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From the Commissioner

January 31, 1986, marked the close of New York’s Tax
Amnesty program, the most successful program of its kind
in the nation. Not only did we collect over $363 million in
back taxes, but thousands of delinquent taxpayers are
now back on the tax rolls and paying their fair share.

Since the end of Amnesty, we have been relentlessly
pursuing tax cheats so that taxpayers will no longer be
shouldering the extra burden of the tax evader. Armed
with tough new laws and state-of-the-art computer
systems, we are uncovering and cracking down on whole
systems of evasion in the State. To catch individuals who
are using state borders to evade taxes, we have signed
historic information-sharing and other cooperative
agreements with fourteen other states, including all of our
bordering states and states as far away as California.
Indeed, 1986 was a productive year for the Tax
Department, bringing bad news for tax evaders, but good
news for honest taxpayers.

In addition, you will notice a number of welcome changes
when you fill out your 1986 New York State income tax
return, as it reflects the second round of tax cuts in New
York’s three-year tax cut program. Increases in low
income allowances exempt thousands of low income
individuals and families from paying any income tax at all.

Other families and individuals will benefit from increases
in the standard deduction, the household credit and the
family adjustment; a decrease in the top tax rate on
unearned income; and new tax brackets that shift more
taxable income to lower brackets.

As this is written, Congress is resuming its work on
reforming federal taxes. This federal tax reform provides
us on the State level with a welcome opportunity to
continue and expand our program of simplifying and
reforming New York State taxes for tax year 1987 and
beyond.

The Tax Department remains committed to making taxes
as painless as possible in New York State by continuing
to improve services to taxpayers, by simplifying and
improving our tax forms and instructions, and by using all
available resources to curtail tax evasion.

TR0 AANNCC_Gt). Clnn

Roderick G. W. Chu,
Commissioner
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1986 Portion of the $3.2 Billion, Three-Year Tax Cut Program

® Tax Brackets Widened
THREE-YEAR TAX CUT PROGRAM Tax brackets above $11,000 were widened,
shifting more taxable income to lower tax

The $3.2 billion income tax cut benefits all taxpayers. There brackets.

are a number of changes in this year’s tax packet due to
this tax reduction program that may affect you. These are
highlighted below and are compared to 1984 and 1985. e Low Income Allowance Increased
Total New York Income can be as much as

Maxi p— 1984 1985 1986 1987 $4,000 for singles and $8,000 for all other filers
aximum tax rate on .

wages and other 10% 95% 9.5% 9% before any New York State tax is due.

earned income .

Maximum tax rate on 14% 13.75% 13.5% 13% .

unearned income " (ottective rate) ’ 0 ¢ Standard Deduction Increased

Standard married, 17% of The standard deduction was increased for singles
head of household and  income from $2,500 to $2,600, and for all other filers from

qualifying widow(er) ($2,500 $2,750 $3,000 $3.800 $2,750 to $3,000.

deduction max.)
17% of
Standard single income . ;
deduction ($2500 ~ $2500  $2,600  $2.800 ¢ Family Adjustment Increased
max.) The family adjustment can be as much as $4,000,
Personal exemption $800 $850 $850 $900 up from $3,000 in 1985. In addition, married
Sgtmant $ 0 $3000  $4,000  $5000 couples with total New York income of $38,000 or
less are eligible to claim the tax benefit, up from
$36,000 in 1985.
Specific changes for 1986 include: * Household Credit Increased
Household credit amounts and limitations have
been adjusted to be more responsive to singles
and families having household gross income not
¢ Tax Rate Decreased exceeding $28,000 and $32,000 respectively. The
The highest rate of tax on unearned income was previous limitation on household gross income
lowered from an effective rate of 13.75% to 13.5%. was $25,000.
Other Changes
® 1987 Tax Outlook — More Reform ® New York City Income Tax
As we go to print, New York State is studying Total New York income for residents of the City of
options to further simplify and reform our taxes in New York can be as much as $5,500 for singles
light of proposed federal tax law changes. These and $11,000 for all other filers before any New
State tax law reforms, when finalized, might well York City resident income tax is due. For
result in favorable adjustments to the scheduled nonresidents earning wages or self employment

income in New York City, no New York City tax is
due if total New York City income, figured as if
they were residents, is equal to or less than
these amounts.

1987 tax changes illustrated in the chart above.
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Income Subject to Tax

If you are a New York State nonresident,
almost all income included in your federal
adjusted gross income which is derived
from or connected with New York State
sources is subject to New York State tax.
This includes income from:

[J Real or tangible personal property
located in New York;

(] Services performed in New York;

[] A business, trade, profession or
occupation carried on in New York;

(J A corporation in which you are a
shareholder and which makes an
election under Section 660 of the Tax
Law to be taxed as a small business
corporation (S corporation);

(] Your distributive share of New York
State partnership income or gain; and

[ Your share of New York State estate or
trust income or gain.

A nonresident is also subject to:

[J A New York State minimum income tax
on tax preference items derived from or
connected with New York sources;

(] A separate tax on the ordinary income
portion of lump sum distributions
derived from or connected with New
York sources;
and

[ A separate tax, resulting from the
termination of a PASS (parents’ and
students’ savings) fund.

You do not have to pay New York State tax
on the following income even if it was
included in your federal adjusted gross
income:

[J Annuities, interest, dividends or gains
from the sale or exchange of intangible
personal property, unless they are part
of the income you received from
carrying on a business, trade,
profession or occupation in New York.

] Compensation you received for active
service in the United States military.

U Your income as a shareholder of a
corporation which did not have an
election in effect to be taxed as a small
business corporation (S corporation)
under Section 660 of the Tax Law.

[J Your distributive or pro rata share for
federal income tax purposes of income,
gain, loss or deduction from an
insurance business doing business as a
member of the New York Insurance
Exchange.

Who Must File

You must file a New York State nonresident
income tax return, Form IT-203, if you are
not a resident of New York State and you
meet any of these conditions:

L] You are single and your total New York
income is more than the number of your

exemptions multiplied by $850 and your
total New York income determined as if
you were a New York resident is more
than $4,000. Your total New York income
is the amount that you enter on line 32,
column A, of Form IT-203. Your total
New York income determined as if your
were a New York State resident is the
amount that you enter on line 32,
federal amount column of Form 1T-203.

J You are married and your combined
total New York income is more than
your combined number of exemptions
muitiplied by $850, and your combined
total New York income determined as if
you both were New York State residents is
more than $8,000.

J You are a qualifying widow(er) with a
dependent child or a head of household
with a qualifying person and your total
New York income is more than the
number of your exemptions muitiplied
by $850 and your total New York
income determined as if you were a
New York State resident is more than
$8,000.

[J You have New York tax preference
items, for minimum income tax
purposes, in excess of your specific
deduction. For further information, see
the instructions for Form IT-220. See
Other Forms You May Have to Use
(Form 1T-220, Minimum Income Tax) on
page 6 of these instructions.

[J You are subject to a separate tax on any
lump sum distributions derived from or
connetted with New York State sources.
See Other Forms You May Have to Use
(Forms 1T-230 and IT-230.1, Separate Tax
on Lump Sum Distributions) on page 6
of these instructions.

[J You are subject to a separate tax
because a PASS (parents’ and students’
savings) fund was terminated. See
Other Forms You May Have to Use
(Form 1T-270, Tuition Deduction and
Higher Education (PASS) Funds) on
page 6 of these instructions.

[J You incurred a net operating loss for
New York State personal income tax
purposes for the taxable year without
incurring a similar net operating loss for
federal income tax purposes.

Even if you do not have to file a return,
you should file to get a refund if New
York State, City of New York or City of
Yonkers income taxes were withheld
from your pay.

City taxes — If you were a City of New
York or City of Yonkers nonresident but
earned wages or conducted a trade or
business in these cities (either as an
individual or a member of a partnership),
you may have to figure your City of New
York nonresident earnings tax on Form
NYC-203 or your City of Yonkers
nonresident earnings tax on Form Y-203

and attach the form to your New York State
nonresident return. For more information
on the City of New York nonresident
earnings tax, see page 24 of these
instructions. For more information on the
City of Yonkers nonresident earnings tax,
see Y-203-l, Instructions for Form Y-203.

Joint and Separate
Returns for
Married Taxpayers

If you each have total New York income
that is more than the number of your
personal exemptions multiplied by $850,
you will usually pay less tax if you file
separate New York State income tax
returns.

The way you filed your federal income tax
return determines the way you must file
your New York State nonresident income
tax return.

If you filed a joint federal return (or if
neither of you had to file a federal return):

(] You can file a joint New York State
return on Form [T-203, or

(] You can file separate New York State
returns on the same Form [T-203.

Filing separate returns will usually result in
a lower New York tax. However, the
deduction for a married couple when both
work cannot be claimed on separate
returns. In some cases, your tax may be
less if you file a joint New York State return
and claim the federal deduction for a
married couple when both work and the
New York State family adjustment. You may
want to figure your tax both ways to see
which results in the lower tax.

If you and your spouse are both
nonresidents for the entire taxable year,
and one of you has no income from New
York State sources, you will usually pay
less tax if you file a joint New York State
return.

If one spouse was a New York State
resident for the entire taxable year and the
other was a nonresident for the entire
taxable year (and each one is required to
file a New York State return), each spouse
must file a separate New York State return
using resident Form 1T-201 or nonresident
Form IT-203, whichever applies. However,
they may file a joint state return if they
have filed a joint federal return and if they
both file as New York State residents for
the entire taxable year. If either spouse
changed residence during the taxable year,
see Part-year residents on page 6 of these
instructions.

If you filed separate federal returns, you
must each file a separate Form IT-203
using column A for your New York er
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When to File

File your return as soon as you can after
January 1, 1987, but not later than April

15, 1987. If you file late, you may have to
pay penalties and interest. See Penalties

and Interest on this page.

Extension of time to file — If you know
that you cannot meet the April 15 deadline,
ask for an extension of time by filing Form
IT-370, Application for Automatic Extension
of Time to File. The time to file will be
automatically extended for four months if
you file Form IT-370 on time and pay the
tax you owe with it.

if you do not expect to owe any tax and
you are filing Form 4868 to extend the time
to file your federal return, you can also use
a copy of it to extend the time to file your
New York return instead of filing Form
IT-370. Write “NY State Copy” in the top
margin and mail it to: New York State
Income Tax, W. A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227-0125.

If you are traveling or living outside the
United States on April 15, 1987, you are
automatically granted an extension to June
15, 1987, to file your federal and state
returns. For more information, see
Publication 362, U.S. Citizens Abroad.

Where to File

Use the preaddressed envelope that came
with your tax packet. If you do not have
one, address your envelope —

For refund returns:
New York State Income Tax
W.A. Harriman Campus — REFUND ’'86
Albany, NY 12227-0125

For all other returns:
New York State Income Tax
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227-0125

Maximum Tax on
Personal Service
Income

If your taxable income includes more than
$16,000 of personal service income (wages,
salaries, professional fees, bonuses, etc.),

you may qualify for a maximum tax benefit.

Complete Form IT-250, Maximum Tax on
Personal Service Income, to figure your
maximum tax and attach it to your return.
See page 2 of Form IT-250 for definitions
and for line-by-line instructions.

Household Credit

If you are single, with household gross
income of $28,000 or less and cannot be
claimed as a dependent on another
taxpayer’s federal return, you qualify for a
$20 to $75 household credit.

If vou are married, a qualifying widow(er)
dependent child, or a head of

household with qualifying person, with
household gross income of $32,000 or less
and cannot be claimed as a dependent on
another taxpayer’s federal return, you
qualify for a household credit of $15 to $75
plus $5 to $15 for each exemption you
claim on your return.

For more information, see page 18 of these
instructions.

Wage and Tax
Statement(s)

Your employer must give you a wage and
tax statement — either federal Form W-2 or
New York State Form IT-2102. This
statement shows your total earnings and
the amount of New York State, City of New
York and City of Yonkers taxes withheld
from your pay during the year.

If you received periodic annuity, pension,
retirement pay or IRA payments and New
York State income tax was withheld, the
payer must give you a statement, either
federal Form W-2P or New York State Form
IT-2102P. This statement shows the amount
of your gross and taxable retirement plan
payments, and the New York State, City of
New York and City of Yonkers taxes
withheld from your payments during the
year.

You must attach Copy 2 of your wage and
tax statement(s) to your return. If you have
not received your statement(s) by February
16, 1987, or if it is incorrect or lost, contact
your employer or the payer of your
retirement plan payments.

