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instructions for Form CT-3-A

Combined Franchise Tax Return
Article 9-A, Tax Law

New Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax

Chapter 61, Laws of 1989, signed on April 19, 1989 amended
Article 9-A, section 210.1(d). The amended law increased the
fixed dollar minimum tax effective immediately.

It is our interpretation that it was the intent of the Legislature
that the effective date of section 341 of Chapter 61 should be
for periods ending after June 30, 1989. A technical correction
bill has been requested to clarify the effective date. If this
technical correction is not made, corporations filing for fiscal
periods ending in April, May and June will also be subject to
the higher fixed dollar minimum tax.

As a taxpayer with a fiscal period ending after June 30, 1989,
you must consider this recent change when computing your
franchise tax. See Schedule L instructions.

General information

You must get permission from the New York State Tax
Department before you may file as a combined group. You
must also get permission to include in your combined return
corporations not previously included or to exclude corporations
previously included.

You must request permission within 30 days after the end of
the tax year and meet the following requirements:

* You must own or control directly or indirectly 80% or more
of the stock in the group.

* The corporations in the combined group must be operating a
unitary business.

¢ Filing on an individual basis would distort New York activities,
business, income or capital.

See New York State Codes, Rules and Regulations, Title 20,
sections 6-2.1 through 6-2.7, for complete details.

To get Form AU-2.1, Application for Permission to File as a
Combined Group, write to:

NYS Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W. A. Harriman Campus
Albany, New York 12227

You may also get forms by calling toll free 1 800 462-8100.
From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

Other Forms Required

CT-3 — Every corporation included in a combined return must
file separate returns on Forms CT-3 and CT-3-ATT. Complete

lines 1 through 41 and lines 74 through 80 on Form CT-3, and
Schedules B through E on Form CT-3-ATT. Transfer this
information to Schedules F through L of this form to compute
the combined tax. When a member of the group is also a
stockholder in a tax-exempt DISC, you must complete Form
CT-3-C and transfer the consolidated data to the appropriate
CT-3-A schedules.

CT-3M/4M — Any corporation taxable under Article 9-A that
does business, employs capital, owns or leases property or
maintains an office in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District must file Form CT-3M/4M and pay a tax
surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockiand, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Every comhined group that files this form must answer the
question on page 1. A combined group that does not do
business, employ capital, own or lease property in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District must disclaim
liability for the tax surcharge by answering “No” and is no
longer required to file Form CT-3M/4M.

Taxable DISC

A parent corporation may elect to file a combined return with a
taxable domestic international sales corporation (DISC) if it
beneficially owns 80 percent or more of the DISC’s voting
capital stock. The entire net income of a taxable DISC is zero.

Computation of Combined Tax

The combined group must compute its tax on this form. Do not
use Form CT-3, lines 42 through 73.

Line 4. Enter in the appropriate boxes the amounts of gross
payroll, total receipts and average value of gross assets and
the fixed dollar minimum tax for the corporation filing this
return. See Schedule L instructions for detailed information
about the new fixed dollar minimum tax rates.

Line 12. Each corporation included in the combined return
(other than a foreign corporation not doing business or
otherwise not subject to tax in New York State and the
corporation paying the combined tax) is required to pay the
fixed dollar minimum tax. The new fixed dollar minimum tax
may differ between group members. Use Schedule L to
compute the total fixed dollar minimum tax for corporations not
paying the combined tax and enter on this line the amount
from Schedule L, line 79 column (d). Enter the number of
subsidiaries included in the return in the box provided on
line 12.
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Schedules F and G - Combined Business and
Investment Allocation Percentages

The election to allocate entire net income or total business and
investment capital by either the business or investment
allocation percentage is not available to corporations included
in a combined return (Tax Law 210.6). Therefore, such
corporations claiming allocation must complete Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedules B and D.

Schedule I - Combined Entire Net Income Base and
Tax

Line 49. The combined net operating loss deduction is subject
to the same limitations which apply for the federal income tax
as if the same corporations filed a consolidated federal return.

Line 52. A net operating loss deduction must be apportioned
between combined business income and combined investment
income. The amount apportioned to investment income is
computed by multiplying the combined net operating loss
deduction by a percentage determined by dividing combined
investment income (line 51, column ¢) by combined entire net
income (line 48, column ¢).

Line 60. The 1987 tax reform legislation reduced the tax rate
for the entire net income base to 9% and provided a lower rate
for a taxpayer included in the newly created class of “small
business taxpayer.” See instructions for Form CT-3, line 26, for
the complete description of a small business taxpayer and the
special reduced tax rate.

Schedule J - Combined Minimum Taxable Income
Base and Tax

The 1987 tax reform legislation created this new tax base
effective for tax years beginning after 1986 and before 1990.
The minimum taxable income base is determined by
recomputing business income allocated to New York State (see
Schedule F, Part II).

The minimum taxable income base tax rate is 3.5% (.035).

Schedule K - Combined Capital Base and Combined
Group Issuer’s Allocation Percentage

Line 77. The maximum tax liability for the comhined capital tax
computation is $350,000.

Line 78. Each group must compute its combined group issuer’s
allocation percentage. The percentage is computed by adding
the total combined capital base (line 76, column ¢}, and the
allocated combined subsidiary capital (line 72, column c) and
dividing the total by total combined capital (line 68, column c).

Schedule L - Computation of Fixed Dollar Minimum
Tax for Subsidiaries

Line 79. Add the amounts entered in column (d} and enter the
total on page 1, line 12.

You must compute fixed dollar minimum tax for each member
of a combined filing group except a foreign corporation
included in the combined group that would not otherwise be
taxable in New York State.

The fixed dollar minimum tax has been increased and consists
of four levels:”

For a corporation The fixed dollar
with: minimum tax is:

— Gross payroll of $6,250000 ormore ............... $1,500

— Gross payroll of less than $6,250,000
but more than $1,000000 ........................ $425

— Gross payroll of $1,000000 orless ................ $325
UNLESS the following situation exists:

— Gross payroll, total receipts and
average value of gross assets are
each $1000 orless ........ .. ... ... . ... ... $800

* See New Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax on the front page
regarding the effective date.

Gross Payroll for Short Periods — Annualize gross payroll for
tax periods of less than 12 months by dividing the amount of
gross payroll by the number of months in the short period and
multiply the result by 12.

Short Period Reduction — The reduction of the fixed dollar
minimum tax for short periods of 9 months or less remains
unchanged. See instructions for Form CT-3 or CT-4 for details.

Gross Payroll — The total wages, salaries, and other personal
service compensation of all employees including general
executive officers located everywhere.

Total Receipts — Receipts from the sales of tangible personal
property, services performed, rentals, royalties, receipts from
the sales of rights for closed-circuit and cable television and
transmissions, and all other business receipts received in the
regular course of business.

Average value of gross assets — The average fair market
value of real property and marketable securities plus all other
property at the value shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles.



