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New York Stete
Depertment of
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and Finance

Did you know?

New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for Form ST-100 (Quarterly Return)
Tax Facts For Vendors

® You are subject to @ $5000 penalty if you don't prominently display your Certificate of Authority at your place of business.

® Your Certificate of Authority can be suspended or revoked if you:

— don't file a return (or report), or if you willfully file a false return (or report); or
— willfully fail to collect, truthfully account for or pay over any state or local sales tax; or

__ have been convicted of a crime under the Tax Law.

® You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you issue a receipt without itemizing the sales tax, or you advertise either directly or indirectly that
the sales tax is not part of the price paid by your customer for goods or services.

For more information on these and other penalties which may be imposed under the Tax Law, see Pub 400, Information on . . . Omnibus Tax

Equity and Enforcement Act of 1985, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau. (See telephone number and address on page 4.)

These instructions will help you complete your Form ST-100 Quarterly
Return. If you need further assistance, call the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau at the telephone numbers provided on page 4. You should keep all
records and other supporting documents used in compieting your return
and be able to produce them on request by the Commissioner of Taxation
and Finance or his agents for at least three years after the due date of
the return to which it relates or the date when the return was filed, if later.

The Sales Tax Return

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed to each registered vendor.
You must file the preaddressed copy and may keep the second for your
records.

If the return you are submitting does not have a pre-addressed label,
please complete the name and address portion.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use the
name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use the partnership name. A
sole proprietor must use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the mailing
address. Include your business teiephone number and the number where
you can be reached during the day if different.

The completed quarterly return, Form ST-100, must show your actual gross
sales, taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax for the 3 month
period covered by the return, unless you are a seller of motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel. If you are a seller of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, see
page 2 of instructions under “Notice to Retail Seliers of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fusel”

The front of the return is used to summarize the business activity and tax

due. Page 2 is used to report the details of taxable sales and services and

purchases subject to use tax and the total state and local taxes due for

each taxing jurisdiction. Although this return is all that is required for most

vendors, certain vendors are required to file separate schedules in addition
. to the return. (See ““Schedules Which May Be Required.”)

Change In Filing Period
Monthly Filing

You must flie monthly returns beginning the first month of the quarter
foliowing any quarter in which:
— you have had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents, and amusement charges of $300,000 or more; or
— you are a distributor as defined under Articie 12-A, selling motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you have soid a total of 100,000
galions or more of this fuel (taxable or nontaxable).

You must file monthly thereafter untii you no tonger meet these conditions
for four consecutive quarters. To convert to monthly filing, notify the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau immediately. Calt toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-8581. Failure to file a monthly return on time may
result in penaity and interest charges.

Annual Filing

if your total tax due is $250 or less for the 12-month period ending May 31
and you can reasonably expect to owe no more than $250 in tax for the
next 12 months, you may be entitied to file annually instead of quarterly.
Write to the Sales Tax Registration Unit, Building 8, Room 408, W. A.
Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227 on or before June 20 for the annual
period June 1 - May 31.

Exception: if you are the holder ot a validated Certificate of Authority for
Show and Entertainment Vendors, Form DTF-860A or PR-169.1, you are
not permitted to file annually. You must continue to file quarterly even if
you expact to owe no more than $250 in tax for the next 12 months.

Schedules Which May Be Required

if you must file any of the following schedules, attach them to Form
ST-100. With the exception of the amounts from Scheduies CT and NJ,

include total tax amounts on line 1 of the applicable return. Refer to the
instructions accompanying each of the schedules for additional
information.

Form ST-100.1 — Schedule U

Use Schedule U to report sales or purchases subject only to local sales
and use taxes:

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of machinery and
equipment used directly and predominantly in production;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of central office
equipment or station apparatus used directly or predominantly in
receiving or initiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts, tools and
supplies used in connection with the above machinery, equipment
or apparatus;

— machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less and tools and
supplies used directly and predominantly in production within New
York City only; and

— parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and supplies used
in or on central office equipment or station apparatus used directly
and predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching telephone
and telegraph communication within New York City only.

Form ST-100.2 — Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel rooms, food
and drink, admissions to places of amusement, club dues and cabaret
charges. Presently, only vendors in the counties of Chenango, Nassau and
Waestchester are required to file Scheduie A.

Form ST-100.3 — Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the schedule which
imposes a sales and use tax on the following energy sources and services:

— telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential gas, electricity
and steam services;

— residential gas, electricity and steam services; and

— residential use of coal, fuel oil or propane sold in containers of 100
pounds or more, and wood used for residential heating.

