New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT1-186
Franchise Tax Return - Gross Earnings of Electricity,

1990

Y~ Water, Steam or Gas Companies

Tax Law - Article 9, Section 186

Who Must File

Anyone who is taxable under Article 9, section 186 must
file Form CT-186. This includes corporations, joint-stock
companies, associations or publicly traded partnerships
formed for or principally engaged in the business of
supplying electricity, water, steam, or gas when delivered
through mains or pipes. The tax is computed on gross
earnings received from January 1 to December 31, 1990,
and on dividends paid during the same period. You must
report income for the calendar year even if you maintain
your records and report to the IRS using a fiscal
accounting period.

When and Where to File

Mail completed returns to: NYS Corporation Tax,
Processing Unit, P.O. Box 1909, Albany, NY, 12201-1909
on or before March 15, 1991.

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a three-
month extension of time by filing Form CT-5.9 and paying
any tax and tax surcharge due on or before March 15,
1991. An extension of time granted by the RS to file a
federal tax return does not extend the due date for filing
Form CT-186.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business name,
ID number, mailing address, business address, telephone
number or owner / officer information, complete Form
DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If you don’t have
a form, call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-1073. If your address has changed, check the
box next to the name and address on Form CT-186.

Declaration and Payment of Estimated Tax
(Sections 197-a, 197-b)

If your 1990 tax and tax surcharge is more than $1,000,
you must pay a mandatory first installment equal to 25%
of that tax and tax surcharge.

If your 1991 tax liability can reasonably be expected to
exceed $1,000, you must also make a declaration of
estimated tax for the current year. File your declaration of
estimated tax (Form CT-400) on or before June 15 each
year.

The estimated tax less mandatory first installment paid
with this return is payable in three equal installments due
June 15, September 15 and December 15.

Real Property Gains Tax (Article 31-B, section 1449-a)

A corporation with an interest in real property located in
New York must keep a record of the transfer of its stock

and report annually every transfer of a controlling inmnt
in its stock and any other information necessary fnr the
enforcement of Article 31-B. :

Controlling interest of a corporation is either 50% or more
of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock
or 50% or more of the capital, profits or beneficial interest
in that voting stock.

If you answered Yes to both questions on page one,
attach a separate sheet with the following information: .

- name, address and identification number of mo new .
controlling stockholder (use social security number
individuals and federal employer identification num :
for corporations);

- date transfer was made; and
- location of real property.

Independently Procured Insurance Tax — Article 33-A -

If you purchase or renew a taxable insurance contract

from an insurer not authorized to transact businessin . .
New York State under a Certificate of Authority from m e
Superintendent of Insurance, you will be liable for a taxof =
3.6% of the premium (see Form CT-33-D or TSB-M-N(M G
for more information).

Foreign Corporations — Maintenance Fee and
License Fee

A corporation organized outside New York State that is
authorized to do business in New York must pay-an. ..
annual maintenance fee of $300. This fee may be claimed .
as a credit against the taxes due under Article 9, except =
the license fee imposed by section 181. If the total taxss
(excluding the first instaliment for 1991) on Form CTF186,
CT-186-A or CT-186-P for December 31, 1990, are more =
than $300, you have satisfied the requirement to paya
maintenance fee. If the total taxes payable (exciuding the
first instaliment for 1991) are less than $300, add the .
difference to line 9 of Form CT-186 to produce a totai tax
and fee of $300 plus the first instaliment for 1991.

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee
(see Form CT-240, Report of License Fee).

Metropolitan Transportation Business (MTB)
Tax Surcharge

Any corporation taxable under Article 9 that does business
in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District :
(MCTD) must file Form CT-186-M and pay a MTB tax
surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties of N
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nas
Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Wutohuhf




CT-186-1 (1990) (back)

Line A — After completing your return, enter the amount
of your payment. Your payment should be the full amount
shown on line 17.

