S1-810-k (5/89)

New York State

Department of
@ TAXATION
%, and FINANCE

New York State and Local Sales ana use iax newrn

Instructions for Form ST-810 (Quarterly Return for Part-Quarterly Filers)

Tax Facts For Vendors

Did you know?

¢ You are subject to a $50.00 penalty if you don’t prominently display your Certificate of Authority at your place of business.

e Your Certificate of Authority can be suspended or revoked if you:

— don't file a return (or report), or if you willfully file a false return (or report), or
— willfully fail to collect, truthfully account for or pay over any state or local sales tax, or

__ have been convicted of a crime under the Tax Law.

& You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you issue a receipt without itemizing the sales tax, or you advertise either directly o1 incirectly
that the sales tax is not part of the price paid by your customer for goods or services.

For more information on these and other penalties which may be imposed under the Tax Law, see Pub-400, Information on . . . Omnibus Tax Equity and

Enforcement Act of 1985, previously sent to you, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau. (See telephone number and address on page 4.)

These instructions will help you complete your Form ST-810 Quarterly
Return for Part-Quarterly Filers. If you need further assistance, call the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau at the telephone numbers provided on
page 4. You should keep all records and other supporting documents
used in completing your return and be able to produce them on
request by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agents for
at least three years after the due date of the return or the date when
the return was filed, if later.

The Sales Tax Return

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed o each registered vendor.
You must file the preaddressed copy and may keep the second for
your records.

The completed quarterly return, Form ST-8i0, must show your actual
gross sales, taxable sales and purchases subject to use 1ax for the 3
month period covered by the return unless you are a sslter of motor
fuel or diesel motor fuel. If you are a selier of motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel, see page 2 of instructions under “Notice to Retail Sellers of
Motor Fuel and/or Diesel Motor Fuel”

The front of the return is used to summarize the business activity and
tax due. Page 2 is used to report the details o taxable saies and
sarvices and purchases subject to use tex anc the total state and local
taxes due for each taxing jurisdiction. Afthough this ret is alt that is
required for most vendors, certain vendors are requirac o file separate
schedules in addition to the return. (See ““Schedules Which May Be
Required.”)

All part-quarteriy (monthly) filers must use this form as a report for the
third month of the quarterly period and as a quarterly report,
irrespective of which type (long or short form) part-quarterly return was
filed for the first two months of the quarter.

Change In Filing Period
Monthly Filing

You must file monthly returns beginning the first month of the
quarter following any quarter in which:

« You have had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject 10
use tax), rents, and amusement charges of $300,000 or more or

« You are a distributor as defined under Article 2.4, salling
motor fuel andfor diesel motor fuel, and you have soid a tolai of
100,000 galions or mers of this fuel ftaxable cr nontaxa

Note: Importers and others registered under Articie 12-A 2s distii
of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must not inciuds on this returt
ST-810, or on the part-quarterly return, Form ST-808, any amounts
reported on Form F1-945, Report of Sales Tax frepayimenis on Mator
Fuel, or the new Form FT-1045, Report of Seles 7ax Prepzyment on
Diesel Motor Fuel.

10rS
Form

Detailed sxplanations of the Tax Law which
fual or diesel motor fuel can be found iri ©
Information For Retaii Sellers of Motor Fusi, Publication 882, Sale.
Information For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and Wholesalers, anac
Publication 884, Information on Diesei icior Fuel Legislation.
information relating to the legislative changes in reatment of giesel
motor fuel effective September 1, 1988 can be found in Publication 100,
Notice of New Legislation Pertaining to Diesei WMo vel {including
Heating Oil). Since Publication 100 reflects s est treatmient of
diesel motor fuel, information found in this Publication wili supercede
any conflicting information found in previous pubiicaticns.

