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New York State

.. %, Department of

( TAXATION
and FINANCE

* pack taxes without penalties or criminal prosecution.

It is very important to make the public aware of Tax Amnesty so that those who are eligible can take advantage of this once in a

* lifetime chance.

Instructions for ST-809
(Part-Quarterly Sales Tax Return)
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TAX AMNESTY PROGRAM

New York State has initiated a Tax Amnesty Program which allows delinquent taxpayers a one-time only opportunity to pay their

XXX XXXY

% The cost of tax evasion in New York is high -- millions of dollars annually -- and it is the honest taxpayers who pay this price. New »
» York State now has stiffer penalties, tougher enforcement measures and a sophisticated computer system to effectively catch and »

% Pprosecute those who do not pay their fair share.

% The Tax Amnesty Program will be in effect until January 31, 1986. Taxes covered under Amnesty include State and Local Sales
» and Use Taxes, Personal Income Tax, Withholding Tax and various other taxes.

* For further information, call 1-800-CALL TAX from within New York State. If you are calling from outside New York State, call

* 518-457-2924, or write:

* AMNESTY

* New York State

* Department of Taxation and Finance
* Albany, New York 12227
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These instructions will help you complete your part-quarterly sales tax return Form ST-809. If you need further
assistance to complete this return, use the telephone numbers provided on page 4 of these instructions. You should
keep all records and other supporting documents used in completing your return for at least three years after filing
and be able to produce them on request by the State Tax Commission or its agents.

Who Must File
You must file Form ST-809 if —

e Yyou are a vendor who has total taxabie receipts
(including purchases subject to use tax), rents and
amusement charges of $300,000 or more in any
quarter.

you are selling automotive fuel (motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel), and you sold 100,000 gallons of
automotive fuel or more in any one of the previous
four quarters, whether or not these sales were
taxable.
Note: Importers and others registered as distributors of
motor fuel under Article 12-A must not include on this
return, Form ST-809, or on the quarterly return for month-
ly filers, Form ST-810, any amounts reported on Form
FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel.

A detailed explanation of the Tax Law changes effective
June 1, 1985 which affect persons selling automotive fuel
can be found in Publication 881, Sales Tax Information For
Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel, Publication 882, Sales Tax Infor-
mation For Motor Fuel Distributors, Jobbers and
Wholesalers, and Publication 884, Information on Diesel
Motor Fuel Legislation.

When to File

You must file Form ST-809 for each of the first two
months of every quarterly reporting period and a
quarterly return, Form ST-810, for the third month.
Returns are due 20 days after the month covered.

Two copies of Form ST-809 are mailed to each person
registered as a monthly sales tax filer with the New
York State Department of Taxation and Finance. Be
sure to file the copy with the preaddressed label and
keep the second copy of the return for your records.

If you do not receive your returns by the first week of
the month in which they are due, call the appropriate
telephone number listed on page 4 for a duplicate.
Late charges will not be reduced because a
preaddressed form was not received.

How to File

Two methods are available for monthly filing: long and
short. If you have filed returns for each of the four
quarters immediately preceding the month to be
covered you may elect to use the short method.
Otherwise, you must use the long method.

Long method — You must report and pay actual state
and local sales and use taxes due for the month. Long
method instructions begin on page 2.

Short method — You must report and pay an amount
equal to 3 of the total state and local sales and use
taxes which were due for the comparable quarter of
the prior year, adjusted to reflect any new, increased or
decreased local sales and use tax. Local taxes are
reported as part of the total rather than separately.
Short method instructions begin on page 3.

Information To Be Completed By All Filers

Name, address and identification number — Correct
any errors in the preprinted name, address and
identification number on the preaddressed form in the
spaces provided.

Type of business — Describe your principal business
activity or type of business in the space provided
(retail grocery, wholesale furniture, etc.).

Consolidated Return — If you have more than one
place of business, and receipts from all business
locations are consolidated in this return, check the
appropriate box.

Signature — You or an authorized officer or employee
must sign the return. If the return is prepared by an
accountant, lawyer or anyone acting in a prefessional
capacity, the preparer must also sign on the line
indicated.
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Long method

You are required to report and pay the total state and
local sales and use taxes due for the month. You must
also maintain complete records so that you are able to
prepare and file a quarterly return (Form ST-810)
summarizing the three months” business activities by

locality. The distribution to each locality must be
shown on the quarterly return (Form ST-810) and
Schedules A,B,E,N,R and U, as necessary.

Summary of Business Activities

Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel

Although you must report and remit the sales tax due
on taxable sales and self-use of motor fuel and diesel
motor fuel on line 1 of Form ST-809, do not report
these sales in Box A (gross sales and services), Box B
(taxable sales and services) or Box C (purchases subject
to use tax).

