ST-809-1 (3/90)

New York State
Department of
I Taxation

25~ and Finance

Instructions for ST-809.

(Part-Quarterly Sales Tax Return)

hese instructions Will help you complete your part-quarterly sales tax return, Form ST-809. If you need further assistance to
complete this return, use the telephone numbers provided on page 4 of these instiuctions. You should keep all records and other ‘
supporting documents used in completing your return for at least three years after filing and be able to produce them on request by the

Commisstoner of Taxation and Finance or his agents.

Who must file

You must file Form ST-809 if, in any one of the previous four
quarters:

— you have had total taxable receipts (including purchases
subject to use tax), rents and amusement charges of
$300,000 or more

—or—

— you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A, selling
motor fuel andfor diesel motor fuel, and you have sold a
total of 100,000 gallons or more of this fuel {taxable or
nontaxable).

Note: importers and others regisiered under Article 12-A as
distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must net include
on this return, Form ST-809, or on the quartarly return for
monthly fiters, Form ST-810, any amounts reported on Form
FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or Form
FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Detailed explanations of the Tax Law which affect persons selling
automotive fuel can be found in Publication 881, Saies Tax
Information For Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel, Publication 882,
Sales Tax Information For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and
Wholesalers, Publication 884, information on Diesel Motor Fuef

egisfation, and Publication 100, Notice of New Legislation
Hertaining to Diesel Motor Fuel (including Heating Qil).
(Publication 100 reflects the latest treatment of diesel motor fuel
and supercedes any conflicting information found in previous
publications.)

When to file

You must file Form ST-809 for each of the first two months of
every quarterly reporting period and a quarterly return, Form

ST-810, for the third month. Returns are due 20 days after the
month covered.

Two copies of Form ST-809 are mailed to each person registered
as a monthly sales tax filer with the New York State Department
of Taxation and Finance. Be sure ko file the copy with the
preaddressed label and keep the second copy of the return for
your records.

If the return you are submitting does not have a preaddressed
label, please complete the name and address portion.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For & corporation,
use the name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation;
for an unincorporated business, use the name in which the
business owns property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use
the partnership name. A sole proprietor must use the name of
the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed
name if different from the legal -name. For a corporation, it is the
name that appsars on the trade name certificate filed with the
New York State Department of State. In the case of a business
thich is not incorporated, it is the name filed with the county
Aerk's office pursuant to Section 130 of the. General Business
Law.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the
mailing address. Include your business telephone number and

the number at which you can be reached during the day, i
different.

If you do not receive your returns by the first week of the month
in which they are due, request a duplicate by calling the
appropriate telephone number listed on page 4 of these
instructions or on the back of any sales tax return. Late charges
will not be reduced because a preaddressed form was not
received.

How to file

Two methods are available for monthly filing: long and short. If
you have filed retarns for each of the four quariers immediately
preceding the month to be covered you may elect to use the
short method. Ctherwise, you must use the long method.

Long method — You must report and pay actual state and local
sales and use taxes due for the month. Long method
instructions begin on page 2.

Short method — You must report and pay an amount equal to
one-third of the total state and local sales and use taxes which -
were due for the comparable guarter of the prior year, adjusted
to reflect any new, increased or decreased local sales and use
tax. Local taxes are reporied as part of the total rather than
separately. Shorf method instructions begin on page 3.

S$T1-809.4 - Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New Jersey/New Yark Reciprocal
Tax Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use
Schaduie NJ to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of
tangible personal property into New Jersey or services rendered
in New Jersey. See the Schedule NJ for instructions relating to
that form.

£7-809.11 - Schedule CT

If.you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal
Tax Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use
Schedule CT to repori the tax dus, if any, on deliveries of
tangible personal property into Connecticut or services rendered
in Connecticut. See the Schedule CT for instructions relating to
that form.

