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Instructions for Forms CT-3 and CT-3-ATT
General Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Return and Attachment

General Information

Who Must File

All general business corporations other than
New York ““S" corporations must file
franchise tax returns using Form CT-3 or
Form CT-4. This includes both corporations
organized under New York State law and
foreign corporations (those organized under
the laws of any other state or country) that do
business, employ capital, own or lease
property or maintain an office in New York
State.

A general business corporation includes all
corporations except:

— Banking corporations (Article 32)
— Insurance corporations (Article 33)

-- Transportation and transmission
corporations (Article 9)

— Utility companies (Article 9)

— Farmers and agricultural cooperatives
(Article 9)

— Nonstock, not-for-profit corporations
(these may be subject to an unrelated
business income tax) (Article 13)

Exception: For periods beginning on or after
January 1, 1988, foreign taxicab and foreign
omnibus corporations, that annually conduct
fewer than 12 trips into New York State, are
exempt from filing Form CT-3. However, if the
corporation fails to file Form CT-184-R and
pay the required tax or files Form CT-184-R
late, it will then be taxable under Article 9-A
that tax year and must file Form CT-3 and pay
the appropriate taxes, interest and penalties.
See Form CT-184-R and TSB-M-88(8)C for
more information.

S corporations: a general business
corporation that has elected (by filing Form
CT-6) to be treated as an ‘S Corporation”
must file an information return (Form CT-3-S)
instead of Form CT-3 or Form CT-4.

Which Forms to File

Form CT-4 is a simplified general business
franchise tax return that will meet the filing
needs of most small businesses.

You may use this short form if:

* You are a qualified small business
taxpayer. A corporation qualifies as a
small business taxpayer if:

Its entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000; and

The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year; and

The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return.

* Your tax is less than $1,000. (Your tax will
be more than $1,000 if your entire net
income base is more than $12,500 or if
your capital base is more than $561,798.)

You must use Form CT-3 if your tax is more
than $1,000 or you do not meet all of the
above conditions as a small business
taxpayer. Even if you do meet the above
qualifications, you must file Form CT-3 if any
of the following conditions exist:

* you claim a deduction for a net operating
loss, capital loss or optional depreciation.

¢ you claim any tax credits. Tax credits
include eligible business facility tax credit,
investment tax credit, special additional
mortgage recording tax credit, research and
development tax credit carryover and
economic development zone credits.

you are a real estate investment trust, a
taxable domestic international sales
corporation (DISC) or a stockholder in a
DISC (see “Special Instructions for
DISCS").

you have business income or capital
attributable to sources outside New York
State. (You must use Form CT-3 and
allocate this income or capital to avoid
paying New York tax on the entire amount.)

* you have investment income and capital.
(You must use Form CT-3 and allocate to
avoid paying tax on the entire amount
unless your investment income and capital
are less than 25% of total income and
capital.)

* you have a subsidiary (another corporation
you control because you own more than
half of its voting stock).

you claim exemption from the franchise tax
based on business and investment capital
of a new small business corporation
(section 210.1-c).

Other Forms You May Have to File

The first five forms are included in the CT-3-P
packet.

Form CT-3M/4M, Metropolitan
Transportation Business Tax Surcharge
Return, must be filed by any corporation
taxable under Article 9-A that does business,
employs capital, owns or leases property or
maintains an office in the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District.

Form CT-5, Extension for Filing Tax Return,
is an application for a six-month extension of
time to file a tax return. File it on or before
the due date of the return.

Form CT-5.1, Application for Additional
Extension, is a request for additional time to
file a tax return. File it on or before the
expiration date of the original extension.

Form CT-399, Schedule for Depreciation
Adjustments, must be used to compute the
allowable New York State depreciation

deduction if you claim the federal Accelerated
Cost Recovery System (ACRS) deduction for
certain property placed in service after
December 31, 1980.

This form also contains schedules for
determining a New York State gain or loss on
the disposition of ACRS property.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax by Corporations, will help you determine
if you have underpaid an estimated tax
installment and, if so, compute the penalty
due.

Form CT-3-A, Combined Franchise Tax
Return, should only be filed by corporations
that have been granted permission or are
required by the Commissioner of Taxation
and Finance to file a combined return.

Request for permission to file a combined
return must be submitted no later than 30
days following the end of the tax year.

Form CT-3-B, Tax Exempt DISC Information
Return, must be filed by domestic
international sales corporations within 82
months after the end of the tax year. See
“Special Instructions for DISCS.’

Form CT-3-S, Corporation Information
Return, must be filed by small business
corporations whose shareholders have made
a valid election (on Form CT-6) to be taxed
under the personal income tax law (Article
22.) These corporations are commonly known
as S corporations.

Form CT-13-A, Tax Return for Petroleum
Businesses, must be filed by petroleum
businesses as defined in Article 13-A. If you
need help to determine if you are a
“petroleum business’ you may call the New
York State Tax Department, Oil Tax Audits,
(518) 457-4397.

Form CT-240, Report of License Fee, must
be filed by all corporations organized under
the laws of any other state or country which
do business in New York State. This report
must be filed when you file your first
franchise tax return, or if the capital stock
employed in New York State has increased
since the last license fee report was filed.

Form CT-400, Declaration of Estimated Tax,
must be filed by any corporation whose New
York State tax hability can reasonably be
expected to exceed $1,000. See “Estimated
Tax.”

Form CT-3360, Federal Changes to
Corporate Taxable Income, must be used to
report any correction made by the Internal
Revenue Service in taxable income previously
reported for any year, including changes
based on the renegotiation of a government
contract.

Forms for Requesting Refunds

Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of
Corporation Franchise Tax Paid, is used to
request a refund other than an overpayment.
To speed up processing of the claim, mail it
separately from your annual returns. Claims

for refund based on a net operating Ioss
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be filed within three years of the extended
due date of the return for the loss year or
within 27 months from the date of the federal
credit or refund. A corporation whose claim
for one or more refunds, based on a net
operating loss, totals $10,000 or less may file
Form CT-9. All other claims for refunds must
be received within three years from the date
the return was filed, or two years from the
date the tax was paid, whichever is later.

Request for refunds due to overpayment of
tax must be made on Form CT-3, or CT-3-A, or
CT4.

Form CT-9, Claim for Tentative Refund from
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, may be
used by corporations to request accelerated
refunds based on a net operating loss if
refunds requested are not more than $10,000.
Returns that are the basis for these refunds
will be subject to review after the refunds
have been processed. The claim must be
filed within 90 days after the receipt of the
federal refund. S corporations must file a
claim within 15 months from the end of the
loss year. For full description of the limitation
and requirements, see the instructions for
Form CT-9.

When and Where to File

File your return within 22 months after the
end of your reporting period. If you are
reporting for the 1988 calendar year, file your
return on or before March 15, 1989.

Mail returns to:

NYS Corporation Tax
Processing Unit

P. O. Box 1909
Albany, NY 12201-1909

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for
a six-month extension of time by filing Form
CT5.

You may be subject to other business taxes
such as:

Sales and Use Tax — If you sell goods and
services delivered in New York State you may
have to collect and remit the New York State
sales and use tax.

Employer’s Withholding Tax — If you hire
anyone to help operate your business in New
York State you must withhold New York State
income taxes from the wages of your
employee.

Motor Fuel Taxes — Motor fuel distributors
and diesel motor fuel! distributors or users in
New York State must register with the Tax
Department and file the appropriate tax
returns.

Highway Use Taxes — Any motor vehicle
having a maximum gross weight, alone or in
combination with another motor vehicle of
more than 18,000 Ibs. is subject to this tax.

For more information, contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau, see page 12 for address
and telephone numbers.

Tax Rates

Tax rates have been reduced for periods
beginning on or after January 1, 1987. The
current rates are:

Entire net income base. . ........ ... 09

Entire net income base for qualified small
business taxpayers

Sntire net income of
[310 $200,000 or less. . .. .. ....... .. 08

Entire net income base of
more than $200,000 but
not over $290,000

1. $16,000 plus

2. 9% of amount over
$200,000 plus

3. 5% of amount over

$250,000
Capitalbase................... 00178
Minimum taxable income base . ... .035
Fixed dollar minimum* . . . $250
Subsidiary capital base .. ........ .0009
Qualified cooperative housing
capitalbase ................. 0004

*The fixed dollar minimum tax and
maintenance fee may be reduced for short
periods:

e A period of not more
than 6 months .. ... ... .. 50% reduction

* A period of more than
6 months but not

more than 9 months . . . . 259% reduction
® A period of over
9months ..... ... ... .. ... no reduction

Cooperative Housing Corporations

A qualified cooperative housing corporation is
entitied to use a reduced tax rate of .0004
when computing its tax using the capital
base.

A corporation that has only one class of stock
which entitles the shareholder to live in a
house or an apartment in a building owned
or leased by the corporation, may be a
cooperative housing corporation. For a
complete definition see IRC section 216 or 20
NYCRR 3-1.2. For more information see line-
by-line instructions for Forms CT-3 and CT-4,
Computation of Capital Base.

Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax Surcharge

Any corporation taxable under Article 9-A that
does business, employs capital, owns or
leases property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
must file Form CT-3M/4M and pay a tax
surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties
of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

The tax surcharge rate is 17% for calendar
year 1988 or for fiscal years ending in 1989.

