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New York State
Department of
' Taxation

and Finance

Instructions for ST-809

(Part-Quarterly Sales Tax Return)

These instructions will help you complete your part-quarterly sales tax return, Form ST-809. If you need additional help completing this return, use the
telephone numbers provided on page 4 of these instructions. Keep all records and other supporting documents used in completing your return for at
least three years after filing and be able to produce them on request by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agents.

Who must file

You must file Form ST-809 if, in any one of the previous four quarters:

— you have had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents and amusement charges of $300,000 or more
—Or—

— you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A, selling motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you have soid a total of 100,000
gallons or more of this fuel (taxable or nontaxable).

Note: Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors
of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must not include on this return. Form
ST-809, or on the quarterly return for monthly filers, Form ST-810, any
amounts reported on Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on
Motor Fuel, or on Form FT-1045, Repor! of Sales Tax Prepayment on
Diese! Motor Fuel.

Detailed explanations of the Tax Law which affect persons selling
automotive fuel can be found in Publication 881, Sales Tax Information
For Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel, Publication 882, Sales Tax Information
For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and Wholesalers, Publication 884,
Information on Diesel Motor Fuel Legislation, and Publication 100. Natice
of New Legislation Pertaining to Diesel Motor Fuel (including Heating
Qil). (Publication 100 reflects the latest treatment of diesei motor fuel and
supersedes any conflicting information found in previcus publications.)

When to file

You must file Form ST-809 for each of the first twe months of every
quarterly reporting period, and a quarterly return, Form ST-810, for the
third month. Returns are due 20 days after the month covered.

Two copies of Form ST-809 are mailed to each person registered as a
monthly sales tax filer with the New York State Department of Taxation
and Finance. Be sure to file the copy with the preaddressed label.

If the return you are submitting does not have a preaddressed label,
please complete the name and address portion, including your sales tax
identification number.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use the
name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership. use the partnershino name. A
sole proprietor must use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed name it
different from the legal name. For a corporation, it is the name that
appears on the trade name certificate filed with the New Ycrk State
Department of Stlate. For a business that is nol incorporated. it is the
name filed with the county clerk’s office pursuant tc Section 13C of the
General Business Law.

Enter the address of your actual business locator, not the mailing
address. Include your business telephone number and the rumber at
which you can be reached during the day, if difierent.

If you do not receive your returns by the first week af the month in which
they are due, request a duplicate by calling the appropriate telephone
number listed on page 4 of these instructions or or: the back of any
sales tax return. Late charges will not be reduced because a
preaddressed form was not received.

How to file

Two methods are available for monthly filing: song aﬂ-‘ shori. Ii you have
filed returns for each of the four quarters immediately preceding the
month 0 be covered you may elect to use the: st ort nwrr.d Oih‘-rwxse
you must usc the long method.

Long method — You must report and pay acius
and use taxes due for the month. Long methaa
page 1.

Short method — You must report and pay an amount equal to one-third
of the total state and local sales and use taxes that were due for the
comparable quarter of the prior year. adjusted to reflect any new,
increased or decreased local sales and use tax. Local taxes are reported
as part of the total rather than separately. Short method instructions
begin on page 2.

ST-809.4 - Schedule NJ

It you are registered under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement. you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
NJ 1o report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property into New Jersey or services rendered in New Jersey. See
Schedute NJ far instructions relating to that form.

ST-809.11 - Schedule CT

It you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement, you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
CT 10 report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property into Connecticut or services rendered in Connecticut. See
Schedule CT for instructions relating to that form.

Information to be completed by all filers

Charige ot business information — if there have been any changes in
ycur business name. ID number. mailing address or business address,
telephone number or owner/officer/responsible person information, please
complete Form DTF-95.1, Change of Business Information for
Employers/Vendors, located at the botiom of pages 3 and 4. Send the
completed form to: NYS Tax Department, Registration Section,
Building 8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY
12227-0155. if there are no changes to the above information, keep this
form in your files. If a change occurs. complete the form and send it to
the address listed as soon as possible.

