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Uendors, certain vendors are required to file separate schedules in addition
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New York State
Department of
Taxatlon
and Finance

New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for Form ST-100 (Quarterly Return)

Tax Facts For Vendors

Did you know?

® You are subject to a $50.00 penalty if you don’t prominently display your

Your Certificate of Authority can be suspended or revoked if you:

Certificate of Authority at your place of business.

* — don't file a return (or report), or if you willfully file a.false return (or report); or
— willfully fail to collect, truthfully account for or pay over any state or local sales tax; or

— have been convicted of a crime under the Tax Law.

® You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you issue a receipt without itemizing the sales tax, or you advertise either directly or indirectly that
the sales tax is not part of the price paid by your customer for goods or services.

For more information on these and other penalties which may be imposed under the Tax Law, see Pub 400, Information on . . . Omnibus Tax
Equity and Enforcement Act of 1985, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau. (See telephone number and address on page 4.)

These instructions will help you complete your Form ST-100 Quarterly
Return. If you need further assistance, call the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau at the telephone numbers provided on page 4. You should keep all
records and other supporting documents used in completing your return
and be able to produce them on request by the Commissioner of Taxation
and Finance or his agents for at least three years after the due date of
the return to which it relates or the date when the return was filed, if later.

The Sales Tax Return

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed to each registered vendor.
You must file the preaddressed copy and may keep the second for your
records.

The completed quarterly return, Form ST-100, must show your actual gross
sales, taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax for the 3 month
period covered by the return, unless you are a seller of motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel. If you are a seller of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, see
page 2 of instructions under “Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fuel.”

The front of the return is used to summarize the business activity and tax

due. Page 2 is used to report the details of taxable sales and services and

purchases subject to use tax and the total state and local taxes due for
ach taxing jurisdiction. Although this return is all that is required for most

o the return. (See “Schedules Which May Be Required.”)

Change In Filing Period
Monthly Filing

You must file monthly returns beginning the first month of the quarter
following any quarter in which:
— you have had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents, and amusement charges of $300,000 or more; or

— you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A, selling motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you have soid a total of 100,000
gallons or more of this fuel (taxable or nontaxable).

You must file monthly thereafter until you no longer meet these conditions
for four consecutive quarters. To convert to monthly filing, notify the Sales
Tax Processing Unit, Building 8, Room 409, W.A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227 (1 518 457-7311) immediately. Failure to file a monthly
return on time may result in penalty and interest charges.

Annual Filing

If your total tax due is $250 or less for the 12-month period ending May 31
and you can reasonably expect to owe no more than $250 in tax for the
next 12 months, you may be entitled to file annually instead of quarterly.
Write to the Sales Tax Registration Unit, Building 8, Room 408, W. A.
Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227 on or before June 20 for the annual
period June 1 - May 31.

Exception: If you are the holder of a validated Certificate of Authority for
Show Vendors, Form DTF-860A or PR-169.1, you are not permitted to file
annually. You must continue to file quarterly even if you expect to owe no
more than $250 in tax for the next 12 months.

~ Schedules Which May Be Required

\ )you must file any of the following schedules, attach them to Form SI‘-100

‘and include total tax amounts on line 1 of the applicable return.
Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the schedules for
additional information.
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Form ST-100.1 — Schedule U

Use Schedule U to report sales or purchases subject only to local saies
and use taxes:

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of machinery and
equipment used directly and predominantly in production;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of central office
equipment or station apparatus used directly or predominantly in
receiving or initiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication;

— installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts, tools and
supplies used in connection with the above machinery, equipment
or apparatus;

— machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less and tools and
supplies used directly and predominantly in production within New
York City only; and

— parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and supplies used
in or on central office equipment or station apparatus used directly
and predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching telephone
and telegraph communication within New York City only.

Form S$T-100.2 — Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel rooms, food
and drink, admissions to places of amusement, ciub dues and cabaret
charges. Presently, only vendors in the counties of Chenango, Nassau and
Westchester are required to file Schedule A.

Form ST-100.3 — Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the schedule which
imposes a sales and use tax on the following energy sources and services:

— telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential gas, electricity
and steam services; - e

— residential gas, electricity and steam services; and

— residential use of coal, fuel oil or propane sold in containers of 100
pounds or more, and wood used for residential heating.

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax due to those
localities on the above energy sources and services purchased tax-free
under direct payment permits or otherwise.