Foreign Corporations Annual
Maintenance Fee

A corporation organized outside of New York
State that is authorized to do business in
New York must pay an annual maintenance
fee of $200. This fee may be claimed as a
credit against tax due under Article 9-A. Full
payment of the franchise tax due will satisfy
the maintenance fee requirement. It is not
necessary to file a separate return. If you
claim nontaxability in New York State
because you did not employ capital, maintain
an office or otherwise do business in New
York State, you must file Form CT-245 and
pay the maintenance fee.

Forelgn Corporations License Fee

A foreign corporation must also pay a license
fee, based on its issued capital stock. For
details see Form CT-240, Report of License
Fee.

Estimated Tax

It your New York State franchise tax liability
can reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000,
you must file a declaration of estimated tax.

If this expectation arises before the 1st day of
the 6th month of your tax year, file this
declaration on or before the 15th day of the
6th month of the fiscal or calendar year.
Include with it a payment of s of the
estimated tax liability. If you made an initial
payment with the preceding year’s tax return
or applied an overpayment of the tax from
that return deduct this amount from the
estimated tax before computing the Vs
payment. Additional /3 payments are due on
the 15th day of the 9th and 12th months. If
you report for the calendar year, file a
declaration of estimated tax on June 15th,
September 15th and December 15th.

If the expectation of a tax liability of more
than $1,000 arises on or after the first day of
the 6th month of your tax year, see 20NYCRR
7-2.3.

A declaration of estimated tax may be
amended.

A penalty will be imposed if you fail to file a
declaration of estimated tax or fail to pay all
or any part of an installment payment of
estimated tax. (See Interest and Penalties,
page 2.)

To avoid a penalty for an underpayment,
determine your estimated tax by one of the
following methods:

. 100% of the preceding year’s tax if your
tax year was a full twelve months.*

2. An amount equal to the tax computed at
the current year’s rate, but otherwise on
the basis of the return for the preceding
year*

3. 90% of the current year’s tax figured by
annualizing taxable income for the months
preceding an instaliment date.

4. 90% of the tax for the year figured under
the seasonal method for corporations with
recurring seasonal income.

Special Instructions for Large
Corporations: Methods 1 and 2 do not
apply to corporations with allocated entire
net income of $1 million or more in any of
the three years immediately preceding the
current tax year.

Interest and Penalties

Late Payment - Interest

You must pay the entire tax due on or before
the original due date of the return to avoid a

late payment charge. An extension of time for
filing the tax return does not extend the date

for payment of tax.

If you do not pay the tax due on or before
the due date, you must pay interest on the
amount of the underpayment from the due
date to the date paid. Interest is always due,
wfithout any exceptions, on any underpayment
of tax.

Interest is compounded daily. Determine the
interest rate in accordance with Part 603 of
the Tax Regulations. You may call the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current
interest rate or to have the interest computed
for you; 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829);
outside New York State, (518) 438-8581.

Late Filing - Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing are
computed on the amount of tax less any
payment made on or before the due date.

[y

a. If you do not file a return when due or if
the application for extension is invalid, add
to the tax 5% per month, up to a total of
25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).



b. If you do not file a return within 60 days
of the due date, the addition to tax cannot
be less than the smaller of $100 or 100%
of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085 (a)(1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a
return, add to the tax ¥2% per month, up
to a total of 25% (section 1085 (a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in (a)
and (c) may not exceed 5% for any one
month except as provided for in (b)
(section 1085 (a)).

if you think you are not liable for these
additionai charges, attach a statement to
your return explaining the delay in filing,
payment, or both (section 1085).

Penalty for Understating Tax

If the tax you report is understated by 10%
or $5,000, whichever is greater, you will have
to pay a penalty of 10% of the amount of
understated tax. You can reduce the amount
on which you pay penalty by subtracting any
item for which (1) there is or was substantial
authority for the way you treated it, or (2)
there is adequate disclosure on the return or
in an attached statement (see Article 27,
section 1085(k)).

Penalty for Underpaying
Estimated Tax

If you can reasonably expect your New York
State franchise tax liability to exceed $1,000,
you must file a declaration of estimated tax,
Form CT-400. A penalty will be imposed if
you fail to file a declaration of estimated tax
or fail to pay the entire installment payment
of estimated tax due. For complete details
see ‘“‘Estimated Tax’’ on page 2 of these
instructions and Form CT-222, Underpayment
of Estimated Tax by Corporations.

Penalty for Failure to Provide
Information Relating to Interest
Paid to Shareholders

A penalty of $500 will be imposed if you fail
to provide information about interest
payments made to shareholders that were
deducted in computing entire net income.
See instructions for line 77. (Article 27,
section 1085(n)).

Omnibus Tax Equity and
Enforcement Act

The Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement
Act imposes strong civil and criminal
penalties for negligence or fraud. For more
information about this act contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau (address and
telephone numbers on page 12).

Net Operating Losses

New York State allows business corporations
to deduct net operating losses in the same
way as in section 172 of the Internal
Revenue Code, but the losses must be
adjusted in accordance with Article 9-A,
section 208.9(a) and (b). These rules apply:

e You may carry net operating losses back 3
years and forward 15 years.

s You must carry net operating losses to the
same year as for federal tax and to no
other year.

¢ |If you have elected for federal tax to
relinquish the three-year carryback of a
net operating loss, you must submit a
copy of your federal election.

e Your net operating loss deduction may
not exceed the deduction allowable for
federal tax.

o Make the net operating loss carryforward
on Form CT-3, line 14.

o Attach a separate sheet to Form CT-3,
providing details of both the federal and
New York State net operating losses
claimed.

e Real estate investment trusts will be
allowed a deduction for net operating
losses incurred in tax years ending on or
after December 31, 1980.

These rules also apply to S corporations and
corporations included in group reporting on a
consolidated basis for federal tax. These
corporations must carry losses to the same
year and in the same manner as provided in
these instructions with the following
exceptions:

« Instead of a copy of the federal election to
relinquish the three-year carryback of a net
operating loss, a request in writing to
relinquish the carryback must be filed on or
before the due date (or extended due date)
of the return for the loss year. Any
corporation that does not make a timely
election with the Tax Department must
carry the net operating loss back before
the loss can be carried forward.

A net operating loss deduction may not
exceed the amount that would have been
allowed for federal tax if the corporation
had not made the election under
subchapter S or had not elected to be a
member of a federal consolidated group.

To apply for refunds based on net
operating loss carryback:

e Use Form CT-8 or CT-9 to apply for a net
operating loss carryback. Do not mail these
forms with Form CT-3 or CT-4.

* Attach a separate sheet to the claim for
refund providin% details of both the federal
and New York State net operating losses
claimed.

* If you received a refund from the Internal
Revenue Service based on a net operating
loss, submit copies of federal Forms 1139
and 4188/4428B or 8488.

Special Instructions for DISCs

A domestic international sales corporation
(DISC) is a corporation that meets the
requirements of section 992(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code. Investments in the stock of a
DISC or debts of a DISC must be treated as
business capital. Stockholders of DISCs must
report all income from DISCs included in
federal taxable income as business income
and cannot make any adjustments to federal
taxable income on lines 11 and 12 of Form
CT-3, unless actual dividend distributions
were paid out of other earnings and profits
as provided in section 996 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

Tax-Exempt DISCs

A DISC is exempt from tax under Article 9-A
of the Tax Law if, during the year, it received
more than 5 percent of its gross receipts
from the sale or rental of property obtained
from stockholders, or received more than 5
percent of its total receipts, other than sales
or rentals, from its stockholders. It must file
an information return on Form CT-3-B, within
82 months after the end of the return year.
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Stockholders of tax-exempt DISCs must file
an individual return on Form CT-3 and a
consolidated return with the DISC on Form
CT-3-C.

Taxable DISCs

A DISC not meeting the 5 percent test must
file Form CT-3 within 8% months after the
end of the return year. It is subject to the tax
on allocated capital or the fixed dollar
minimum, whichever is higher, plus a tax on
subsidiary capital.

Do not complete lines 2 through 26 or line 42
of Form CT-3. Enter the initials “DISC” after
the name of the corporation in the address
section of the return.

Combined Returns

A combined return (Form CT-3-A) may be
required by the tax commissioner for a
taxpayer and a taxable DISC if the taxpayer
beneficially owns substantially all of the
DISC's issued and outstanding capital stock.
A corporation which owns all of the capital
stock of a taxable DISC will be allowed, at its
election, to file combined returns with the
DISC. Any other corporation may be required
or permitted to file combined returns if the
requirements described in Subpart 6-2 of the
Regulations are met.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your
business’ name, ID number, mailing address,
business address, telephone number or
owner/officer information, complete Form
DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If
you don’t have a form, call 1 800 462-8100
{from out of state (518) 438-1073) to request
one.

Final Return

Do not mark a franchise tax return “Final’”’
unless a legal dissolution or surrender of
authority is in progress and you are going
out of business. For detailed information
about the legal dissolution and surrender of
authority see Publication 110, Termination of
Business Corporation.

