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Report of Franchise Tax on Capital Stock of
Cooperative Agricultural Corporations
Formed by Farmers, Fruit Growers and Others

Article 9, Section 185, Tax Law

General Information

Who Must File Form CT-185

Form CT-185 must be filed by farmers, fruit growers and other like
agricultural corporations organized and operated on a cooperative
basis for the purposes described in Article 6 of the Cooperative
Corporation Law of the State of New York. The form must also be
filed by receivers, liquidators, referees, trustees, assignees, or other
fiduciaries, appointed by any court, who conduct the business of
such a corporation.

Section 185 provides for a franchise tax based on the net value of
issued capital stock employed in New York State.

The net value of issued capital stock may be allocated in and out
of New York. The aliocation is based on the gross assets employed
in New York (see Schedule F).

Tax Rate

The franchise tax reguired to be paid is the highest tax computed
by one of three methods. A combination of tax on capita!l stock
using the tax rate of 1 mili and the dividend rate as computed in
Schedule £ is possible if a corporation has more than one kind of
stock.

The three methods are:
a. Allocated value of issued capital stock multiplied by tax rate
of .001.
b. Allocated value of issued capital stock multiplied by a rate
based on dividends in excess of 6%.
c. Minimum tax of $10.

Article 31-B, Section 1449-a (Tax on Gains Derived
from Certain Real Property Transfers)

This article requires every corporation with an interest in real
property to keep a record of the transfer of its stock, to report
annually every transfer of a “controlling” interest in its stock, and
to provide any other information that may be required 1o enforce
this article.

Controlling interest of a corporation means either 50 percent or
more of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock or
50 percent or more of the capital, profits or beneficial interest in
such voting stock.

All corporations must answer both questions on page 1 of Form
CT-185. If the answer to both gquestions is yes, attach the following
information:

* Name, address and identification number of the new
controlling stockholder. (Use the social security number
of an individual or the federal employer identification
number of a corporation.)

¢ Date transfer was made.

* | ocation of real property.

Foreign Coiporations - Maintenance
Fee and License Fee

Foreign corporations authorized to do business in New York must
pay an annual maintenance fee of $200. This fee may be applied
against the taxes dua under Article 9. If the total tax payable with
your return for December 31, 1987 equals or exceeds $200, you
have satisfied the requirement to pay a maintenance fee. If the
total tax payable is less than $200, add the difference to produce a
total tax and fee of $200.

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee. See
Form CT-240, Report of License Fee.

When and Where to File
File your 1987 report on or before March 15, 1988,
Mail to:

New York State Tax Department
Processing Unit

P.O. Box 1909

Albany, NY 12201-1909

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Reporti

A request for an extension of time to file a tax report must be filed
on Form CT-59 on or before March 15, 1988. An extension of time
granted by the IRS to file a federal return does not extend the due
date for filing Form CT-186.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in vour business’ name, 1D
number, mailing address, business address, telephone number or
owner/officer information, complete the enclosed Form DTF-95,
Change of Business Information. It no form is enclosed, call

1 800 462-81C0 (from out of statc (518) 438-1073) to request one.

Mail your completed Form DOTF-35 to:

New York State Tax Deparimeni
Registration Section

Building 8, Rcom 409

W.A. Harriman Cambus

Albany, NY 12227

If there are no changes to your business’ information, keep this
Form DTF-95 in your files. in the event a change occurs, complete
the form and send it to the Tax Department as soon as possible.

Specific Instructions
Schedule A

Line 1 - Enter the highest value of capital as determined by
subtracting total liabilities from total assets at year’s end (Schedule
B, line 16, column (b) from line 15, column (b)) or by computing the
average in Schedule D. The amount cannot be less than $5.00 per
share of issued capital stock.

Line 2 - Allocation computation - multiply the amount on line 1 by
the allocation percentage computed in Schedule F.

Line 3 - Multiply line 2 by tax rate (.001).

Line 4 - Enter the tax computed by dividend rate from Schedule
G, line 53.