Change in Filing Period Quarterty Fiting

It you are presently required to file part-quarterly (monthiy; relurms and

11T use

« your total taxable receipts (including purchases sub
s than

tax), rents and amusement charges amounied 10 &3
$300,000 in every one of the last four guenters, of

= you are a distributor as defined uncer Asticis 12-A saiting
fuel andfor diese! motor fuel, and you scid less than 1
gallons in every one of the last four quarters

vou may request conversion to quarterly fiirg

To change your filing period, notify the Sales Tax Processing Unit, W. A.
Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 409, Albany, NY. 12227 or call 1 518
457-7311 immediately. Failure to file a timely return may result in iate filing
charges.

Schedutes Which May Be Required
if you must file any of the following schedules, attach them tc Form
ST.810. With the exception of Schedules CT and NJ, include total tax
amounts on line 1 of the ST-810 return. Do not include total tax amaourts
from Scheduies CT or NJ in the total reported on line 1 of this return.
Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the schedules for
additional information.
Form ST810.1 — Schedule U
Use Schecdule U io report sales or purchases subject oniy ¢ locel sales
and use taxes:
+ insiailation, repair, maintenance or service of machin
equipment used directly and predominantly in produciion
« Instailation, repair, maintenance or service of central ofii
equipment or station apparatus used directiy or
oredominantly in receiving or initiating and switching
telephone or telegraph communication
i spair, mainienance or service of pan
in connection with the above
[fal3 T of epparatus
Machinery paris with a useful life of one year or less and
tools and suppiies used directly and predeminantly in
production within New York City only
Parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and
supplies used in or on central office equipment or station
apparatus used directly and predominantly in receiving or
initiating and switching telephone and telegraph
communication within New York City only.

Form ST-810.2 — Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel rooms, food
and drink, admissions to places of amusement, club dues and cabaret
charges. Presently, only vendors in the counties of Chenango, Nassau and
Westchester are required to file Schedule A. )

Farm $T-810.2 — Schedule B
Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on tne schedute
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which tnnases 2 saies and use tax on the fellowirg onarcy sources and
services:
« Teiaphone, telegraph, rafrigeration and nonresicavital ges,
elaciricity and steam services
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Refund of Prépaid Ssies Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Soic Other Than et
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i you a : the New York/New Jersay
i5 schedule 1

you rmust
ihe tax dus,
into New Jarsey or se
Schecule NJ, see F
for FPer-Guaneriy

. S o
sonal preperty

rvices subject to tax in New Jsrsey. To complste
. ST-510.4-1, Instructions for Cusrerly Schedule NJ




O -0 1u-s (DI0Y)

Form ST-810.5 — Schedule K
Use Schedule N to report sales of the foliowing services within the
City of New York:

« Parking, garaging or storing of motcr vehicles at facilities other
than garages which are part of nremises occupied as private
one- or two-family dwellings
Credit rating and credit reperting services
Protective and detective services (except port watchman)
Seauty, barbering, hair restoring ing, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar ses
Charges from sale of services o 1o use of weight control
selons, health salons, gymnasiur:s, turkish baths, sauna baths
and similar establishments
Charges for occupancy of hot:
2stablishments

»

*

4

s

a

See Schedule N for additionai informatior
vendors providing parking.

Form ST-100.10 — Scheduie ¥
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Completing Your Return

Complete page 2 of Form ST-810 Quarterly Return for Part-Quarterly
Filers and any required schedules before completing page 1.

Instructions For Page Two

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New York
Stete law to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed by local
juriscictions. The nfor 2 of the szles tax return

2 H ibutiorn (‘vejiis that

raye <

Column (c) — Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjusiments from gross
sales and services to arrive at taxable sales and services. Make
adjustments for transactions where the tax should not be paid, such
as returned sales on which the tax was refunded to the customer or
previously reported sales that became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the fine for the
focality where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the vendor’s place
of business on over-the-counter sales. Otherwiss, delivery occurs
where the customer takes possession. Exception: delivery of a motor
vehicie is determined by the purchaser’'s home address. Deliveries to
points outside New York State are not to be reponed.