Whole Dollar Amounts

Amounts may be shown in whole dollars
rather than dollars and cents. Round an
amount from 50 cents through 99 cents to
the next higher dollar and round any amount
less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar. If
you round to the nearest dollar, round for all
amounts.

Processible Forms

Returns must be prepared in a manner that
will permit their routine handling and
processing. Interest will not be paid on an
overpayment of taxes until the return is in a
processibie form.

Use of Reproduced Forms
Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they
are of good quality and are signed in the
proper place.

Computerized Returns

Computer-produced corporation tax returns
will be accepted if you have received
permission to file them and if they meet our
specifications. For information, write to:

NYS Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

[an]
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Signature

The return must be certified by the president,
vice president, treasurer, assistant treasurer,
chief accounting officer or other officer
authorized by the taxpayer.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the
return, the signature of the person and the
name of the firm must be included.

Federal and State Privacy Notification

The authority to request this personal
information, including identifying numbers
(social security numbers, etc.) is found in
sections 211, 213-a and 1096, Article 9-A in
general of the Tax Law and Parts 6 and 7 of
the Business Corporation Franchise Tax
Regulations. The principal purpose for which
the information is collected is to assist the
Department of Taxation and Finance in
determining New York State corporation tax
liabilities under Article 9-A of the Tax Law.

The information will be used for tax
administration and as necessary under Tax
Law section 211 and for any other purpose
authorized by law, and when the taxpayer
gives written authorization to this department
for another department, person, agency or
entity to have access, limited or otherwise, to
information contained in its return.

Failure to provide the requested information
may result in civil penalties under sections 217
and 1085 of the Tax Law and Part 9 of the
Business Corporation Franchise Tax
Regulations and/or criminal penalties under
Article 37 of the Tax Law.

The authority to maintain this information is
found in section 211(7) of the Tax Law. This
information will be maintained by the Director,
Data Management Services Bureau,
Processing Division, Department of Taxation
and Finance, W.A. Harriman Campus, Building
8, Room 905, Albany, New York 12227,
telephone 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829);
outside New York State (518) 438-8581.

Resolving Tax Problems

The best ways to avoid tax problems are to
keep accurate tax records and to stay on top
of current tax requirements. We have free
publications you can order and toll-free
numbers you can call for answers to your
specific questions.

Most tax problems can be resolved informally.
If you receive a tax deficiency notice that you
think is in error, promptly call the number
listed on the notice.

Only a relative handful of tax problems fail to
be resolved by informal means. However, if
you are issued a Notice of Deficiency or a
refund denial and you feel that the Tax
Department has made a mistake, you still
have a number of options available to you:

* You can request a conciliation conference
through the newly established Bureau of
Conciliation and Mediation Services. The
conference is conducted informally by a
conferee who issues an order that is
binding on the Tax Department, but not on
you (you can appeal by filing a petition for
a formal hearing, as explained below). To
set up a conference, get a Request for
Conciliation Conference, Form CMS-1, by
calling toll free 1 800 462-8100 or by writing
to the Bureau of Conciliation and Mediation
Services, NYS Tax Department, W. A.
Harriman Campus, Aibany, NY 12227.

* You can request a small claims hearing
before an impartial presiding officer if the
disputed amount is within certain dollar
limitations set by the Rules of Practice and
Procedure. The presiding officer’s decision
is final, but at any time before the end of
the smail claims hearing, you-can request a
transfer to a formal hearing before an
administrative law judge. A copy of the
Rules of Practice and Procedure will be
sent to you when you request a petition
form as explained below.

You can file a petition for a tax appeals
hearing. The hearing is held before an
administrative law judge, and both you and
the Tax Department may appeai the judge’s
decision to the Tax Appeals Tribunal. The
Tax Department cannot seek a review of
the Tribunal’s decision, but you can by
instituting an Article 78 proceeding in the
Appellate Division of the State Supreme
Court. You can get the petition forms by
writing to the Division of Tax Appeals,
Building 9, W. A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227.

Mailing Label

Use the mailing label provided by the Tax
Department.

The preprinted mailing label contains the
account identification information necessary
for correct and effective processing of your

tax form.

Check your label to see that the information
is complete and correct. If it is incorrect,
make any corrections directly on the label.
(You must also file Form DTF-95 Change of

Business Information, with the Tax

Department as soon as possible.)

Remove the peel-off label from the front
cover of your packet and place it in the name

and address box at the top of your
corporation tax return or application for

extension.

To ensure that your corporation tax forms are

processed as quickly and efficiently as
possible, it is important that we have the
necessary identifying information from your
preprinted label. If you are not using the
label, please include your employer
identification number and file number on

each form filed. These numbers can be
copied directly from the label:
v N

Employer ID number File number
Name

Number and Street

City and Town State ZIP code

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm,
make sure they use the mailing label or the
label information when completing all forms
prepared for you.

Mail all returns to:
NYS Corporation Tax
Processing Unit
P. O. Box 1909
Albany, NY 12201-1909

Line-by-Line Instructions
For Form CT-3

Reporting Period

Your tax year for New York State must be the
same as your federal tax year. If it is not a
calendar year, be sure to enter the correct
reporting period on page 1 of your return.

Principal Business Activity

Enter the one activity that accounts for the
largest percentage of total income. State the
broad field of business activity as well as the
specific product or service (e.g. mining
copper; wholesale meat; retail men’s apparel;
real estate rental). Be sure to enter the
business group code number from your
federal return.

You may need to use additional schedules to
complete your return. Schedules A through E
appear on Form CT-3-ATT. If you use any
schedules you must attach them to your
return.

Line 1 — Payment — After completing your
return, enter the amount of your payment.
This must be the full amount shown on line
67.

Line 2 — Enter your federal taxable income
(before net operating loss and special
deductions) as required to be reported to the
U.S. Treasury Department.

¢ If you file federal Form 1120, use the
amount from line 28.

* If you file federal Form 1120-A, use the
amount from line 24.

e If you are an S corporation filing federal
Form 1120S but you have not made an
election to be treated as a New York State
S corporation, you must determine the
amount you would have had to report as
federal taxable income (before net operating
loss and special deductions) were you not a
federal S corporation. Attach a separate
sheet showing how you determined this
amount. In general, the items affected are:

Dividends — Form 1120, line 4
Interest — Form 1120, line 5

Capital gain net income — Form
1120, line 8

Contributions — Form 1120, line 19

* If you are exempt from federal income tax
but subject to New York State franchise tax,
you must determine the amount you would
have had to report as federal taxable
income (before net operating loss and
special deductions) were you not exempt.
Attach a separate sheet showing how the
amount was determined.

Lines 3 through 9 — Additions

Use lines 3 through 9 to add items that are
not included in federal income tax but must
be included in New York State entire net
income.

Line 3 — Enter all interest received or
accrued from federal, state, municipal and
other obligations that was exempt from
federal income tax and is, therefore, not
included on line 1. You may deduct from this
amount any expenses attributable to that
interest but denied deductibility under IRC
section 265. Attach a list of items included on
this line.

Line 4 — Enter the amount deducted on your
federal return for interest on indebtedness
directly or indirectly owed to:

a. Each individual stockholder who alone
or together with a member of his or her
immediate family owns more than 5% of
the issued capital stock. “Immediate
family” means brothers and sisters of
whole or half blood, spouse, ancestors and
descendants.

b. Each corporate stockholder, including its
subsidiaries, that owns more than 5% of
the issued capital stock.



You may deduct $10,000 or 10% of the
interest, whichever is larger. This deduction
does not apply if the parent corporation
deducts the interest as income from
subsidiary capital.

Examples
A B C
Interest paid to $ 8000 $17,000 $150,000
stockholders
Statutory exemption 10,000 10,000 15,000
Enter on line 4 -0- $ 7,000 $135,000

Lines 5 and 6 — Subsidiaries

A subsidiary is a corporation (except a DISC)
that you control because you own more than
half of the voting stock issued and
outstanding.

it you have a subsidiary, complete lines 5
and 6. Attach a list of all items included. If
you do not have a subsidiary, enter ‘0’ on
lines 5 and 6.

“Subsidiary capital” is the value of certain
assets reduced by attributable liabilities.
These assets include all investments in the
stock of subsidiary corporations plus all debts
from subsidiary corporations (other than
accounts receivable acquired for services
rendered or property sold to customers in the
ordinary course of business) whether or not
evidenced by bonds or other written
instruments, on which interest is not claimed
and deducted by the subsidiary under Article
9-A, 32 or 33 of the New York State Tax Law.

If you have a subsidiary, you will also have to
complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C.

Line 5 — Enter all amounts, including
interest expense, deducted on your federal
return that are directly attributable to
subsidiary capital or to income, losses or
gains from subsidiary capital. Include capital
losses from sales or exchanges of subsidiary
capital, all other losses, bad debts and any
carrying charges attributable to subsidiary
capital.

Line 6 — Enter all amounts, including
interest, which are indirectly attributable to
subsidiarv capital or to income, gains or
losses from subsidiary capital. To determine
these amounts, use the following formula:

Total amount of Average value of assets
deductions subject to X included in subsidiary capital
indirect attribution Average value of all assets

To determine the total amount of deductions
subject to indirect attribution, use the
following procedure:

(a) Subtract from the amount of federal
deductions included on federal Form 1120,
line 27 the following:

* Those federal deductions included in such
line 27 amount which are required to be
added back to federal taxable income in
computing entire net income, other than
the amount of such deductions directly or
indc;rectly attributable to subsidiary capital;
an

The New York excess depreciation add-
back described in Tax Law, section
208.9(b)(11) (relating to the disposition of
certain decoupled property) to the extent
that such amount was included in (b), for
prior tax years which began on or after
January 1, 19867.