Line 6 — You may take a credit against your franchise tax
for any special additional mortgage recording tax you
paid. This credit may not reduce your tax below the
minimum tax, or if you are an authorized foreign
corporation, it may not reduce the tax below the $300
maintenance fee. You may carry any unused credit
forward. Attach Form CT-43, Claim for Special Additional
Mortgage Recording Tax Credit.

Line 8 — Chapter 190 of the Laws of 1990 amended
Article 9 of the tax law to add section 188, which provides
for a 15% and 10% tax surcharge.

A 15% tax surcharge applies to tax years ending on
December 31, 1990, and December 31, 1991. A 10% tax
surcharge applies to the tax year ending on December 31,
1992. The tax surcharge cannot be imposed on any
taxpayer for more than 36 months.

The tax surcharge is computed on the tax after the
deduction of any tax credits.

Once computed, the tax surcharge cannot be reduced by
the special additional mortgage recording tax credit.

The tax surcharge does not apply to the metropolitan
transportation business tax surcharge.

Line 10b — If the amount on line 9 is more than $1,000,
you must pay a mandatory first instaliment of your 1991
tax. Enter 25% of the tax shown on line 9.

Line 11 — Foreign Authorized Corporations: If your total
taxes due with Forms CT-186, CT-186-A and/or CT-186-P for
December 31, 1990, are less than $300, add the difference
to the tax due on this form and include the amount on
line 11. Attach computation.

Tax due example:

Form CT-186 - total tax and tax surcharge  $143.75
Form CT-186-P - total tax and tax surcharge _ 51.50

Total 1990 tax and tax surcharge $195.25

Maintenance fee 300.00
Balance of maintenance fee due $104.75
Tax due on Form CT-186 143.75
Enter on line 11 $24850

Line 12 — Enter the total of all 1990 estimated tax
payments and any overpayment carryover from preceding
periods.

Line 14 — If you do not pay the tax and tax surcharge on
or before the due date (without regard to any extension of
time), you must pay interest on the amount of the
underpayment from the due date to the date paid. You
may call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current
rate or to have the interest computed for you. Call toll free
(from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State call
(518) 438-8581.

Instructions (continued)

Line 15 — Additional charges for late filing are compum
on the amount of tax and tax surcharge less any payr ‘
made on or before the due date.

a. If you do not file a return when due or if the application
for extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month '
up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1XA)).

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due
date, the addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller
of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be ohavm
as tax (section 1085(a)1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the
tax 2% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ ma
exceed 5% for any one month, except as pmvw o
in b above (section 1085(a)). :

If you think you are not liable for these additional cha
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay
filing and/or payment (section 1085). o

Schedule A - Computation of Gross Earnings Tax aiy
Allocation Percentage/lssuer’s Allocation Perc

On lines 23 through 26, enter gross earnings attributable.
to New York State in column A and total gross ummm
everywhere in column B.

Gross earnings are all receipts from the amploymm nf
capital without any deductions. ;

Your Issuer’s allocation percentage is used by e
shareholders to compute their corporate franchiee tax.. tb

represents the amount of New York State gross onmw
compared to gross earnings from everywhere.

Recent amendments to the Tax Law require most

corporations doing business in New York State to pros
the information needed to compute their issuer's aliccation
percentage. A penalty of $500 will be imposed lar ol ot
to provide this information. I B
A taxpayer paying the minimum tax must also m o

this schedule and compute their issuer’s allocation
percentage.

Schedule B - Computation of Allocated nwmmm -

Line 32 — The actual amount of paid-in capital is that ..
part of the equity that was invested in the butinm :
enterprise by shareholders.

Line 33 — If dividends are paid once a year, lnmm m R
value of the capital on the declaration date. If divident
are declared and paid more than once a year, the va
capital on which these dividends were paid must be
averaged by computing the value of capital on each
declaration date, and dividing by the number of dividend
dates.

See TSB-M-82(8)C for additional information on the
computation of the tax on dividends.

Line 38 — Multiply line 37 by .045. Enter this amounton
line 2, : ,




