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Instructions for Form C1-189 (6192)
= Tax on Importation of Gas Services

Section 189 of the Tax Law imposes a tax on gas importers who
import, or cause to be imported, gas services into this state for
their own use. Gas service is the delivery of gas through mains -
or lines. Gas importers include individuais, partnerships,
societies, associations, joint stock companies, corporations,
estates, receivers, trustees, assignees, referees, and other
persons acting in a fiduciary or representative capacity, and the
state of New York, its agencies, instrumentalities, public
corporations and political subdivisions (including school districts).
The tax is computed at the rate of 4va% (.0425), plus applicable
surcharges, of the consideration given (or contracted to be given)
by the gas importer for the imported gas services. Compute the
tax by one of two methods on either Schedule A or Schedule B
of Form CT-189:

1 Schedule A - If the gas services are delivered into this state
by a regulated public utility, the utility must collect the tax
from the individual gas importer on a monthly basis. The
public utility must complete Form CT-189, Schedule A and pay
the tax required to be collected to the Tax Department on a
quarterly basis. Even public utilities which have not collected
any tax for a particular quarter, because no gas services were
imported into NYS, must file Form CT-189 to show that no tax
is due. When collected by a regulated public utility, the
section 189 tax will be administered jointly with sales tax.
Columns A and B of Schedule A reflect the difference in the
average annual gas price for the periods
6/1/92 through 6/30/92 ($1.72) and 7/1/92 through 8/31/92
($1.59). Complete both columns for the appropriate period.

2 Schedule B - If the gas services are not delivered by a
regulated public utility, or if they are imported by a
co-generator with a direct payment certificate, the gas
importer must compute the tax on Schedule B of this form
and file quarterly.

Meter Reading-Determination of Tax Months for. Public
Utilities

When the importation or delivery of gas services are billed
based on meter readings the following rules apply. The total
amount billed as a result of a meter reading should not be split
between months, but instead the entire amount must be included
in only one tax month depending upon the date of the meter
reading. If more than one-half the number of days included in
the period covered by the bill falls within a particular month that
month will be considered the tax month and the entire bill based
upon the meter reading is subject to Section 189 tax for that
month (Example: Meter reading April 14 — Tax montk March).

Due Date

Returns to be filed by regulated public utilities and entities with
a direct payment permit are due 20 days from the end of the
quarter. Returns of importers not using a regulated public utility
for delivery and which do not have a direct payment permit are
due by the 15th day following the end of the quarter. Tax
quarters end on the last day of February, May, August and
November.

Interest

if you do not pay the tax due on or before the due date you
must pay interest on the amount of underpayment from the due
date to the date paid. You may call the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau for the current rate or to have the interest computed for
you.

Call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829); from areas outside New York State call
(518) 438-8581.

Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing are computed on the amount of
tax and tax surcharge required to be shown on the return after
deduction of any payment made on or before the due date.

a. If you do not file a return when due, add to the tax 5% per
month up to 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or
100% of the amount required to be shown as tax (section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax
2% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not exceed
5% for any one month except as provided for in b above
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining reasonable cause for
the delay in filing and/or payment (section 1085).

Direct Payment Permit for Co-generation Facilities

A co-generation facility defined in section 2.2-a of the Public
Service Law or a qualifying facility which is treated as a co-
generation facility as defined by section 201 of the Public Utility
Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (Public Law 95-617) may obtain a
direct payment permit by applying in writing to the following
address: TTTB - FACCTS, Registration Unit, Building 8,

Room 504, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227

This application should include the legal name and address of
the business, federal employer identification number, summary of
operations, a complete list of owners, officers, directors and
partners, and the name and location of the thermal host. Upon
the receipt of a properly approved direct payment permit, permit
holders should file a copy of the permit with the public utility
they use for gas transportation services. Co-generators who have
obtained a direct payment permit are exempt from paying the tax
to the public utility; and instead will compute their own tax by
completing Schedule B.

Schedule A — Collection and Remittance by a
Regulated Public Utility

Part I — Computation of Tax and Tax Surcharge

Line 1 — Enter the total number of Mcf’s imported by and
delivered to a transportation customer in New York State for use
in New York State. Do not include Mcf's imported by and
delivered to transportation customers from the transportation
customer's own out-of-state gas well and for which you received
a properly completed exemption certificate. An Mcf is one
thousand cubic feet of gas.

Line 2 — The price used to compute the tax to be collected is
set by law. It is the preceding calendar year's annual average of
the national average natural gas price per Mcf as published by
the U.S. Department of Energy. For the period July 1, 1991,
through June 30, 1992, the annual average gas price is $1.72.
For the period July 1, 1992, through June 30, 1993, the annual
average gas price is $1.59.

Line 3 — Multiply the total number of Mcf's on line 1 by the
average annual gas price on line 2 to arrive at the total amount
used for computing the tax to be collected.
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Line 6 — Section 189-b imposes a 15% tax surcharge rate on
tax due under section 189.

Line 8 — Section 189-a imposes an MTA surcharge of 17% on
the tax due on gas service imported into New York State for use
in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD).