(b) Increase the amount arrived at in (a) by
the foliowing deductions which are subtracted
from federal taxable income in computing
entire net income.

* Interest expense attributable to interest
income not includable in federal taxable
income but required to be included in
entire net income (e.g., municipal bond
interest), to the extent such interest
expense is not deducted for federal
purposes. (Tax Law, section 208.9(b)(2); see
also Franchise Tax Regulations, 20 NYCRR
3-2.3(a)(2)).

¢ In the case of a taxpayer organized outside
the United States, deductions attributable to
income which is not inciuded in federal
taxable income but is required to be
included in entire net income (e.g., foreign
source income). (Tax Law, section 208.9(c);
see also Franchise Tax Reguilations, 20
‘NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(9)).

» The portion of wages and salaries paid or
incurred for the tax year for which a
deduction is not allowed pursuant to
section 280C of the Internal Revenue Code.
(Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(7)).

* Depreciation deductions permitted under
Article 9-A with respect to ‘decoupled”
property pursuant to Tax Law, section
2089(a)(11) and (12).

¢ Deductions arising from “‘decoupling” from
federal safe harbor lease provisions
pursuant to Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(10).

(c) Reduce the amount arrived at in (b) by
these deductions included therein which were
determined in (a) to be directly attributable to
subsidiary, investment or business capital.

For more information see TSB-M-88(5)C.

To compute the value of an asset, real
property and marketable securities should be
valued at fair market value and all other
property should be included at the value
shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles
(GAAP).

Line 7 — Enter the amount deducted on your
federal return for New York taxes imposed
under Articles 9-A, 13-A or 32. Enter the
amount deducted for taxes paid or accrued to
other US states, their political subdivisions
and the District of Columbia if they are on or
are measured by profits or income or include
profits or income as a measure of tax,
including taxes expressly in lieu of the
foregoing. Include the metropolitan
transportation business tax surcharge
(CT-3M/4M). However, do not include New
York City taxes.

Line 8 — Before making any entry on this
line, complete Form CT-399. Enter from Form
CT-399, line 4, the amount of your federal
ACRS deduction that must be added back to
federal taxable income, or if you disposed of
property this year use the amount from line
12, Column A. (Enter your recomputed
deduction on line 15.)

Line 9 — If you have any of the following
other additions to federal taxable income,
enter the total amount of those additions and
attach a list.
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A-1 Optional depreciation: If you have
claimed optional depreciation in prior years
on certain property acquired from January 1,
1964, through December 31, 1968, you must
include on this line any depreciation and any
federal losses on the disposition of that
property that you deducted from gross
income when determining federal taxable
income. The adjustment for New York gain or
loss on qualified New York State property is
made on line 24. See additional instructions
for line 16, S-1. Attach Form CT-324.

A-2 Worldwide net income and losses: A
corporation organized outside the United
States must include on this line all income
from sources outside the United States, less
all allowable deductions attributable to it, that
was not included in federal taxable income.

A-3 If you are claiming a special additional
mortgage recording tax credit (section 210.17),
you must include on this line the amount
claimed as a credit and used as a deduction
in the computation of federal taxable income.

The gain on the sale of real property on
which the special additional mortgage
recording tax credit was claimed must be
increased when all or any part of the credit
was also used in the basis for computing the
federal gain.

A-4 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance
Exchange, you must include the following:

— Your distributive or pro rata share of any
item of loss or deduction for federal
income tax or which you are required to
take into account separately for federal
income tax.

— Your distributive or pro rata share of the
net loss, if any.

— Your distributive or pro rata share of the
allocated entire net income of such
business as determined on Forms CT-33 or
CT-33-X under Article 33 of the Tax Law.

See additional instructions for line 16, S-5.

A-5 If your corporation has a safe harbor
lease you must include:

— Any amount you claimed as a deduction in
computing federal taxable income solely
as a result of an election made under
section 168(f)(8) of the IRC as it was in
effect on December 31, 1983.

— Any amount you would have been required
to include in the computation of your
federal taxable income if you had not
made the election permitted under section
168(f)(8) of the IRC as it was in effect on
December 31, 1983.

A-6 Any windfall profit tax (imposed by. IRC
section 4986(a)) deducted in the computation
of federal taxable income must be included
on this line.

Line 10 — Add lines 2 through 9.

Lines 11 through 17 — Subtractions
Use lines 11 through 17 to subtract items that
are included in federal taxable income but

should not be included in New York entir,
income. @
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Line 11 — If you have a subsidiary, complete
Schedule C on Form CT-3-ATT and enter the
amount from Part I, line 24. This amount
must include capital gains and any other
income and gain from subsidiary capita! that
was included as part of federal taxable
income. Do not include foreign dividend
gross-up under IRC section 78. A DISC does
not qualify as a subsidiary.

Line 12 — Enter 50% of dividends received
from nonsubsidiary corporations. Do not
include foreign dividend gross-up under
IRC section 78. Regulated investment
companies do not qualify for this deduction.

Line 13 — Enter foreign dividend gross-up
pursuant to section 78 of the IRC (see federal
Form 1120, Schedule C, line 7). Entire net
income does not include any amount treated
as dividends pursuant to section 78 of the
IRC (section 208.9(a)(6)).

Line 14 — Enter any New York State net
operating loss carried forward from prior
years. Attach a separate sheet with full details
of both federal-and New York State net
operating losses claimed. For detailed
information on net operating losses, see page
3 of these instructions.

Line 15 — In place of the disallowed ACRS
deduction entered on line 8, you may
compute a depreciation deduction by any
method permitted under IRC section 167 (as
it would have applied to property placed in
service on December 31, 1980). For more
information see Form CT-399, Schedule for
Depreciation Adjustments. Enter the amount
from Form CT-399, line 5, Column I, or if you
have disposed of property this year use the
amount from line 12, Column B, and attach
the form.

Line 16 — If you have any of the following
other subtractions from federal taxable
income, enter the total amount of those
subtractions and attach a list.

S$-1 Optional depreciation: If you claimed
optional depreciation in prior years on certain
property acquired from January 1, 1964,
through December 31, 1968, include on this
line any federal gain on the disposition of
qualified property that was included in federal
taxable income. The adjustment for New York
State gain or loss on qualified New York
property is made on line 24. See additional
instructions for line 9, A-1. Attach Form
CT-324.

S-2 Receipts from the operation of school
buses: Include all receipts from the
transportation of pupils, teachers and others
acting in a supervisory capacity to and from
school or school activities, less any
deductions allowed in computing federal
taxable income that are directly or indirectly
attributable to those receipts.

$-3 Include any refund or credit of a tax
imposed under Article 9-A or 32 of the Tax
Law for which no deduction was allowed in
computing your entire net income in any prior

$-4 Include the amount of wages disallowed
in the computation of your federal taxable
income because you claimed a federal jobs
credit. Attach a copy of federal Form 5884.

S-5 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance
Exchange, include the following items:

— Any item of income or gain from the
business which you are required to take
into account separately for federal income
tax.

— Your distributive or pro rata share of the
income or gain of the business for federal
income tax.

S-6 If your corporation has a safe harbor
lease, include the following items:

— Any amount included in your federal
taxable income solely as a result of an
election made under IRC section 168(f)(8)
as it was in effect on December 31, 1983.

—' Any amount you could have exciuded from
federal taxable income if you had not
made the election provided for in IRC
section 168(f)(8) as it was in effect on
December 31, 1983.

Leases for qualified mass-commuting vehicles
as defined in IRC section 103(b)(9) are
exempt from these adjustments.

Line 17 — Add lines 11 through 16.

Line 18 — Subtract line 17 from line 10 to
determine your entire net income. Show a
loss by using parentheses.

Lines 19 through 25 —
Entire Net Income Base

The entire net income base is the portion of
your entire net income allocated to New York
State with certain adjustments. It may consist
of both business and investment income.

Use Form CT-3-ATT Schedule B to compute
your business allocation percentage.

Use Form CT-3-ATT Schedules D and E to
compute your investment income and
investment allocation percentage.

Line 19 — Complete Schedule E and enter
the amount of your investment income from
line 42. Do not enter more than the amount
on line 18. If you had no investment income,
enter ‘0’ and do not use Schedule E.

Line 20 — Subtract line 19 (investment
income) from line 18 (entire net income) to
determine your business income.

Line 21 — Multiply line 19 by your
investment allocation percentage from
Schedule D, line 30.

Line 22 — Multiply line 20 by your business
allocation percentage from Schedule B, line
18. If your property, payroll and sales were
entirely within New York State, enter the full
amount from line 20, and do not use
Schedule B.

Line 23 — Add lines 21 and 22. This is your
total allocated income.

Line 24 — You may claim a deduction for
optional depreciation on this line. Include any
gain or loss on the disposition of property on
which optional depreciation was claimed.
Attach Form CT-324.