Retailers of heating oil only however, whether or not they file Schedule B,
must report self-use of heating oil used in their motor vehicles on Form
St-100 and take credit on Form ST-100 for any prepaid tax paid on the fuel
used. No credits may be taken for any prepaid tax passed through to
them on their purchases of enhanced fuei later sold for residential heating
(sales reported on Schedule B). They may recover this portion of the
prepaid tax by applying for a refund using Form FT1-1010, Application for
Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at
Retail Service Stations.

Form ST-100.4 — Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New York/New Jersey Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule NJ
to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal property
into New Jersey or services subject to tax in New Jersey. To complete
Schedule NJ, see Form ST-100.4-1, Instructions for Quarterly Schedule NJ.
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Form ST-100.5 — Scheduie N

Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within the city of
New York:

— parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities other than
garages which are part of premises occupied as private one- or two-
family dwellings; ’

— credit rating and credit reporting services;
— protective and detective services (except port watchman),

— beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services;

— charges from sales of services or for the use of weight control
salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths, sauna baths and
similar establishments; and

— charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar establishments.

See Schedule N for additional information being requested from vendors
providing parking.

Form ST-100.10 — Schedule FR

As of September 1, 1988 Schedule E and Schedule R will no longer be
used to report sales of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel. One schedule,
Schedule FR, replaces these two schedules. Schedule FR must be filed
by vendors to report sales tax due on diesel motor fuel soid at retail to the
uiltimate consumer or who must report tax on the self-use of diesel motor
fuel. This schedule must also be filed by vendors to report sales tax due
on motor fue! (leaded, unieaded and premium gasoline) sold at retail to
the ultimate consumer or tax due on the use of motor fuel. Refer to the
specific instructions for this schedule for reporting information.

Form ST-100.11 — Schedule CT

If you are registered under the New York/Connecticut Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule cT
to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal property
into Connecticut or services rendered in Connecticut. See the Schedule
CT for instructions relating to that form.

Completing Your Return

Complete: pagé 2 of Form ST-100 Quarterly Return and any reguired
schedules before completing page 1.

Instructions For Page Two

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New York State
taw to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed by local jurisdictions.
The information on page 2 of the sales tax return enables the department
10 make the correct distribution. Credits that can be identified by locality
should be taken on the appropriate line on page 2 of the return. Net
credits (negative amounts) should be shown in parentheses.

Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel :

Retail sellers of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel must report all sales,
self-use and sales taxes due on this fuel on Form ST-100.10, Schedule FR.
The schedule must be filed with the vendor’s Form ST-100 Quarterly
Return, together with any other applicable schedules.

Important: Do Not include sales, purchases for self-use or sales tax on
the above fuel on page 2 of your Form ST-100 if you are a retail seller of
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel.

Column (a) — Taxing Jurisdiction

Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a sales and use
tax.

Column (b) — Combined Tax Rate

Column (b) liets the combined state and local tax rates that apply in each
of the localitibs listed in column (a). :

Columns (c), (d) and (e) — 4
Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales and services,
purchases subject to use tax, and sales and use taxes for the localities
fisted in column (a). You must report these amounts for the full period
covered by the return unless a shorter period s specifically indicated.

,

Page 2

Column (c) — Taxable Sales and Services :
Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from gross sales
and services to arrive at taxable sales and services. Make adjustments for
transactions where the tax should not be paid, such as returned sales on
which the tax was refunded to the customer or previously reported sales
that became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line for the locality
where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the vendor’s place of business
on over-the-counter sales. Otherwise, delivery occurs where the customer
takes possession. Exception: delivery of a motor vehicle is determined by
the purchaser’s home address. Deliveries to points outside New York
State are not to be reported.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local sales and use taxes
are subject only to the 4 percent state tax. Report receipts from sales
and services In these localities on the New York State Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate local sales tax
allowed for the items and services listed below does not apply to New
York City. On the New York Clty 4 percent line, report the sale of the
following to businesses located within New York City:

— fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively in the
production of tangible personal property for sale;
~  _— machinery, machinery parts with a useful life of more than one
year and equipment used directly and predominantly in such
production; )

— parts with a useful life of more than one year used in or on
telephone central office equipment or station apparatus or
comparable telegraph equipment used directly and predominantly in
receiving at destination or initiating and switching telephone or
telegraph communication; and

— the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and servicing
tangible personal property used directly and predominantly to
produce a product for sale by farming, including servicing tangible
personal property used in erecting, adding to, altering or improvin
a silo (but not including the foundation), and the servicing of posts
and wire used to make and maintain a trellis for grapes.

