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New York State

Department of
@ TAXATION
and FINANCE

New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for Form ST-810 (Quarterly Return for Part-Quarterly Filers)

Tax Facts For Vendors

Did you know?

® You are subject to a $50.00 penalty if you don’t prominently display your Certificate of Authority at your place of business.

® Your Certificate of Authority can be suspended or revoked if you:

— don't file a return (or report), or if you willfully file a false return (or report), or
— willfully fail to collect, truthfully account for or pay over any state or local sales tax, or

— have been convicted of a crime under the Tax Law.

® You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you issue a receipt without itemizing the sales tax, or you advertise either directly or indirectly
that the sales tax is not part of the price paid by your customer for goods or services.

For more information on these and other penalties which may be imposed under the Tax Law, see N-86-2, Information on . . . Omnibus Tax Equity and

Enforcement Act of 1985, previously sent to you, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau. (See telephone number and address on page 4.)

These instructions will help you complete your Form ST-810 Quarterly
Return for Part-Quarterly Filers. If you need further assistance, call the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau at the telephone numbers provided on
page 4. You should keep all records and other supporting documents
used in completing your return and be able to produce them on
request by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agents for
at least three years after the due date of the return or the date when
the return was filed, if later.

The Sales Tax Return

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed to each registered vendor.
You must file the preaddressed copy and keep the second for your
records.

The completed quarterly return, Form ST-810, must show your actual
gross sales, taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax for the 3
month period covered by the return unless you are a seller of motor
fuel. If you are a seller of motor fuel, see page 2 of instructions under
“Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel Motor Fuel.”

The front of the return is used to summarize the business activity and
tax due. Page 2 is used to report the details of taxable sales and
services and purchases subject to use tax and the total state and local
taxes due for each taxing jurisdiction. Although this return is all that is
required for most vendors, certain vendors are required to file separate
schedules in addition to the return. (See “Schedules Which May Be
Required.”)

All part-quarterly (monthly) filers must use this form as a report for the
third month of the quarterly period and as a quarterly report,
irrespective of which type {long or short form) part-quarterly return was
filed for the first two months of the quarter.

Change In Filing Period
Monthly Filing

You must file monthly returns beginning the first month after any
quarter in which:

e You have had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents, and amusement charges of $300,000 or more or

e You are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A, selling

motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you have sold a total of

100,000 gallons or more of this fuel (taxable or nontaxable).
Note: Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors
of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must not include on this return, Form
ST-810, or on the part-quarterly return, Form ST-809, any amounts
reported on Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayments on Motor
Fuel, or the new Form FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on
Diesel Motor Fuel. :

Detailed explanations of the Tax Law which affect persons selling motor
fuel or diesel motor fuel can be found in Publication 881, Sales Tax
Information For Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel, Publication 882, Sales Tax
Information For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and Wholesalers, and
Publication 884, Information on Diesel Motor Fuel Legislation.
Information relating to the legislative changes in treatment of diesel
motor fuel effective September 1, 1988 can be found in Publication 100,
Notice of New Legislation Pertaining to Diesel Motor Fuel (including
Heating Oil). Since Publication 100 reflects the latest treatment of
diesel motor fuel, information found in this Publication will supercede
any conflicting information found in previous publications.

Change in Filing Period Quarterly Filing

If you are presently required to file part-quarterly (monthly) returns and

« your total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to use
tax), rents and amusement charges amounted to less than
$300,000 in every one of the last four quarters, or

« you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A selling motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel, and you sold less than 100,000
gallons in every one of the last four quarters

you may request conversion to quarterly filing.

To change your filing period, notify the Sales Tax Processing Unit,

W. A. Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 409, Albany, N.Y. 12227 or
call 1 518 457-7311 immediately. Failure to file a timely return may
result in late filing charges.

Schedules Which May Be Required

If you must file any of the following schedules, attach them to Form
S1-810 and include total tax amounts on line 1 of the applicable return.
Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the schedules for
additional information.

