New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

4 CT-184-R Foreign Omnibus and Taxicab
7990
v

Corporation Tax Return

Tax Law — Article 9, Section 184

For calendar year 1990

Employer identification number Fils number If your name, For office use only
I |~ | l employer
identification number,
address or owner/
officer information
Number and street City or town has changed, file Date received
Form DTF-95 (see
instructions).

i usiness group code nutmber
Business telephone number (from lederal return)

( ) | 1|

Location of commercial domicile Date began business in NYS

Trade name

Is this corporation authorized to do business in New York State? | State or country of incorporation date

Yeos [__—‘ No /

Payment enclosed

A. Payment — pay amount shown on line 9 — Make check payabie to: New York State Corporation Tax k

w

Tax Computation

Number of trips made into New York State (see instructions on back) | 1
Taxrate | 2 | $15 | 00 =

Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter here and on line 14 (result should not exceed $165)

Tax surcharge (multiply line 3 by 15% (.15))

MTB tax surcharge (from line 16}

Balance of maintenance fee (authorized corporations only; see instructions)

Total (add lines 3 through 6)

Prepayments

Balance due (if line 8 is less than line 7, subtract line 8 from line 7}

QOverpayment, to be refunded (if line 7 is less than line 8, subtract line 7 from line 8) | 10

00

D 10~ [ | [ [

Computation of Metropolitan Transportation Business (MTB) Tax Surcharge

Total number of trips made into New York State (from line 1) | 11
Number of trips made into the MCTD | 12
MCTD allocaticn percentage (divide line 12 by line 11) {13 %
Amount from line 3 above | 14 00 _
Allocated tax (multiply line 14 by line 13) | 15
MTB tax surcharge (multiply line 15 by 17% (.17); enter here and on line 5) | 16

Certification. | certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct and complete.
Date Signature of elected officer or authorized person Official title

Date Signature of individual or name of firm preparing this return Preparet’s address

Mail to: NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, P.O. Box 1909, Albany, NY 12201-1909, on or before March 15, 1991.

CT-184-R



CT-184-R (1990) (back)

General Information

Certain foreign omnibus and foreign taxicab corporations that
conduct at least one but fewer than twelve trips into New York
State during a year are taxable under Article 9, section 184.
These corporations are no longer taxed under Article 9-A and
are also exempt from tax under Article 9, section 183 (Chapter
485 of the Laws of 1988). For more information, see
TSB-M-88(8)C.

Who Must File

Foreign omnibus and taxicab corporations that do business or
employ capital in New York State only by reason of conducting
fewer than twelve trips into this state during a year and that do
not own or lease property (other than the vehicles used to
conduct the trips) or maintain an office in this state, must file
Form CT-184-R.

Foreign omnibus and taxicab corporations that conduct 12 or
more trips into New York State, do business, employ capital, own
or lease property or maintain an office in New York State are
taxable under Articie 9-A and must file Form CT-3.

When and Where to File

Filing periods for this form must be based on a calendar year
regardless of the federal reporting period. File your return on or
befare March 15, 19¢1.

Mail to:  NYS Corporation Tax
Processing Unit
PO. Box 1909
Albany, NY 12201-1909

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a three-month
extension of time by filing Form CT-59. Indicate on Form CT5.9
that you will be filing Form CT-184-R.

Penaities for Late Filing

If you are liable for this tax and do not file this return and pay
the tax due by March 15, or the extended due date, the
corporation will become taxable under Article 9-A, and will be
liable far ail penaities and interest provided by Article 27 of the
Tax Law.

Tax Rate

The tax rate is $15 per trip made into New York State for up to
11 trips (so the maximum tax is $165).

in addition, the metropolitan transportation business (MTB) tax
surcharge applies, for trips made into the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), at 17% of the
allocated tax (see the instructions for lines 11 through 16).

Foreign Corporations — Maintenance Fee

If you are authorized to do business in New York by the New
York State Department of State, you must pay an annual
maintenance fee of $300. This fee may be claimed as a credit
against tax due under Article 9. See the instructions for line 6.

License Fee — Form CT-240

As a foreign corporation (organized under the laws of any other
state or ccuntry) you must also file Form CT-240 and pay a
license fee. File Form CT-240 when you file your first franchise
tax return. The minimum license fee is $10.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business name, 1D
number, mailing address, business address, telephone number
or owner/officer information, complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. if you don't have a torm, call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-1073.

Mait your completed Form DTF-95 to:

NYS Tax Department
Registration Section
Building 8, Room 409
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

Instructions

Taxpayer Assistance

If you need forms or publications, call toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State,
call (518) 438-1073. For information, call toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581. Taxpayer assistance
is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

If you need to write, address your letters to:
NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau,
W.A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Line 1 — Enter the number of trips made into New York State. A
corporation is conducting a trip into New York State when one of
its vehicles (owned, leased or operated) enters the state and
transports passengers to, from, or to and from a New York
location. A corporation will not be considered to be conducting a
trip into New York State if its vehicles only make incidental stops
at locations in the state while in transit from a location outside
New York to another location outside New York.

Attach a statement to the return containing the following
information for each trip:
Date of trip Place of origination
Number of vehicles used Destination
Number and location of stops made in New York

Line 4 — Enter 15% of line 3. Section 30 of Chapter 190 of the
Laws of 1990 imposes a tax surcharge of 15% on tax due under
section 184 for the calendar year 1990.

Line 5 — Enter MTB tax surcharge from line 16, if applicable.

Line 6 — If you are authorized to do business in New York
State, enter the difference between the maintenance fee of $300
and the taxes computed on lines 3, 4 and 5.

Example:
Annual maintenance fee ... ... ... .. ... ... $300.00
Line 3: 6 trips times $15 ... ......... ... .. ... -90.00
Line 4: Tax surcharge ($90 times .15). .. .. ... .. - 1350
Line 5: MTB tax surcharge ($90 times .17) ... .. -15.30
Balarice of maintenance fee; enter on line 6 ... .$181.20

if you are not authorized, enter “0” on line 6.
Line 7 — Add lines 3 through 6.

Line 8 — Enter the amount paid with Form CT-59, Application
for Extension, and any other amounts paid or carried over from
previous years.

Computation of Metropolitan Transportation
Business (MTB) Tax Surcharge

If you make trips into the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District {(MCTD) you must complete this section and pay the MTB
tax surcharge. The MCTD includes the 12 counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

If you did not make any trips into the MCTD, enter “0” on line 5;
do not complete lines 11 through 16.

Line 11 — Enter the total number of trips made into New York
State (from line 1).

Line 12 — Enter the number of trips made into the MCTD
(counties listed above).

Line 13 — To determine the percentage of trips made into the
MCTD, divide line 12 by line 11.

Line 14 — Enter the amount from line 3.
Line 15 — Multiply line 14 by line 13 to determine allocated tax.

Line 16 — Multiply line 15 by the MTB tax surcharge rate of
17% (.17). Enter the result here and on line 5.