These transactions shouid not be reported on the New York City 8%
percent line or on Schedule u.

Column (d) — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal property or
services purchased without payment of sales tax and used in your own
operations. Do not include tangible personal property or services which
are resold or which qualify for a production exemption.
Property or services are also subject ta,the use tax if purchased by ‘a New
York State resident, business or branch of a New York State business
located outside New York State and shipped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: if a sales or use tax was paid in one locality in
New York State and the property is then used in another locality in New
York State, an additional use tax will be due if the local tax rate is higher
in the second locality and:

— the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs;

— the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates the property
into real property situated in the second locality; or

— the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the second locality
in the course of his empioyment, trade, business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the blank lines at the bottom of
page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in column (a) and the additional rate
of tax in column (b). J/

Column (e) — Sales and Use Taxes , ~
Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns (c) and (d) by the
combined state and local tax rate in column (b). On the last line enter the
total amounts reported on both sides of page 2 in column (e). Include this
total in the amount you report on-line 1, page 1, of the return.
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Instructions For Page 1
Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business’' name, ID number,
mailing address, business address, telephone number, or
owner/officer/responsible person information, complete Form DTF-95.1,

f '}‘hanga of Business Information for Employers/Vendors, located at the
{ _ oottom of pages 3 and 4. Send the completed form to: NYS Department

of Taxation and Finance, Registration Section, Building 8, Room 408,
W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155. If there are no
changes to the above information, keep this form in your files. If a change
occurs, complete the form and send it to the address listed as soon as
possible.
Type of Business
Describe your principal business activity or type of business (“'retail
grocery,” “wholesale furniture,” etc.).
Consolidated Return
If you have more than one place of business and are reporting for all
pusiness locations on this return, check the applicable box.
Final Return
If you have discontinued doing business, check the applicable box and
attach your Certificate of Authority with the back compieted.
No Tax Due Return
If you had no taxable sales and made no purchases subject to use tax
enter “none” in the box. Enter your gross sales in box A and enter
“none” in boxes B, C and D.
Summary of Business Activity
If you are a retail seller of motor tuel and/or diesel motor fuel:

— do not report gross sales of this fuel in box A;

— do not report taxable sales of this fuel in box B;

- dodnot report purchases of this fuel subject to use tax in box C;
an

— do not report credits related to tax on this fuel in box D.
These amounts are reportable only on Schedule FR, as explained in the

(xstructions that accompany this schedule.

ox A — Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar amount of all sales made by the business (except
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as stated under ‘‘Summary of
Business Activity’), including those exempt from sales taxes. Do not
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include the amount of sales taxes collected. Include all sales made within
New York State (even if for delivery outside New York State) and sales
made at business locations outside New York State for delivery into New
York State. Do not include sales made at business locations outside New
York State which do not invoive deliveries into New York State.

Box B — Taxable Sales and Services _

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New York State an
local sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as
stated under **Summary of Business Activity”). This figure is the total
amount from column (¢) on page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.
Exception: Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported on Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-100.4, and Quarterly
Schedule CT, Form ST-100.11. -

Box C — Purchases Subject to Use Tax .

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax including
personal property purchased at retail on which no tax was paid at the time
of purchase (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel purchases as
stated under “Summary of Business Activity’’). Do not include tangible
personal property purchased for inventory, or property or services which
qualify for a production exemption. Include property used in the operation
of your business if it does not become part of a product for resale or is
not eligible for a production exemption. This figure is the total amount
from column (d) an page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.
Exception: Do not include any purchases subject to New Jersey or
Conneticut use tax as reported on Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-100.4
and Quarterly Schedule CT, Form ST-100.11.

Also, if the amounts in boxes B and C total $300,000 or more, see
“Change In Filing Period, Monthly Fliing" on page 1.

Box D — Total Credits Claimed on Page 2 or Schedules

Enter the total doliar amount of credit against the tax claimed on page 2
or any schedules filed, except those reported on Schedule FR, as noted
under ““Summary of Business Activity.’ Show in parentheses net credits
on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be substantiated by attaching a
statement and any other supporting documentation explaining the basis for
the credit claimed. Do not include this amount in any amount entered on
line 2a. Do not include credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel in this box.

Summary of Taxes Due
Line 1 — Sales and Use Taxes

Enter the total amount of tax due from column (e) on page 2 and the total
amount of tax due from column (e) on Schedules A, B, FR, N |
and U.

