New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

CT-222 Underpayment of

Estimated Tax by Corporations
Tax Law - Articles 9, 9-A, 13-A, 32 and 33

For calendar year 1988

or fiscal year
ended

1989

Name

Employer identification Number

Computation of Underpayments

1

N HhwN

Enter due date of installments

()]

25% of 1987 tax (from line 4)
7 Divide line 5 by number of installments
(enter in appropriate ColumnS) ...,

8 Amount paid or credited for each period

9 Overpayment of previous installment

10 Add lines 8 and 9

11 Overpayment
(In column A, subtract line 6 from line 10 ...
In columns B, C and D, subtract line 7 from line 10)...

12 Underpayment
(In column A, subtract line 10 from line 6 .................
In columns B, C and D. subtract line 10 from line 7)...

Exceptions to the Underpayment Penaity

13 Total cumulative amount paid or credited from the beginning of
the taxable year through the instaliment dates that correspond
to the 15th day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th months.

14 Exception 1—Prior year's tax (1987) 1987 tax 50 of 1987 tax 75% of 1987 tax 100% of 1967 tax
(see instructions)

15 Exception 2—Tax on prior year's figures using 1988 rates 50% of tax 75% of tax 100 of tax
(attach comoutation—see nstructions)

16 Exception 3—Tax on annuanzed 1988 income (attach 45% of tax 6750%0t tax 90% of tax

computation—see instructions)

17 Additional exception for recurring seasonai income (attach
computation - see instructions)

Computation of Underpayment Penaity

18 Amount of underpayment from Iine 12.............................

19 Enter the date of payment or the 15th day of the 3rd month
after the close of the tax year. whichever is earlier ..............|

20 Number of days from due date of installment to the date
ShOWN 0N 1iN8 19 ...

21 Number of days on line 20 after 3/15/88, and before 9/1/88 ...

22 Number of days on line 20 after 8/31/88. and before 3/1/89 ..

23 Number of days on line 20 after 2/28/89, and before 9/1/89...

24 Number of days on line 20 after 8/31/89, and before 3/16/30

25 Number of days on line 21

x 89% x amount on line 18.

Number of days in the tax year
26 Number of days on line 22

x 89% x amount on line 18

Number of days in the tax year
27 Number of days on line 23

X "% x amount on line 18...

Number of days in the tax year
28 Number of days on line 24

X % x amount on line 18 ..,

Number of days in the tax year
29 Add lines 25 through 28 .................cooocevmvveemmrooro

30 Underpayment penalty (see instructions)

31 Add line 30 columns A through D. Enter here and on your franchise tax return (line 66, Form CT-3)

*For information as to appiicable rate on or after March 1. 1989, see instructions .

CT-222



CT-222 (1988) (pack)

Instructions
Attach this form to your New York State franchise tax return.

General information

A corporation whose New York State franchise tax
liability can reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000
must make estimated tax payments. If the minimum
amounts are not paid on time, an underpayment penalty
may be imposed for the period of underpayment.

Use Form CT-222 to determine if you paid enough
estimated tax by the proper due date, whether you are
subject to the penaity for underpayment of estimated tax,
and, if so, the amount of penalty.

Computation of Underpayments

Complete lines 1 through 12 to determine any
underpayment of estimated taxes.

Exceptions to the Underpayment Penalty

You will not have to pay a penalty if you made all tax
payments on time and they equal or exceed the amount
that would have been required to be paid by each
instaliment date if the estimated tax were an amount
determined under any of the exceptions listed beiow.

A different exception may be applied to each
underpayment. If no exception applies, complete lines 18
through 30 to determine the amount of the penality.

Exceptions 1 and 2, on lines 14 and 15, do not apply to
“large” corporations. A “large” corporation is one that
had, or its predecessor had, allocated taxable income of
at least $1 million for any of the three taxable years
immediately preceding the taxable year involved.

Exception 1, Line 14: (not to be used by large
corporations) this exception allows you to substitute ‘or
the current year’s estimated tax the tax reported on your
1987 return. You must have filed a franchise tax return
showing a tax liability for the preceding tax year, and
that year must have consisted of 12 months.

Exception 2, Line 15: (not to be used by large
corporations) this exception applies if the amount you
paid is equal to or more than the tax computed by using
the current year’s rate but based on the facts shown on

the prior year’s return and the law that applies to the
prior year.

Exception 3, Line 16: This exception applies if the
estimated tax you paid was equal to or more than 90%
of the amount you would owe if your estimated tax were
a tax computed on annualized taxable income for the
months preceding an instaliment date.

You may annualize income as foilows:

a. For the first 3 months or the first 5 months of the
taxable year, in the case of the installment required
to be paid in the 6th month.

b. For the first 6 months or the first 8 months of the
taxable year, in the case of the instaliment required
to be paid in the 9th month.

c. For the first 9 months or the first 11 months of the
taxable year, in the case of the installment required
to be paid in the 12th month.

To annualize, muitiply taxable income for the period by
12, and divide the result by the number of months in the
period (3, 5, 6, 8, 9 or 11, as the case may be).

Additional exception, Line 17: This exception applies if
you have recurring seasonal income. Under this
exception, you may annualize income by assuming that
income earned in the current year is earned in the same
seasonal pattern as in the 3 preceding tax years.

For information about computing seasonal income, see
Article 27, section 1085(d) (4).

Computation of Underpayment Penalty

If no exception applies, complete lines 18 through 29 to
determine the amount of the penalty. The penalty is
computed for the period of underpayment at a rate set
by Part 603 of the tax regulations. Daily compounding of
interest does not apply (section 1096(e) (3)).

For rates not printed on lines 27 and 28, you may call
the numbers listed below.

Line 30. In each column enter either the amount from
line 29 or if the instaliment payment (line 10) equals 80%
or more of line 1 divided by 4, multiply the penalty
shown in the corresponding column of line 29 by 75%
and enter this amount.

For information or assistance:

When calling from within New York State, call toll free 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829)

When calling from outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581