Form ST-810.1 — Schedule U

Use Schedule U to report sales or purchases subject only to local
sales and use taxes:
« Installation, repair, maintenance or service of machinery and
equipment used directly and predominantly in production
« Installation, repair, maintenance or service of central office
equipment or station apparatus used directly or
predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching
telephone or telegraph communication
« Installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts, tools
and supplies used in connection with the above machinery,
equipment or apparatus

e Machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less and
tools and supplies used directly and predominantly within
New York City only .

e Parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and
supplies used in or on central office equipment or station
apparatus used directly and predominantly in receiving or
initiating and switching telephone and telegraph
communication within New York City only.

Form ST-810.2 — Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel rooms,
food and drink, admissions to places of amusement, club dues and
cabaret charges. Presently, only vendors in the counties of Chenango,
Nassau and Westchester are required to file Schedule A.

Form ST-810.3 — Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the schedule
which imposes a sales and use tax on the following energy sources
and services:
« Telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential gas,
electricity and steam services

« Residential gas, electricity and steam services, and

« Residential use of coal, fuel oil or propane sold in
containers of 100 pounds or more, and wood used for
residential heating.

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax due to those
localities on the above energy sources and services purchased tax-free
under direct payment permits or otherwise.

Retailers of heating oil only however, whether or not they file Schedule
B, must report self-use of heating oil used in their motor vehicle on
Form ST-810 and take credit on Form ST-810 for any prepaid tax paid
on the fuel used. No credits may be taken for any prepaid tax passed
through to them on their purchases of enhanced fuel later sold for
residential heating (sales reported on Schedule B). They may recover
this portion of the prepaid tax by applying for a refund using Form
FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel Motor
Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

Form ST-810.4 — Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New York/New Jersey Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
NJ to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property into New Jersey or services subject to tax in New Jersey. To
complete Schedule NJ, see Form ST-810.4-1, Instructions for Quarterly
Schedule NJ for Part-Quarterly Filers..
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Form ST-810.5 — Schedule N
Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within the
City of New York:
¢ Parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities other
than garages which are part of premises occupied as private
one- or two-family dwellings
e Credit rating and credit reporting services
¢ Protective and detective services (except port watchman)
e Beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services
¢ Charges from sale of services or for the use of weight control
salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths, sauna baths
and similar establishments
e Charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar
establishments

Form ST-100.10 — Schedule FR

As of September 1, 1988 Schedule E and Schedule R will no longer
be used to report sales of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel. One
schedule, Schedule FR, replaces these two schedules. Schedule FR
must be filed by vendors to report sales tax due on diesel motor fuel
sold at retail to the ultimate consumer or who must report tax on the
self-use of diesel motor fuel. This schedule must also be filed by
vendors to report sales tax due on motor fuel (leaded, unleaded and
premium gasoline) sold at retail to the ultimate consumer or tax due
on the use of motor fuel. Refer to the specific instructions for this
schedule for reporting information.

Form ST-810.11 - Schedule CT

If you are registered under the New York/Connecticut Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use
Schedule CT to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible
personal property into Connecticut or services rendered in
Connecticut. See the Schedule CT for instructions relating to that
form.

Completing Your Return

Complete page 2 of Form ST-810 Quarterly Return for Part-Quarterly
Filers and any required schedules before completing page 1.

Instructions For Page Two

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New York
State law to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed by local
jurisdictions. The information on page 2 of the sales tax return
enables the department to make the correct distribution. Credits that
can be identified by locality should be taken on the appropriate line
on page 2 of the return. Net credits (negative amounts) should be
shown in parentheses.

Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel

Retail sellers of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel must report all
sales, self-use and sales taxes on this fuel on Form ST-100.10,
Schedule FR. This schedule must be filed with the vendor’s Form
ST-810, together with any other applicable schedules.

Important: Do Not include sales, purchases for self-use or sales
tax on the above fuel on page 2 of your Form ST-810 if you are a
retail seller of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel.