: Privacy Notification
The authority to require this personal information, includin?‘identilyinganumbers Social Security numbers, etc.), is found in Sections 1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and

Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law in general and the regu!
is 10 assist the Department of Taxation and Finance in

tions for Sales and

se Taxes in subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR. The principal purpose for collecting this information
rmining New York State and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax Law.

The information will be used for tax administration purposes and as necessary under Tax Law Sections 1145 and 1250 and for any other purpose authorized by law.
Failure to provide the requested information may result in civil and/or criminal penalties under Sections 1145 and 1250 of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the reguiations

for Sales and Use Taxes.

This information will be maintained

W. A. Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 905, Albany, New

the Director, Data Mana%:;(m;m S’?g?g)e 4%'#2;‘6]0 Processing and Revenue Management Division, Department of Taxation and Finance,

The authority to maintain this information is found in Sections 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. - N
Cut Here
. ‘Change of Business Information For Employers/Vendors
if there have been any changes in your business’ name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone number, or owner/officer/resp ibl ation,

please complete this form. Mall to: NYS Department of Tuxation and Finance, Registration Section, Building 8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, A'l-hnny, NY

12227-0155.

Old Information:

ID number:
Name:

New information:
1D number:

Trade name: (DBA, etc.):

Phone number:

Legal name:

Business address:

Mailing address:

- -Reason for change:
\ -

usiness tax records which should be changed:

[0 sales and Use Tax [0 withholding Tax
OTR95.1 (428)

O Corporation Tax
O Other

O Highway Use Tax

Tax type Account number
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Line 2a — Credits

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the credit.
Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any credits
sother than the credits for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor
uel) that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a specific
locality. Also, if you had an overpayment from the prion;guarter and you
did not apply for this amount by filing the appropriate refund application,
enter the amount on this line. the instructions for line 5 for more
information on prepaid sales tax on motor fuel, diesel motor fuel and on
refunds. You must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments. Attach Form ST-330, Record
of Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your tax in advance.
Do not include on this line payments from Form F1-945, Report of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel, or payments from FT-1045, eport of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fusl.

Line 2¢ — Total

Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due
Subtract Line 2c from Line 1.

Line 4 — Late Filing Charge

If You file your return or make payments after the due date, you must pay
a late filing charge, which consists of penalty and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time, with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed.

« 1-80 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first month
lus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no instance
ess than $50.00.

« 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter, not to exceed 30%.

2. The lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due.

3. $50.00.

Interest
Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of the Tax

Phone

Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

For forms or publications

£rom within New York State, call toll free
From outside New York State, call

For information

From within New York State, call toil free

1 800 462-8100
1 518 438-1073

1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829)

From outside New York State, call 1 518 438-8581
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Regulations and is compounded daily. Interest is always due on any
underpayment of tax and is computed from the due date of the return
to the date the tax is paid. Call the taxpayer assistance number listed
beiow to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Add lines 3 and 4. (\
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:

— claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by entering this
amount on line 2a on page 1 of the return; or

— apply for a refund.

To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, Applitation for Credit or Refund of
State and Local Sales or Use Tax, unless the overpayment is the resuit
of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel
sold at retall: in which case, you must file the appropriate application:

— Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor
Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

* __ Form FT-850, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor
Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT1-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

— Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on
Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11, FT-949, or FT-950,
FT-1007 or F1-1010) to your return. This application must be filed
separately and mailed to the address shown on that form.

As a sales tax vendor you should be awara that you may be subject to or
liable for other taxes such as motor fuel tax, diesel motor fuel tax, highway
use tax, corporation tax or income tax withholding. For information relating
to any of these taxes, or for any forms or publications you will need, you
may use the address and telephone numbers listed below.

Notice to Schedule NJ Filers and Schedule CT fllers —If you report tax
due on either Schedule NJ (Form S7-100.4) or Schedule CT {ST-100.11)
send only one check payable to New York State for the amount due New
York and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. if you renort tax due
on both the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York,
New Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payabie to New York State. Do
not under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one state against
the tax due the other.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized officer or
employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional preparing the
return must also sign it on the line designated “Signature of preparer, (if
other than vendor).

Write
It you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W.A. Harriman Campus

Albany, New York 12227

Cut Here

Enter below the new owner/officer/responsible person information if there have been any changes

Name of owner/otficer/responsible person 9% Ownership Title Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone number

Name of owner/officer/responsible psrson 9% Ownership Title Effective date Social security number

Home address(no. and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code Telephone numbar

: () ,

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, poet office State ZIP code Telephone number

DTF-85.1 (back) (4/68)