Line 25 — If line 24 is a gain, add lines 23
and 24. If line 24 is a loss, subtract line 24
from line 23. This is your entire net income
base.

Line 26 — Entire Net income Base Tax
Computation. The 1987 tax reform legislation
reduced the tax rate for all general business
corporations providing a lower rate for small
business taxpayers.

Complete lines 79 and 80 if you use the
small business taxpayer tax rate.

A corporation qualifies as a small business
taxpayer if:

Its entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000, and

* The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year, and

* The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return.

If you do not qualify as a small business
taxpayer, multiply line 25 by 9%. Enter the
amount on line 26 and line 42, then continue
with line 27.

Small business taxpayers: If you are a
qualified small business taxpayer and your
entire net income base is $200,000 or less,
mutitiply line 25 by 8% and enter the amount
on line 26 and line 42.

If your entire net income base is more than
$200,000 your effective tax rate will be
between 8% and 9%. The closer the entire
net income base comes to $290,000 the
closer the effective tax rate comes to 9%.
Your tax is:

1. $16,000 ($200,000 times 8%) plus

2. 9% of any amount over $200,000 but not
over $290,000 plus

3. 5% of any amount over $250,000 but not
over $290,000

Use the worksheet below to compute your
tax.

Worksheet

Entire net income
from line 25
Subtract 200,000

A
B
C

Muitiply balance by .09 =
Subtract 50,000
Multiply balance by .05 =

Tax: Add boxes A, B, and C. Enter this
amount on lines 26 and 42.

]
[ ]
L]




A small business taxpayer’s tax on entire net
income base will never be more than $26,100.

Lines 27 through 40 —
Computation of Capital Base

The Business Tax Reform and Rate
Reduction Act of 1987 did not change the rate
of the tax on the capital base. However,
several changes were made to the methods
used to determine the capital base. Please
read these revised instructions carefully.

To determine the value of your assets for the
capital base computations, you must include
real property and marketable securities at fair
market value. All other property must now be
included at the value shown on your books in
accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles. Use lines 27 through
31 to adjust the assets you reported on your
federal return.

On lines 27 through 32, enter the values at
the beginning of the year in Column A and at
the end of the year in Column B. Enter the
average value in Column C. Average value is
generally computed quarterly if your usual
accounting practice permits it. However, you
may use a more frequent basis such as
monthly, weekly or daily. If your usual
accounting practice does not permit a
quarterly or more frequent computation of the
average value of assets, you may use a
semiannual or annual computation if no
distortion of average value results.

Line 27 — Enter your total assets from the
balance sheet of your federal tax return.

Line 28 — Enter the federal balance sheet
value of any real property and marketable
securities included on line 27.

Line 29 — Subtract line 28 from line 27.

Line 30 — Enter the fair market value of real
property and marketable securities included
on line 28. The fair market value of an asset
is the price (without deduction of an
encumbrance whether or not the taxpayer is
personally liable) at which a willing seller will
sell and a willing purchaser will buy. You can
generally find the fair market value of
marketable securities from price quotes in
financial newspapers. To determine fair
market value of real property, you might
consider recent sales of similar property.

A cooperative housing corporation may
determine the fair market value of its real
estate, when only its assessed value for real
property tax purposes is known, by dividing
the assessed value by the equalization rate.
The equalization rate may be obtained from
the State Board of Equalization and
Assessment. Once a method of determining
average fair market value is adopted by the
taxpayer and is accepted by the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance, the
method may not be changed on any
subsequent return without the prior consent
of the commissioner. For more information
see TSB-M-85(18)C.

Line 31 — Add lines 29 and 30.

Line 32 — Enter the amount of all liabilities
(both long and short term) when computing
the capital base. Use the same method of
averaging used to determine average value of
assets.

Line 33 — Subtract line 32, Column C, from
line 31, Column C. This is your total capital
base.

Line 34 — Enter subsidiary capital from
Schedule C, Part 11, line 26. If you have no
subsidiary capital, enter ‘0.

Line 35 — Subtract line 34 from line 33. This
is your business and investment capital.

Line 36 — Enter total investment capital from
Schedule D, line 32. If you have no
investment capital, enter ‘0"

Line 37 — Subtract line 36 from line 35. This
is your total business capital.

Line 38 — Multiply line 36 by the investment
allocation percentage from Schedule D, line
30. This is your allocated investment capital.

Line 39 — Multiply line 37 by the business
allocation percentage from Schedule B, line
18. This is your allocated business capital. If
your property, payroll and sales were entirely
within New York State, enter the full amount
from line 37 (you do not need to use
Schedule B).

Line 40 — Add lines 38 and 39. This is your
capital base (allocated investment and
business capital).

Line 40a — Your issuer’s allocation
percentage represents the amount of your
capital employed within New York State
compared to the total amount of capital
employed everywhere. Every taxpayer using
Form CT-3 should compute an issuer’s
allocation percentage.

To determine the percentage, add line 40
(capital base) and Schedule C, line 27,
(subsidiary capital base), then divide by line
33 (total capital). If you have no subsidiaries,
divide line 40 by line 33.

Combined filers must compute a combined
issuer’s allocation percentage by using
amounts from Form CT-3-A. The combined
issuer’s allocation percentage should be
entered on Form CT-3-A, Schedule M, line 78.

The issuer’s allocation percentage used to
compute subsidiary capital allocated to New
York and investment capital allocated to New
York is the percentage determined on the
New York State tax return filed by the issuing
corporation for the preceding year. You may
obtain some of these percentages from Tax
Service Publications.

Issuers’ allocation percentages will also be
supplied by this department upon written
request (in duplicate) to:

NYS Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

Telephone (518) 457-7034
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Line 41 — Capital base tax computation:
Multiply line 40 by the tax rate of .00178.
Enter the amount on line 43 but do not enter
more than $350,000. If you have been taxable
in New York State for less than two years
read the instructions for line 43 to see if you
qualify as a new small business corporation.

Cooperative housing corporations multiply
line 40 by .0004.

Lines 42 through 73 —
Computation of Tax

Line 42 — Enter the tax computed on your
entire net income base from line 26.

Line 43 — Enter the tax computed on your
capital base from line 41. Do not enter more
than $350,000.

A new small business corporation may
claim an exemption from the tax on the
capital base for its first two tax years if it
meets the requirements below. If you are
claiming this exemption, enter ‘0’ on line 43
and check the box indicating which year the
exemption is for. You will continue to be liable
for the highest tax computed on lines 42,
44a, 44b or 45, in addition to the tax on line
47. Attach a separate sheet covering all
points listed below. If you do not supply the
information, the exemption will be disallowed.

Do not confuse this definition with the
definition of a small business taxpayer on line
26.

To qualify, the corporation must meet the
federal definition of a small business
corporation. (Internal Revenue Code section
1244(c)(3) disregarding the second sentence
of subparagraph (A)). The requirements are:

— The total amount of money and other
property the corporation received for stock,
as a contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, may not be more than $1 million
on the last day of its taxable year.

— {t cannot be similar in ownership and
operations to a business now taxable or
previously taxable under New York State
Tax Law, Article 9 (section 183, 184, 185 or
186) Article 9-A, 22, 32 or 33 (or a
business entity which had income or
losses includable under Article 22 or
which would have been taxable under
Article 23 had that article not been
repealed).

— 90% of the corporation’s assets and 80%
of its employees must be located in New
York State.

— It cannot have as a shareholder a
corporation that owns over 50% of its
voting stock, and that is taxable under
Article 9 (section 183, 184, 185 or 186),
Article 9-A, 32 or 33, unless the

corporation itself qualifies as a smal@
business corporation.
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Line 44a — If you are not claiming a
business allocation (all your business is
within New York State), multiply line 25 by
35% and enter that amount on line 44a.
Enter “0" on line 44b.

Line 44b — If you do claim a business
allocation, complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule
A and enter on line 44b the minimum taxable
income base and tax from Schedule A, lines
6 and 7. Enter ‘0’ on line 44a.

Line 45 — Enter $250 unless your tax period
was nine months or less. See “Tax Rates.”
page 2 for details.

Line 46 — Enter the amount from line 42,
43, 44a, 44b or 45, whichever is largest.
Small business taxpayer exception: If line 43
(tax on capital base) is larger than line 42
(tax on entire net income base) only because
of the reduced rate applicable to small
business taxpayers, enter the largest amount
from line 42, 44a, 44b or 45.

Taxable DISCs must enter the larger of lines
43 or 45. Real estate investment trusts and
regulated investment companies enter the
largest of lines 42, 44a, 44b or 45.

Line 47 — Enter the subsidiary capital base
and tax from Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C,
Part I, lines 27 and 28.

Line 48 — Add lines 46 and 47. This is the
total amount of tax due before the application
of any tax credits.

Line 49 — Enter the total amount of your tax
credits. When claiming more than one credit
you must apply them against your tax in the
order listed below.