Line 10 — A regulated public utility will be given credit for
Section 189, 189-a and 189-b tax paid to New York State but

never collected because it became uncollectible. Enter any such

credit for bad debts on this line along with any overpayments of
section 189 tax from previous quarters.

Line 12 — See Interest on page 1 of instructions.
Line 13 — See Additional Charges on page 1 of instructions.

Line 14 — Pay the amount due computed at this line. If this
amount is negative because of an excess of credits on line 10,
enter this figure in brackets. This amount will be credited to the
next period. If you wish to receive a refund, make this election
by attaching a written request.

Part II - Computation of Metropolitan Transportation
Tax (MTA Surcharge)

Section 189-a imposes a temporary MTA surcharge on gas
importers for any taxable month ending on or before June 30,
1993.

Line 15 — Enter the number of Mcf’s of gas service imported by
and delivered to a transportation customer in the MCTD for the
period June 1, 1992, through August 31, 1992. The MCTD
includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
Suffolk and Westchester.

Line 18 — The surcharge rate of .7225% shown on this line
represents the tax rate of 4.25% multiplied by the MTA
surcharge rate of 17%.

Schedule B - Computation and Payment of Tax
By Gas Importers Not Using a Regulated Public
Utility or by Co-generators Who Have Obtained
A Direct Payment Permit

Part I — Computation of Tax and Tax Surcharge Due

Line 20 — Enter the actual consideration given or contracted to
be given for gas services imported into New York State during
the tax period. The actual consideration given or contracted to
be given is the price of the gas service less any separately
stated delivery charges (which are reasonable).

Line 21 — Enter the exemption for co-generators. If you qualify
as a co-generation facility see Part 11 for computation of this
exemption.

Line 25 — Section 189-b imposes a 15% tax surcharge on tax
due under section 189.

Line 27 — Section 189-a imposes an MTA surcharge of 17% on
the tax due on the portion of gas service imported into New York
State for consumption or use in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District (MCTD).

Line 29 — Enter any overpayments of section 189 tax from
previous quarters.

Line 31 — See Interest on page 1 of instructions.
Line 32 — See Additional Charges on page 1 of instructions.

Line 33 — Pay the amount due computed at this line. If this
amount is negative because of an excess of credits on line 29,
enter this figure in brackets. This amount will be credited to the
next period. If you wish to receive a refund, make this election
by attaching a written request.

Part 11 — Exemption for Co-Generation Facilities

A co-generation facility defined in section 2.2-a of the Public
Service Law or a qualifying facility which is a co-generation
facility as defined by section 201 of the Public Utility Regulatory
Policies Act of 1978 (Public Law 95-617) and which has been
issued a direct payment permit may compute this exemption.

An exemption will be allowed when gas service imported by a
qualifying co-generation facility is used to generate electricity or
steam which is supplied and used by a thermal energy host
located at or near the project site.

To determine the consideration for natural gas to be exempted,
the total consideration for natural gas used by the facility during
the period is multiplied by the ratio of the BTU value of steam
and of electricity supplied to and used by the host to the total
BTU value of all useful steam and electricity produced by the
facility during the same period.

BTUs of steam and electricity
supplied to thermal host =

Total useful BTUs produced

Exemption
percentage

BTU equivalent values of steam and electricity are those used by
the New York State Energy Office, e.g.:

1 kilowatt hour = 3412 BTUs

1 pound of low pressure steam = 1,000 BTUs

Note: For additional steam BTU value equivalents, use ASME or
NBS/NRC steam tables.

Jotal useful steam and electricity produced by a facility includes
that produced for the host, an electric utility or any other useful

purpose.

After computing the exemption, enter the amount from line 38 on
Part 1, line 21, to reduce the amount of consideration upon
which the tax is imposed.

Part III — Computation of Metropolitan Transportation
Tax (MTA Surcharge)

Section 189-a imposes a temporary MTA surcharge on gas

importers for any tax month ending on or before June 30, 1993.

Line 39 — Enter the total consideration given or contracted to
be given for gas services imported into the MCTD for the period
June 1, 1992, through August 31, 1992. The MCTD includes the
counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond,
Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockiand, Suffolk and
Westchester.

Line 40 — Enter the MCTD exemption for co-generators. If you
qualify as a co-generation facility, see Part IV for computation of
this exemption.

Line 42 — The surcharge rate of .7225% shown on this line
represents the tax rate of 4.25% multiplied by the MTA
surcharge rate of 17%.

Part IV — Exemption for Co-Generation Facilities Within
The MCTD

Only a co-generation facility which qualified for the exemption in
Part 11 may qualify for this exemption in Part IV. The same
formula applies as described in Part II. The resulting exemption
percentage will be applied only against the computation of the
MTA surcharge since the statewide exemption computed in Part
II has already been applied against the computation of the tax
and 15% tax surcharge. After computing this exemption, transfer
the amount from Part 1V, line 48, to Part I1I, line 40, to reduce
the amount of consideration upon which the MTA surcharge is
computed.