BOX A — Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar value of sales made by the
business, including those exempt from sales tax (except
automotive fuel sales as stated above. Do not include in
this figure the amount of sales tax collected. Include
sales made within New York State for delivery inside or
outside New York State, and sales made outside New
York State for delivery inside New York State. Exclude
any sales made at business locations outside New York
State for delivery outside New York State.

Box B — Taxable Sales and Services

Enter the total dollar value of sales subject to New
York State and local sales taxes (except automotive
fuel sales as stated above).

Box C — Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Enter the total dollar value of purchases subject to use
tax (except automotive fuel use as stated above).

The use tax includes, among other taxable incidents, a
tax on the use of tangible personal property purchased
at retail on which no tax or insufficient tax was paid at
the time of purchase, including property used by the
business in its own operations when this property does
not become part of a product for resale or does not
qualify for a production exemption.

Line-by-Line Instructions
Line 1 — Sales and Use Taxes

Importers and others registered as distributors of motor fuel
under Article 12-A must not include on this line any amounts
reported on Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on
Motor Fuel.

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on
(a) taxable sales and services and {b) the purchases of
both items and services subject to use tax, less the total
of (c) credits that can be identified with a specific
locality and (d) any credit for prepaid sales tax on
motor fuel that was sold* or used during the month.

*

Exception: Registered distributors making sales in bulk
(i.e., sales through a marketing location other than a retail
service station) should report the credit for prepaid sales tax
on motor fuel soid to exempt purchasers or delivered out of
state to your customers on Form FT-945, Part |1, line 10a
and not on this return.
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Substantiate credits that can be identified with a
specific locality by attaching a statement explaining the
basis for the credit claimed and any other supporting
documentation (for example, credit for tax paid by a
contractor on the purchase of materials which the con-
tractor then used in performing repairs on which he
collected the tax). Your substantiation must include
the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid, and calcula-
tions used to determine the amount of credit claimed.
Do not include these credits or the credit for prepaid
;ales tax on motor fuel in any amount entered on line
a.

Line 2a — Credits Not Identified .

Enter the total credits that can be substantiated, but cannot
be identified with a specific locality other than the credit for
prepaid sales tax on motor fuel. (Credits which can be iden-
tified with a specific locality and credit for the prepaid sales tax
on motor fuel must be used to reduce the total sales and
use taxes reported on line 1.) You must substantiate the
credits taken on this line as noted above.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments and attach
Form ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was
issued to you if you paid part of your tax in advance. Do not
include the prepayment of sales tax on motor fuel which
must be reported on Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax
Prepayment on Motor Fuel, and NOT on Form ST-809.

Line 2c — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due

Enter the amount on line 1 less any amount reported
on line 2c.

Line 4 - Late Filing Charge.

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you

must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest .

Penalty

ALERT

The following penalty computation is effective
for taxes required to be paid or returns required
to be filed on or after September 1, 1985.

For failure to file a return with no tax due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return with tax due, if such
return is:
® 1-60 days late, the penalty will be 10% of the tax due
for the first month plus 1% of the tax due for each
month thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.00,
or
® 61 or more days late, the penalty will be the greatest
of one of the following:

i. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the
tax due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%,
or

ii. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or

iii. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603
of the Tax Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the
Taxpayer Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the cur-
rent rate.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount on line 4.
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Short method

Line 1a — Comparable Quarter — Prior Year

Enter total state and local sales and use taxes which were due
(before deducting credits or advance payments) for the
comparable quarterly reporting period of the preceding year,
adjusted to reflect any new, increased or decreased local sales
and use taxes.

For Return of the
Month Ending:

March 31
April 30

jﬂ{}ea‘%o June 1 - August 31

Use Comparable
Quarterly Period:

March 1 - May 31

September 30
October 31

December 31
January 31

September 1 - November 30

December 1 - February 28 (29)

Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use
tax for any locality which either enacted a local sales and use
tax or increased or decreased its rate after the close of the
comparable quarter, prior year, the amount entered on line 1a
must include an adjustment to reflect the new local rates. See
Short Method Adjustment below.

Line 1b — Tax Due (1/3 of the amount on line 1a)
Divide amount entered on line 1a by 3 and enter the result.

Line 1c — Credit for Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor Fuel

® Registered distributors of motor fuel — Enter the amount of
sales tax you prepaid either to your suppliers or with your
FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
on motor fuel which was sold at retail (whether taxable or
nontaxable®) or used by you during the month covered by
this return.

*Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel
which was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service station) to an exempt
purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer should
be claimed on Form FT-945, Part Il, line 10a and not on
this return.

o All other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel —
Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your suppliers on

motor fuel sold or used during the month covered by this return.

Line 1d — Net Tax Due

Subtract line 1c from line 1b and enter the difference.