1. Eligible business facility tax credit (Form
CT-45)

2. Economic development zone capital
corporation tax credit (Form DTF-602)

3. Economic development zone wage tax
credit (Form DTF-601)

4. Investment tax credit carryforwards - pre
1987 (Form CT-46)

5. Employment incentive tax credit
carryforwards - pre 1987 (Form CT-46)

6. Research and development tax credit
carryforwards - pre 1987 (Form CT-42)

7. Employment incentive tax credit (Form
CT-46)

8. Investment tax credit (1987) (Form CT-46)

Economic development zone investment
tax.credit (Form DTF-603)

10. Economic development zone employment
incentive tax credit (Form DTF-601)

11.  Special additional mortgage recording
tax credit (Form CT-43 and CT-43.1)

For more information about the order of
application of credits see TSB-M-87(20)C.

Tax credits cannot reduce your tax below the
higher of the fixed dollar minimum tax or the
tax on the minimum taxable income base.

Indicate which credits you are claiming by
checking the appropriate box. Attach copies

forms and schedules used.

Line 50 — Subtract line 49 from line 48. If
your tax credits are more than the tax shown
on line 48, enter ‘0.

Line 51 — Enter the amount from line 44a or
44b (minimum taxable income base tax) or
line 45 (fixed dollar minimum tax), whichever
is larger.

Line 52 — Enter the amount from line 50 or
line 51, whichever is larger. This is your tax.

Line 53a — If you have filed an application
for extension (Form CT-5), enter the amount
from line 3 of Form CT-5.

Line 53b — If you did not file Form CT-5 and
the amount on line 52 is more than $1,000,
you must pay a mandatory first instaliment for
the period following that covered by this
return. Enter 25% of the tax shown on line
52.

Line 54 — Add lines 52 and 53a or 53b.

Lines 55 through 62 — Prepayments. Enter
all prepayments you have made on lines 55
through 61 and total them on line 62.

Line 63 — If line 62 is smaller than line 54,
subtract line 62 from line 54. This is the
balance of tax due. If line 62 is larger than
line 54, enter “0™ on line 63.

Lines 64 and 65 — If you are not filing this
return on time, you must pay interest and
additional charges. (See Interest and
Penalties on page 2.) Compute these charges
on line 52 or line 63, whichever is smaller.

Line 66 — If you underpaid your estimated
tax, use Form CT-222, Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Corporations, to compute
the penalty. Attach Form CT-222. If no CT-222
penalty is due, enter “0” on line 66.

Line 67 — Add lines 63, 64, 65 and 66. This
is the amount you owe. Enter your payment
on line 1, then continue with line 73.

Lines 68 through 72 — Overpayment. If line
54 is smaller than line 62, subtract line 54
from line 62 (you must also subtract any
penalty amount on line 66). This is the
amount of your overpayment. You may apply
an overpayment or part of an overpayment of
tax as a credit to your metropolitan
transportation business tax surcharge or to
your next tax period, or you may have it
refunded. Indicate on lines 69 through 72 the
amounts you wish transferred as credits or
refunded.

Line 73 — If you can claim either of these
refundable credits enter the total amount and
attach Form CT-43.1, Claim for Refund of
Special Additional Mortgage Recording Tax
Credit or Form CT-46.1, Claim for Refund of
Investment Tax Credit. Check the appropriate
box on line 49.

Line 74 — Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax Surcharge. Every corporation
taxable under Article 9-A that does business,
employs capital, owns or leases property or
maintains an office in the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District must file
Form CT-3M/4M and pay a business tax
surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties
of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

A corporation that does not do business,
employ capital, own or lease property in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
must disclaim liability for the tax surcharge
by answering “No", and is no longer required
to file Form CT-3M/4M.

Lines 75 and 76 — Real Property

Gains Tax

Every corporation with an interest in real
property located in New York State must keep
a record of the transfer of its stock and report
annually every transfer of a controlling
interest in its stock and any other information
that may be required for the enforcement of
this tax (Article 31-B, section 1449-a, Tax on
Gains Derived from Certain Real Property
Transfers).

Controlling interest is either 50 percent or
more of the total combined voting power of all
classes of stock or 50 percent or more of the
capital, profits or beneficial interest in that
voting stock.

Answer both questions. If you answer ‘Yes’ to
both questions, attach a separate sheet
providing the following information:

— Name, address and identification number
of the new controlling stockholder (use
social security number for individuals and
federal employer identification number for
corporations).

— Date transfer was made.

— Location of real property.

— Whether the corporation is a cooperative
housing corporation.

Line 77 — Interest Paid to Shareholders

Corporations that made interest payments,
deducted in computing entire net income, to
a shareholder or shareholders owning,
directly or indirectly, individually or in the
aggregate, more than 50 percent of its issued
capital stock must provide the information
requested in this section (section 211.2-a).
1987 tax reform legislation imposes a penaity
of $500 for failure to provide this information
(section 1085(n)).

Lines 79 and 80 — Small Business
Taxpayer

If you used the small business tax rate on
line 26 you must complete this line to show
that your corporation qualifies for the lower
tax rate. Use the worksheet below to

determine the amount to enter on line 80.
No. of Shares Amount

Par value stock

No par stock

Contributions to capital & paid-in surplus
Total Capital Contributions - Enter on line 80

A corporation qualifies if:

* Its entire net income (before allocation)
is not more than $290,000,

* The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million on
the last day of its tax year, and

¢ The corporation is not part of an
affiliated group, as defined in IRC
section 1504, unless the group itself
would have met the above criteria if it
had filed a combined return.



If you qualify, provide the information
requested in this section. Use your balance
sheet amounts for stock and other paid-in
capital.

Interest Deducted

Enter the total amount of interest deducted on
your federal return that you used in
computing your federal taxable income (the
amount on line 2).

Federal Returns

Indicate which type of federal return you filed
and list any years during the past five for
which you were audited by the IRS.

Signature

This return must be signed by an officer of
the corporation. Failure to sign the return will
delay the processing of any refunds or may
result in penalties.

When preparing and mailing your 1988
corporate franchise tax return, please
remember the following:

— Use the preaddresed label. It will
ensure the proper recording of your
franchise tax return.

— If you are not using the label, include your
employer identification number and file
number on each form filed. These
numbers can be copied directly from the
label.

— Have the appropriate individuals sign the
return.

— Make your check payable to: New York
State Corporation Tax.

— Attach a complete copy of your
federal return

— Attach Form CT-3-ATT and any other
schedules and tax credit claim forms used
to compute your tax.

— Assemble your return and attachments
this way:

Copy of your federal return

Separate sheets (identify
by line number)

Other required forms

Tax credit forms

Form CT-3-ATT
Form CT-3

Payment

— Use the enclosed return envelope to
mail your return to:

NYS Corporation Tax
Processing Unit

P.O. Box 1909

Albany, New York 12201-1909

Line-by-Line
Instructions For Form
CT-3-ATT — Schedules
A,B,C,Dand E

Schedule A — Computation of
Minimum Taxable Income Base
and Tax

The minimum taxable income base is
determined by recomputing business income
allocated to New York State using a three-
factor business allocation percentage (see
Schedule B for an explanation of the
allocation). If your property, payroll and sales
were entirely within New York State, you do
not need to complete Schedule A. Instead,
compute your minimum taxable income base
on Form CT-3, line 44a. if you do allocate
your business income, complete this
schedule and both parts of Schedule B.
Attach the completed schedules to your Form
CT3.

Line 1 — Enter business income for
allocation from Form CT-3, line 20.

Line 2 — To determine allocated business
income, multiply line 1 by the minimum
taxable income allocation percentage from
Schedule B, Part 11, line 20.

Line 3 — Enter allocated investment income
from Form CT-3, line 21. If you do not have
any investment income, enter ‘0’

Line 4 — To determine total allocated
income, add lines 2 and 3.

Line 5 — Enter the amount from Form CT-3,
line 24.

Line 6 — Add line 4 and line 5 or subtract
line 5 from line 4. This is your minimum
taxable income base. Enter this amount in
the box on Form CT-3, line 44b.

Line 7 —Multiply line 6 by 3.5% (.035). This
is your tax on minimum taxable income base.
Enter this amount in the money column on
line 44b.

Schedule B — Computation of
Business Allocation Percentage and
Business Allocation Percentage for
Minimum Taxable Income Base

Use Schedule B to allocate your business
income (a component of entire net income)
and business capital. If your investment
income is more than 85% of your entire net
income and your investment capital is more
than 85% of your total business and
investment capital, you may leave Schedule
B blank and allocate business income and
capital by the investment allocation
percentage (Schedule D, line 30). This
election is not open to corporations filing a
combined return.

If your property, payroll and sales were
entirely within New York State, you do not
need to complete Schedule B.

You allocate by multiplying business income
or business capital by your business
allocation percentage. The business
allocation percentage is computed by
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averaging four factors: property, payroll and
business receipts (the business receipts
factor is included twice). The business
allocation percentage used to compute the
minimum taxable income base is determined
the same way except that the business
receipts factor is included only once.

The property factor is the percentage of the
average value of your real and tangible
personal property, whether owned or rented,
that is located within New York State. The
business receipts factor is the percentage of
your business receipts attributable to New
York State. The payroll factor is the
percentage of your payroll that is attributable
to New York State.

You must value real and tangible personal
property owned by the corporation at the
adjusted basis used for federal income tax.
However, you may make a one-time,
revocable election to value real and tangible
personal property at fair market value. You
must make this election on or before the due
date (or extended due date) for filing the
franchise tax return for your first tax year
beginning on or after January 1, 1987. This
election does not apply to corporations
inciuded in a combined return unless all of
the corporations included in the return make
the election.