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax due to those
localities on the above energy sources and services purchased tax-free
under direct payment permits or otherwise.

Retailers of heating oil only however, whether or not they file Schedule B,
must report self-use of heating oil used in their motor vehicles on Form
ST-100 and take credit on Form ST100 for any prepaid tax paid on the fuel
used. No credits may be taken for any prepaid tax passed through to
them on their purchases of enhanced fuel later sold for residential heating
(sales reported on Schedule B). They may recover this portion of the
prepaid tax by applying for a refund using Form FT-1010, Application for
Refund of Prapaid Sales Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at
Retail Sarvice Stations.

Form ST-100.4 — Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule NJ
to report the tax due, if any, on dsliveries of tangible personal property
into New Jersey or services subject to tax in New Jersey. To complete
Schedule NJ, see Form ST-100.4-1, Instructions for Quarterly Schedule NJ.
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Form ST-100.5 — Schedule N

Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within the city of
New York:

— parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities other than
garages which are part of premises occupied as private one- or two-
family dwellings;

— credit rating and credit reporting services,
— protective and detective services (except port watchman);

— beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services;

— charges from sales of services or for the use of weight control
salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths, sauna baths and
similar establishments; and

— charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar establishments.

See Schedule N for additional information being requested from vendors
providing parking.

Form ST-100.10 — Schedule FR

Schedule FR must be filed by vendors to report sales tax due on diesel
motor fuel sold at retail to the ultimate consumer or who must report tax
on the self-use of diesel motor fuel. This schedule must also be filed by
vendors to report sales tax due on motor fuel (leaded, unleaded and
premium gasoline) sold at retail to the ultimate consumer or tax due on
the use of motor fuel. Refer to the specific instructions for this schedule
for reporting information.

Form ST-100.11 — Schedule CT

If you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax

Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule CT-

to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal property
into Connecticut or services rendered in Connecticut. See the Schedule
CT for instructions relating to that form.

Completing Your Return

Complete page 2 of Form ST-100 Quarterly Return and any required
schedules before completing page 1.

Instructions For Page Two

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New York State
law to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed by local jurisdictions.
The information on page 2 of the sales tax return enables the department
to make the correct distribution. Credits that can be identified by locality
should be taken on the appropriate line on page 2 of the return. Net
credits (negative amounts) should be shown in parentheses.

Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel

Retail sellers of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel must report all sales,
self-use and sales taxes due on this fuel on Form ST-100.10, Schedule FR.
The schedule must be filed with the vendor's Form ST-100 Quarterly
Return, together with any other applicable schedules.

important: Do Not inciude sales, purchases for self-use or sales tax on
the above fuet on page 2 of your Form ST-100 if you are a retail seller of
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel.

Column (a) — Taxing Jurisdiction

Column (a) lists tho name of each locality now imposing a sales and use
tax.

Column (b) — Combined Tax Rate

Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates that apply in each
of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)

Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales and services,
purch;ses subject to use tax, and sales and use taxes for the localities
listed in column (a). You must report these amounts for the full period

. l‘"’éf‘ Ay
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Column (c) — Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from gross sales
and services 1o arrive at taxable sales and services. Make adjustments for
transactions where the tax should not be paid, such as returned saies on
which the tax was refunded to the customer or previously reported sales
that became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line for the locality
where detivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the vendor’s place of business
on over-the-counter sales. Otherwise, delivery occurs where the customer
takes possession. Exception: delivery of a motor vehicle is determined by
the purchaser's home address. Deliveries to points outside New York
State are not to be reported.

Sales made in localities that do not Impose local sales and use taxes
are subject only to the 4 percent state tax. Report receipts from sales
and services in these localities on the New York State Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate local sales tax
allowed for the items and services listed below does not apply to New
York City. On the New York City 4 percent line, report the sale of the
following to businesses located within New York City:

— fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively in the
production of tangible personal property for sale;

— machinery, machinery parts with a useful life of more than one
year and equipment used directly and predominantly in such
production;

— parts with a useful life of more than one year used in or on
telephone central office equipment or station apparatus or
comparable telegraph equipment used directly and predominantly in
receiving at destination or initiating and switching telephone or
telegraph communication; and

— the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and servicing
tangible personal property used directly and predominantly to
produce a product for sale by farming, including servicing tangible
personal property used in erecting, adding to, altering or improving
a silo (but not including the foundation), and the servicing of posts
and wire used to make and maintain a trellis for grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York City 8%
percent line or on Schedule U.

