

Column (a) — Taxing Jurisdiction
Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a sales and use
tax.

Column (b) — Combined Tax Rate

Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates that apply in each
of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)
Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales and services,
purchases subject to use tax, and sales and use taxes for the localities

listed in column (a). You must report these amounts for the full period
covered by the return unless a shorter period is specifically indicated.

Column (c) — Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from gross sales
and services to arrive at taxable sales and services. Make adjustments for
transactions where the tax should not be paid, such as returned sales on
which the tax was refunded to the customer or previously reported sales
that became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line for the locality
where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the vendor's place of business

on over-the-counter sales. Otherwise, delivery occurs where the customer
takes possession. Exception: delivery of a motor vehicle is determined by
the purchaser’'s home address. Do not report deliveries to points outside
New York State.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local sales and use taxes
are subject only to the 4 percent state tax. Report receipts from sales
and services in these localities on the New York State Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate local sales tax
allowed for the items and services listed below does not apply to New
York City. On the New York City 4 percent line, report the sale of the
following to businesses located within New York City:

— fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively in the
production of tangible personal property for sale;

— the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and servicing
tangible personal property used directly and predominantly to
produce a product for sale by farming, including servicing tangible
personal property used in erecting, adding to, altering or
improving a silo (but not including the foundation), and the
servicing of posts and wire used to make and maintain a trellic
grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York City 8%
percent line or on Schedule U.

Column (d) — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal property or
services purchased without payment of sales tax and used in your own
operations. Do not include tangible personal property or services which
are resold or which qualify for a production exemption.

Report in column (d) on the NYS/MCTD 4%% line, the use tax due on
purchases of fuel or utility services for which you have paid only 4% New
York City tax, but that are subject to tax at 8% %. These include fuel or
utilities used other than directly in production, for example, to operate
office machinery or light the plant. Directly in production means the fuel or
utilities must, during the production phase, operate exempt machinery or
create conditions necessary to actual production.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if purchased by a New
York State resident, business or branch of a New York State business
located outside New York State and shipped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one locality in
New York State and the property is then used in another locality in New
York State, an additional use tax will be due if the local tax rate is higher
in the second locality and:

— the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs;

— the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates the
property into real property situated in the second locality; or

— the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the second
locality in the course of his employment, trade, business or
profession.

Attach an explanation and use the blank lines at the bottom of page 2.
Enter the taxing jurisdiction in column (a) and the additional rate of tax in
column (b).
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Column (e) — Sales and Use Tax and Special Taxes

Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns (c) and (d) b

the combined state and local tax rate in column (b). On line A enter the

total amounts reported on both sides of pa:?e 2 in column (e?. Add the

taxes on passenger car rentals (line B) and on lubricating oil (line C) to

line A and enter the total on line D. Include this total in the amount you
‘port on line 1, page 1, of the return.

.astructions For Page 1

Change of Business Information
If there have been any changes In your business name, ID number,
mailing address, business address, telephone number, or
owner/officer/responsible person information, complete Form DTF-95.1,
Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors, at the bottom of
q_ages 3 and 4. Send the completed form to: NYS Department of
axation and Finance, Account Services Section, Bullding 8, Room
501, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155. If there are no
changes to the above information, keep this form in your files. If a
change occurs, complete the form and send it to the address listed as
soon as possible.

Type of Business
Describe your principal business activity or type of business (‘“retail
grocery,” “wholesale furniture,’ etc.).

Consolidated Return

If you have more than one place of business and are reporting for all
business locations on this return, check the applicable box. If you
checked this box and your New York State identification number does
not end with C, attach a list of your business locations. If your
identification number ends with C and you have added or deleted
locations since your last return, attach a list of these and indicate
addition or deletion.

Final Return
If you have discontinued doing business, check the applicable box and
attach your Certificate of Authority with the back completed.

No Tax Due Return

If you had no taxable sales and made no purchases subject to use tax
enter “‘none” in the box. Enter your gross sales in box A and enter
“none” in boxes B, C and D.

Summary of Business Activity
'ou are a retail seller of motor fuel and/or dlesel motor fuel:
— do not report gross sales of this fuel in box A;
— do not report taxable sales of this fuel in box B;

— go not report purchases of this fuel subject to use tax in box
; and
— do not report credits related to tax on this fuel in box D.

Report these amounts only on Schedule FR. See the instructions for
Schedule FR.
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Box A — Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar amount of all sales made by the business (except
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales) including those exempt from
sales taxes. Do not include the amount of sales taxes collected. Include
all sales made within New York State (even if for delivery outside New
York State) and sales made at business locations outside New York State
for delivery into New York State. Do not include sales made at business
locations outside New York State which do not involve deliveries into
New York State.

Box B — Taxable Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New York State and
local sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales). This
figure is the total amount from column (c) on page 2 of the return and
any schedules filed.

Exception: Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported on Form ST-101.4, Annual Schedule NJ, and Form ST-101.11,
Annual Schedule CT.

Box C — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax including
personal property purchased at retail on which no tax was paid at the
time of purchase (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel purchases).
Do not include tangible personal property purchased for inventory, or
property or services that qualify for a production exemption. Include
property used in the operation of your business if it does not become
part of a product for resale or is not eligible for a production exemption.
This figure is the total amount from column (d) on page 2 of the return
and any schedules filed.