Type of business — Describe your principal business activity or type of
business in the space provided (retail gracery. wholesale furniture, etc.).

Consolidated return — If you have more than one place of business,
and are reporting for all business locations on this return, check the
appropriate box. If you checked this box and ycur New York State
identification number does not end with a “'C". attach a list of your
business locations.

Signature — The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized
officer or empioyee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional
preparing the return must aiso sign it on the line designated Signature of
preparer, (if other than vendar).

Long Method

You are required to report and pay the total sieie and local sales and
use taxes due for the month. You must aiso maintain complete records
so that you are able to prepare and file a guarteriy return (Form ST-810)
summarizing the three months' business activities by locality. The
distripution o each locality must be shown on the quarterly return (Form
ST-810) and Schedules A, B. FR, N and U, as necessary. Schedule NJ
and Schedule CT must also be compleled, if applicable.

Do not repert the tax on lubricating oil {10 a quart) or the special
acditional 5% taxes (hotel occupancies and passenger car rentals) on
the mcnthiy ST-809 return. You must maintain records of and report and
pay these taxes with your quarteriy return. Form ST-810.

Summary of business activities
Notice to retail sellers of mctor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel

Aithough you must report and remit the <a;w' tax due on taxable sales
and seif-use of mator tuel and diesel metwor fug! on line 1 of Form
ST-80G, you do not repcrt these saies iri Rc~ A {gross sales and
services). Box B (taxable sales and services) or Box C (purchases
subiea 1o use tax).
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Box A — Gross sales and services

Enter the total dollar value of sales made by the business, including
those exempt from sales tax (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel
sales as stated above). Do not include in this figure the amount of sales
tax collected. include sales made within New York State for delivery
inside or outside New York State, and sales made outside New York
State for delivery inside New York State. Exclude any sales made at
business locations outside New York State for delivery outside New York
State.

Box B — Taxable sales and services

Enter the total dollar value of sales subject to New York State and local
sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as stated
above). Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported on Part-Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-809.4 and Monthly
Schedule CT, Form ST-809.11.

Box C — Purchases subject to use tax

Enter the total dollar value of purchases subject to use tax (except motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel use as stated above). The use tax includes,
among other taxable incidents, a tax on the use of tangible personal
property purchased at retail on which no tax or insufficient tax was paid
at the time of purchase, including property used by the business in its
own operations when this property does not become part of a product
for resale or does not qualify for a production exemption. Do not include
New Jersey or Connecticul taxable sales as reported on Part-Quarterly
Schedule NJ, Form ST-809.4, and Monthly Schedule CT, Form ST-809.11.

Line-by-line instructions

Line 1a — Sales and use taxes

Do not include on this line any amounts reported on Form FT-945,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or Form FT-1045, Report
of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Do not take any credit on line 1a for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel that was sold or used during the month. (See line 1b
instructions).

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on taxable sales
and services and purchases of items and services subject to use tax,
less credits that can be identified with a specific locality (other than
economic development zone credit).

Substantiate credits that can be identified with a specific iocality by
attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and any
other supporting documentation (for example, credit for tax paid by a
contractor on the purchase of materials which the contractor then used

n performing repairs on which he collected the tax). Your substantiation
must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid, and calculations
Jsed to determine the amount of credit claimed.

-ine 1b — Credit for prepaid sales tax

— Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel —
Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to your suppliers
or with your FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel,
on motor fuel or diesel motor tuel that was sold at retail (whether
taxable or nontaxable®) or that was used during the month covered
by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service station) to an exempt purchaser
or delivered out of state to your customer should be claimed on
Form FT-945 or Form FT-1045, respectively.

— All other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your
suppliers on motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sold or used during
the month covered by this return.

ine 1c — Net tax due
ubtract line 1b from line 12 and enter the difference.

ine 2a — Credits not identified

nter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax cther than the
redits taken on lines ta and 1b above.

eport Economic Deveiopment Zone credits on this line and file Form
U-11 Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
ax, separately from your retutn. Maii Form AU-11 and all substantiating
oscumentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
arne AU-11 the period of the retuon an which vou are taking the credit.

Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any
credits that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a specific
locality. You must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Previous payments

Enter the total amount of payments made during March. If you were
required to file Form ST-803, March Estimated Monthly Return, take
credit on line 2b for the estimated tax paid with that return. Attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you
paid part of your tax in advance. If estimated sales tax prepayments
were due on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, do not include these
estimated prepayments. These must be reported on Forms FT-945-E and
FT-945 for motor fuel and Forms FT-1045-E and FT-1045 for diesel motor
fuel.

Line 2c — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due
Subtract line 2c¢ from line 1c.

Line 4 — Late filing charge
If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you must pay
a late filing charge which consists of penalty and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed:

— 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the
first month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in
no instance less than $50.00.

— 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greétest of the foliowing
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%; or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due; or
3. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate as determined pursuant to section 1142
of the Tax Law and is compounded daily. Call the taxpayer assistance
number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount on line 4.

Notice to filers of Schedule NJ and Schedule CT — If you report tax
due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT (ST-809.11), send
only one check payable to New York State for the amount due New York
and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. If you report tax due on
both the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York, New
Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do
not offset an overpayment from one state against the tax due the other.

Short Method

Line 1a — Comparable quarter — Prior year

Enter the total state and local sales and use taxes that were due (before
deducting credits or advance payments) for the comparable quarterly
reporting period of the preceding year, adjusted to reflect any new,
increased or decreased local sales and use taxes.

Notice to vendors who file Schedule FR — When entering the total
state and local taxes which were due for the comparable quarter of the
previous year. you must include the amount reported on Line A, col. (e)
of the Schedule FR filed for the comparable quarter. The amount entered
on Line A is the amount of taxes reported on motor fuel and/or diesel
fuel before deducling the credit for prepaid sales tax on either of these
fuels.

Return for Use comparable
month ending: quarterly period:
March 31

March 1 - May 31
April 30
June 30

June 1 - August 31
July 31

September 3C

September 1 - November 30
October 3t
December 3t

December 1 - February 28 (29)
January ™



Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use tax for
any locality which either enacted a local sales and use tax or increased
or decreased its rate after the close of the comparable quarter, prior
year, the amount entered on line 1a must include an adjustment to reflect
the new local rates. See Short Method Adjustment on page 4.

Line 1b — Tax due (¥s of the amount on line 1a)

Divide amount entered on line 1a by three and enter the result.

Line 1c — Credit for prepaid sales tax

— Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel —
Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to your suppliers
or with your FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel,
on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel that was sold at retail (whether
taxable or nontaxable*) or that you used during the month covered
by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service station) to an exempt
purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer should be
claimed on Form FT-945 or Form FT-1045, respectively.

— All other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid {o your
suppliers on motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sold or used during
the month covered by this return.

Line 1d — Net tax due

Subtract line 1c from line 1b and enter the difference.

Line 2a — Credits

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other than the
credit claimed on line 1c above.

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax, separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the credit.

Other credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by attaching a
statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and any other
supporting documentation (for example, a claim for credit by a contractor
for tax paid by him on the purchase of materials which he then used in
performing repairs on which he collected the tax). Your substantiation
must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid and calculations
used to determine the amount of credit claimed.
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Line 2b — Previous payments

Enter the total amount of payments made during March. If you were
required to file Form ST-803, March Estimated Monthly Return, take
credit on line 2b for the estimated tax paid with that return. Attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you
paid part of your tax in advance. If estimated sales tax prepayments
were due on motor fuel or diesel maotor fuel, do not include these
estimated prepayments. These must be reported on Forms FT-945-E and
FT-945 for motor fuel and Forms FT-1045-E and FT-1045 for diesel motor
fuel.

Line 2c — Total

Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due

Enter the amount on line 1d less any amount reported on line 2c.
Line 4 — Late filing charge

If you must file your return or make payment after the due date, you
must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file.a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed:

— 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no
instance less than $50.00.

