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New York State
1w il g, Department of
{' Taxation
and Finance

Instructions for ST-809

(Part-Quarterly Sales Tax Return)

These instructions will help you complete your part-quarterly sales tax return, Form ST-809. If you need further assistance to complete
this return, use the telephone numbers provided on page 4 of these instructions. You should keep all records and other supporting
documents used in completing your return for at least three years after filing and be able to produce them on request by the

Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agents.

Who must file

You must file Form ST-809 if, in any one of the previous four
quarters:

e you have had total taxable receipts (including purchases
subject to use tax), rents and amusement charges of
$300,000 or more

e you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A, selling
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you have sold a total
of 100,000 gallons or more of this fuel (taxable or
nontaxable).

Note: !mporters and others registered under Article 12-A as
distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must not include on
this return, Form ST-809, or on the quarterly return for monthly
filers, Form ST-810, any amounts reported on Form FT-945, Report
of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or the new Form FT-1045,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Detailed explanations of the Tax Law which affect persons selling
automotive fuel can be found in Publication 881, Sales Tax
Information For Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel, Publication 882,
Sales Tax Information For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and
Wholesalers, and Publication 884, Information on Diesel Motor
Fuel Legislation. Information relating to the legislative changes in
treatment of diesel motor fuel effective September 1, 1988 can be
found in Publication 100, Notice of New Legislation Pertaining to
Diesel Motor Fuel (including Heating Oil). Since Publication 100
reflects the latest treatment of diesel motor fuel, information found
in this Publication will supercede any conflicting information found
in previous publications.

When to file

You must file Form ST-809 for each of the first two months of
every quarterly reporting period and a quarterly return, Form

ST-810, for the third month. Returns are due 20 days after the
month covered.

Two copies of Form ST-809 are mailed to each person registered
as a monthly sales tax filer with the New York State Department
of Taxation and Finance. Be sure to file the copy with the
preaddressed label and keep the second copy of the return for
your records.

If the return you are submitting does not have a pre-addressed
label, please complete the information requested in the name and
address portion of this return. The address must be the physical
business location, not the mailing address. Include your business
telephone number and the number where you can be reached
during the day, if different.

If you do not receive your returns by the first week of the month in
which they are due, request a duplicate by calling the appropriate
telephone number listed on page 4 of these instructions or on the
back of any sales tax return. Late charges will not be reduced
because a preaddressed form was not received.

How to file

Two methods are available for monthly filing: long and short. if
you have filed returns for each of the four quarters immediately
preceding the month to be covered you may elect to use the short
method. Otherwise, you must use the long method.

Long method — You must report and pay actual state and local
sales and use taxes due for the month. Long method instructions
begin on page 2.

Short method — You must report and pay an amount equal to
one-third of the total state and local sales and use taxes which
were due for the comparable quarter of the prior year, adjusted to
reflect any new, increased or decreased local sales and use tax.
Local taxes are reported as part of the total rather than separately.
Short method instructions begin on page 3.

ST-809.4 - Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocali
Tax Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use
Schedule NJ to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible
personal property into New Jersey or services rendered in New
Jersey. See the Schedule NJ for instructions relating to that form.

ST-809.11 - Schedule CT

If you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal
Tax Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use
Schedule CT to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible
personal property into Connecticut or services rendered in
Connecticut. See the Schedule CT for instructions relating te that
form.

information to be completed by all filers

Change of business information — If there have been any
changes in your business’ name, ID number, mailing address or
business address, telephone number or owner/officer/responsible
person information, please complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. If no form is enclosed, cail 1 800 462-8100
(from out of state (518) 438-1073) to request one.

Type of business — Describe your principal business activity or
type of business in the space provided (retail grocery, wholesale
furniture, etc.).

Consolidated return — If you have more than one place of
business, and receipts from all business locations are
consolidated in this return, check the appropriate box.

Signature — The return must be signed by the vendor or an
authorized officer or employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other
professional preparing the return must also sign it on the line
designated *‘Signature of preparer, (if other than vendor).”
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Long Method

You are required to report and pay the total state and local sales
and use taxes due for the month. You must also maintain
complete records so that you are able to prepare and file a
quarterly return (Form ST-810) summarizing the three months’
business activities by locality. The distribution to each locality
must be shown on the quarterly return (Form ST-810) and
Schedules A, B, FR, N and U, as necessary. Schedule NJ and
Schedule CT must also be completed, if applicable. Schedule FR,
which replaces Schedules E and R, is to be used to report sales
of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel occurring on or after
September 1, 1988 (see the individual schedule for instructions).