Column (d) — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal property or
sarvices purchased without payment of sales tax and used in your own
operations. Do not include tangible personal property or services which
are resold or which qualify for a production exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if purchased by a New
York State resident, business or branch of a New York State business
located outside New York State and shipped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one locality in
New York State and the property is than used in another locality in New
York State, an additional use tax will be due if the local tax rate is higher
in the second locality and:

— the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs;

— the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates the property
into real property situated in the second locality; or

— the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the second locality
in the course of his employment, trade, business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the biank fines at the bottom of
page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in column (a) and the additional rate
of tax in column (b).

Column (e) — Sales and Use Taxes

Compute the tax by muitiplying the amounts in columns (¢) and (d) by the
combined state and local tax rate in column (b). On the last line enter the
total amounts reported on both sides of page 2 in column (e). include this

tntal in tha amnnnt vni ranart nn lina 1 nana 1 af tha raturn



* ST00-1 (9/89)

Instructions For Page 1 :
Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business’ name, iD number,
mailing address, business address, telephone number, or
owner/officer/responsible person information, complete Form DTF-985.1,
Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors, located at the
bottom of pages 3 and 4. Send the completed form to: NYS Department
of Taxation and Finance, Registration Section, Buliding 8, Room 408,
W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155. If there are no
changes to the above information, keep this form in your files. If a change
occurs, complete the form and send it to the address listed as soon as
possible.

Type of Business

Describe your principal business activity or type of business (*retail

grocery,’ “wholesale furniture,” etc.).

Consolidated Return
If you have more than one place of business and are reporting for all
business locations on this return, check the applicable box.
Final Return
If you have discontinued doing business, check the applicable box and
attach your Certificate of Authority with the back completed.
No Tax Due Return
If you had no taxable sales and made no purchases subject to use tax
enter “none” in the box. Enter your gross sales in box A and enter
“none” in boxes B, C and D.
Summary of Business Activity
If you are a retail seller of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel:

— do not report gross sales of this fuel in box A;

— do not report taxable sales of this fuel in box B;

— do not report purchases of this fuel subject to use tax in box C;
and

— do not report credits related to tax on this fuei in box D.
These amounts are reportable only on Scheduie FR, as explained in the
instructions that accompany this schedule.

Box A — Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total doitar amount cf all sales made by the business (except
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as stated under ‘‘Summary of
Business Actlvity”’), including those exempt from sales taxes. Do not
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include the amount of sales taxes collected. Include all saies made within
New York State (even if for delivery outside New York State) and sales
made at business locations outside New York State for delivery into New
York State. Do not include sales made at business locations outside New
York State which do not involve deliveries into New York State.

Box B — Taxable Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New York State and
local sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as
stated under ‘‘Summary ot Business Activity’’). This figure is the total
amount from column (c) on page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.
Exception: Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported on Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-100.4, and Quarterly
Scheduls CT, Form ST-100.11.

Box C — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax inciuding
personal property purchased at retail on which no tax was paid at the time
of purchase (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel purchases as
stated under ‘‘Summary of Business Activity'’). Do not include tangible
personal property purchased for inventory, or property or services which
qualify for a production exemption. Inciude property used in the operation
of your business if it does not becoms part of a product for resale or is
not eligible for a production exemption. This figure is the total amount
from column (d) on page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.
Exception: Do not include any purchases subject to New Jersey use tax
as repofted on Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-100.4.

Also, if the amounts in boxes B and C total $300,000 or more, see
- ““Change in Filing Perlod, Monthly Filing"” on page 1.

Box D — Total Credits Claimed on Page 2 or Schedules

Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the tax claimed on page 2
or any schedules filed, except those reported on Schedule FR, as noted
under ‘““Summary of Business Activity.’ Show in parentheses net credits
on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be substantiated by attaching a
statement and any other supporting documentation explaining the basis for
the cradit claimed. Do not include this amount in any amount entered on
line 2a. Do not include credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel in this box.

Summary of Taxes Due
Line 1 — Sales and Use Taxes

Enter the total amount of tax due from column (g) on page 2 and the total
amount of tax due from column (e) on Schedules A, B, FR,
and U.

Privacy Notification

Our authority fo require this personai information, including identifying numbers (social security numbers, etc.) is found in sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28
and 29 of the Tax Law in general and regulations for sales and use taxes in subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR.

