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Who Must File

— Any business incorporated outside of New York State that
is authorized to do business in New York State and
wishes to disclaim tax liability.

— Any business incorporated outside of New York State
having an employee (including any officer) in this state
and disclaiming tax liability. Employees are considered to
be working in this state if they come into New York State
on corporate business.

— Banking corporations described in section 1452(a)(9) of
Article 32.

Foreign banking corporations described in sections 1452(a)(1)
through 1452(a)(8) of Article 32 and insurance corporations
that are authorized to do business in New York State are not
required to file Form CT-245.

Annual Maintenance Fee

Chapter 61 of the Laws of 1989 established an annual
maintenance fee of $300 for all tax periods ending after
April 19, 1989.

Foreign corporations, except those foreign corporations listed
in the last paragraph of the above section, who are
authorized to do business in New York State must pay an
annual maintenance fee of $300 when disclaiming tax
liability.

Failure to pay the annual maintenance fee may result in the
annulment of the corporation’s authority to do business in
New York State (Article 9, section 203-b).

A corporation that files a New York State franchise tax return
under Article 9, 9-A or 32 and pays the franchise tax or filing
fee is considered to have met the maintenance fee
requirements and should not file Form CT-245.

Short Periods - Maintenance Fee

The Tax Law allows a reduction of the maintenance fee for
short periods of not more than 9 months:

Period Maintenance
Fee Due

Up to 6 months $150

More than 6 months but not more than 9 months $225

The full amount of the maintenance fee is due

for periods of more than 9 months $300

When to File

File this return within two and one-half months after the end
of your annual reporting period.

Article 9, section 181.2 of the New York State Tax Law does
not provide for an extension of time to file Form CT-245.

Interest

If you do not pay the maintenance fee on or before the
original due date of the return, you must pay interest on the
amount of the underpayment from the original due date to
the date paid. You may call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
for the current rate or to have the interest computed for you.
From within New York State call 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829); from outside New York State call

(518) 438-8581.

Late Flling - Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing are computed on the amount
of tax less any payment made on or before the due date.

(a) If you do not file a return when due, add to the tax 5%
per month, up to a total of 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

(b) If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date,
the addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller of
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

(c) If you fail to pay the tax shown on a return, add to the
tax ¥2% per month, up to a total of 25% (section

1085(a)(2)).

(d) The total of the additional charges in (a) and (c) may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in
(b) above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in
filing, payment, or both (section 1085).

Foreign Corporations Subject to Tax Under Articles 9 or
9-A

A business incorporated outside New York State is subject to
franchise tax if it:

— does business in New York State,
— employs capital in New York State,
— owns or leases property in New York State, or

-— maintains an office in New York State.



CT-245-1 (1990) (back)

The term doing business includes all activities which
occupy the time or labor of people for profit. Regardless
of the nature of its activities, a corporation organized for
profit and carrying out any activities for that purpose is
deemed to be doing business and subject to the tax. It is
immaterial whether its activities result in a profit or loss.

In general, the term employing capital includes any use of
assets in maintaining or aiding the corporate enterprise or
activity in New York State.

Foreign Banking Corporations Subject To Tax
Under Article 32

A banking corporation or association doing business in
New York State in a corporate or organized capacity that
is organized under the laws of the United States or the
laws of any other state or country is subject to a franchise
tax under Article 32. Activities that constitute doing
business in New York State include, but are not limited to,
operating a branch, loan production office, representative
office or a bona fide office.

Only foreign banking corporations described in section
1452(a)(9) of Article 32 are subject to the maintenance fee
and activities report (Form CT-245).

Activities Deemed Insufficient to Subject a Foreign
Corporation to Tax Under Articles 9, 9-A or 32

A corporation is not considered to be doing business,
employing capital, owning or leasing property, or

maintaining an office in New York State because of one or
more of the following activities:

— the maintenance of cash balances with banks or trust
companies in New York State;

— the ownership of shares of stock or securities kept in
New York State in a rented safe deposit box, safe, or
vault, if pledged as collateral security, or deposited in
safekeeping or custody accounts with banks, trust
companies or brokers who are members of a
recognized security exchange;

— any action by a bank, trust company or broker, which
is incidental to the rendering of safekeeping or
custodian service to the corporation;

— the maintenance of an office in this state by one or
more officers or directors of the corporation who are
not corporation employees;

— the keeping of a corporation’s books or records in New
York State by someone other than an employee of the
corporation.

Change of Business Information — If there have been
any changes in your business name, ID number, mailing
address, business address, telephone number or
owner/officer information, complete the enclosed Form
DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If no form is
enclosed, call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-1073) to request one.