Line 6 - Enter the amount fromn line 3, 4 or 5, whichever is largest.
If you are a foreign authorized corporation, line 6 cannot be less
than $200 (see Maintenance Fee).

Example:
Form CTA85 tax for 12/31/87 . . . ... ... ... ... . ...... $10.00
Maintenance fee for 1887. . . ... .. .. .. . ... ... ... ... 20000
Balance of maintenance fee due. . . ...... . ... ..... .. $180.00
Tax due on Form CT85. . .. ... ... . . . ... . ....... 10.00
Enter atline 6....... ... .. ... .. . .. ... . ......... $200.00
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Line 7 - You may take credit against your franchise tax for certain
“special additional mortgage recording tax” you paid. This credit
may not reduce your tax below the minimum tax, or, if you are an
authorized foreign corporation, it may not reduce the tax below the
$200 maintenance fee. Any unused credit may be carried forward.
Attach Form CT-43, Claim for Special Additional Mortgage
Recording Tax Credit.

Line 9 - If the tax is not paid on or before the due date
(determined without regard to any extension of time), interest must
be paid on the amount of the underpayment from the due date to
the date paid. The interest rate should be determined in
accordance with part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Line 10 - Additional charges for late filing are computed on the
amount of tax less any payment made on or before the due date,

a. It a return is not filed when due or if the application for
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25%
(Section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If a return is not filed within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or
100% of the amount required to be shown as tax (Section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

¢. In case of failure to pay the tax shown on a return, add to
the tax 2% per month up to 25% (Section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in b
above (Section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing and/or
payment (Section 1085).

Line 12 - Enter total of all payments including any overpayment
carried over from a preceding period.

Schedules B and C

Information required in these two schedules must be the same
information that appears on the balance sheet of your federal
return. Please attach a copy of your federal return.

Schedule E

The dividend rate on par value capital stock is computed by using
the par value and should not include any “paid in capital.”

The dividend rate on stock without nominal or par value is
computed by dividing the dividend paid by the amount paid for
such stock (stated value of no par stock) and paid-in capital on
such stock. It does not include capital arising from appreciation of
assets, amounts not contributed by the stockholder or retained
earnings.

Schedule F

The amounts shown on this schedule should agree with the
amounts shown on the balance sheet of your federal return.

Line 32 - If the assets of any company whose stock is owned by
this corporation are employed both in and outside New York, an

apportionment of your holding may be made on the basis of the

percentage of employment by the issuer of the stock.

Line 33 - Bonds, loans and other securities are considered located
where held.

Schedule G

If 6% (or more) dividends are paid on all classes of issued capital
stock, do not complete lines 48 through 52.

If & 6% dividend is not paid on all classes of stock, a tax is
computed on the dividends based on the value of the stock on
which the dividends of 6% or more were paid plus a tax at the
“Capital Stock” rate, on the remaining value of all capital stock.
The remaining value of all capital stock depends on which class of
capital stock the dividend was paid on. If the dividend was paid on
preferred stock, the remaining value of all capital stock is retained
earnings plus common stock. If the dividend was paid on common
stock, the remaining value of capital stock is preferred stock.
Retained earnings are normally associated with common stock.
The following exampies show hew the dividend rates and
remaining value of capital stock are computed.

Example 1 — Dividend paid on preferred stock

Par value — common stock $10,000
Par value — preferred stock 50,000
Retained earnings 80,000
Dividends paid on preferred stock 3,000
Dividends rate (33,000 + $50,000) 6%
6 x .00025 {Tax Rate) 0015
Tax ($50,000 x .0015) 75

Remaining value of issued capital stock
(common stock plus retained earnings)
($90,000 x .001) 90

Total tax $ 165

Example 2 — Dividend paid on common stock

Par value, common stock $10,000
Par value, preferred stock 50,000
Retained earnings 80,000
Dividends paid on common stock 3,000
Dividends rate ($3,000 + $10,000) 30%
30 x .00025 (Tax Rate) 0075
Tax ($10,000 x .0075) 75
Remaining value of issued capital stock

(preferred stock only, $50,000 x .001) 50

Total tax $ 125