Information to be completed by all filers

Change of buslness information. — If there have been any
changes in your business' name, ID numbet, mailing address or
business address, telephone number or owner/officer/responsible
person information, please complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business information. If no form is enclosed, call 1 800 462-8100
{from out of state (518) 438-1073) fo raquest one.

Type of business — Describe your principal business activity or

. type of business in the space provided (retail grocery, wholesale

furniture, etc.).

Consclidated return — If you have more than one place of
business, and receipts from all business locations are
consolidated in this return, check the appropriate box.

Sighature — The raturn must be signed by the vendor or an
authorized officer or employee. An accountant, iawyer, or other
professional preparing the return must also sign it on the line
designated “Signature of preparer, (if other than vendor).” -
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Long Method

You are required to report and pay the total state and local sales
and use taxes due for the month. You must also maintain
complete records so that you are able to prepare and file a
quarierly return (Form ST-810) summarizing the three months’
business activities by locality. The distribution to each locality
must be shown on the quarterly return (Form ST810) and
Schedules A, B, FR, N and U, as necessary. Schedule NJ and
Schedule CT must also be completed, if applicable.

Summary of business activities
Notice to retall seflers of motor fuel and/or diese! motor fuel

Although you must report and remit the sales tax due on taxable
sales and self-use of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel on line 1
of Form 5T-809, you do not report these sales in Box A (gross
sales and services), Box B (taxable sales and services) or Box C
_ (purchases subject to use tax).

Box A — Gross sales and services

Enter the total dollar value. of sales made by the business,
including those exempt from sales tax (except motor fuel andfor
diesel motor fuel sales as stated above). Do not include in this
figure the amount of sales tax collected. Include sales made
within New York State for delivery inside or ouiside New York
State, and sales made outside New York State for delivery inside
New York State. Exclude any sales made at business locations
ouiside New York State for delivery outside New York State.

Box B — Taxabie sales and services

Enter the total dollar value of sales subject to New York State
and local sales taxes {except motor fuel and/or diessl motor fuel
sales as stated above).

Box € — Purchases wsubjec:t to use tax

Eriter the total dollar value of purchases subject to use tax
{except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel use as stated above).
The use tax includes, among cother taxable incidents, a tax on
the use of tangible personal property purchasad at retail on

which no tax or insufficient tax was paid at the time of purchase,

including property used by the business in iis own operations
when this property does not becomse parn of a produci for resale
or does not qualify for a production exemption.

Line-by-line instructions
Line 1a — Sales and use taxes

Do not include on this line any amounts reported on Form
FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or Form
FT1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepaymenis on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Do not take any credit on line 1a for prepaid sales tax on motor
fuel or diesel motor fuel that was sold or used durmg the month.
(See line 1b instructions.)

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on iaxable
sales and services and purchases of items and services subject
to use tax, less credits that can be identified with a specific
locality (other than economic development zone credif).

Substantiate credits that can be identified with a specific locality
by attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit
claimed and any other supporting documentation (for example,
credit for tax paid by a centractor on the purchase of materials
which the contractor then used in performing repairs on which
he collectad the tax). Your substantiation must include the taxing
jurisdiction, rate of tax pald, and calculations used to determine
the amount of credit claimed.

Line 1b — Credit for prepald sales tax

— Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to
your suppliers or with your FT-245, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on motor fuel or diesel

motor fuel respectively which was sold at refail (whether taxable
or nontaxable™) or used by you during the month covered by this
return,

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel which was sold in bulk {i.e., sold through a
marketing location ether than a retail service station) to an
exempt purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer
should be claimed on Form FT-245 or Form F1-1045,
respectively.

— Al other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel
and/or diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax
prepaid fo your suppliers on motor fuel andfor diesel motior
fuel sold or used during the month covered by this return.

Ling 1c — Net tax due
Subtract line 1b from line 1a and enter the difference.

Line 2a — Credits not identifled
Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other
than the crediis iaken on lines 1a and 1b above.