Whole Dollar
Amounts

You may round all money items on your
return to the nearest dollar. For example,
round $10.49 to $10; round $10.50 to $11. If
you round to the nearest dollar, round for
all amounts.

Death of Taxpayer

An executor, administrator or spouse has to
file a New York State return for a taxpayer
who died before filing a return for 1986. If
a joint federal income tax return was filed
for the deceased taxpayer and the
surviving spouse, joint or separate New
York State returns can be filed on Form
IT-203. Complete Item D by entering the
deceased taxpayer’s first name and the
date of death. The filing due date is the
same as if the taxpayer had lived.

Paid Preparers Must
Sign Your Return

Anyone you pay to prepare your return
must sign it and fill in the other blanks in
the paid preparer’s area of your return.
The preparer required to sign your return
must sign it by hand; signature stamps or
labels are not acceptable. If someone

prepares your return and does not charge
you, that person should not sign it.

Paid tax return preparers should be familiar
with their responsibilities. They should get
Publication 50, Information for Paid
Preparers of New York Income Tax
Returns, for more details.

Payments of
Estimated Tax

If you expect your 1987 tax withheld to be
less than 80% of your 1987 tax and less
than 100% of your 1986 tax (based upon a
return covering 12 months), you may have
to pay estimated tax. You do not have to
pay estimated tax if you expect to owe less
than $100 of either New York State, City of
New York or City of Yonkers tax after
deducting tax withheld and credits that you
are entitled to claim. See Form IT-2105,
New York State, City of New York and City
of Yonkers Estimated Income Tax, for more
information.

If you paid estimated tax for 1986, you will
automatically receive a 1987 estimated tax
packet in the mail. If you did not pay
estimated tax for 1986, or do not receive
your packet by the date your first payment
is due (generally April 15), call or write us
for forms and instructions. See Forms and
Assistance on page 7 of these instructions.

Penalilties
and Interest

Interest — Daily compounded interest will
be charged on income tax that is not paid
on or before April 15, 1987, even if you
received an extension of time to file your
return.

If we have to pay interest to you because
we didn't issue your refund check by July
15, 1987 (or, if your return was filed after
April 15, 1987, within 3 months from the
date it was filed), it also will be
compounded daily. However, we will not
pay interest to you if your return cannot be
processed. To be processed, your return
must show your name, address, social
security number, signature and the
information needed to mathematically verify
your tax liability.

Late filing penalty — If you file late, you
will be charged a penalty of 5% of the tax
due for each month, or part of a month,
the return is late (maximum 25%) unless
you extend the time to file, or you attach to
your return an explanation showing
reasonable cause for the delay. If your
return is more than 60 days late, the
penalty will not be less than $100 or 100%
of the balance of tax due on your return,
whichever is less. For information on filing
an application for an extension of time to
file your return, see When to File on this

page.

Late payment penalty — If you do not pay
your tax when due, you will be charged a
penality of 2 of 1% of the unpaid amount



for each month or part of a month it is not
paid. This penalty is in addition to the
interest charged for late payments. This
penalty may not be charged if you attach
to your return an explanation showing
reasonable cause for paying late.

Substantial understatement of liability —
If you substantially understate your tax
liability, you may have to pay a penalty of
10% of any tax you owe that results from
your understatement. Understatement
means the difference between the correct
tax and the tax shown on your return. You
are considered to have substantially
understated your tax if the understatement
is more than 10% of the tax required to be
shown on your return or $2,000 (whichever
is greater).

Underpayment of estimated tax penalty
— If your 1986 withholding and estimated
tax payments do not equal at least 80% of
your 1986 tax or 100% of your 1985 tax
(based upon a return covering 12 months),
you may be subject to a penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax. Attach
Form 1T-2105.9, Underpayment of Estimated
Income Tax by Individuals, to show how
you figured the penalty, or which
exceptions to the penality apply. For more
information, see the instructions for Form
1T-2105.9.

Negligence penaity — If your return does
not show all of the tax imposed under the
Tax Law, its rules or regulations, due to
negligence or intentional disregard but not
with intent to defraud, you will be charged
a penalty of 5% of any deficient amount. In
addition, 50% of the interest due on any
underpayment resulting from negligence
will be added to your tax.

Fraudulent returns — If any part of a
deficiency is due to fraud, you will be
charged a penalty of 50% of the
deficiency. In general, a deficiency is the
difference between the correct tax and the
tax shown on your return. In addition, 50%
of the interest due on any deficiency
resulting from a fraudulent act will be
added to your tax.

Frivolous returns — A penalty of up to
$500 will be imposed on any person who
files a frivolous tax return. A return is
considered frivolous when it does not
contain information needed to judge the
correctness of the tax return, or reports
information that is obviously and
substantially incorrect, and intended to
delay or impede the administration of
Article 22.

Changes in Your
Federal Income Tax

If the internal Revenue Service changes
the taxable income, tax preference items,
total taxable amount or ordinary income
portion of a lump sum distribution, or
credit for child and dependent care that
you reported on your federal return, and
the change increases or decreases your

New York State tax, you must report this
change to the New York State Tax
Department within 90 days after the date
the IRS makes its final determination. To
report changes, complete Form [T-115 and,
if necessary, Forms IT-115.1 (minimum
income tax) and IT-115.3 (separate tax iump
sum distributions). File these forms
separately; do not attach them to any other
returns.

Amended Returns

If you file an amended federal return
showing a change in your taxable income,
tax preference items, total taxable amount
or ordinary income portion of a lump sum
distribution, or credit for child and
dependent care, you must also file an
amended New York State return within 90
days of the date you amend your federal
return if the change increases or
decreases your New York State tax.

You must also file an amended return to
correct any errors on your original
nonresident return. To amend your original
Form IT-203, get a blank Form IT-203 for
that year and write “Amended”’ at the top
of page 1. Complete the form entering the
corrected information. Attach payment for
any additional tax plus interest that may
result from these changes. Send it to: New
York State Income Tax, W.A. Harriman
Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0125.

For more information, see Publication 380,
How to Amend Your New York State
Income Tax Return.

Resident and
Nonresident Defined

You may have to pay income tax as a New
York State resident even if you are not
considered a resident for other purposes.
For income tax purposes, your resident
status depends on where you were
domiciled and where you maintained a
permanent place of abode during the
taxable year.

In general, your domicile is the place that
you intend to have as your permanent
home — the place you intend to return to
whenever you may be away. For income
tax purposes, your domicile is the state
where your permanent home is located.
You can have only one domiciie. Your
domicile does not change until you move
to a new location with the sincere intention
of making your permanent home there. If
you move to a new location but intend to
stay there only for a limited amount of time
(no matter how long), your domicile does
not change.

A permanent place of abode is a residence
you permanently maintain, whether you
own it or not, and usually includes a
residence your spouse owns or leases. A
place of abode is not permanent if you
maintain it only during a temporary or
limited period of time for a particular
purpose.

General Information 5

Resident — You are a New York State
resident if:

a) Your domicile is not New York State but
you maintain a permanent place of
abode in New York and spend 184 days
or more in New York during the taxable
year. However, if you are a member of
the armed forces, and your domicile is
not New York State, you are not a
resident under this definition; or

b) Your domicile is New York State unless
you meet all three of the conditions in
either Group A or Group B as follows:

Group A

1) You did not maintain any permanent
place of abode in New York State during
the taxable year; and

2) You maintained a permanent place of
abode outside New York State during
the entire taxable year; and

3) You spent 30 days or less in New York
State during the taxable year.

Group B

1) You were in a foreign country for at
least 450 days during any period of 548
consecutive days; and

2) You spent 90 days or less in New York
State during this 548 day period, and
your spouse (unless legally separated)
or minor children spent 90 days or less
in New York during this 548 day period
in a permanent place of abode
maintained by you; and
During any period of less than one year
which is in this 548 consecutive day
period, (which would be treated as a
separate taxable period as a result of a
change of resident status during the
year), you were in New York State for no
more than the number of days bearing
the same ratio to 90 as the number of
days in the less-than-one-year-period
bears to 548 days. Your status is
determined by the following formula:

No. of days in the less-

than-one-year period

548

(No. of days not to be exceeded
in NY to meet this condition.)

w
=

X 90-=

For more information, see Publication 362,
U.S. Citizens Abroad.

Nonresident — You are a New York State
nonresident if you do not meet the above
definition of a resident.

Members of the
Armed Forces

If your permanent home (domicile) was
outside New York State when you entered
the military, you do not become a New
York State resident even if you were
assigned to duty in New York State and
established a place of abode in New York
State. If you are a New York State

nonresident, your military pay is not
subject to New York State tax. Howe@
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any other New York income (including your
spouse’s income) may be subject to tax. If
your domicile is New York State but you
meet all three conditions in Group A on
page 5 and want to file for a refund of any
New York State income tax withheld, file
nonresident Form IT-203 and attach an
explanation which contains the following
information:

[ A statement that you had no permanent
place of abode in New York State during
the taxable year, and

(] The location and a brief description of
the permanent place of abode you
maintained outside New York State and
the beginning and ending dates of your
stay there, and

L] The exact number of days you were in
New York State during the taxable year.

If you meet all three conditions in Group B
on page 5 and want a refund, file nonresident
Form 1T-203 and attach a statement explaining
how you meet the three conditions.

For more information, see Publications 361,
Military Personnel and Veterans.

City Nonresident
Earnings Taxes
(Cities of New York
and Yonkers)

if you are not a resident of the City of New
York or City of Yonkers but you earned
wages or self-employment income in either
or both of these cities and you have to file
a New York State income tax return, you
must also file Form NYC-203, City of New
York Nonresident Earnings Tax Return,
and/or Form Y-203, City of Yonkers
Nonresident Earnings Tax Return.

If you are married, you cannot file jointly
on Form NYC-203 and/or Form Y-203. If
you each have taxable earnings, you must
each file a separate Form NYC-203 and/or
Form Y-203.

Form NYC-203 and Form Y-203 are due
the same time as your state return and
must be attached to it. For more
information, see the instructions for these
forms.

Part-Year Residents

If you became a New York State resident
or moved out of New York during the year,
you may have to pay New York State
income tax for that part of the taxable year
you were a New York resident. If you
received income from New York State
sources during the time you were a
nonresident, that income may also be
subject to New York State tax.

If you changed your resident status, you

may have to file both a resident return
IT-201) and a nonresident return
IT-203) for the taxable year.

You will also have to complete Form IT-360,
Change of Resident Status, and attach it to
your New York returns. For more
information, see IT-360-, Instructions for
Form IT-360.

Partnerships

Partnerships are not subject to the New
York State personal income tax but
individual members of the partnership are.
If your partnership has a partner who is a
New York State resident or if the
partnership has any income from New York
State sources, it must file Form 1T-204,
New York State Partnership Return. If you
were a partner, transfer your share of
income (or loss), deductions and
adjustments from Form [T-204 to your Form
IT-203. For more information, see the
instructions for Form IT-204.

Name and Social
Security Number
on Forms

You must enter your name and social
security number on all forms and
schedules you send to us. If you owe
income tax, write your social security
number and ‘1986 income tax’’ on your
check or money order.

Privacy Notification

The authority to request this personal
information from you or your employer,
including identifying numbers (Social
Security numbers, etc.), is found in
Sections 651, 652, 658, 697, 1306, 1332
and 1342, Articles 22, 30, 30-A and 30-B in
general of the Tax Law, Article 2-E of the
General City Law, and Part 152 of the
Personal Income Tax Regulations. The
principal purpose for which the information
is collected is to assist the Department of
Taxation and Finance in determining New
York State personal income tax liabilities
under Article 22 of the Tax Law, New York
City personal income tax liabilities under
Article 30 of the Tax Law and Article 2-E of
the General City Law, and City of Yonkers
income tax surcharge on residents and
earnings tax on nonresidents under
Articles 30-A and 30-B of the Tax Law. The
authority to maintain this information is
found in Section 697(e) of the Tax Law and
Section 152.8 of the Personal Income Tax
Regulations.

The information will be used for tax
administration purposes and as necessary
under Tax Law Sections 171-a, 171-b, 171-c,
171-d, 171-e and 697 and for any other
purpose authorized by law, and when the
taxpayer gives written authorization to this
department for another department,
person, agency or entity to have access,
limited or otherwise, to information
contained in their return.