We will use this information primarily to determine New York State and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law. We will also use it for tax administration
purposes and as necessary under Tax Law sections 1146 and 1250, and for any other purpose authorized by law.

Your failure to provide the required information may result in civil andfor criminal penalties under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817 of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the

regulations for sales and use taxes.

Our authoril

lo maintain this information is found in sections 1136(d), 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will be maintained by the Director, Data Management Services

Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8, Room 905, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227 telaphona (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from outside

New York State, cali (518) 438-8581.

Cut Here

Change of Business Information For Employers/Vendors

If there have been any changes in your business' name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone number, or owner/officer/responsible person information,
please complete this form. Mall to: NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, Reglstratlon Section, Building 8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY

12227-0155.

Oid Information:

D number: __
Name: . ___

New Information: Effective date_____

IDnumber: _
Trade name: (DBA, etc.):

Phone number:

Legal nams: —

Business address:

Mailing address: ___ .
Reason for change: R

Business tax records which should be changed:
[ Sales and Use Tax "] Wwithholding Tax

DTF.95.1 (7588}

(O Corporation Tax
(3 other

[L} Highway Use Tax

Tax type Account number
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Line 2a — Credits

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation 1o the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the credit.

_ Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any credits

smher than the credits for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor

uel) that can be substantiated but cannpt be identified with a spacific
locality. Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior ?uaner and you
did not apply for this amount by filing the appropriate refund application,
enter the amount on this line. See the instructions for line 5 for more
information on prepaid sales tax on motor fuel, diesel motor fuel and on
refunds. You must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments. Attach Form ST-330, Record
of Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your tax in advance.
Do not include on this line payments from Form F1-945, Report of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or payments from FT-1045, Report of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

Line 2c — Total

Add Lines 2a and 2h.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due
Subtract Line 2¢ from Line 1.

.Line 4 — Late Filing Charge

I rou file your return or make payments after the due date, you must pay
a late filing charge, which consists of penaity and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time, with tax due, the penaity
depends on how late the form is filed.

* 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first month
plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no instance
less than $50.00.

* 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter, not to exceed 30%.

2. The lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due.

3. $50.00.

Interest
Interest is computed at the rate determined under Section 1142 of the

Phone

Telephone assistance is available from 8 am. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

For forms or publications

From within New York State, call toll free
From outside New York State, call

For information .

From within New York State, call toll free 1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829)
518 438-8581

1 800 462-8100
518 438-1073

From outside New York State, call
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Tax Law and is compounded daily. Interest is always due on any
underpayment of tax and is computed from the due date of the return
to the date the tax is paid. Call the taxpayer assistance number listed
below to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Add lines 3 and 4.
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:

— claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by entering this
amount on fine 2a on page 1 of the return; or

— apply for a refund.

To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of
State and | ocal Sales or Use Tax, uniess the overpayment is the result
of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fusl and/or diesel motor fuel
sold at retall; in which case, you must file the appropriate application:

— Form ET-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor
Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT-850, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor
Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FY-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fusl Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11, F1-949, or FT-950,
FT-1007 or FT-1010) to your return. This application must be filed
separately and mailed to the address shown on that form.

As a sales tax vendor you should be aware that you may be subject to or
liable for other taxes such as motor fuel tax, diesel motor fuel tax, highway
use tax, corporation tax or income tax withholding. For information relating
to any of these taxes, or for any forms or publications you will need, you
may use the address and telephone numbers listed below.

Notice to Schedule NJ Filers and Schedule CT filers —If you report tax
due on either Schedule NJ (Form ST-100.4) or Schedule CT (ST-100.11)
send only one check payable to New York State for the amount due New
York and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. If you report tax due
on both the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York,
New Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do
not under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one state against
the tax due the other.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized officer or
employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional preparing the
return must also siQn it on the line designated ‘‘Signature of preparer, (if
other than vendor).”

Write
if you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W.A. Harriman Campus

Albany, New York 12227

Cut Here

Enter below the new owner/officer/responsible person information if there have been any changes

Name of owner/otficer/responsible person 9% Ownership Title

Eftective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office

State ZiP code Telephone number

()

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title

TElfective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office

State TP code Telephone number

( )

Name of owner/officer/rasponsible person % Ownarship Title

" Tettective date Sociat security number

;l;rrr .;d;u(no and street)

City, village, post office

TMoohonc numbar

()

State T 2P code

Name of owner/otficer/responsible person % Ownership Title

City, village, post otfice

Tolsphone number

DTF86 1 (back) (7/59)
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