Column (a) — Taxing Jurisdiction
Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a sales and
use tax.

Column (b) — Combined Tax Rate

Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates that apply in
each of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)

Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales and
services, purchases subject to use tax, and sales and use taxes for
the localities listed in column (a). You must report these amounts for
the full period covered by the return unless a shorter period is
specifically indicated.

rayec c

Column (c) — Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from gross
sales and services to arrive at taxable sales and services. Make
adjustments for transactions where the tax should not be paid, such
as returned sales on which the tax was refunded to the customer or
previously reported sales that became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line for the
locality where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the vendor’s place
of business on over-the-counter sales. Otherwise, delivery occurs
where the customer takes possession. Exception: delivery of a motor
vehicle is determined by the purchaser’s home address. Deliveries to
points outside New York State are not to be reported.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local sales and use
taxes are subject only to the 4 percent state tax. Report receipts
from sales and services in these localities on the New York State
Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate local sales tax
allowed for the items and services listed below dces not apply to
New York City. On the New York City 4 percent line, report the sale
of the following to businesses located within New York City:

1. Fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively in the
production of tangible personal property for sale

2. Machinery, machinery parts with a useful life of more than one
year and equipment used directly and predominantly in such
production

3. Parts with a useful life of more than one year used in or on
telephone central office equipment or station apparatus or
comparable telegraph equipment used directly and predominantly
in receiving at destination or initiating and switching telephone or
telegraph communication '

4. The services of installing, repairing, maintaining and servicing
tangible personal property used directly and predominantly to
produce a product for sale by farming, including servicing tangible
personal property used in erecting, adding to, altering or
improving a silo (but not including the foundation), and the
servicing of posts and wire used to make and maintain a trellis for
grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York City 8%

percent line or on Schedule U.

Column (d) — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal property or
services purchased without payment of sales tax and used in your
own operations. Do not include tangible personal property or services
which are resold or which qualify for a production exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if purchased by a
New York State resident, business or branch of a New York State
business located outside New York State and shipped or brought into
the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one
locality in New York State and the property is then used in another
locality in New York State, an additional use tax will be due if the
local tax rate is higher in the second locality and:

e the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs,

e the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates the
property into real property situated in the second locality, or

e the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the second
locality in the course of his employment, trade, business or
profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the biank lines at the
bottom of page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in column (a) and the
additional rate of tax in column (b).

Column (e) — Sales and Use Taxes

Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns (c) and (d)
by the combined state and local tax rate in column (b). On the last
line enter the total amounts reported on both sides of page 2 in
column (e). Include this total in the amount you report on line 1, page
1, of the return.
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Instructions For Page 1 within New York State (even if for delivery outside New York State) and

. : sales made at business locations outside New York State for delivery
Change of Business lnformat'on . s into New York State. Do not include sales made at business locations
If there have been any changes in your business’ name, ID number, outside New York State which do not involve deliveries into New York
mailing address, business address, telephone number, or State.
owner/officer/responsible person information, complete Form DTF-95.1, A
Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors, located at the Box B — Taxable Sales and Services
bottom of pages 3 and 4. Send the completed form to: NYS Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance, Registration Section, Building and local sales taxes (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales
8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155. If as stated under “Summary of Business Activity’’). This figure is the
there are no changes to the above information, keep this form in your total amount from column (c) on page 2 of the return and any
files. If a change occurs, complete the form and send it to the address schedules filed. Exception: do not include New Jersey taxable sales
listed as soon as possible. as reported on Quarterly Schedule NJ for Part-Quarterly Filers,Form

. ST-8104.