Failure to provide the requested information
may result in civil penalties under Section

685, 1312, 1332 and 1342 of the Tax Law
and/or criminal penalties under Article 37
of the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the
Director, Accounting and Records
Management Bureau, Processing Division,
Department of Taxation and Finance, W. A.
Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 905,
Albany, New York 12227-0125, telephone
1-800-342-3536; outside New York State
(518) 438-8581.

Federal/State
Tax Agreement

Under authority of federal and New York
State laws, the New York State Department
of Taxation and Finance and the Internal
Revenue Service have entered into a
federal/state agreement for the mutual
exchange of tax information.

Other Forms You
May Have to Use

Form IT-203-ATT, Summary of Other
Credits and Taxes, and Schedule A,
Allocation of Wages and Salary Income
to New York State. Complete this form if
you are subject to any other New York
State taxes or if you want to claim other
New York State credits. You must complete
Schedule A on this form if you worked
both in and out of New York State for an
employer, and your income is not based on
the volume of business transacted. For
more information, see Instructions for Form
IT-203-ATT on page 22.

Form 1T-220, Minimum Income Tax.
Complete this form if you had a net long-
term capital gain, claimed accelerated
depreciation or amortization of certain
facilities, dividend exclusion or had other
tax preference items totaling more than the
allowable specific deduction. You may have
to file Form IT-220 even if you are not
required to file federal Form 6251,
Alternative Minimum Tax Computation. For
more information, see the instructions for
Form 1T-220.

Forms IT-230 and 1T-230.1, Separate Tax
on Lump Sum Distributions. Complete
Form 1T-230 or 1T-230.1 if you have to pay a
separate tax on the ordinary income
portion of a lump sum distribution from a
qualified retirement plan. For more
information, see the instructions for Forms
IT-230 and 1T-230.1.

Form IT-270, Tuition Deduction and
Higher Education (PASS) Funds.
Complete this form to report distributions
from, or the termination of, a PASS
(parents’ and students’ savings) fund that
was established when you, or the creator
of the fund, were a New York State
resident. For more information, see
Publication 320, Tuition Deduction and the
PASS Plan.



Form IT-399, New York State
Depreciation. Compilete this form if you
are an individual, partnership, estate or
trust to figure your New York depreciation
deduction for property placed in service
during taxable years beginning in 1981,
1982, 1983, 1984 and for property placed
in service outside New York State in
taxable years beginning after December 31,
1984; the adjustment for the federal ACRS
deduction and the year of disposition
adjustment. For more information, see
Form 1T-399.

Important Note: If the election was made
to expense recovery property on federal
Form 4562 and you check filing status @
or @, see specific instructions on Form
IT-399.

Computer
Filled-In Returns

If you use a computer to fill in your return,

be sure you meet these requirements:

(] You must use the official income tax
forms that we provide. However, you
may computer-generate any form that is
not listed below as long as it is
substantially identical to the official form.
Income tax forms that you cannot
computer-generate are IT-100, IT100-R,
IT-100-S, IT-115, IT-200, IT-201, 1T-201-X,
IT-203, 1T-204, IT-205, IT-214, 1T-370, IT-372,
NYC-203, Y-203, Y-204, NYC-206 and
Y-206.

] Your software must conform to current
federal and state income tax laws. Last
year’s program may not be suitable
unless it has been updated.

Forms and
Assistance

You can get forms and publications at
many New York State banks and public
libraries, or by using the New York Income
Tax Forms Order Blank in the tax packet
mailed to you. You can also get forms by
calling toll-free, in New York State only,
1-800-462-8100. From areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information or answers to your New
York State tax questions, call toll-free, in
New York State only, 1-800-342-3536.
From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581. Telephone assistance is
available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday
through Friday.

To make sure that Tax Department
employees give courteous responses and
correct information to taxpayers, a second
Tax Department employee sometimes
monitors telephone calls. No record is kept
of any taxpayer’s name, address or social
security number.

If you have a question about the status of
your refund check, see When to Call About
Your Refund on this page.

If you want to write instead of calling,
address your letter to New York State Tax
Department, Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany,
NY 12227-0125.
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When to Call
About Your Refund

Generally, early filers get their refund
checks first. However, if you file after April
1, you may not receive your refund check
for at least 12 weeks. If you have to call to
ask where your refund check is, please
wait until after April 15; then call toll-free in
New York State only, 1-800-443-3200. From
areas outside New York State, call (518)
438-6777.

Trying to Resolve a
Problem with the
Tax Department?

New York State has a Problem Resolution
Program for taxpayers who have been
unable to resolve a problem with the Tax
Department. If you have a tax problem and
have made two or more attempts to
resolve it without success, you may seek
help from one of our Problem Resolution
Officers (PROs).

You may call or write to the PRO serving
your area. You can get the address and
telephone number by calling us (see Forms
and Assistance on this page).

Steps for Preparing Your Return

Prepare your federal return first; much of
the information on your New York State
nonresident return will be the same. In
many cases when New York State and
federal tax laws are similar, the New York
instructions do not repeat all the
requirements, but instead, explain the
differences.

Step 1

Get all forms, schedules and
publications you need.

If you need any forms or publications, see
Forms and Assistance on this page.

Step 2

Get your tax records together.

If you received a salary or wages, get all
your 1986 wage and tax statements
together. These can be either New York
Form IT-2102 or federal Form W-2. Only
your employer can issue or correct these
forms. If you have not received your wage
and tax statements by February 16, or if
the form you received is incorrect, contact
your employer.

If you had tax withheld from annuities,
pensions, retirement pay or IRA payments,
get together all of your New York Form(s)
IT-2102P or federal Form(s) W-2P.

If you plan to take any credits or
deductions, get all the supporting
information and records you will need.

If you made payments during the year for
your New York State, City of New York or
City of Yonkers estimated tax, check your
payments or credits that were applied to
your 1986 tax year.

Step 3

Fill in your return.

Fill in your return using the line-by-line
instructions that begin on page 8. Make
your entries in the white areas of your
Form IT-203. Then continue with Step 4 on

page 21. 13
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Line-by-Line Instructions — Form IT-203

All information on your return, except for
your mailing address, should be for the
calendar year January 1 through
December 31, 1986, or for your fiscal year.
If you are filing for a fiscal year, enter the
month and day your tax year began, and
the month, day and year that it ended at
the top of page 1.

Make your entries in the white areas of
Form 1T-203.

Name and Address Box

Do not write in this box or attach your
mailing label until you have completed
and checked your return.

Step 5 on page 21 of these instructions will
tell you how to complete this section of
your return.

Item A Filing status

Show your filing status by checking only
one box. If you filed a federal return, you
must use the same filing status for your
New York nonresident return. However, if
you are married and filed a joint federal
return, you can file your New York State
nonresident return either jointly or
separately on one Form 1T-203. See Joint
and Separate Returns for Married
Taxpayers on page 3 of these instructions.

Item B

Can you be claimed as a dependent?

If you can be claimed as a dependent on
another taxpayer’s 1986 federal return,
check the Yes box. If not, check the No
box.

Item C Part-year residents

It you were a permanent New York State
resident for part of the year, enter in the
box the number of full months that you
were a New York State resident. Count as
a full month any period of more than one-
half month; do not count a period of one-
half month or less. If you changed your
resident status, complete Form IT-360 and
attach it to your Form IT-203. For more
information, see Part-Year Residents on
page 6 of these instructions.

Item D Deceased taxpayer

If the taxpayer is deceased, enter the first
name and the date of death in the spaces
provided.

Which Columns To Fill In

Lines 1 through 18 are a summary of the
items that make up your total income
(federal adjusted gross income). As a New
State nonresident, you have to pay

York State tax on income included in

your federal adjusted gross income which
is derived from or connected with New
York State sources. The federal amount
column lists the items which make up your
federal adjusted gross income. Column A
(and column B if you checked filing status
®) is used to figure your total income from
New York sources.

Enter in the federal amount column the
total amount reported on your federal
return for each of the items listed. Enter in
column A (and column B if you checked
filing status @) the part of each amount in
the federal amount column that is derived
from or connected with New York State
sources (see Income Subject to Tax on
page 3 to determine what constitutes
income derived from or connected with
New York State sources). If you checked
filing status @, do not make any entries in
column B; all entries in column A should
include amounts derived from or connected
with New York State sources for both
husband and wife.

If you checked filing status @, enter in the
tederal amount column the combined
amount of each item of income that you
and your spouse included in your joint
federal return. Enter in columns A and B
your own shares of each joint amount
(determined as if you each had filed a
separate federal return) which is derived
from or connected with New York State
sources. You cannot split your combined
New York income equally. If you have
income from jointly-owned property located
in New York State, you each must report
your shares separately in columns A and
B, as if you determined your federal
income separately.

If you checked filing status @ and one
spouse had no income from New York
State sources, enter in the federal amount
column the combined amount of each item
of income that you and your spouse
included in your joint federal return.
(Remember — if only one spouse has New
York State income, you will usually pay
less tax if you file a joint New York State
return.) Column A should be completed
for the spouse who had income from New
York State sources. Column B should be
completed for the other spouse by entering
0" on lines 20, 32 and 45. Enter the
spouse’s exemption amount on line 47b.
If the family adjustment is claimed, enter
it on line 49 and complete the remainder
of column B. If the family adjustment is
not claimed, enter "0 on lines 49, 54, 56,
58,70,71and 73.

You do not have to attach an explanation
of how you figured amounts reported on
lines 1 through 18 unless the total of
columns A and B does not equal the total
of the federal amount column.

Federal Income
and Adjustments

Line 1

Wages, salaries, tips, etc.

Federal amount column — Enter the
amount of your wages, salaries, fees,
bonuses, commissions, fringe benefits, tips,
etc., reported on your federal return even if
they were not reported by your employer
on a wage and tax statement.

Column A — Enter the part of the federal
amount which is for services performed in
New York State. If you checked filing status
@, enter your share of this amount in
column A and your spouse’s share in
column B. Figure your separate shares of
wages, etc., as if you each had filed a
separate federal return.

Income earned only partly inside New
York State — If any amount included in
the federal amount column, line 1, is
income earned only partly inside New York
State, figure the amount earned inside
New York State by completing Schedule
A on page two of Form IT-203-ATT
(unless your compensation is based upon
the volume of business transacted). The
amount allocable to New York State is that
part of the income which the number of
days worked in New York State bears to
the total number of days worked both
inside and outside New York State.
Working days are days on which you have
to perform the usual duties of your job.
This does not ordinarily include duties
performed at your home. Nonworking days
are holidays, sick leave, vacations,
Saturdays, Sundays, etc.

Form IT-203-ATT, Page 2, Schedule A —
Allocation of Wage and Salary Income
to New York State.

Failure to complete Schedule A and
attach it to your Form 17-203 will result
in a delay in the processing ot your
return.

Enter on line a of Schedule A any amount
included on line 1, in the federal amount
column, which was earned only partly
inside New York State. Then complete lines
b through f and use the allocation formula
on line g to find the amount of wage or
salary income you earned in New York
State. Include this amount on line 1, in
column A (or column B if filing status @
was checked and your spouse’s income is
allocated).

If more than one amount included in the
federal amount column of line 1 is to be
allocated on Schedule A, a separate



schedule (similar to Schedule A) showing
the working days that apply to each
employment must be prepared for each
amount and attached to your return. If the
period of employment is less than a full
year, the items entered on Schedule A
must be based on the actual period of
employment. For example, if you were
employed inside and outside New York
State for separate periods of 170 days by
one employer and 195 days by another
employer, enter 170 days and 195 days on
line b of your separate allocation
schedules.

If your income to be allocated depends
entirely on the volume of business
transacted, as in the case of a salesperson
working on commission, do not use
Schedule A. In this case, the amount of
income you can allocate to New York State
is that part of the income included in the
federal amount column on line 1 which the
volume of business transacted inside New
York State bears to the total volume of
business transacted both inside and
outside New York State. The location
where services or sales activities were
actually performed determines where
business was transacted. Attach a
schedule to your return showing how you
figured your New York State income based
on the volume of business transacted.

If you allocate your personal service
income differently than explained above,
attach a separate schedule showing
complete details.

Line 2

Interest income

Enter in the federal amount column the
interest income reported on your federal
return. Enter on line 2, column A (and in
column B if you checked filing status @)
the part of this interest income which is
from the receipts of a business, trade,
profession or occupation carried on in New
York State and not otherwise exempt from
New York State income tax. If you conduct
business both inside and outside New York
State, see instructions for line 6.

Line 3

Dividends (after exclusion)

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount of dividends reported on your
federal return after subtracting any
allowable federal dividend exclusion.