Line 2a — Credits

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other
than the credit claimed on line 1¢ above.
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Credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by attaching a
statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and any
other supporting documentation (for example, a claim for credit
by a contractor for tax paid by him on the purchase of materials
which he then used in performing repairs on which he collected
the tax). Your substantiation must include the taxing jurisdic-
diction, rate of tax paid and calculations used to determine the
amount of credit claimed.

Line 2b — Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments and attach Form

ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you
if you paid part of your tax in advance.

Line 2¢c — Total

Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and Use Taxes Due

Enter the amounton line 1d less any amount reported on line 2c.
Line 4 — Late Filing Charge

If you must file your return or make payment after the due date,

you must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penalty

ALERT
The following penalty computation is effective
for taxes required to be paid or returns required

to be filed on or after September 1, 1985.

For failure to file a return with no tax due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return with tax due, if such
return is:

e 1.60 days late, the penalty wiil be 10% of the tax due
for the first month plus 1% of the tax due for each
month thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.00,
or

e 61 or more days late, the penalty will be the greatest
of one of the following:

i. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the
tax due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%,
or

ii. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or

iii. $50.00.

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of
the Tax Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer
Assistance number listed on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Short Method Adjustment

When a local rate has been increased or decreased, multiply the total taxable sales and purchases subject to
use tax reported for that locality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new and old rates. If

a new local tax was enacted since the end of the prior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate
taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax in that locality for three months and multiply this amount by
the new local tax rate. Total the adjustments for all such localities and add this amount to or subtract it from
the taxes due for the comparable quarter last year. Enter this adjusted total on line 1a. List the names of the
localities and the amount of the adjustment for each on the front of the return in the lower left corner.

Examples:

The City ‘Y’ increased its local tax and the County ““‘D’’ decreased its local tax. |f a vendor reported taxable
sales for City ““Y’’ in the prior year’s comparable quarter and sales were also made in County ‘D"’ during that
quarter, the adjustments would be computed as follows:

CURRENT COMBINED RATE INCREASE TAXABLE
LOCALITY* COMBINED RATE COMPARABLE QUARTER (DECREASE) x SALES**=  ADJUSTMENT*
City “Y” 7% 6% 1% $250,000 $2,500
County “D”’ 5% 7% (2%) 3,000 (60)
Total adjustments to be added to comparable prior year's quarter.................oooo i $2,440

x Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower left corner.
*% Includes purchases subject to use tax.
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LOCATED IN THE COUNTY OF: MAIL RETURN TO:
ALBANY MONTGOMERY P.O. Box 688
BROOME ONEIDA Albany, N.Y. 12201
CHEMUNG OTSEGO

CHENANGO RENSSELAER

CLINTON SARATOGA

COLUMBIA SCHENECTADY

DELAWARE SCHOHARIE

DUTCHESS SCHUYLER

ESSEX STEUBEN

FRANKLIN ST. LAWRENCE

FULTON TIOGA

GREENE TOMPKINS

HAMILTON ULSTER

HERKIMER WARREN

JEFFERSON WASHINGTON

LEWIS

BRONX ROCKLAND P.O. Box 3000
ORANGE SULLIVAN White Plains, N.Y. 10602
PUTNAM WESTCHESTER

NEW YORK COUNTY with ZIP CODES 10001- 10019 P.O. Box 2058
RICHMOND Church Street Station

New York, N.Y. 10008

KINGS G.P.O. Box 5464
NEW YORK COUNTY with ZIP CODES 10020-10040 New York, N.Y. 10087
QUEENS
NASSAU P.O. Box 1866
SUFFOLK Hicksville, N.Y. 11802
LIVINGSTON ORLEANS
MONROE WAYNE
ONTARIO YATES
P.O. Box 4777
CAYUGA ONONDAGA Syracuse, N.Y. 13221
CORTLAND OSWEGO
MADISON SENECA
ALLEGANY GENESEE All filers in these counties except Schedule R filers in these counties
CATTARAUGUS NIAGARA Schedule R filers (motor fuel retailers): must mail this return to:
CHAUTAUQUA WYOMING P.O. Box 194 P.O. Box 4777
ERIE Buffalo, N.Y. 14240 Syracuse, N.Y. 13221

ALL VENDORS who are located out-of-state must mail their returns to:
P.O. Box 688
Albany, N.Y. 12201
R —

PHONE For forms or publications
from within New York State, call toll-free 1 + 800 + 462-8100
from outside New York State, call 1 + 518 + 438-1073
For information
from within New York State, call toll-free 1 + 800 + 342-3536
from outside New York State call 1 + 518 + 438-8581

Telephone Assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday

WRITE If you need to write, address your letter to:
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, New York 12227