Type of Business ]
Describe your principal business activity or type of business (*‘retail Box C — Purchases Subject to Use Tax
grocery,” “wholesale furniture,” etc.). Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax including

. personal property purchased at retail on which no tax was paid at the
Consolidated Return . , time of purchase (except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel purchases
If you have more than one place of business and are reporting for all as stated under ‘““Summary of Business Activity’’). Do not include
business locations on this return, check the applicable box. tangible personal property purchased for inventory, or property or
Final Return services which qualify for a production exemption. Include property

5 ) . . . used in the operation of your business if it does not become part of a
If you have discontinued doing business, check the applicable box and product for resale or is not eligible for a production exemption. This
attach your Certificate of Authority with the back completed. figure is the total amount from column (d) on page 2 of the return and

any schedules filed. Exception: Do not include any purchases subject

No Tax Due Return to New Jersey use tax as reported on Quarterly Schedule NJ for Part-

If you had no taxable sales and made no purchases subject to use tax Quarterly Filers, Form ST-810.4.
enter “none” in the box. Enter your gross sales in box A and enter . .
“none” in boxes B, C and D. Box D — Total Credits Claimed on Page 2 or
. . Schedules
Summary of Business ACt“"ty Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the tax claimed on page
if you are a retail seller of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel: 2 or any schedules filed, except those reported on Schedule FR, as

noted under ‘‘Summary or Business Activity.”” Show in parentheses

* Do not report gross sales of this fuel in box A net credits on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be substantiated by

« Do not report taxable sales of this fuel in box B attaching a statement and any other supporting documentation
. . explaining the basis for the credit claimed. Do not include this amount
* Do not report purchases of this fuel subject to use in any amount entered on line 2a. Do not include credit for prepaid
tax in box C and sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel in this box.
¢ Do not report credits related to tax on this fuel in

box D. Summary of Taxes Due
These amounts are reportable only on Schedule FR, as explained in Line 1 — Sales and Use Taxes
the instructions that accompany this schedule. : Note: Importers and others registered as distributors of motor fuel

Box A — Gross Sales and Services under Article 12-A must not include on this line any amounts reported
. on Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or

Enter the total dolla_r amount of all sales made by the business (except Form FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel.

motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sales as stated under ‘‘Summary

of Business Activity”), including those exempt from sales taxes. Do Enter the total amount of tax due from column (e) on page 2 and the

not include the amount of sales taxes collected. Include all sales made S’W amount of tax due from column (e) on Schedules A, B, FR, N and

Privacy Notification
The authority to request this personal information from you or your employer, i ing i ifyi (Social Security numbers, etc.), is found in Sections 651, 652, 658, 697, 1306, 1332 and 1342, Articles 22, 30, 30-A and 30-B in general of the
Tax Law, Article 2-E of the General City Law, and Part 152 of the Personal Income Tax Regulations. The principal purp for which the i ion is is to assist the Department of Taxation and Finance in determining New York State tax
liabilities under the Tax Law, New York City personal income tax liabilities under Article 30 of the Tax Law and Article 2-E of the General City Law, and City of Yonkers income tax surcharge on residents and earnings tax on nonresidents under Article
30-A and 30-B of the Tax Law. The authority to maintain this information is found in Section 697(e) of the Tax Law and Section 152.8 of the Personal Income Tax Regulations.
The information will be used for tax administration purposes under the Tax Law, and other purposes under the Tax Law not primarily related to tax administration, and for any other purpose authorized by law, and when the taxpayer gives written authorization
to this department for another department, person, agency or entity to have access, limited or otherwise, to information contained in their return.
Failure to provide the requested information may result in civil penalties under Section 685, 1312, 1332 and 1342 of the Tax Law and/or criminal penalties under Article 37 of the Tax Law.
This information will be maintained by the Director, Accounting and Records M: Bureau, P ing Division, Department of Taxation and Finance, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227, telephone 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829);
from outside New York State (518) 438-8581.

Cut Here <
Change of Business Information For Employers/Vendors

If there have been any changes in your business’ name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone number, or owner/officer/responsible person information, please

complete this form. Mail to: NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, Registration Section, Building 8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155.