Enter in column A, or in applicable
columns A and B if married and you
checked filing status @, the portion of your
dividends (federal amount column) which is
part of the receipts of a business, trade,
profession or occupation carried on in New
York State and not otherwise exempt from
New York State income tax. See
instructions for line 6 relative to the
business allocation percentage if business
is carried on both inside and outside New
York State.

Any dividend exclusion allowable for
federal tax purposes should be applied to
the first qualifying dividends you received

during the year in determining the amount
of dividends to be included in column A or
B on line 3. If you checked filing status ®
and if you are both entitled to a federal
exclusion on your joint federal return, you
may each claim only your own federal
exclusion in figuring the amount of
dividends you enter in your column.

Line 4

Taxable refunds of state and local
income taxes

Enter in the federal amount column the
total taxable state and local income tax
refunds included as income on your federal
return. Enter in column A (and in column B
if you checked filing status ) the
amounts derived from or connected with
New York State sources. Also enter these
amounts on line 25.

Line 5

Alimony received

Enter in the federal amount column the
total alimony received as reported on your
federal return.

Line 6

Business income or (loss)

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount included as business income or (loss)
on federal Form 1040. Enter in column A (and
column B, if you checked filing status (3))
any amount included in the federal amount
column which represents the profit (or loss)
from a business or profession carried on in
New York State. Attach a copy of federal
Schedule C.

Business carried on — Your business, trade,
profession or occupation (not including
personal service as an employee) is
considered to be carried on in New York
State if you have, maintain, operate or occupy
desk space, an office, a shop, a store, a
warehouse, a factory, an agency or other
place where your affairs are regularly carried
on in New York State. This definition is not
exclusive. Your business is considered to be
carried on in New York State if it is transacted
here with a fair measure of permanency and
continuity.

Business carried on both inside and outside
New York State — If your business or
profession is carried on both inside and
outside New York State and you maintain
accounts clearly reflecting income from the
New York operations, enter the net profit or
loss from business carried on in New York
State on line 6 in column A (and column B if
you checked filing status @).

If the New York State income of the business
cannot be determined from your books,
income from business carried on both inside
and outside New York State must be
allocated according to a prescribed formula
or an approved alternative method. Form IT-
203-A, Nonresident Business Allocation
Schedule, containing the statutory formula
and other instructions pertaining to the
allocation of business income, must be
completed for this purpose and attached to
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Form IT-203. If you submit an aiternative:
method of allocation, you must also complete
Form IT-203-A and submit all information
about your own method of allocation.

Line7

Capital gain or (loss)

Enter in the federal amount column the net
gain or (loss) from sale or exchange of
property (including securities) exactly as
reported on federal Form 1040. Attach a
copy of federal Schedule D.

Capital transactions from New York sources —
Include capital gains or losses derived from
real or tangible personal property located
within New York State, whether or not
connected with a trade or business, and
capital gains or losses from stocks, bonds
and other intangible personal property used
in or connected with a business, trade, pro-
fession or occupation carried on in New York
State. Also included is your share of any capital
gain or loss derived from New York sources of a
partnership of which you are a member (from
Form I1T-204), an estate or trust of which you
are a beneficiary (from Form IT-205 or
IT-205-A) or an electing S corporation of which
you are a shareholder (from Form CT-3S). If
any capital gains or losses are from business
property (other than real property) of a
business carried on both inside and outside
New York State, apply the business allocation
percentage (Form IT-203-A) or alternate
method in determining the New York capital
gain or loss. Gains and losses from the sale or
disposition of real property are not subject to
allocation. In all cases, the federal basis of
property is to be used in computing capital
gains or losses.

Capital transactions — Figure the amount
to be included on line 7, column A (and
column B if you checked filing status @),
as net capital gain or loss from New York
State sources in accordance with federal
provisions for determining capital gains
and losses. This includes a deduction for
any capital loss carryover from New York
State sources. Use a copy of federal
Schedule D (Form 1040) as a worksheet in
determining your New York net capital
gains or loss, including in your
computations only transactions which were
from New York State sources. If you
checked filing status use separate
worksheets to determine the amounts to
enter in columns A and B. If these
computations result in a net capital loss for
New York State purposes, the loss is
limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if married and
filing separately) on the New York State
return. In most cases, any balance of a
1986 net capital loss (in excess of the
amount claimed on the 1986 return) will be
treated as a carryover loss to be claimed
on returns for later years. This does not
always apply when a joint federal return
and separate New York State returns are
filed.

For example, if you had a long-term capital
loss of $2,500, and your spouse had a

short-term capital gain of $1,600, you @
report a net capital loss of $450 on
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joint federal income tax return. This net
capital loss of $450 is entered in the
federal amount column of your New York
return. After completing separate
worksheets, you would enter a capital loss
of $1,250 in your column and a capital gain
of $1,600 in your spouse’s column. Since
the joint net capital loss of $450 is
deductible on your joint federal return for
1986, there is no capital loss carryover to
1987, whether joint or separate federal
returns are filed for 1987. Since the capital
loss carryover is the same for both federal
and state purposes, no capital loss
carryover can be deducted for the 1987
taxable year, even if you and your spouse
file separate state returns.

Minimum income tax — If 60% of your
net capital gain from New York State
sources was more than the allowable
specific deduction, you must file Form
IT-220, Minimum Income Tax, even if you
do not have to file federal Form 6251,
Alternative Minimum Tax Computation. For
more information, see instructions for Form
IT-220.

Line 8

40% of capital gain distributions

Enter the amount reported on your federal
return in the federal amount column. Enter in
column A (and column B if you checked filing
status ) amounts derived from or
connected with New York State sources and
subject to New York State tax.

Line 9

Other gains or (losses)

Figure the amount(s) to be included on line 9,
column A (and in column B if you checked
filing status (3)) as the gain or loss from the
sale or exchange of noncapital assets by
applying the federal provisions for
determining gains or losses from the sale or
exchange of other than capital assets to your
New York State transactions. Attach a copy of
federal Form 4797.

Noncapital transactions from New York State
sources are those noncapital transactions
inctudible in your federal return pertaining to
property used in connection with a trade,
business, profession or occupation carried on
in New York State. Also included is your
share of any noncapital gain or loss from a
partnership of which you are a member (from
Form IT-204) or an estate or trust of which
you are a beneficiary (from Form IT-205 or
IT-205-A) or an electing New York State
corporation of which you are a shareholder
(from Form CT-3S). Use Form IT-203-A if
allocation is required.

Line 10

Fully taxable pensions, IRA
distributions and annuities

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount reported on your federal return.
Enter in Column A (and column B if you
checked filing status @) ) amounts derived

r connected with New York State
116 s and subject to New York State tax.

See the instructions for line 28 on page 13
for information regarding the pension and
annuity income exclusion.

Line 11

Taxable amount of other pensions and
annuities, including rollovers

Enter in the federal amount column the total
amount as reported on federal Form 1040 or
on any related federat schedules.

Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) the portion of the
federal amount derived from or connected
with New York State sources.

Annuity income — Include on line 11 in
column A (and column B if you checked filing
status ) the part of your annuity income
which is part of the receipts of a business,
trade, profession or occupation carried on in
New York State. See instructions for line 6
(and Form IT-203-A) regarding the business
allocation percentage if business is carried on
both inside and outside New York State.

Lines 12 and 13

Rents, royalties, partnerships, estates,
trusts, and S corporations

Enter in the federal amount column the
total amount from these sources as
reported on federal Form 1040 or on any
related federal schedules.

Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) the portion of the
federal amount derived from or connected
with New York State sources, considering the
instructions below relating to each type of
income. Attach a copy of federal Schedule E.

Rent and royalty income — Include in the
amount you report on line 12 in column A
{and column B if you checked filing status

) rents and royalties from (1) real property
located in New York State whether or not
used in or connected with a business, (2)
tangible personal property not used in a
business if such property is located in New
York State and (3) tangible and intangible
personal property used in or connected with a
business, trade, profession or occupation
carried on in New York State.
If a business is carried on both inside and
outside New York State, apply the business
allocation percentage (Form IT-203-A) or
alternate method. to items included in (3) in
the preceding paragraph to determine the
income from New York State sources.
However, do not allocate income from real
property. That income must be entirely
included if the real property is located in New
York State and entirely excluded if the real
property is located outside New York State.
Include in the amount you report on line 12 in
column A (and column B if you checked filing
status @) your share of any rental or royalty
income from a partnership of which you are a
member (from Form IT-204) or an estate or trust
of which you are a beneficiary (from Form
IT-205 or {T-205-A).
Partnerships — Your distributive share of part-
nership income to be included in the amount

reported on line 13 in column A (and column B
if you checked filing status (3)) must be
obtained from Form IT-204. If your distributive
share includes any other items of partnership
income taxable to a nonresident, those items
must be included elsewhere in column A (and
column B if you checked filing status (3)) on
the appropriate lines. For example, your share of
a partnership New York capital gain would be
included in determining the amount to be
reported on line 7.

Estates and trusts — Your share of estate or
trust income from New York State sources
must be obtained from Form IT-205 or from
Form IT-205-A. If your share includes any
items of taxable estate or trust income from
New York State sources not reportable on line
13, those items should be included elsewhere
in column A (and column B if you checked
filing status ) on the appropriate line
describing that income.

S corporation shareholders — Your pro rata
share of an electing New York S corporation’s
items of income and loss must be obtained
from Form CT-3S, S Corporation Information
Report. If your share includes any other
items of income, such as dividends or capital
gains, those items must be included
elsewhere in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) on the appropriate
lines. If the corporation carried on business
both inside and outside New York State, the
corporation’s business allocation percentage,
determined under Article 9-A, must be used
to figure the amount of your income or loss
that was derived from or connected with New
York State sources.

Line 14

Farm income or (loss)

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount of farm income or (loss) reported on
federal Form 1040, and attach a copy of your
federal Schedule F.

Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) the profit or loss
from farming carried on in New York State.
The instructions for reporting business
income (line 6), including the instructions for
reporting when business is carried on both
inside and outside New York State, also apply
to reporting farm income.

Line 15

Taxable amount of unempioyment:
compensation (insurance)

Enter the taxable amount reported on your
federal rcturn in the federal amount column.
Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) the amount of
taxable unemployment compensation derived
from or as the result of employment in New
York State.

If the unemployment compensation received
from New York State sources is based on
wage or salary income earned partly inside
and partly outside New York State, figure the
amount allocable to New York State in the
same manner as the wage and salary income
on which it is based.



If you checked filing status @ and only one
of you received taxable unemployment
compensation, enter the amount in the
column of the spouse who received it. If you
both received taxable unemployment
compensation, figure the amount to enter in
each spouse’s column using the following
formula:

E XF =N

B

where E is unemployment compensation
received by each spouse, B is unemployment
compensation received by both spouses, F is
federal taxable unemployment compensation
and N is New York taxable unemployment
compensation for each spouse.

Example — You and your spouse both
worked 100% of the time in New York State.
You received $5,500 and your spouse
received $5,000 of unemployment
compensation. The combined amount of your
taxable unemployment compensation for
tederal income tax purposes is $1,250. The
amount of taxable unemployment
compensation each of you must report for
New York State income tax purposes is
figured as follows:

$ 5,500
You: Bt bt -
$10,500 x  $1,250 $655
$ 5,000
Your Spouse: ———— x =
p $10.500 $1,250 = $595

Line 16

Taxable amount of social security benefits

Enter in the federal amount column the
taxable amount of social security or tier 1
railroad retirement benefits that you reported
on your federal return. Do not enter any
amounts in columns A or B.

Line 17

Other income

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount of other income as reported on
federal Form 1040. Enter in column A (and
column B if you checked filing status ) the
amount derived from or connected with New
York State sources.

If you have a New York net operating loss
(without a corresponding federal net
operating loss) that you are carrying
forward to 1986, enter the amount of the
loss in column A (and_column B if you
checked filing status ) on line 17 as a
minus amount. Attach a statement
explaining the loss.

Line 18
Total

Add lines 1 through 17 of each column, and
enter the totals on line 18.

Line 19

Total federal adjustments to income

Enter in the federal amount column the total
adjustments as reported on federal Form
1040, line 31. These include employee
business expenses, IRA deduction and
deduction for a married couple when both
work, as well as others.

Write each adjustment and its amount in the
white area on line 1. If more room is needed,
make a list showing each adjustment and its
amount and attach the list to your New York
return.