If you are attributing property or wages
outside New York State, attach a separate
sheet listing:

— Number, location and duties of your
employees located outside New York State.

— Location of real and/or tangible personal
property and a description of how that
property is used.

If you are claiming a business allocation
percentage, you must attach a copy of
Schedule B to Form CT-3.

Schedule B, Part 1 — Computation
of Business Allocation Percentage

Lines 8a through 8e. Enter the New York
State amounts in Column A and the total
amounts in Column B.

Line 8a — Enter the average value of real
property you owned. Do not include real
property and related equipment (except
inventoriable goods) that are under
construction and are not occupied or used
during construction. Include property or
equipment under construction that is partially
used in the regular course of business only
to the extent used.

Line 8b — Enter the average value of real
property you rented. The value of rented real
property is generally eight times the gross
rent payable during the year covered by this
return. Gross rent includes any amount
payable as rent or in lieu of rent (such as
taxes, repairs, etc.) and amortization of
leasehold improvements that revert to the
lessor at the end of the lease.

Line 8c — Enter the average value of
inventories.

[s7]
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Line 8d — Enter the average value of
tangible personal property you owned such
as machinery, tools, and implements. Do not
include cash, shares of stock, bonds, notes,
credits, evidences of an interest in property or
evidences of credit.

Line 8e — Enter the average value of
tangible personal property you rented. The
value of rented tangible personai property is
generally eight times the gross rent payable
during the year covered by this return.
However, if you made the one-time election in
1987 (or a fiscal year beginning in 1987) to
phase in over a five-year period the value of
tangible personal property rented you must
include 40% of the value of each item of
rented tangible property for the tax year
beginning in 1988. For tax years beginning in
1989 and 1990 the percentages are 60% and
80% respectively. For tax years beginning in
1991 and thereafter, the percentage will be
100%.

Line 9 — Add lines 8a through 8e.

Line 10 —Divide line 9, Column A, by line 9,
Column B, to determine the property factor.

Lines 11a and 11b — Enter receipts from the
sale of tangible personal property.

Line 11c — Enter receipts for services
performed, based on where they are
performed. Corporations engaged in
broadcasting or the publication of
newspapers and periodicals must allocate to
New York State receipts from the sale of
advertising to the extent that the broadcasts
or publications are delivered to the ultimate
purchasers, subscribers, listeners or viewers
in New York State.

Receipts for Services to Regulated
Investment Companies - Chapter 345 of the
Laws of 1988 provides a new method for the
allocation of receipts received from an
investment company for the sale of
management, administration or distribution
services. For tax periods beginning in 1988,
75% of the receipts from such services will
be allocated based on the domicile of the
shareholders of the investment company and
25% wili be allocated based on where the
services were performed (section 210.3(a)(6)).
For a full description of the amendment to
the law see TSB-M-88(9)C.

Line 11d — Enter receipts from all property
you rented to others.

Line 11e — Enter receipts from royalties,
allocated where earned.

Line 11f — Enter all other business receipts,
allocated where earned.

Line 12 — Add lines 11a through 11f.

Line 13 — Divide line 12, Column A, by line
12, Column B, to determine the receipts
factor.

Line 14 — An additional receipts factor must
be included in the computation of the
business allocation percentage. Enter the
same percentage computed on line 13
(section 210.3(a)(4)).

Line 15 — Enter the total amount of all
wages and compensation of employees other
than general executive officers.

General executive officers include the
chairman, president, vice-president, secretary,
assistant secretary, treasurer, assistant
treasurer, comptroller and any other officer
charged with the general executive affairs of
the corporation. An executive officer whose
duties are restricted to territory either inside
or outside New York State is not a general
executive officer. Employees within New York
include all employees regularly connected
with or working out of an office or other place
of business you maintained within New York
State, no matter where the services of the
employees were performed.

Line 16 — Divide line 15, Column A, by line
15, Column B, to determine payroll factor.

Line 17 — Add the factors on lines 10, 13, 14,
and 16.

Line 18 — Divide line 17 by four or by the
number of factors. This is your allocation
percentage for business income and capital.
Enter this amount on Form CT-3, lines 22 and
39. If a factor is missing, add the remaining
factors and divide by the total number of
tfactors present. If all but one factor are
missing, the remaining factor is the allocation
percentage. A factor is missing only if both
Column A and Column B are zero.

Example

Computation of allocation percentage for business
income and capital:

CORP. A CORP.B CORP.C

Property factor (line 10) 80% 60% 60%
Receipts factor (line 13) 20% 30% 30%
Add’l receipts factor

(line 14) 20% 30% 30%
Payroll factor (line 16) 60% 0% None*
Total 180% 120% 120%
Divided by 4 4 3
Allocation percentage for
business income and
capital 45% 30% 40%

*In the examples above, Corporation C has no payroll factor
since it has no employees either inside or outside New York
State. Corporation B has no employees in New York State
but has employees outside New York State.

Schedule B, Part II — Computation
of Business Allocation Percentage
for Minimum Taxable Income Base

Line 19 — Add the factors on lines 10, 13,
and 16.

Line 20 — Divide line 19 by three or by the
number of factors. This is your business
allocation percentage for minimum taxable
income. Enter this amount on Schedule A,
line 2. If a factor is missing, add the
remaining factors and divide by the total
number of factors present. If all but one
factor are missing, the remaining factor is the
allocation percentage. A factor is missing only
if both Column A and Column B are zero.

Example

Computation of allocation percentage for minimum
taxable income base:

CORP. A CORP. B8 CORFP. C

Property factor (line 10) 80% 60% 60%
Receipts factor (line 13) 10% 30% 30%
Payroll factor (line 16) 60% 0% None"

Total 150% 90% 90%
Divided by 3 3 2
Allocation percentage for
minimum taxable income  50% 30% 45%

*In the examples above. Corporation C has no payrol! factor
since it has no employees either inside or outside New York
State. Corporation B has no employees in New York State
but has employees outside New York State.

Schedule C

Compiete Schedule C if you have any
subsidiaries. A subsidiary is a corporation
which is controlled by the taxpayer, because
the taxpayer owns more than 50% of the total
number of shares of the corporation’s voting
capital stock, issued and outstanding. A DISC
is not a subsidiary.

Part I — Income Attributable to
Subsidiary Capital

Lines 21 through 23 — Enter interest,
dividends and capital gains. In addition,
include on line 23 items such as collapsible
corporation gain and sale of subsidiary
capital which is not a capital asset for federal
tax.

Line 24 — Add lines 21, 22 and 23. Enter
this amount on Form CT-3, line 11.

Part II — Computation and
Allocation of Subsidiary Capital
Base and Tax

Subsidiary capital is the taxpayer’s total
investment in shares of capital stock of its
subsidiaries and the amount of indebtedness
owed to the taxpayer by its subsidiaries
(whether or not evidenced by written
instruments) on which interest is not claimed
and deducted by the subsidiary against any
tax imposed by Article 9-A, 32 or 33, less
liabilities directly or indirectly attributable to
subsidiary capital.

Subsidiary capital does not include accounts
receivable acquired in the ordinary course of
trade or business either for services rendered
or for the sale of property primarily heid for
sales to customers. Each item of subsidiary
capital must be reduced by any of the
parent’s liabilities which are directly or
indirectly attributable to that item of
subsidiary capital.

Column A. Enter the full name and federal
employer identification number of each
subsidiary.

Column C. Enter the average value of each
item of your investment in subsidiaries.
Average value is generally computed
quarterly if your usual accounting practice
permits. However, you may use a more
frequent basis such as a monthly, weekly or
daily average. If your usual accounting
practice does not permit a quarterly or more
frequent computation of average value, you
may use a semiannual or annual computation
if no distortion of average value results. Value
marketable securities at fair market value and
other property using generally accepted
accounting principles.

Column D. 1987 amendments to Article 9-A
of the Tax Law now permit the deduction of
all liabilities, both long-term and short-term,
directly or indirectly attributable to subsidiary
capital. Use the same method of averaging
used to determine the average value of
assets in Column C. Enter for each item of
subsidiary capital listed in Column A the
liabilities directly or indirectly attributable to it.
Liabilities directly attributable to an asset
(stock or debt) are those that were incurred to
acquire that asset.



Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

j Worksheet __
Total liabilities (.Y JE—

Liabilities directly
attributable to:

Subsidiary capital (=)
Investment capital (C)
Business capital D)

Add lines (B), (C) and (D) (E)
Subtract line (E) from
line (A) () J—

Enter amount from

Schedule C, Part II,

line 25, Column C (G)
Enter amount from

Form CT-3, line 31,

Column C H__
Divide line (G)

by line (H) m__ %
Multiply line (F)

by line (I) [0
Value of the

particular asset (K)
Enter amount from

line (G) L)
Divide line (K)

by line (L) M___ %
Enter amount from

line (J) (N)
Multiply line (M)

by line (N) O

In Column D, on the line for the asset in
question, include the sum of the amount from
line (O) of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E. Determine the net average value of
each item listed in Column A by subtracting
Column D from Column C. The net average
value of any item cannot be less than zero.