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11
and all substantiating documentation to the address shown on
the form. Be sure fo indicate on Form AtJ-f1 the period of the
return on which you are taking the credit.

Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and
any credits that can be substantiated but cannot be identified
\l:;lth Ir~.l specific Iocahty You must subsiantiate all credits taken on
this line. :

Line 2b — Estimated and advance payments

Enter the total amount of estimated payment paid with Form
S§T-803 and any advance payments. Aitach Form ST-330, Record
of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you paid part of
your {ax in advance. Do not include the estimated prepayment
or prepayment of sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel.
These must be reported on Form FT-945-E and FT-945, for mote
fuel and Forms F1-1045-E and FT-1045 for diesel motor fuel. -

© Line 2¢ — Total

Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 - Sales and use taxes due
Enter the amount on line 1 less any amount reported on
line 2c.

Ling 4 — Late fillng charge

if you file your return or make payment after the due date, you
must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time,Aeven if no tax is due, the
panalty is $50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax
due, the penalty depends on how late the form is filed:

— T-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the
first month plus 1% of the tax due for each month
thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.00.

— 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the
following three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month pius 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or

2.the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or

3. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Section 1142
of the Tax Law and is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer
Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount on jine 4.

Natice to Schedule NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you repor.
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT
(ST-809.11) send oniy one chack payable to New York State for
the amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and
Connecticut. If you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states (New York, New Jerssy



and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do
not under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one
state against the tax due the other.

Chort Method

Line 1a — Comparable quarter — Prior year

Enter the total state and local sales and use taxes which were
due (before deducting credits or advance paymenis) for the
comparable quarterly reporting period of the preceding year,
adjusted to reflect any new, increased or decreased local sales
and use taxes.

Notice to vendors who file Schedule FR — When entering the
“total state and local taxes which were due for the comparable
quarter of the previous year,” you must include the amount
reported on Line A, col. (g) of the Schedule FR filed for the
comparable quarter. The amount entered on Line A is the
amount of taxes reported on motor fuel and/or diesel fusl bafors
deducting the credit for prepaid sales tax on either of these
fuels.

For return of the
month ending:

Use comparable
quarterly perlod:

March 31

March 1 - May 31
Aprit 30
June 30

June 1 - August 31
July 31

September 30

September 1 - November 30
Qctober 31

December 31
| December 1 - February 28 (29)
Auary 31

Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use
tax for any locality which either enacted a local sales and use
tax or increased or decreased its rate after the close of the
comparable quarter, prior year, the amount entered on line 1a
must include an adjustment to reflect the new local rates. See
Short Method Adjustiment on page 4.

Line 1b — Tax due (Y5 of the amount on line ia)
Divide amount entered on line 1a by 3 and enter the resuit.
Line ie — Credit for prapald sales tax

— Registered disiributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to
your suppliers or with your FT-945, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax
"Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel respectively which was sold at retail (whether
taxable or nontaxable®) or used by you during the month
covered by this return.

* Exception: Credit for propaid sales tax on maotor fuel or
diesel motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., scld
" through a marketing location other than a retail service
station) to an exempt purchaser or delivered out of state
to your cusiomer should be claimed on Form F1-945 or
Form FT-1045, respectively.

— Al other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel
and/or diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax

" prepaid to your suppliers on motor fuel andfor diesal motor
fuel sold or used during the month covered by this return.

Line 1d — Net tax due

Subtract line 1¢ from line 1b and enter the differénce.
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Line 2a — Credits

Enter the fotal amount of creditg claimed against the tax other
than the credit claimed on line 1c above,

Repert Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-H1
and all substantiating documeniation to the address shown on
the form. Be sure to indicate on Form- AU-11 the period of the
return on which you are taking the credit.

