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Instructions for Form CT-33-M
Metropolitan Transportation Business Tax Surcharge Return
Article 33, Section 1505-a

Who Must File

If a corporation filing Form CT-33 and/or CT-33-A does
insurance business in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District, it must file Form CT-33-M and pay a
business tax surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties of
New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and
Westchester. If you do not do business within the MCTD
you no longer need to file this form.

When and Where to File

File your return and pay the surcharge within 2%2 months
after the end of the taxable year. If you are reporting for the
1988 calendar year, file your return on or before March 15,
1989.

Mail this return with any payment due to:

NYS Corporation Tax
Processing Unit

P.O. Box 1909

Albany, NY 12201-1909

Tax Rate

The tax rate is 17% for calendar year 1988 or fiscal year
ending in 1989.

The surcharge rate is applied to the portion of tax, after
deduction of any credits, imposed under Article 33
attributable to the taxpayer’'s business activity carried on
within the MCTD.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Surcharge
Return

You may request additional time to file a tax surcharge
return. File Form CT-5 on or before the due date of the
return for which the extension is requested and pay the tax
surcharge estimated to be due. The payment must equal
or exceed 90% of the actual tax surcharge as finally
determined.

Specific Instructions

Computation of MCTD Allocation
Percentage

If you do all of your New York State business within the 12
counties of the MCTD, skip lines 1 through 8 and enter
100% on line 9.

If you do part of your business outside of the MCTD,
compute your MCTD allocation by completing lines
1 through 8.

Corporations taxable under Article 33 that are filing on a
combined basis must use a combined MCTD allocation
percentage.

To determine the portion of business activities carried on
within the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District:

Line 3. Divide premiums allocated to the MCTD by
premiums allocated to New York State.

Line 4. Multiply the percentage on line 3 by nine.

Line 7. Divide wages allocated to the MCTD (line 6) by
wages allocated to New York State (line 5).

Line 8. Add the percentages on lines 4 and 7.

Line 9. Divide the sum of the percentages on line 8 by

ten.

Computation of Tax Surcharge

Line 10. Enter your New York State franchise tax from your
franchise tax return, Form CT-33, line 12.

Line 11. Multiply the amount on line 10 by the percentage
on line 9.

Retaliatory Tax Surcharge Credit

Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York
State may claim a tax credit on line 13 for 90% of
retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilege of
doing business in those states, which resulted from the
imposition of the MTB tax surcharge for the 1988 tax year.
To claim credit for such retaliatory taxes paid in subsequent
periods based on the 1988 MTB tax surcharge, use Form
CT-33-R. Form CT-33-R should also be used to claim credit
for any retaliatory taxes based on each previous year’s
MTB tax surcharge.

The credit may not exceed the tax surcharge payable
pursuant to section 1505-a of the Tax Law for the taxable
year for which the retaliatory taxes were paid.

You can only claim credit for the taxable year for which the
retaliatory taxes were paid. Any unused tax credit cannot
be refunded or carried over to other tax periods.
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Submit a detailed statement with the credit claim to identify
the source and amount of retaliatory taxes paid for a claim

year as a result of the imposition of the MTB tax surcharge.

Line 13, Enter the smaller of 90% of retaliatory taxes paid
in 1988 attributable to 1988 tax surcharge or the
amount of the metropolitan business tax
surcharge shown on line 12. Enter zero if no
retaliatory tax credit is claimed.

Line 14. Subtract line 13 from line 12.

Line 15a. Enter any payment made with Form CT-5,
Application for Six-Month Extension.

Line 15b. You can apply an overpayment of franchise tax
from Form CT-33 to this surcharge. Enter the
form number, period in which the overpayment
occurred (month and year) and amount to be
applied. On the overpayment line of your Form
CT-33, indicate the amount of money to be
applied to the MTB tax surcharge.

Line 18. If you do not pay the tax on or before the due
date (without regard to any extension of time),
you must pay interest on the amount of the
underpayment from the due date to the date
paid. Determine the interest rate in accordance
with Part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Compute the interest on the line 17 amount.

Line 12.

Additional charges for late filing are computed on
the amount of tax required to be shown on the
return after deduction of any payment made on
or before the due date.

a. If you do not file a return when due or if your
application for extension is invalid, add to the
tax 5% per month up to 25% (section
1085(a)(1)}(A)).

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the
due date, the addition to tax cannot be less
than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the
amount required to be shown as tax (section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return,
add to the tax 2% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢
may not exceed 5% for any one month except
as provided for in b above (section 1085(a)).

Compute these charges on the line 17 amount.

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in
filing and/or payment (section 1085).

Line 21.

If line 14 is smaller than line 16, subtract line 14
from line 16, This is the amount of overpayment.
You may apply all or part of your overpayment to
your New York State franchise tax. Indicate on
lines 22 and 23 the amount you want applied to
your tax and the amount you want refunded.