Sales made in localities that do not impose iccal sales and use
taxes are subject only to the 4 percent state tax. Repart receipts
from sales and services in these localities on the New York State
Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate iocal sales tax
alicwed for the items and services listed below does not appiy to
New York City. On the New York City 4 percent line, reperi the sale
of the foliowing to businesses located within New York City:

1. Fuei and utility services used directly and ex
production of tangibie personal properiy for

2. Macninery, machinery parts with a useful fife o mane ¢
yesr and equipment used directly and pradominantly 0 such
production

3. Parts with a useful life of more than ar
tetechons centrai office equipment or sia

coemparable tslegraph equipment used &
in receiving at destination or initiating 2
iee'ﬂpt‘ communication

A

;.stamng rapairing,
propery used d
ct for sa‘

impmving a silo (but not inclucﬁénz‘; the founda ¥

servicing of posts and wire used to make and maintain a trellis for
grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York City 8

percent line or on Schedule U.

Column (d) — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal property or
services purchased without payment of sales tax and used in your
own operations. Do not include tangible personal properiy or services
which are resold or which quahfy for a production ayemy
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Erzs:rms‘uons For Page 1

¢ of Business Information

have peen any changes in your business’ name, ID number,
dress, business address, telephone number, or
er/responsible person information, complete Form DTF-95.1,
Business Information for Employers/Vendors, located at the
15s 3 and 4. Send the completed form to: NYS

wt <t Taxation and Finance, Registration Section, Building
T 408, W. A, Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227—0155 If

L
P00
s

(&

nge occurs, complete the form and send it to the address
+ as possible.

¢ Business

«our principal business activity or type of business (‘“retail
‘wholesale furniture,” etc.).

izted Return
re than one place of business and are reporting for all
: on this return, check the applicable box.

xntinued doing business, check the applicable box and
cate of Authority with the back completed.

: Return

xable sal es and made no purchases subjact (o use tax
the box. Enter your gross sales in box A and enter

3, C and DL

5 Sales ang Services

Entor ihe wofa! dollar amount of all sales made by the business (except
molor fuei and/or diesel motor fuel sales as stated under ‘‘Summary
of Business Activity”’), including those exempt from sales taxes. Do
not inciude the amount of sales taxes collected. Include all sales made

Page 3

within New York State (even if for delivery outside New York State) and
sales made @ business locations outside New York State for delivery into
New York State. Do not include sales made at business locations outside
New York State which do not involve deliveries into New York State.

Box B — Yaxabie Sales and Services

Enter the total doliar amount of the sales subject to New York State and
iccal sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fue! sales as
stated under ‘‘Summary of Business Activity’’). This figure is the total
amount from co!umn (c) on page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.
Exception: Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported o '%arer y Schedule NJ, Form ST-810.4 and Quarterly
Schieduie m ST-810.11.

Box € — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Enter 1he wal acliar amount of purchases subject to use tax including
personal property purchased at retail on which no tax was paid at the
time of purchase {except motor fuel andfor diese! motor fuel purchases
as stated under ‘Summary of Business Activity’’). Do not include
tangible personal property purchased for inventory, or property or
services which qualify for a production exemption. Include property used
in the operation of your business if it does not become part of a product
for resaie or is not eligible for a production exemption. This figure is the
totai amount frem coiunr‘ (d) on page 2 of the return and any schedules
filed. Exception Do not include any purchases subject to New Jersey or
Conneticut vee 1ax as reporied on Quarterly Scheduie NJ, Form ST-810.4

—

and Quanerfv Schedufe CT, Form ST-810.11.

nt of credit against the tax claimed on page 2
cept those reported on Schedule FR, as noted
of Business Activity”” Show in parentniesses net
hedutes. Cradits must be substantiated by

2rt and any othar supporiing documenia
ig for the credit claimed. Do not inciudge this amount in
on iing Za. Bo not include credit tor prepaid sales

rore

i
ugs oe. xhlS tine a(.v a"wu“m @p neo on Form
oi ax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or Form FT-1045,
Fiepon‘ of Sales Tax repayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Enter the total amount of tax due from column (e) on page 2 and the
total amount of tax due from column (e) on Schedules A, B, FR,
and U.