If you checked filing status @ enter the total
of your own adjustments in columns A and B
as if you had each filed a separate federal
return. Write each adjustment, its amount and
“A” or “B” (for the column of entry) in the
white area on line 19. If more room is needed,
make a list for each spouse showing your
own adjustments, amounts and column of
entry as if you had each filed a separate

federal return. Attach these lists to your return.

Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status (3)) the part of the
federal amount which represents adjustments
connected with income from New York State
sources.

The adjustment for a married couple when
both work can only be claimed if the income
on which the adjustment is figured is from
New York State sources.

Caution: The deduction for a married couple
when both work cannot be claimed on
separate New York State returns. If you
checked filing status , do not include this
deduction in your line 19 amount for column
A orB.

The spousal IRA deduction allowed on your
joint federal return will be allowed on the
nonworking spouse’s separate New York
return. Each spouse’s deduction must equal
the amount contributed to his or her own
account.

The following formula must be used to figure
the deduction allowed for alimony:

*Column A line 32 (without
alimony deduction)

Federal amount column, line 32
[without alimony deduction)
*If you checked filing status @ line 32 of
column A must be added to line 32 of column
B when figuring the New York alimony
deduction.

Any adjustment item that relates to wage or
salary income earned only partly inside New
York State or to income from a business
which is carried on both inside and outside
New York State must be allocated to New
York State on the same basis as the income
to which it relates.

New York
alimony
deduction

federal alimony ~ _
deduction

Example 1 — On your joint federal return,
you claim a deduction of $1,200 for a
married couple when both work, based
upon your wages of $12,000. If all of your
wages were earned in New York State, you
can also claim a $1,200 deduction on your
joint New York State return. (No deduction
is allowed if you and your spouse file
separate New York State returns.) If only
50% of your wages were earned in New
York State, your deduction is limited to
50% of $1,200, or $600. A deduction
cannot be claimed if none of your wages
were earned in New York State.

Example 2 — You are allowed an adjustment
of $800 on your federal return for payments
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by a self-employed person to a retirement
plan and these payments were made in
connection with a business you operated both

inside and outside New York State.
If, in determining your business income from

New York State sources, you figure your
business allocation percentage to be 75%

(see instructions for line 6), then 75% of this
adjustment, or $600, should be included in
column A on line 19.

Line 20

Total Income

Subtract line 19 from line 18 in each column
and enter the result on line 20.

New York Adjustments/
Total New York Income

Enter on lines 21 through 31 any of the listed
additions to or subtractions from your total
income. For more information on additions
and subtractions, see Publication 382, How to
Figure Your New York Additions and
Subtractions.

The additions and subtractions that you enter
in the federal amount column are to be
figured as if you were a New York State
resident. Enter in column A the part of each
amount in the federal amount column that is
derived from or connected with New York
State sources.

If the items are not income, gains, losses
or deductions from New York State
sources, enter them in the federal amount
column only. The items that you would
enter only in the federal amount column
are on line 23 (items A-19 through A-22),
line 26, line 27 and line 30 (items S-18
through S-24).

If you checked filing status@ enter you
and your spouse’s additions and
subtractions, derived from or connected
with New York State sources, in columns
A and B.

Partners — If you have income from a
partnership, include any New York additions
and subtractions which apply to that income.
Determine your share of partnership additions
and subtractions from the partnership return,
Form IT-204.

Beneficiaries (estates and trusts) — If you
have income from an estate or trust, any New
York additions and subtractions which apply
to that income, as well as any additions to or
subtractions from federal itemized deductions,
will be shown in your share of a single
fiduciary adjustment. If the adjustment is a

net addition, enter this amount on line 23. If

the adjustment is a net subtraction, enter this
amount on line 30. Identify this item as a@
fiduciary adjustment.
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S corporation shareholders — If you are
a nonresident and a shareholder of an
electing New York S corporation, your
federal adjusted gross income must be
adjusted by your pro rata share of any of
the following additions or subtractions that
relate to your pro rata share of S
corporation items of income, loss or
deduction derived from or connected with
New York State sources. Additions A-19
and A-20 and subtraction S-18 do not
apply to you since they apply only to non-
electing S corporations. If the election to
treat the corporation as a New York S
corporation terminated during the taxable
year, you must allocate those items (see
Publication 382 for more information).
Obtain your share of S corporation items
of income, loss and deduction from the S
corporation Form CT-3S.

If you are a shareholder of a federal S
corporation that did not elect to be a New
York S corporation, include additions A-19
and A-20 and subtraction S-18 in the
federal amount column only. If you were
not eligible to make this election to treat
your corporation as a New York S
corporation because the corporation was
not subject to Article 9-A franchise tax,
include any of the following additions and
subtractions that apply to your pro rata
share of S corporation items of income,
loss or deduction in the federal amount
column only. Additions A-17, A-19, A-20
and A-21, and subtractions S-18 and S-23
do not apply to you since they apply only
to electing and non-electing New York S
corporations.

New York Additions

The additions on lines 21 and 22 and items A-
1 through A-17 on line 23 are income items
from New York State sources only to the
extent that such items are attributed to a bus-
iness, trade, profession or occupation carried
on in New York State or are from real or tang-
ible personal property located in New York
State. Apply your business allocation percen-
tage from Form IT-203-A to those additions
(except real property items) that are part of
the receipts of a business carried on both
inside and outside New York State. Include
your figures from Form IT-203-A on the
appropriate lines.

Line 21

Interest income on state and local bonds
other than New York State

Enter any interest income on state and local
bonds (except those of New York State and

its political subdivisions) that you received or
that was credited to you during 1986, if not
included in your federal adjusted gross income,

Line 22

Accelerated cost recovery system
(ACRS) deduction

Enter your accelerated cost recovery
system (ACRS) deduction from Form
IT-399, line 1, column G (Section 612(b)(25)
118 ! Tax Law). This adjustment must be
for property placed in service during

taxable years beginning in 1981, 1982,
1983 and 1984. It also must be made for
property placed in service outside New
York State in taxable years beginning after
December 31, 1984, except for recovery
property subject to the provisions of
Section 280F of the Internal Revenue Code
(such as luxury automobiles). Also, see the
instructions for line 29 on page 14 of this
booklet.

Line 23

Other additions

Identify any of the following additions that
apply to you by writing the item number
and the amount of each addition in the
white area on line 23. If you checked filing
status , enter the total of your other
additions in column A and the total of your
spouse’s additions in column B. All others
use column A only.

A-1 Interest or dividend income received
by you or credited to you during 1986 on
bonds or securities of any United States
authority, commission or instrumentality
that federal laws exempt from federal
income tax but not from state income
taxes (Section 612(b)(2) of the Tax Law).

A-2 Income taxes that were deducted from
your federal gross income in figuring your
federal adjusted gross income (Section
612(b)(3) of the Tax Law). For example, if you
operated a business and deducted income
taxes on your federal return as an expense of
doing business, include these taxes on line 23.

Partners — Include on line 23 your
distributable share of income taxes deducted
in figuring net income.

A-3 Professional service corporation
shareholder — Certain employee benefits
you received if you were a shareholder of
a professional service corporation
(including shareholders of professional
service corporations organized outside
New York State but authorized to conduct
business in New York State under Article
15-A of the Business Corporation Law).
These benefits include certain corporate
contributions to pension, employee
annuity, stock bonus, profit sharing or
bond purchase plans in excess of $15,000
or 15% of earned income, whichever is
less. They also include 5.70% of your
wages from the corporation, that are
subject to social security taxes, and certain
corporate contributions to purchase life
insurance, accident or health insurance
policies for you (Section 612(b)(7), (8) and
(9) of the Tax Law).

Note: Professional service corporations are
required by law to furnish each shareholder
with Form IT-2102.1-PC, Professional Service
Corporation Information Return, reporting
payments of the above benefits.

A-4 Interest expense on loans used to buy
bonds and securities (whose interest income
is exempt from New York State tax) if you
made a deduction for this interest expense in
figuring your federal adjusted gross income.
Also include on line 23 amortization of bond
premiums whose interest income is exempt

from New York State tax and expenses
relating to income exempt from New York
State tax, if you made a deduction in figuring
your federal adjusted gross income (Sections
612(b)(4) and (5) of the Tax Law).

A-5 The amount of special additional
mortgage recording tax that was excluded
or deducted in figuring your federal
adjusted gross income (Section 612(b) (15)
of the Tax Law). For information about the
special additional mortgage recording tax
credit, see Instructions for Form IT-203-ATT,
line 4, on page 22 of these instructions.

A-6 The amount of special additional
mortgage recording tax you paid when the
property for which the tax was paid is sold
or disposed of at a gain or loss and the
basis of such property was not adjusted for
the special additional mortgage recording
tax credit (Section 612(b) (16) of the Tax
Law). If the gain was considered a long
term capital gain for federal income tax
purposes, include on line 23 only 40
percent of the special additional mortgage
recording tax credit you claimed. If the
loss was considered a long-term capital
loss for federal income tax purposes,
include on line 23 only 50 percent of the
special additional mortgage recording tax
credit you claimed.

A-7 Any amount that has to be added to your
federat adjusted gross income if you made an
election under the Tax Law for additional
depreciation or research and development
expenditures, waste treatment facility expendi-
tures, air poliution control equipment expendi-
tures or acid deposition control equipment (Sec-
tion 612(b)(6) of the Tax Law). See subtraction
items S-9 and S-10 on page 14 of these
instructions.

A-8 Any deduction for percentage depletion
on mines, oil and gas wells and other natural
deposits made in figuring your federal
adjusted gross income (Section 612(b)(10) of
the Tax Law). See subtraction item S-8 on
page 14 of these instructions.

A-9 Any gain which would have been realized
for New York State tax purposes from the sale
or other disposition of property acquired from
a decedent and valued by the executor under
New York State Tax Law because the estate
had an insufficient amount of assets to
require the filing of a federal estate tax return
(Section 612(b)(17) of the Tax Law).

A-10 PASS Funds — 110 percent of the
value of the assets of a higher education
(PASS) fund terminated during 1986, from
Form IT-270, line 26. For more information
on PASS funds, see Publication 320,
Tuition Deduction and the PASS Plan.

A-11 Beneficiaries (PASS funds) — If you
were a beneficiary of a PASS fund and you
received distributions from it, include in
your total New York income 20 percent of
the total amount you received from the
fund in each of the 5 consecutive years
following the completion of your higher
education (Section 612(b)(14) of the Tax
Law). For more information on PASS funds,
see Publication 320.



A-12 New business investment-deferral
recognition — The amount of capital gain
deferred on the sale of a capital asset if the
new business investment property is sold and
the proceeds are not reinvested again in a
New York new business within 12 months
(Section 612(b)(22) of the Tax Law). If only a
part of the proceeds was reinvested anew, see
Publication 382 for information on figuring
your addition.

A-13 Safe harbor leases — The amount that
was deducted in figuring your federal
adjusted gross income (except for mass
transit vehicles) solely because of an election
made under Section 168(f)(8) of the Internal
Revenue Code, as it was in effect for
agreements entered into prior to January 1,
1984 (Section 612(b)(23) of the Tax Law).
A-14 Safe harbor leases — Any amount that
would have been included in federal adjusted
gross income (except for mass transit
vehicles) had the election under Section
168(f)(8) of the Internal Revenue Code, as it
was in effect for agreements entered into
prior to January 1, 1984, not been made
(Section 612(b)(24) of the Tax Law).

A-15 Accelerated cost recovery property
— Year of disposition adjustment — In
the year that you dispose of property, the
amount by which the total depreciation
allowed for New York State purposes is
greater than your total federal accelerated
cost recovery deductions on that property
(Section 612(b)(27) of the Tax Law). Use
Form IT-399, New York State Depreciation,
to figure your adjustment. See subtraction
S-16 on page 14 of these instructions.

A-16 Tax on petroleum businesses — The
amount of gross receipts tax imposed on
petroleum businesses under Article 13-A of
the Tax Law that was deducted in figuring
your federal adjusted gross income (Section
612(b)(28) of the Tax Law).

A-17 S corporation shareholders — |f you
are a shareholder of an S corporation for
which the election to be a New York S
corporation is in effect for the taxable year,
your pro rata share of the corporation's
reductions for taxes described in Section
1366(f)(2) and (3) of the Internal Revenue
Code. If such reductions relate to the
determination of a federal net capital gain,
include oniy 40 percent of the reductions
(Section 612(b)(18) of the Tax Law).