Summary of business activities
Notice to retail seliers of motor fuel and/or diese! motor fuel

Although you must report and remit the sales tax due on taxable
sales and self-use of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel on line 1 of
Form ST-809, you do not report these sales in Box A (gross sales
and services), Box B (taxable sales and services) or Box C
(purchases subject to use tax).

Box A — Gross sales and services

Enter the total doilar value of sales made by the business,
including those exempt from sales tax (except motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel sales as stated above). Do not include in this
figure the amount of sales tax collected. Include sales made
within New York State for delivery inside or outside New York
State, and sales made outside New York State for delivery inside
New York State. Exclude any sales made at business locations
outside New York State for delivery outside New York State.

Box B — Taxable sales and services

Enter the total dollar vaiue of sales subject to New York State and
local sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales
as stated above).

Box C — Purchases subject to use tax

Enter the totai dollar value of purchases subject to use tax (except
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel use as stated above). The use
tax includes, among other taxable incidents, a tax on the use of
tangible personal property purchased at retail on which no tax or
insufficient tax was paid at the time of purchase, including
property used by the business in its own operations when this
property does not become part of a product for resale or does not
qualify for a production exemption.

Line-by-line instructions

Line 1a — Sales and use taxes

Do not include on this line any amounts reported on Form FT-945,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or Form FT-1045,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayments on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Do not take any credit on line 1a for prepaid sales tax on motor
fuel or diesel motor fuel that was sold or used during the month.
(See instructions for line 1b.)

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on taxable
sales and services and purchases of items and services subject to
use tax, less credits that can be identified with a specific locality
(other than economic development zone credit).

Substantiate credits that can be identified with a specific locality
by attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit
claimed and any other supporting documentation (for example,
credit for tax paid by a contractor on the purchase of materials
which the coritractor then used in performing repairs on which
he collected the tax). Your substantiation must include the taxing
jurisdiction, rate of tax paid, and calculations used to determine
the amount of credit claimed.

Line 1b — Credit for prepaid sales tax
* Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to
your suppliers or with your FT-945, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on motor fuel or diesel
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motor fuel respectively which was sold at retail (whether taxable or

nontaxable®) or used by you during the month covered by this

return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service station) to an exempt
purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer should be
claimed on Form FT-945 or Form FT1-1045, respectively.

o All other seliers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel
and/or diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax
prepaid to your suppliers on motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel
sold or used during the month covered by this return.

Line 1c — Net tax due
Subtract line 1b from line 1a and enter the difference.

Line 2a — Credits not identified

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax (other
than the credits taken on line 1b and any credits deducted from
line 1a).

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and
all substantiating documentation to the address shown on the form.
Be sure to indicate on Form AU-11 the period of the return on
which you are taking the credit.

Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any
credits that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a
specific locality. You must substantiate all credits taken on this
line.

Line 2b — Advance payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments and attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if
you paid part of your tax in advance. Do not include the
prepayment of sales tax on motor fuel which must be reported on
Form FT-945 or the prepayment of sales tax on diesel motor fuel
which must be reported on Form FT-1045.

Line 2c — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due

Enter the amount on line 1 less any amount reported on
line 2¢c.

Line 4 — Late filing charge

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you
must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penaity

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the
penalty is $50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax due,
the penalty depends on how late the form is filed:

° 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but
in no instance less than $50.00.

e 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the
following three amounts: B _

1. 10% of the tax due for the first-month plus 1% of the tax

due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or

3. $50.00.
interest
Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of the
Tax Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer
Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due

Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount on line 4.

Notice to Schedule NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT
(ST1-809.11) send only one check payable to New York State for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and
Connaecticut. If you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states (New York, New Jersey
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and Connecticut) in one check payabie to New York State. Do not
under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one state
against the tax due the other.

Short Method

Line 1a — Comparable quarter — i’rior year

Enter the total state and local sales and use taxes which were due
(before deducting credits or advance payments) for the
comparable quarterly reporting period of the preceding year,
adjusted to reflect any new, increased or decreased local sales
and use taxes.

Notice to vendors who previously filed Schedule R — When
entering the “‘total state and local taxes which were due for the
comparable quarter of the previous year,” you must include the
amount reported on Line A, col. (e) of the Schedule R filed for
the comparable quarter. The amount entered on Line A is the
amount of taxes reported on motor fuel before deducting the
credit for prepaid sales tax.

For return of the
month ending:

March 31
April 30
June 30
July 31

September 30
October 31

December 31
January 31

Use comparable
quarterly period:

March 1 - May 31
June 1 - August 31
September 1 - November 30

December 1 - February 28 (29)

Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use
tax for any locality which either enacted a local sales and use tax
or increased or decreased its rate after the close of the
comparable quarter, prior year, the amount entered on line 1a
must include an adjustment to reflect the new local rates. See
Short Method Adjustment on page 4.