Old Information:

ID number:
Name:

New Information:

ID number: Phone number:
Trade name: (DBA, etc.):
Legal name:
Business address:
Mailing address:
Reason for change:

Business tax records which should be changed: [] Corporation Tax ] Highway Use Tax

[J Sales and Use Tax O withholding Tax O Other [Taxtype Account number
DTF-95.1 (4/88)
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Line 2a — Credits

Report Economic Development Zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate
on gorm AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the
credit.

Enter the total of the Economic Development Zone credits and any
credits (other than the credits for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel) that
can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a specific locality.
Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior quarter and you did not
apply for this amount by filing the appropriate refund application, enter
the amount on this line. See the instructions for line 5 for more
information on prepaid sales tax on motor fuel and on refunds. You
must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the amount remitted for the first 2 months of the quarter and the
total amount of advance payments. Attach Form ST-330, Record of
Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your tax in
advance. Do not include payments from Form FT-945, Report of Sales
Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or payments from FT1-1045, Report of
Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel on this line.

Line 2¢ — Total

Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due

Subtract Line 2c from Line 1.

Line 4 — Late Filing Charge

If you file your return or make payments after the due date, you must
pay a late filing charge, which consists of penalty and interest. -

Penalty
For failure to file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time, with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed.
¢ 1-60 days late: The penalty is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 1% of the tax due for each month thereafter, but
in no instance less than $50.00.
° 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the
following three amounts:
1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter, not to exceed 30%
2. The lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due
3. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of the Tax
Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the taxpayer assistance
number listed below to get the current rate.

Part-Quarterly and Quarterly returns are each due within 20 days of the
end of the period covered. If you were required to file Part-Quarterly

Phone
Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

For forms or publications
From within New York State, call toll free
From outside New York State, call

For information
From within New York State, call toll free

1 800 462-8100
1518 438-1073

Page 4

(monthly) returns for the first two months of the quarter but failed to do
so, penalty and interest should be computed as indicated above on the
amount due each month from the due date until the date the payment
is remitted.
Report on line 4 the total late filing charge on any Part-Quarterly return
together with any late filing charge due on this return.
Line 5 — Amount Due
Add lines 3 and 4.
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:
1. Claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by
entering this amount on line 2a on page 1 of the
return, or
2. Apply for a refund.
To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund
of State and Local Sales or Use Tax, unless the overpayment is the
result of a credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel and diesel
motor fuel sold at retail; in which case, you must file the
appropriate application(s):
e Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service
Stations, or
e Form FT-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.
e Form FT-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service
Stations, or
¢ Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Diesel Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail
Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11, FT-949, FT-950,
FT-1010 or FT-1007) to your return. This application must be filed
separately and mailed to the address shown on that form.

As a sales tax vendor you should be aware that you may be subject to
or liable for other taxes such as motor fuel tax, highway use tax,
corporation tax or income tax withholding. For information relating to
any of these taxes, or for any forms or publications you will need, you
may use the address and telephone numbers listed below.

Notice to Schedule NJ Filers and Schedule CT filers — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (Form ST-810.4) or Schedule CT
(ST-810.11) send only one check payable to New York State for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and Connecticut.
If you report tax due on both the schedules, include the total due all
three state (New York, New Jersey and Connecticut) in one check
payable to New York State. Do not under any circumstances offset an
overpayment from one state against the tax due the other.
Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized officer or
employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional preparing the
return must also sign it on the line designated ‘““Signature of preparer,
(if other than vendor).”

Write
If you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

W. A. Harriman Campus

Albany, New York 12227

1800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829)

From outside New York State, call

1518 438-8581

Cut Here =<

Enter below the new owner/officer/responsible person information if there have been any changes

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title

Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office

State ZIP code Telephone number

()

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title

Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office

State Z|P code Telephone number

()

Name of ownerofficer/responsible person % Ownership Title

Effective date Social security number

Home address(no. and street) City, village, post office

State ZIP code Telephone number

()

Name of owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title

Effective date Social security number

Home address (no. and street) City, village, post office

State ZIP code Telephone number

()
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