A-18 Solar and wind energy systems —
The amount of New York State solar and
wind energy credit you claimed for
residential property later sold or disposed
of at a gain if the basis of that property
included the cost of your energy system
(Section 606(g) of the Tax Law). If the gain
was considered a long-term capital gain for
federal income tax purposes, include on
line 23 only 40 percent of the credit you
claimed.

Addition items A-19 through A-22 apply
only to the federal amount column since
the income to which these items relate
is not regarded as being derived from

New York State sources. Do not include
these items in columns A or B.

A-19 S corporation shareholders — If you
are a shareholder of an S corporation for
which the election to be a New York S
corporation was not in effect for the taxable
year, any S corporation loss or deduction
taken into account in figuring your federal
adjusted gross income pursuant to Section
1366 of the Internal Revenue Code. If such
loss or deduction affects the determination
of a federal net capital gain, include only 40
percent of the loss or deduction {Section
612{b)}{19) of the Tax Law).

A-20 S corporation shareholders — S
corporation distributions not included in
federal adjusted gross income due to the
application of Sections 1368, 1371(e) or
1379(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, and
not previously subject to New York personal
income tax because the election to be a New
York S corporation was not in effect. Any
capital gain arising from such distributions
must be treated as ordinary income for
purposes of this adjustment (Section
612(b)(20) of the Tax Law). The Internal
Revenue Code sections mentioned above
refer to distributions, cash distributions
during post-termination transition period and
distributions of undistributed taxable income,
respectively.

A-21 S corporation shareholders — Where
gain or loss is recognized on a shareholder’s
federal income tax return due to the
disposition of stock or indebtedness of an S
corporation that did not have an election to
treat the corporation as a New York S
corporation in effect for any taxable year
beginning after December 31, 1980, the
increase in basis of stock or indebtedness
due to the application of Sections-1376(a) (as
it was in effect for taxable years beginning
before January 1, 1983) and 1367(a)(1)(A)
and (B) of the Internal Revenue Code for
each taxable year that the New York election
was not in effect. If such disposition affects

the determination of a federal net capital gain,

include only 40 percent of the federal
increase in basis (Section 612(b)(21) of the
Tax Law). The Internal Revenue Code
sections mentioned above refer to S
corporation undistributed taxable income and
its S corporation income, respectively, that
was required to be included in the
shareholder’s federal adjusted gross income.

A-22 Amounts required under the Tax
Law relating to your distributive or pro rata
share of allocated entire net income, or
your distributive or pro rata share of loss
included in your federal adjusted gross
income, from an insurance business
operating as a member of the New York
Insurance Exchange (Section 617-a of the
Tax Law). See subtraction S-24 on page 15
of these instructions.

Line 24

Total additions

Add lines 20 through 23 and enter the total
on line 24.
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New York Subtractions
Line 25

Taxable refunds of state and

local income taxes

Enter the amount of any taxable refund or
credit for overpayment of income tax
included on line 4.

Line 26

Taxable social security benefits

Enter, in the federal amount column only, the
taxable amount of social security and tier 1
railroad retirement income included on line 16.

Line 27

Interest income on United States
government bonds

Enter any interest iricome on bonds or other
obligations of the United State government
that you included in your federal adjusted
gross income. Since this income is not
considered to be derived from New York
State sources, include this subtraction in the
federal amount column only.

Line 28

Pension and annuity income exclusion

If you were age 592 before January 1,
1986, enter the qualifying pension and
annuity income included in your 1986
federal adjusted gross income, but not
more than $20,000. If you became 592
during 1986, enter only the amount
received after you became 59V2, but not
more than $20,000. Do not enter any
pension income that you received from
New York State or its political subdivisions
here; see the instructions for line 30,
subtraction S-20 on page 15.

Caution — If you are also claiming the
disability income exclusion, the total of your
pension and annuity income exclusion and
disability income exclusion cannot exceed
$20,000. If married, the total of each spouse’s
pension and annuity income and disability
income exclusions cannot exceed $20,000.
You cannot claim any unused part of your
spouse’s exclusions.

Qualifying pension and annuity income:

® Periodic payments for services you
performed as an employee before you
retired.

e Periodic and lump sum payments from an
IRA, but not payments derived from
contributions made after you retired.

® Periodic payments from an HR-10 (Keogh)
plan, but not payments derived from
contributions made after you retired.

e Lump sum payment from an HR-10
(Keogh) plan, but only if the federal
special 10-year averaging method is not
used. Do not include the part of your
payment that was derived from
contributions made after you retired.

If you and your spouse both qualify, each of
you can subtract up to $20,000 of your own
pension and annuity income. However, you
cannot claim any unused part of your
spouse's exclusion. If vou received the

pension and annuity income of a decg
you may make this subtraction if the m
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decedent would have qualified to make this
subtraction at the time of their death.

If the pension and annuity income is based
upon services performed inside and outside
of New York State, it is taxable to the extent
that services were performed in New York
State. If the pension and annuity income is
allocable, then the $20,000 exclusion must
also be allocated using the same basis.

Line 29

New York State depreciation

Enter your total New York State depreciation
from Form IT-399, line 1, column F (Section
612(c)(26) of the Tax Law). This adjustment
must be made for property placed in service
during taxable years beginning in 1981, 1982,
1983 and 1984. It also must be made for
property placed in service outside New York
State in taxable years beginning after
December 31, 1984, except for recovery
property subject to the provisions of Section
280F of the Internal Revenue Code (such as
luxury automobiles).

Also, see the instructions for line 22 on
page 12 of these instructions.

Line 30

Other subtractions

Identify any of the following subtractions that
apply to you by writing the item number and
the amount of each subtraction in the white
area on line 30. Enter your total other
subtractions on line 30_in column A. If you
checked filing status (3), enter the total of
your own subtractions in column A and the
total of your spouse’s subtractions in column B.
Apply your business allocation percentage
from Schedule IT-203-A to those subtractions
(except real property items) that are part of
the receipts of a business carried on both
inside and outside of New York State, Include
your figures from Schedule IT-203-A on line
30.

$-1 Interest expense on money borrowed
to purchase or carry bonds or securities
the income from which is subject to New
York State income tax but exempt from
federal income tax, provided this interest
was a 1986 business expense and was not
deducted in figuring your federal adjusted
gross income (Section 612(c)(9) of the Tax
Law).

S-2 Ordinary and necessary business
expenses paid or incurred during 1986 in
connection with income, or property held
to produce income, that is subject to New
York State income tax but exempt from
federal income tax, provided these
expenses were not deducted in arriving at
your federal adjusted gross income
(Section 612(c)(10) of the Tax Law).

$-3 Amortization of bond premium
attributable to 1986 on any bond, whose
interest income is subject to New York
income tax but exempt from federal
income tax, provided this amortization was
a 1986 business expense and was not
deducted in figuring your federal adjusted

ross income (Section 612(c)(10) of the
120 W)

$-4 The amount necessary to prevent

taxation of amounts properly included in total
New York income in prior taxable years by a
shareholder of a professional service
corporation (Section 612(c)(12) of the Tax Law)

$-5 The amount of wages and salaries paid
or incurred during the taxable year for which
a salaries deduction is not allowed with
regard to claiming the federal targeted jobs
credit (Section 612(c)(15) of the Tax Law).

§-6 The part of any gain included in your
federal adjusted gross income for the sale or
other disposition of (1) property which had a
higher basis for New York State income tax
purposes than for federal income tax
purposes on December 31, 1959 (or on the
last day of a fiscal year ending during 1960)
and (2) property held in connection with
mines, oil or gas wells, and other natural
deposits which has a higher adjusted basis
for New York State income tax purposes than
tor federal income tax purposes, which does
not exceed this difference in basis. If the gain
was considered a long-term capital gain for
federal income tax purposes, the subtraction
is limited to 40 percent of that part of the gain.
If the gain on the sale or other disposition of
jointly owned property was divided between
you and your spouse on your state return,
any subtraction due to a higher New York
than federal basis must also be divided
(Sections 612(c)(4) and 612(c)(13) of the Tax
Law). Subtraction (1) above for higher New
York State basis does not apply to property
acquired after December 31, 1959 (or after the
last day of a fiscal year ending during 1960).

§-7 Any amount of income (including
annuity income) or gain included in your
federal adjusted gross income which was
properly reported as income or gain on a
prior New York State return filed under
former Article 16 of the Tax Law by you or a
decedent, an estate or trust from which you
acquired this income or gain (Section
612(c)(5) of the Tax Law).

S-8 Cost depletion figured according to
federal tax law on property where
percentage depletion was added on line 23
(Section 612(c)(13) of the Tax Law). See
addition A-8 on page 12 of these
instructions.

$-9 Special depreciation or research
expenditures in connection with
depreciable, tangible business property
located in New York State (Section
612(c)(11) of the Tax Law). For more
information, see Form IT-211, Special
Depreciation and Expenditure Schedule,
and instructions. Also see addition A-7
on page 12 of these instructions.

S$-10 Expenditures in connection with
waste treatment facilities, air pollution
control equipment or acid deposition
control equipment. This subtraction applies
only to depreciable, tangible business
property located in New York State and
certified under the provisions of the
Environmental Conservation Law (Section
612(c)(11) of the Tax Law). This
subtraction cannot be made if subtraction

S-9 was made. Also, see addition A-7 on
page 12 of these instructions.

$-11 Any loss that would have been realized
for New York State tax purposes, from the
sale or other disposition of property acquired
from a decedent and valued by the executor
under New York State Tax Law because the
estate had an insufficient amount of assets to
require the filing of a federal estate tax return
(Section 612(c)(19) of the Tax Law).

S§-12 New business investment exclusion —
The amount of gain to be subtracted from the
sale of a New York new business investment
which was included in your federal adjusted
gross income (Section 612(c)(20) of the Tax
Law).

$-13 New business investment deferral —
The amount of a capital gain on the sale of a
capital asset that was reinvested in a New
York new business within one year from the
date the property was sold (Section
612(c)(23) of the Tax Law). For more
information, including how to figure your
subtraction, see Publication 382.

$-14 Safe harbor leases — Any amount that
was included in federal adjusted gross
income (except for mass transit vehicles)
solely because of an election made under
Section 168(f)(8) of the Internal Revenue
Code, as it was in effect for agreements
entered into prior to January 1, 1984, (Section
612(c)(24) of the Tax Law).

$-15 Safe harbor leases — Any amount that
could have been excluded from federal
adjusted gross income (except for mass
transit vehicles) had the election under
Section 168(f)(8) of the Internal Revenue
Code, as it was in etfect for agreements
entered into prior to January 1, 1984, not
been made (Section 612(c)(25) of the Tax
Law).

S-16 Accelerated cost recovery property
— Year of disposition adjustment — In
the year that you dispose of property, the
amount by which your total federal
accelerated cost recovery deductions were
greater than the total depreciation you took
for New York State purposes on that
property (Section 612(c)(28) of the Tax
Law). Use Form IT-399, New York State
Depreciation, to figure your adjustment.
See addition A-15 on page 13 of these
instructions.

$-17 Disability income exclusion — Any
amount that could have been excluded from
federal adjusted gross income based on
Section 105(d) of the Internal Revenue Code
as it was in effect prior to January 1, 1984.
However, the sum of disability income
excluded and pension and annuity income
exclucged may not exceed $20,000. (Section
612(c)(3-b) of the Tax Law). Use Form [T-221,
Disability Income Exclusion 1o figure your
disability income exclusion and attach it to
your return.

Note — If you claim this exclusion, you must
also complete the physicians statement
located at the bottom of Form 1T-221.



Subtraction items S-18 through S$-24 apply
only to the federal amount column since the
income to which these items relate is not
regarded as being derived from New York
State sources. Do not include these items in
columns A or B.

S-18 S Corporation Shareholders — If you
are a shareholder of an S corporation for
which the election to be a New York S
corporation was not in effect for the taxable
year, any S corporation income included in
federal adjusted gross income pursuant to
Section 1366 of the Internal Revenue Code. If
such income affects the determination of a
federal net capital gain, the subtraction is
limited to 40 percent of the income (Section
612(c)(22) of the Tax Law).

$-19 Interest or dividend income on bonds or
securities of any United States authority,
commission or instrumentality included in
your federal adjusted gross income but
exempt from state income taxes under federal
laws (Section 612(c)(2) of the Tax Law).

§-20 Any pension you received as a retired
officer or employee of New York State or its
political subdivisions (towns, cities, etc.) that
was included in your federal adjusted gross
income, and any pensions you received as a
beneficiary of a deceased officer or employee
of New York State or its political subdivisions
(Section 612(c)(3) of the Tax Law).