— 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax due
for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%; or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due; or

3. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate as determined pursuant to section 1142
of the Tax Law and is compounded daily. Call the taxpayer assistance
number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due

Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Notice to filers of Schedule NJ and Schedule CT — If you report tax
due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT (ST-809.11) send
only one check payable to New York State for the amount due New York
and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. If you report tax due on
both the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York, New
Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do
not offset an overpayment from one state against the tax due the other.

.................................................... Cut Here . . . ...
Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors

If there have been any changes in your business’ name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone numbet ot
ownerlofficer/responsible person information, please compiete this form. Mail to: NYS Tax Department, Registration Section, Building 8, Room

408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155.

Old Information:

ID number:
Name:

New Information: Effective date: . ... __.

ID number:
Legal name:
Trade name (DBA, etc.): S
Business address: e

. Phone number:

Mailing address: __
Reason for change:

Business tax records which should be changed: : | Corporation Tax | | Highway Use Tax [ Motor/Diesel Fuel Tax
e -

(J sales and Use Tax ! | Withholding Tax : : Other: : |
DTF-95.1 {2190) | i

[Tax type
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Short Method Adjustment

Vhen a local rate has been increased or decreased, multiply the total taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax reported for that
dcality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new and old rates. If a new local tax was enacted since the end of the
rior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax in that locality for three
nonths and multiply this amount by the new local tax rate. Total the adjustments for all such localities and add this amount to or
subtract it from the taxes due for the comparable quarter last year. Enter this adjusted total on line 1a on the front of the return. List

he names of the localities and the amount of the adjustment (negative balances should be in parenthesis) for each on the front
f the return in the lower left corner.

Zxamples:
The city Y increased its local tax and the County "D’ decreased its local tax. If a vendor reported taxable sales for City “Y" in the prior
year's comparable quarter and sales were also made in County “D” during that quarter, the adjustments would be computed as follows:

Current Combined Rate Increase Taxable
Locality* Combined Rate Comparable Quarter (Decrease) X Sales™* = Adjustment*
City “Y” 7% 6% 1% $250,000 $2,500
County “D” 5% 7% (2%) 3,000 ___(60)
Total adjustments to be added to comparable prior year's quarter . .. .. .. . . FE o : $2.440
* Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower left corner.
* * Includes purchases subject to use tax.
Privacy Notification: Our authority to require this personal information, Your failure to provide the required information may result in civil and/or
including identifying numbers (social security numbers, etc.) is found in criminal penalties under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817 of the Tax

sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the regulations for sales and use taxes.
the Tax Law in general and regulations for sales and use taxes in

subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR. L - - L . .

Our authority to maintain this information is found in sections 1136(d),
We will use this information primarily tc determine New York State and 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will be maintained by
local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law. the Director, Data Management Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department,
We will also use it for tax administration purposes and as necessary under Building 8, Room 905, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227;
Tax Law sections 1146 and 1250, and for any other purpose authorized by telephone (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829);
law. from outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

If you need help . . .

Phone Write
Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. If you need to write, address your letter to:
Monday through Friday. NYS Tax Department
For forms or publications Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
Call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100 W.A. Harriman Campus
From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073 Albany, NY 12227

For information

Call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829)

From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581

.................. e oo Cut Here L
Enter the new owner/officer/responsible person information below if there have been any changes.
Ownerlofficer/responsible person % Ownership| Title Ettective date | Social security number
Home address {number and street) City. village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number

( )
Owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership| Title Effective date | Social security number
Home address (number and sireet) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number
( )
Owner/otficer/responsible person ' % Ownership| Title Effective date | Social security number
Home address (number and stresl) . City, village, post office " State ZIP code Telephone number
( )
Ownerlofticer/responsible person %% Ownership| Title !Effective date | Social security number
i |
|
‘Home address Znur%;t')'érr_;n_d_svtr-e‘ét-)“w ) g“Cny. village, post office T Tstte ZIP code Telephone number
( )