Column F. Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each item listed in Column A.
See instructions for Form CT-3, line 40a.

Column G. Multiply net average value, Column
E, of each item listed in Column A by its
issuer’s allocation percentage in column F. This
is the value of subsidiary capital allocated to
New York State.

Line 25 - Add the amounts in Columns C and
D.

Line 26 - Add the amounts in Column E. This is
the total net average value of subsidiary capital.
Enter this amount on Form CT-3, line 34.

Line 27 - Add the amounts in Column G. Enter
this amount in the box on Form CT-3, line 47.

Line 28 — Multiply line 27 by the tax rate of
0009. This is your subsidiary capital base tax.
Enter this amount in the money column on Form
CT-3, line 47.

Schedule D — Computation of
Investment Capital and Investment
Allocation Percentage

Investment Capital is the average value
of your investments in stocks, bonds and
other corporate or governmental securities,
less liabilities, both long-term and short-
term, directly or indirectly attributable to
investment capital.

If your investment income is less than
25% of your entire net income and your
investment capital is less than 25% of
your total business and investment capital,
you may leave Schedule D blank and
allocate investment income and capital by
the business allocation percentage
(Schedule B, line 18).

Column A — List all stocks, bonds and
other securities issued by a corporation
(other than the taxpayer, a subsidiary or a
DISC) or by governmental units, either
foreign or domestic, and their
instrumentalities. Investment capital
includes investments in regulated
investment corporations such as money
market funds and mutual funds if they
exist in a corporate form. It also includes
bonds or other securities of a subsidiary
the interest on which is claimed by the
subsidiary as a deduction under Article
9-A, 32 or 33.

Column C — Enter the average fair
market value of each item listed in Column
A. On any date, the fair market value of
stocks, bonds and other regularly traded
securities is the mean between the
highest and lowest selling prices. The
average value generally is computed
quarterly if your usual accounting practice
permits it, but you may use a monthly,
weekly, or daily average. If your usual
accounting practice does not permit a
quarterly or more frequent computation of
average fair market value, you may use a
semiannual or annual computation if no
distortion of average fair market value
results. If the security is not marketable,
value it using generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP).

Column D. 1987 amendments to Article
9-A of the Tax Law now permit the
deduction of all liabilities, both long-term
and short-term, directly or indirectly
attributable to investment capital. Use the
same method of averaging used to
determine the average value of assets in
Column C. Enter for each item of
investment capital listed in Column A the
sum of the liabilities directly or indirectly
attributable to it. Liabilities directly
attributable to an asset are those that
were incurred to acquire that asset.
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Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

_ Worksheet
Total liabilities (A)

Liabilities directly
attributable to:

Subsidiary capital (8)
Investment capital (C)
Business capital (D)
Add lines (B), (C)

and (D) (E)
Subtract line (E)

from line (A) F
Enter amount from

Schedule D,

line 29, Column C (G)

Enter amount from
Form CT-3, line 31,

Column C (H)
Divide line (G)
by line (H) ) %
Multiply line (F)
by line (I) )
Value of the
particular asset (K)
Enter amount from
line (G) (L
Divide line (K) by
line (L) M_____ %
Enter amount from
line (J) (N)
Multiply line (M)
by line (N) (O)

In Column D, on the line for the asset in
question, inciude the sum of the amount from
line (O) of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E. Determine the net average value
of each item listed in Column A by
subtracting Column D from Column C. The
net average value of any item cannot be less
than zero.

Column F — Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each investment listed in
Column A. For information, see the
instructions for Form CT-3, line 40a.

Issuer’s allocation percentages will be
supplied by this department upon written
request (in duplicate) to:

NYS Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

Telephone (518)457-7034

Column G — Determine the value of each
investment in Column A by multiplying each
item in Column E by the issuer’s allocation
percentage listed in Column F. The issuer’s
allocation percentage for all governmental
securities is 0%.

Line 30 — Determine your investment
allocation percentage by dividing line 29,
Column G, by line 29, Column E.
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Line 31 — You may include cash on deposit
in investment capital. Cash on deposit
includes certificates of deposit and money
market funds with a bank. You may not treat
a portion of cash as investment capital and
the balance as business capital.

Line 32 — Add lines 29 and 31, Column E.
This is your Investment capital. Enter this
amount on Form CT-3, line 36.

Schedule E — Computation of
Investment Income for Aliocation

Complete this schedule if you are allocating
part of your entire net income using an
investment allocation percentage from
Schedule D. Investment income is income
from investment capital to the extent it is
included in entire net income, less any
deductions allowable in computing entire net
income that are attributable to investment
capital or investment income, and less a
portion of any net operating loss deduction
allowable in computing entire net income.

Income from investment capital includes 50%
of dividends (other than from a subsidiary or
a DISC), interest, and capital gains and
losses from sales or exchanges of investment
capital that are included in the computation
of entire net income. Professional service
corporations (Article 15 or 15-A BCL) must
use an investment allocation percentage of
100% (section 210.3(b)(3)).

Line 33 — Enter 50% of dividends received
from nonsubsidiary stock. Do not include any
“grossed up” dividends pursuant to section
78 of the IRC (these have been deducted on
lines 11, 12 and 13 of Form CT-3).

Line 34 — Enter interest income from
corporate and government bonds, corporate
debentures, notes and certificates of
indebtedness that have many of the essential
characteristics of bonds. If the investment
allocation percentage is zero, interest from
bank accounts (cash) must be allocated by
the business allocation percentage, uniess
the taxpayer has the right and does elect to
allocate its entire net income by its
investment allocation percentage (see Article
9-A Regulations section 4-7.1).

Line 35 — Enter interest received from a
bond or other evidence of indebtedness of

a subsidiary if the subsidiary claims any part
of the interest as a New York State franchise
tax deduction on any return under Article 9-A,
32 or 33 for any period ending within the tax
year of the parent, if the bond or other
certificate of indebtedness constitutes
investment capital.

Line 36 — You may treat cash on hand or on
deposit as either business or investment
capital. However you may not treat part as
business capital and part as investment
capital. Enter interest on bank accounts only
if you have elected to treat cash as
investment capital and have entered the
amount on Schedule D, line 31.

You may not treat cash as investment capital
if you have no other investment capital.

Line 37 — Do not include any net capital
gains or (losses) from the sales and
exchanges of securities constituting
investment capital, that were not used in
computing federal taxable income.

Line 39 — Enter deductions directly or
indirectly attributable to investment income or
investment capital. To determine the amount
of deductions indirectly attributable, use the
following formula:

Total amount of
deductions
subject to
indirect attribution

Average value of assets
x included in investment capital
Average value of all assets

To compute the value of an asset, real
property and marketable securities should be
valued at fair market value and all other
property should be included at the value
shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles
(GAAP).

To determine the total amount of deductions
subject to indirect attribution, use the
following procedure:

(a) Subtract from the amount of federal
deductions included on federal Form 1120,
line 27 the following:

¢ Those federal deductions included in such
line 27 amount which are required to be
added back to federal taxable income in
computing entire net income, other than
the amount of such deductions directly or
indirectly attributable to subsidiary capital;
and

¢ the New York excess depreciation add-
back described at Tax Law, section
208.9(b)(11) (relating to the disposition of
certain decoupled property) to the extent
that such amount was included in (b), for
prior tax years which began on or after
January 1, 1987.

(b) Increase the amount arrived at in (a) by
the following deductions which are subtracted
from federal taxable income in computing
entire net income.

¢ |Interest expense attributable to interest
income not includable in federal taxable
income but required to be included in
entire net income (e.g., municial bond
interest), to the extent such interest
expense is not deducted for federal
purposes. (Tax Law, section 208.9(b)(2);
see also Franchise Tax Regulations, 20
NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(2)).

¢ In the case of a taxpayer organized
outside the United States, deductions
attributable to income which is not
included in federal taxable income but is
required to be included in entire net
income (e.g., foreign source income). (Tax
Law, section 208.9(c); see also Franchise
Tax Regulations, 20 NYCRR 3-2.3(a)(9)).

¢ The portion of wages and salaries paid or
incurred for the tax year for which a
deduction is not allowed pursuant to
section 280C of the Internal Revenue
Code. (Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(7)).

¢ Depreciation deductions permitted under
Article 9-A with respect to "decoupled”
roperty pursuant to Tax Law, section
2089(a)(11) and (12).

¢ Deductions arising from “decoupling” from
federal safe harbor lease provisions
pursuant to Tax Law, section 208.9(a)(10}.

(c) Reduce the amount arrived at in (b) by
these deductions included therein which were
determined in (a) to be directly attributable to
subsidiary, investment or business capital.

For more information see TSB-M-88(5)C.

To compute the value of an asset, real
property and marketable securities should be
valued at fair market value and all other
property should be included at the value
shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles
(GAAP).

Line 41 — Apportion any net operating loss
deduction claimed on Form CT-3, line 14, -
between business income and investment
income. Divide investment income before
deduction of any net operating loss by entire
net income before deduction of any net
operating loss. Multiply the result by the net
operating loss deduction. Enter this amount
on line 41.

Phone

Write

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100.
From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829).
From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Taxpayer assistance is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
New York State Tax Department

Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227