$-21 The amount of supplemental annuity
and tier 2 benefits received under the Railroad
Retirement Act of 1974 and the amount of
Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act
benefits that were included in your federal
adjusted gross income but exempt from state
income taxes under Title 45 of the United
States Code.

§-22 Any interest or dividend income
included in your federal adjusted gross
income on bonds or securities that is exempt
from New York State income taxes (Section
612(c)(6) of the Tax Law)

§-23 S corporation shareholders — Where a
gain or loss is recognized on a shareholder's
federal income tax return due to the
disposition of stock or indebtedness of an

S corporation that did not have an election to
treat the corporation as a New York

S corporation in effect for any taxable year
beginning after December 31, 1980, the
reduction in basis of stock or indebtedness
due to the application of Sections 1376(b) (as
it was in effect for taxable years beginning
before January 1, 1983) and 1367(a)(2)(B)
and (C) of the Internal Revenue Code for
each taxable year that the New York election
was not in effect. If such disposition affects
the determination of a federal net capital gain,
the subtraction is limited to 40 percent of the
federal reduction in basis.

Also, the amount of any additions to federal
adjusted gross income under Section
612(b)(20) of the Tax Law (see addition A-19
on page 13 of these instructions) that were
made with respect to the stock described
above (Section 612(c)(21) of the Tax Law).

The Internal Revenue Code sections
mentioned above refer to the shareholder's
pro rata share of S corporation net operating
loss and S corporation loss and deduction,
respectively, that was required to be taken
into account in figuring the shareholder’s
federal adjusted gross income.

$-24 Any amount inciuded in your federal
adjusted gross income which is your
distributive or pro rata share of income or
gain from an insurance business operating
as a member of the New York Insurance
Exchange (Section 617-a of the Tax Law).
See addition A-22 on page 13 of these
instructions.

Line 31

Total subtractions
Add lines 25 through 30 and enter the total.

Line 32
Total New York income

Subtract line 31 from line 24 and enter the

result.

You do not owe any New York State tax if

you were a New York State nonresident for

the entire taxable year and if you
checked:

t] filing status ® and your Form I1-203,
line 32, federal amount is $4,000 or
less; or

] filing status @ or ® and your Form
IT-203, line 32, federal amount, is $8,000
or less; or

[ tiling status @ or @ and your
combined Form IT-203, line 32, federal
amounts are $8,000 or less.

If you meet any of these conditions, skip

lines 33 through 56 and enter Q"' on

lines 567, 60, 61 and 62. Also, enter in

the box on line 47 the same number of

exemptions you claimed on your federal

return, Then continue on line 58,

Line 33

Enter the amount(s) from page 1, line 32,
columns A and B only.

NY Itemized Deduction

You may pay less tax if you can claim the
New York itemized deduction. Your New
York itemized deduction is not limited to
$2,600, if single, or $3,000 if you
checked any other filing status. You can
claim the New York itemized deduction
only if you itemized deductions on your
federal return. However, if your New York
itemized deduction is less than your
allowable standard deduction, you should
claim the standard deduction. If you are
married and filing separately (filing status
or (@), you can claim the New York
itemized deduction only if you itemized
deductions on your federal return(s) and
both of you elect to claim the New York
itemized deduction. Otherwise, both of you
must claim the New York standard
deduction. For more information on the
New York Standard deduction, see the
instructions for line 45 on page 16 .
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If you did not itemize deductions on your
federal return, you must claim the New York
standard deduction; skip lines 34 through 44
and continue on line 44a.

Lines 34 through 39

Enter on each line the total of each group of
itemized deductions (medical and dental,
taxes, etc.) exactly as you reported them on
your federal Schedule A, (Form 1040),
ltemized Deductions.

If you checked filing status @ fill in lines 34
through 39 showing total amounts for both
spouses.

Line 40

Add lines 34 through 39 and enter the total.

Line 41

State, local and foreign income taxes
included on line 35

Enter the amount of any state, local and
foreign income taxes included as an itemized
deduction on line 35.

Exception for City of NY nonresident
earnings tax — If you included the City of
New York nonresident earnings tax on line
35, you do not have to include on line 41
the difference between the City of New
York nonresident earnings tax on wages
figured at the old rate (0.25%) and the tax
figured at the current rate (0.45%). To
figure the amount you have to include on
line 41, multiply your City of New York
taxable wages (from Form NYC-203, line
3) by .0020 and subtract it from your state,
local and foreign income tax deduction
included on line 35.

Example: Your line 35 amount includes your
City of New York nonresident earnings tax as
well as other state, local and foreign income
taxes, for a total income tax deduction of
$1,000. Your taxable wages from Form NYC-
203, line 3 are $16,000. Multiply $16,000 by
.0020 which equals $32, the amount you do
not have to include on line 41. Then subtract
$32 from $1,000 to find the difference of $968,
the amount to enter on line 41.

The above also applies to the City of New
York nonresident earnings tax on net
earnings from self-employment. The amount
you do not have to include on line 41 is the
difference between the tax figured at the old
rate (0.375%) and the tax figured at the
current rate (0.65%). To figure the amount
you have to include on line 41, muitiply

your City of New York taxable net earnings
from self-employment (Form NYC-203, line 7)
by .00275 and subtract it from your state,
local and foreign income tax deduction
included on line 35.

Line 42

Subtract line 41 from line 40 and enter the
resuit.

Line 43

Other adjustments

On a separate sheet marked “Line 43 — Other

Adjustments,” identify by item letter any o
the foliowing other adjustments that app
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you, show the amount of each adjustment,
and attach this sheet to your return. Enter
only the net addition or net (subtraction)
amount on line 43.

Partners — include on line 43 the additions
and subtractions described below that apply
to your share of partnership deduction items
(if not included in your New York additions
and subtractions on page 1 of your New
York State return). Determine your share of
partnership items from the partnership
return, Form IT-204.

S corporation shareholders— If you are a
shareholder of a federal S corporation for
which the election to treat the corporation as
a New York S corporation was in effect for
the taxable year or if you were not eligible to
make the election to treat your corporation as
a New York S corporation because the
corporation is not subject to Article 9-A
franchise tax, include on line 43 additions A
through C and subtractions D through G,
described below, that apply to your pro rata
share of S corporation items of income, loss
or deduction. If the election to be a New York
S corporation terminated during the taxable
year, you must allocate these items (see
Publication 382, How to Figure Your New
York Additions and Subtractions, for more
information). Obtain your share of S
corporation items from the S corporation’s
Form CT-3S.

If you are a shareholder of a federal S
corporation that did not elect to be a New
York S corporation, include subtraction H
only.

Additions

A Interest expense on money borrowed to
purchase or carry bonds or securities
subject to New York income tax but
exempt from federal income tax, if this
interest expense was not deducted on your
federal return or shown as a New York
subtraction on page 1 of your New York
State return. This addition may be made if
the income from these bonds or securities
is taxable to a New York State resident.

B Ordinary and necessary expenses paid or
incurred during 1986 in connection with
income, or property held for the
production of income, which is subject to
New York income tax but exempt from
federal income tax, if these expenses were
not deducted on your federal return or
shown as a New York subtraction on page
1 of your New York State return. These
additional expenses are allowed if the
income is taxable to a New York State
resident.

C Amortization of bond premium attributable
to 1986 on any bond whose interest
income is subject to New York income tax
but exempt from federal income tax, if this
amortization was not deducted on your
federal return or shown as a New York
subtraction on page 1 of your New York
State return. This addition may be made if

interest from the bond is taxable to a
w York State resident.

Subtractions

D Interest expense on money borrowed to
purchase or carry bonds or securities
whose income is exempt from New York
income tax. You do not have to make this
subtraction if the income from the bonds
or securities is taxable to a New York State
resident.

E Ordinary and necessary expenses paid or
incurred in connection with income, or
property held for the production of
income, which is exempt from New York
income tax. You do not have to make this
subtraction if the income is taxable to a
New York State resident.

F Amortization of bond premium attributable
to 1986 on any bond, whose interest
income is exempt from New York income
tax.You do not have to make this
subtraction if the interest from the bond is
taxable to a New York State resident.

G Your distributive or pro rata share of
deductions from an insurance business
operating as a member of the New York
Insurance Exchange (Section 617-a of the
Tax Law).

H If you are a shareholder of a federal S
corporation that did not elect to be a New
York S corporation, any S corporation
deductions included in your federal
itemized deductions. If an S corporation
short year is involved, you must allocate
those deductions (see Publication 382,
How To Figure Your New York Additions
and Subtractions, for more information).

Line 44

NY itemized deduction

if line 43 is an addition, add lines 42 and 43
and enter the total on line 44. If line 43 is a
(subtraction), subtract line 43 from line 42
and enter the result.

If you made no entries on line 43, enter the
amount from line 42 on line 44.

Transfer the line 44 amount to line 45 next to
the dollar sign.

Tax Computation

Line 44a

Limitation percentage

Figure your limitation percentage on line 44a
if the amount in the federal amount column
on line 32 (your total New York income
figured as if you were a New York resident)
is over $100 more than the amount in
column A on line 32. Apply this percentage
against any New York itemized deduction or
standard deduction claimed on line 45, and
against your exemptions on line 47 and, if
claimed. against the family adjustment on line
49. If you checked filing status and the
federal amount column is over $100 more
than the combined amounts in columns A
and B, you also have to figure a limitation
percentage.

To figure your limitation percentage, divide
the amount in column A on line 32 by the
amount in the federal amount celumn on line
32. If you checked filing status é} add the
amounts in columns A and B and divide the

sum of these figures by the amount in the
federal amount column. Carry your division to
four places. For example, if the amounts used
were $12,000 divided by $36,000, the result
would be .3333 (33.33%).

All taxpayers must enter a percentage in the
white space provided on lines 45 and 47a. If
the limitation percentage does not apply to
you, enter 100%. The percentage must also
be entered on line 47b, if you are married and
filing separately on one Form IT-203, and on
line 49 if you claimed the family adjustment.

Line 45

NY deduction: Standard or itemized

Check either the standard or the itemized
deduction box to show which method you are
using and enter your deduction amount in the
space to the right of the dollar sign ($).

I If you itemized deductions on your federal
return, you can use either method.

O if you did not itemize on your federal
return, you must claim the New York
standard deduction.

O If you are married and filing separately
(filing status or @) and one of you
claims the New York standard deduction,
the other must also claim the standard
deduction.

New York standard deduction

If you are not claiming the New York
itemized deduction, enter your New York
standard deduction on line 45.

if you checked filing status @ enter $2,600
in the space to the right of the dollar sign
$).

If you checked filing status @, @, or ®,
enter $3,000 in the space to the right of the
dollar sign ($).

If you checked filing status @ the total of
the amounts that you and your spouse enter
in the spaces to the right of the dollar sign
($) must be $3,000.

If you checked filing status @ or @ you
can divide your standard deduction any way
you want. However, it may be to your
advantage to give most or all of your standard
deduction to the spouse with the higher
income. If your incomes are similar, divide
your standard deduction so that both
incomes are the same.

The standard deduction is subject to the
limitation percentage figured on line 44a.
For example, if your limitation percentage
on line 44a is 60% and your standard
deduction is $3,000, enter $1,800 ($3,000 x
60% = $1,800) on line 45.

If you checked filing status (4 ), the $3,000
standard deduction must first be divided
between you and your spouse. Then each
of you must apply your own limitation
percentage, if any, against your share of
the standard deduction.

New York itemized deduction

Your New York itemized deduction to be
subtracted at line 45 is the amount reported
on line 44, unless you are required to figure



the limitation percentage on line 44a. If so,
multiply the amount of your itemized
deduction by your limitation percentage and
enter the result on line 45. For example, if
your limitation percentage on line 44a is 80%
and your itemized deduction on line 44 is
$4,000, enter $3,200 ($4,000 x 80% = $3,200)
on line 45.

If you checked filing status @ you can
divide your total itemized deduction any way
you want. It may be to your advantage to give
most or all of your itemized deduction to the
spouse with the higher income. If your
incomes are similar, divide your itemized
deduction so that both incomes are the same.

If you checked filing status (4), you must
claim only those deductions that apply to
your income and your spouse must claim
only those that apply to his or her income

(since you each filed a separate federal return).

Line 46

Subtract the amount on line 45 from the
amount on line 33 and enter the result.

Line 47

Exemptions

Enter the number of exemptions you claimed
on your federal return in the box on line 47
marked “Col. A”. Then enter in the white
space provided either the limitation
percentage from line 44a or 100% if you did
not have to complete line 44a. Multiply the
number of exemptions by $850 and muitiply
the result by the percentage on line 47. Enter
this amount on line 47a, column A.