Exception: Do not include any purchases subject to New Jersey use tax
as reported on Annual Schedule NJ, Form ST-101.4.

Box D — Total Credits Claimed on Page 2 or Schedules

Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the tax claimed on page 2
or any schedules filed, (except those reported on Schedule FR). Show in
parentheses net credits on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be
substantiated by attaching a statement and any other supporting
documentation explaining the basis for the credit claimed. Do not
include this amount in any amount entered on line 2a. Do not include
credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel in this box.

Summary of Taxes Due
Line 1 — Sales and Use Taxes and Special Taxes

Enter the total amount of tax due from line D, column (e) on page 2 and
the total amount of tax due from column (e) on Schedules A, B, FR, N
and U for the period June 1, 1991 through May 31, 1992.

Privacy Notification

Qur authority to require p inf ion, i ing i
sales and use taxes in subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR.

We will use this inf ion primarily to
1146 and 1250, and for any other purpose authorized by law.

ifying (social security numbers, etc.), is foun:

in sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law in general and regulations for

New York State and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law. We will aiso use it for tax administration purposes and as necessary under Tax Law sections

Your failura to provide the required information may result in civil or criminal penaities, or both, under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817 of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the regulations for sales and use taxes.

Our authority to maintain this i i
A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227; telephone (from New York

is found in sections 1138((% 1148(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will be maintained by the Director, Data Management Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8, Room 905, W.
tate only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from outside New York State, calt (518) 438-8581.

Cut Here

Change of Business Information For Employers/Vendors
If there have been any changes in your business name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone number, or owner/officer/responsible person information,
please complete this form. Mail to: NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, Account Services Section, Building 8, Room 501, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY

12227-0155.

Old Information:

ID number:
Name:

"Effective Date:

New Information:
ID number:

Trade name: (DBA, etc.):

Phone number:

Legal name:

Business address:

Mailing address:

Reason for change:

_siness tax records which should be changed:
(] sales and Use Tax O withholding Tax

DTF-95.1 (2/90)

O Corporation Tax
[ other [Taxtype

[ Motor Diesel Fuel Tax

Account number

[J Highway Use Tax
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Line 2a — Credits

Report economic development zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking tha credit.
Enter the total of the economic development zone credits and any credits
#olher than the credits for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor
uel) that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a specific
locality. Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior year and you did
not apply for this amount by filing the appropriate refund application,
enter the amount on this line. See the instructions for line 5 for more
information on prepaid sales tax on motor fuel, diesel motor fuel and on
refunds. You must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments. Attach Form ST-330,
Record of Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your tax in
advance. Do not include on this line payments from Form FT-945, Report
of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or payments from FT-1045,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Line 2c — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due
Subtract line 2¢ from line 1.

Line 4 — Late Filing Charge
If you file your return or make payments after the due date, you must
pay a late filing charge, which consists of penalty and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penality is
$50. For failure to file a return on time, with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed.

— 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no
instance less than $50.

— 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

— 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax due for
each month thereafter, not to exceed 30%.

— The lesser of $100 or 100% of the tax due.
— $50.

For forms or publications
Call toll free (from New York State only)
From areas outside New York State, call

For information
Call toll free (from New York State only)

From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

1 800 462-8100
(518) 438-1073

1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829)

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate pursuant to section 1142 of the Tax Law
and is compounded daily. Interest is always due on any underpayment of
tax and is computed from the due date of the return to the date the tax
is paid. Call the taxpayer assistance number listed below to get the
current rate.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Add lines 3 and 4.
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:
— claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by entering
this amount on line 2a; or
— apply for a refund.

To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of
State and Local Sales or Use Tax, unless the overpayment is the
result of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel and/or diesel
motor fuel sold at retall; in which case, you must file the appropriate
application:
— Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations
— Form FT-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application to your return. File it separately,
and use the address shown on the application you are filing.

As a sales tax vendor, you should be aware that you may be subject to
or liable for other taxes such as motor fuel tax, diesel motor fuel tax,
highway use tax, corporation tax or income tax withholding. For
information relating to any of these taxes, or for any forms or
publications you will need, contact us at the address and telephone
numbers listed below.

Notice to Schedule NJ filers and Schedule CT filers — If you report
tax due on either Form ST-101.4, Schedule NJ or Form ST-101.11,
Schedule CT send only one check payable to New York State for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. If
you report tax due on both the schedules, include the total due all three
states (New York, New Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to
New York State. Do not under any circumstances offset an overpayment
from one state against the tax due the other. ;

Signature

The vendor or an authorized officer or employee must sign the return. A
paid preparer must also sign it on the line designated, ““Signature of
Preparer, (if other than vendor).”

If you wish to write, address your letter to:
NYS Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

Cut Here

Enter below the new owner/officer/responsible person information if there have been any changes

Ownerlofficer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date Social security number
Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number j
Ownerfofficer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date sf:cial so)curily number
Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State 2ZIP code Telephone number
Ownerlofficer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date S(ocial se)curity number
Home address(number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number
Ownerlofficeriresponsible person % Ownership Title Effective date Sgcial se)curity number
Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number
()
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