Line 1b — Tax due (V5 of the amount on line 1a)
Divide amount entered on line 1a by 3 and enter the result.
Line 1c — Credit for prepaid sales tax

* Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to
your suppliers or with your F1-945, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel respectively which was sold at retail (whether
taxable or nontaxable*) or used by you during the month
covered by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through
a marketing location other than a retail service station) to
an exempt purchaser or delivered out of state to your
customer shouild be claimed on Form FT-945 or Form
FT-1045, respectively.

o All other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel
and/or diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax
prepaid to your suppliers on motor fuel and/or diesel motor
fuel sold or used during the month covered by this return.

Line 1d — Net tax due
Subtract line 1c from line 1b and enter the difference.

Page 3

Line 2a — Credits

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other
than the credit claimed on line 1c above.

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11
and all substantiating documentation to the address shown on the
form. Be sure to indicate on Form AU-11 the period of the return
on which you are taking the credit.

Other credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by
attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed
and any other supporting documentation (for example, a claim for
credit by a contractor for tax paid by him on the purchase of
materials which he then used in performing repairs on which he
collected the tax). Your substantiation must include the taxing
jurisdiction, rate of tax paid and calculations used to determine
the amount of credit claimed.

Line 2b — Advance payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments and attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if

~ you paid part of your tax in advance. Do not include the

prepayment of sales tax on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel which
must be reported on Forms FT-945 and FT-1045 respectively.

Line 2c — Total

Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due

Enter the amount on line 1d less any amount reported on line 2c.
Line 4 — Late filing charge

If you must file your return or make payment after the due date,
you must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penality

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the
penalty is $50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax due,
the penalty depends on how late the form is filed:

s 1.60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but
in no instance less than $50.00.

o 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the
following three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or
3. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of the
Tax Regulations and is compounded daily. Cail the Taxpayer
Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Notice to Schedule NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT
(ST-809.11) send only one check payable to New York State for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and
Connecticut. If you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states (New York, New Jersey and
Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do not
under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one state
against the tax due the other.
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Short Method Adjustment

When a local rate has been increased or decreased, multiply the total taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax
raported for that locality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new and old rates. If a new local tax was
enacted since the end of the prior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate taxable sales and purchases subject
to use tax in that locality for three months and multiply this amount by the new local tax rate. Total the adjustments for all
such localities and add this amount to or subtract it from the taxes due for the comparable quarter last year. Enter this
adjusted total on line 1a. List the names of the localities and the amount of the adjustment for each on the front of
the return in the lower left corner.

Examples:

The City “Y” increased its local tax and the County “D” decreased its local tax. If a vendor reported taxable sales
for City “Y” in the prior year’s comparable quarter and sales were also made in County “D” during that quarter,
the adjustments would be computed as follows:

CURRENT COMBINED RATE INCREASE TAXABLE
LOCALITY* COMBINED RATE COMPARABLE QUARTER {DECREASE) X SALES** = ADJUSTMENT*
City “Y” 7% 6% 1% $250,000 $2,500
County “D” 5% 7% (2%) 3,000 (60)
Total adjustments to be added to comparable prior year's quarter ... ....... .. ... .. ... i $2,440

* Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower left corner.
* * Includes purchases subject to use tax.

Notice: The authority to require personal information, Failure to provide the requested information may result in
including identifying numbers (Social Security numbers, civil and/or criminal penalties under Sections 1145 and 1250
etc), is found in Section 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the regulations for
1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law in general and Sales and Use Taxes.

the regulations for Sales and Use Taxes in subchapter J,

Title 20 NYCRR. The principal purpose for collecting this This information will be maintained by the Director, Data
information is to assist the Department of Taxation and Management Services Bureau, Processing and Revenue
Finance in determining New York State and local sales and ~ Management Division, Department of Taxation and Finance,
use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law. W. A. Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 905, Albany,

) ) New York, 12227, (518) 457-2260.
The information will be used for tax administration purposes

and as necessary under Tax Law Sections 1145 and 1250 The authority to maintain this information is found in
and for any other purpose authorized by law. Sections 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law.

If you need help . . .

PHONE For forms or publications

from within New York State, call toll free 1 800 462-8100
from outside New York State, call 518 438-1073

For information

from within New York State, call toll free 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829)
from outside New York State, call 518 438-8581

Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

WRITE If you need to write, address your letter to:

New York State Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, New York 12227