Privacy Notification

The authority to request this personal information, including identifying numbers (Social Security numbers, etc.), is found in Sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251, and 1253, and Articles
28 and 22 of the Tax Law in general and the regulatuons for Sales and Use Taxes in subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR. The principal purpose for couectmg this information is to assist
the Department of Taxaticn and Finance in determining New York State and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law.
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ST-810-1 (5/89)
Line Zz — Credits
Report Economic Development Zone credits on this iine and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State anc Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate
on g_orm AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the
credit.
Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any
credits (other than the credits for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or
diese! motor fuel) that can be substantiated but cannot be identified
with a specific locality. Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior
quarter anc you did not apply for this amount by filing the appropriate
refund application, enter the amount on this line. See the instructions
for line 5 for more information on prepaid sales tax on motor fuel,
diese! motor fuel and on refunds. You must substanitiate all credits
taken on this line.
Line 2b — Advance Payments
Enter the amount remitted for the first 2 montns of the quarter and the
total amount of advance payments. Attach Form S7-330, Record of
Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your tax in
advance. Do not include payments from Form FT-$45, Report of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or payments from F1-1045, Report of
Sgles Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on this line.
Line 2¢ — Total
Add Lines 2a and 2b.
Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due
Subtract Line 2¢ from Line 1.
Line 4 — Late Filing Charge
' vou file your return or make payments after the due date, you must
pay a late filing charge, which consists of penalty and interest.
Penalty
For failure 10 _fiie a return on time, even if no tax is cdug, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time, with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed.
* 1-60 cays late: The penealty is 10% of the tax due for the first

month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereatter, but

in no instance less than $50.00.
move days late: The penally s ihe gre

oliowing three amouris:

1. 10% of the tex due for the first month plus 1% of the tax

cue for each month thereaner, not ic exceed 30%

2. The lesser of $100.00 or 1060% of the tax due

3. $50.0C.
Interest
Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of the Tax
Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the taxpayer assistance
number listed below to get the current rate.
Part-Quarterly and Quarterly returns are each due within 20 days of the
end of the period covered. If you were required to file Part-Quarterly

fest of the

.

Phone
Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

~ York State. cai ml frae

1 800 462-8100
1 518 438-1073

Page 4

(monthly) returns for the first two months of the quarter but failed to do
so, penalty and interest should be computed as indicated above on the
amount due each month from the due date until the date the payment
is remitted.
Report on line 4 the total late filing charge on any Pari-GQuarierly return
together with any late filing charge due on this return.
Line 5 — Amount Due
Add lines 3 and 4.
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:
1. Claim credit for the overpayment on your next retuia Dy
entering this amount on line 2a on page 1 of the
return, or
2. Apply for a refund.
To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund
of State and lL.ocal Sales or Use Tax, uniess the overpayment is the
result of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel and diesel
motor fuel sold at retail; in which case, you must file the
appropriate application(s):
e Form FT-948, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service
Stations, or
* Form FT1-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.
¢ Form FT-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service
Stations, or
« Form FY-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Diese! Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail
Service Stations.

Do not atiach the refund application (Form AU-11, FT-$4%, F1-950,
FT-1010 or FT-1007) to your return. This application must be filed
separately and mailec ‘¢ the address shown on that form.

As a sales tax vendor you should be aware that yoiu may be subject to
or liable for other taxes such as motor fusi tax, highway use tax,
corporation tax or income tax withholding. For information relating to
any of these {axes, or for anv forms or publications you will need, you
may use the address and telephone numbers listed below.

Notica in Schedute NJ Filers and Schedule CT s — If you report
on either Schadute NJ (Form ST-810.4) or Schedule CT
(ST-81C.71) senc only cne check payable 1o New Yorw State for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut.
If you report tax due on both the schedules, include the total due all
three state (New York, New Jersey and Connecticut) in one check
payable to New York State. Do not under any circumstances offset an
overpayment from one state against the tax due the other.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized officer or
employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional preparing the
return must also sign it on the line designated “Signature of preparer,
(if other than vendor).”

Write

If you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W. A, Rarriman Campus

Albany, New York 12227

1800 CALL TAX

{1 800 225-5829)

oMo outsice New York Sials, cail

1518 438-85€1
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