Other credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by
attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed
and any other supporting documentation (for example, a claim
for credit by a contractor for tax paid by him on the purchase of
materials which he then used in performing repairs on which he
collected the tax}. Your substantiation must include the taxing
jurisdiction, rate of tax paid and calculations used to determine
the amount of credit claimed.

Line 2b — Estimated and advance payments

Enter the total amount of estimated payment paid with Form
81803 and any advance payments. Attach Form ST-330, Record
of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you paid part of
your tax in advance. Do not include the estimated prepayment
or prepayment of sales tax on motor fuel-or diesel motor fuel.
These must be reported on Form FT-945-E and FT-8945 for motor
fuel and Forms FT1045-E and FT-1045 for diesel motor fuel.

Line 2¢ -— Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.
Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due

Enter the amount &n line 1d less any amount reporied on
line 2e¢.

Line 4 — Late filing ¢harge

If you must file your return or make payment after the due date,
you must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the
penalty is $50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax
due, the penally depends on how late the form is filed:

— 1-80 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the
first month plus 1% of the tax due for each month
thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.00.

— 61 or more days late: The penally is the greatest of the
following three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the
tax due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%,
or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or
3. $50.00.

Interest

interest is computed at the rate determined under Section 1142
of the Tax Law and is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer
Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5§ — Amount due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Notice to Scheduls NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT
(ST-809.11) send only one check payable to New York State for
the amount due New York and New Jersey or-New York and .
Connecticut. if you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states (New York, New Jersey and
Connecticut} in one check payable to New York State. Do not
under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one staie
against the tax due the other.
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Short Method Adjusitment

When a local rate has been increased or decreased, multiply the tota! taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax
reported for that locality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new and old rates. If a new local tax .
was enacted since the end of the prior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate taxable sales and purchases
subject to use tax in that locality for three months and multiply this amount by the new local tax rate. Total the
adjustments for all such localities and add this amount to or subtract it from the taxes due for the comparable quarter last
year. Enter this adjusted total on line 1a. List the names of the localities and the amount of the adjustment for each
on the front of the return in the lower left corner.

Examples:

The City “Y" increased its local tax and the County “D"” decreased its local tax. If a vendor reporied taxable sales
for City “Y" in the prior year's comparable guarter and sales were also made in County “D" during that quarter,
the adjustments would be cormputed as follows:

Current Combined Rate Increase ) Taxable
Locality* Combined Rate Comparabie Quarter (Decrease) X Sales*” = Adjustment”*
City “¥” 7% 6% 1% - $250,000 $2,500
County “D" - 5% 7% (2%) ' 3,000 {60)
Total adjustments to be added to comparable prior year's quarter . .......... ... . i PIPI $2,440

* Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower left corner.
* * Includes purchases subject to use tax.

Notice: Our authority to require this personal information, Your failure to provide the required information may result
inchuding identifying numbers (social security numbers, etc)  in civil and/or criminal penalties under sections 1134, 1145,
is found in sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 1250 and 1817 of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of

and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law in general and the regulations for sales and use taxes.

Ir:ggl:gons for sales and use taxes in subchapter J, Titie 20 Qur authority to rmaintain this information is found in
sections 1136(d), 1146(e} and 1250 of the Tax Law. This

We will use this information primarily to determine New information will be maintained by the Director, Data

York State and local sales and use tax liabilities under Management Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department,

Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law. We will also use it for Building 8, Room 905, W. A, Harriman Campus, Albany,

tax administration purposes and as necessary under Tax NY 12227; telephone {from New York State only)

Law sections 1146 and 1250, and for any other purpose 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from outside New York :

authorized by law. State, call (518) 438-8581.

if you need help .

PHONE For forms or publications

from within New Yorlk State, cail toll free 1 800 462-8100
from outside New York State, call 518 438-1073

For Information

from within New York State, call toll free 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829)
from outside New York State, call 518 438-8581

Telephone assisiance ls avaiiabie from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

WRITE If you nesd to write, address your letier to:

New York State Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, New York 12227