If you checked filing status @ you each
must report your exemptions as though you
had filed separate federal returns. You cannot
claim any unused amount of your spouse’s
exemptions. Enter on line 47 in the boxes
marked “Col. A" and “Col. B" the

number of exemptions each of you would
have been entitled to claim on a separate
federal return. Enter either the limitation
percentage from line 44a or, if you did not
have to complete line 44a, enter 100% in the
white spaces provided. Figure your
exemptions separately by multiplying each
number of exemptions by $850 and
multiplying the result by the percentage
entered on line 47. Enter the amount of your
exemptions on line 47a in column A and the
amount of your spouse’s exemptions on line
47b in column B.

Line 48

New York net income

Enter your New York net income.

Subtract the amount on line 47a from the
amount on line 46 (and line 47b from line 46,
column B, if you checked filing status @)
and enter the resuit.

Line 49

Family adjustment

The family adjustment is a tax benefit for
married couples. If you checked filing status
@ or @ and your total New York income on
line 32, federal amount column, is $38,000
or less, find your family adjustment
according to your filing status. The

maximum family adjustment that you can
claim is $4,000. The family adjustment is
subject to the limitation percentage figured
on line 44a.

Note — If you checked filing status @ and
the net incomes of both spouses at line 48 fall
within the same tax bracket, there will be no
more of a tax advantage whether or not the
family adjustment is used.

Filing status O, @ and ® — Enter “0” on
line 49.

Filing status @ — If your total New York
income on line 32, federal amount column, is
$38,000 or less, find your family adjustment
using one of the tables below: otherwise enter
“0” on line 49.

It line 48 is less than $8,000, figure your
family adjustment using Table A. If line 48 is
$8,000 or more, find your family adjustment
using Table B.

- TABLEA - — )
Filing Status @

If the amount on line 32, tederal amount
column,is:

but not Enter to the right
more more of the dollar sign ($)
than than on line 49
$ 0... $31,000.. ..50% of line 48

.....50% of line 48 minus $ 500
32,000. .. .. 33,000. .. .. 50% of line 48 minus $1,000
..50% of line 48 minus $1,500
. .50% of line 48 minus $2,000
35,000. .. .. 36,000. . . .. 50% of line 48 minus $2,500
36,000. . . .. 37,000. .. .. 50% of tine 48 minus $3,000
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—  Family Adjustment Worksheet 7_1

Filing Status @
a. Enter the larger of column

A or B, line 48. a.
b. Enter the smaller of
column A or B, line 48. b.

¢. Subtract line b from line a. C.
d. 50% of line c.

e. Enter amount from Table C
below if the larger of column
A or B, line 48, is less than
$8,000, or the amount from
Table D if the larger of column
A or B, line 48, is $8,000 or

more. e.
f. Enter the smaller of
linesdore. f.

This is your family adjustment. Transfer this
amount to Form IT-203, line 49, in the space
to the right of the dollar sign ($), and multiply
by the limitation percentage, if any. Then enter
the amount as a subtraction in the column

(A or B) having the larger line 48 amount. Also,
enter the same amount as an addition in the
column with the smaller line 48 amount.

Use Table C if the larger of column A or B, line 48,
is less than $8,000. Use Table D if the larger of
column A or B, line 48, is $8,000 or more.

[—— TABLEC %l
Filing Status @

If the amount on line 32, federal amount

column, is:

but not
more  more Enter on
than than Worksheet line e

$ 0..$31,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B,

whichever is larger
.50% of line 48, column A or B,
whichever is larger, minus $500

31,000. . .32,000. .

. ) 32,000. . .33,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B
37,000.....38,000. . ... 50% of line 48 minus $3,500 ! ! . AN . p
38.000.. .. . . oo whichever is larger, minus $1,000
33,000. . .34,000. . .50% of line 48, colurmn A or B,
) ) ) whichever is larger, minus $1,500
Note: If 50% of line 48 is less than the minus 34,000. . .35,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B
amount, enter 0"’ on line 48. ' whichever is farger, minus $2,000
35,000. . .36,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B,
whichever is larger, minus $2,500
- ~—— — TABLEB - — — 7 36,000. . .37,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B,
Filing Status @ whichever is larger, minus $3,000
If the amount on line 32, federal amount 37,000...38,000. . .50% of line 48, column A or B,
column, is: whichever is larger, minus $3,500
but not Enter to the right 38,000........... 0"
more more of the dollar sign ($)
than than on line 49 Note: {f 50% of line 48 is less than the minus
amount, enter “0’”” on Worksheet line e.
$ 0.....8 31,000.... .. $4,000
31,000. . ..32,000..... .. 3,500 {—“ TABLE D
32,000, .. ... 33,000. ... .. 3,000 Filing Status (3)
:333888 : ggggg """" 5388 if the amount on line 32, federal amount
35.000. ... . 36.000. .. ... 1,500 column, Is:
36,000. ... . .. 37,000 1,000 but not
37,000. ... . . 38,000. ... . .. 500 more more Enter on
38,000........... ... ..., 0" than than Worksheet line e
$ 0... .. $ 31,000....... $4,000
31,000... ... . 32,000. . ... .. 3,500
Filing Status @ — If your total New York gg'ggg ------ givggg ------- 2'288
income on line 32, federal amount column, is 34,000 . ...35.000. . . 2000
$38,000 or less, find your family adjustment 35,000....... 36,000.... ... 1,500
using the worksheet below; otherwise enter 36,000....... 37,000....... 1,000
“0" on line 49. Saio00 B0 Yo [123
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Line 50

New York taxable income

Filing status @, @ and — Enter your
line 48 amount on line 50. This is your New
York taxable income.

Filing status @— Subtract the amount on
line 49 from the amount on line 48 and enter
the result. This is your New York taxable
income. (If you entered ‘0" on line 49, enter
your line 48 amount on line 50.)

Filing status@— If the amount on line 48,
column A, is larger than the amount on line
48, coluinn B, subtract the amount of your
family adjustment (line 49) from column A
and add it to column B. If the reverse is
true, subtract your family adjustment from
column B and add it to column A. This is
your New York taxable income. {If you
entered “0’* on line 49, enter your line 48
amount on line 50.)

Line 51

NY State tax or Maximum tax

Enter either your New York State tax or
your maximum tax on personal service
income on line 51. (If the amount on line 50
is more than $16,000, you may pay less tax
if you use the maximum tax rate.)

You should figure your tax both ways to see
which method gives you the lower tax.

State tax — Figure your state tax on the
amount on line 50 by using the New York
State Tax Rate Schedule on the back cover
of these instructions or on page 2 of Form
IT-203-ATT.

Example: You are a New York State
nonresident for the entire year. Your New
York taxable income (from line 50) is $14,000.

Figure your state tax as follows:
Taxon $13,500............ $720

Plus 9% of $500 . .. . . . ... .. + 45
Total New York
Statetax ............... $765

If you checked filing status @ enter only
your own tax in your column.

Maximum tax — If the line 50 amount is more
than $16,000, your tax may be limited to a

a maximum rate of 9.5 percent on your
personal service income. Generally, personal
service income includes wages, salaries,
professional fees, bonuses, commissions on
sales or on insurance premiums, tips and any
other amounts you received as compensation

rsonal services you provided. For more

information on who qualifies for this benefit,

see the instructions on page 2 of Form IT-250.

If you qualify, complete Form IT-250 and
transfer the amount on line 12 of Form 1T-250
to line 51 of your return. Attach Form 1T-250
to your return.

If you checked filing status @ and if you
both qualify for the maximum tax rate, you
must each complete a separate Form IT-250
and enter your own maximum tax in your
column on line 51 of Form 1T-203.

Lines 51a and 51b

If you entered your maximum tax on line 51,
transfer the amount from Form I1T-250, line 3
to Form IT-203, line 51a and the amount from
Form IT-250, line 9 to Form 1T-203. line 51b.

If you checked filing status @ and if you
both qualify for the maximum tax rate, you
must each transfer the line 3 and line 9
amounts from your own Form 1T-250 to your
column of Form IT-203 on lines 51a and 51b.
Attach both Forms IT-250 to your return.

Line 52

Tax on Family Adjustment —

Filing Status @ Only

If you checked filing status @ figure your
tax on the amount on line 49 by using the

Family Adjustment Tax Rate Schedule on the
back cover of these instructions or on page 2
of Form IT-203-ATT.

Line 53

Add lines 51 and 52 and enter the total.

Credits/Other Taxes
Line 54

Household credit

Enter your household credit. You qualify to
claim this credit if you checked the “No” box

for item B on the front page of your Form
IT-203 (Section 606(b) of the Tax Law) and if
you checked:

[ filing status O and your household gross
income is not over $28,000.

O filing status @, @, @ or ® and your
household gross income is not over $32,000.

Generally, household gross income is your
total New York income figured as if you were a
resident (line 32, federal amount column).
However, if you have tax preference items, you
must also include any minimum taxable
income, figured as if you were a resident,
reported on Form 1T-220, Minimum Income
Tax. For more information on tax preference
items, see Other Forms You May Have to Use
(Form 1T-220) on page 6 of these
instructions.

Filing status @ — Complete Worksheet | to
figure your household credit.

Filing status @, @, @ or ® — Complete
Worksheet Il to figure your household credit.

If you checked filing status @ or @, you have
to combine your household gross incomes,
New York minimum taxable incomes and
exemptions to figure your household credit.

I— Household Credit Worksheet | —j

Filing status ©

a. Enter your total New York income
(from Form 17-203, fine 32, federal
amount column) ............... a.

b. If you have to file Form IT-220 (see
page 6), enter your New York
minimum taxable income, if any,

from Form IT-220, line 27........ b
c. Household gross income
(add linesa &b)............... Co

If the amount on line ¢ above is:

Over But not over Enter on line d:
$ 0...... $5000............... $75
5,000...... 6,000............... 60
6,000. .. ... 7000............... 50
7.000. ... .. 20,000............... 45
20,000. ... .. 25000............... 40
25,000. ... .. 28,000............... 20
28,000 ............... No credit is allowed;
enter ‘0" on Form
IT-203, line 54.
d. Enter amount from table above . . .. d.
e. Enter your tax from Form [T-203,
lineS3 ...... ... .. .. e.

f. Enter the total of any credits
claimed on Form IT-203-ATT, lines

1,2and3.... ... ... fo__
g. Subtract line f from linee ........ g.
h. Enter the amount on line d or

line g, whichever is smaller.. .. ... h.

This is your household credit. Transfer this
amount to Form 1T-203, page 2. line 54.



Household Credit Worksheet Il —‘
Filing status @, @, @ and ®
a. Enter your total New York income
(from Form 1T-203, line 32, federal
amount column) ... .. ... a.

b. If you have to file Form {T-220 (see
Page 6), enter your New York
minimum taxable income
(combined amounts for filing
status @ or @), if any, from

Form IT-220, line 27. ... ....... b.
¢. Household gross income
(add linesaand b) .......... c.

d. Enter amount from following table. .d.

e. Enter amount from
following table . . . .. e.

f. Enter number of
exemptions
(combined
number for filing
status @ or @) from
Form 1T-203, line 47 . .f.

g. Multiply line e by line f and enter

result. ... .. L g.
h.Add linesdandg ........... .. h.
If the amount on line ¢ above is:
Enter on:
Over But not over lined linee
$ 0...... $5000 ........ $75 ...8$15
5,000...... 6,000 ...... .. 60 ....15
6,000... ... 7,000 ........ 50 ....15
7,000. ... .. 20,000 ....... 45 .. ..15
20,000. . .. .. 22,000 ........ 50 ....10
22,000. ... .. 25,000 ........ 40 ....10
25,000. ... .. 28,000 ........ 3 ... 5
28,000. ... .. 32,000 ........ 15 ... .. 5
32,000............... No credit is allowed;
enter “0" on Form
1T-203, line 54.

Filing status @ and ® complete column A
below.

Filing status @ and @ complete column A
below for yourself and column B for your

spouse. Col. A Col.B

i. Enter your tax from
Form IT-208, line 53 i.

j- Enter the total of
any credits claimed
on Form IT-203-ATT,
lines1,2and3 ... |.

k. Subtract line j from
line i and enter
result . ... . . ... ke

I. Filing status @ or
® — enter amount
online hor k,
whichever is
smaller.

Filing status @ or

@ — enter in each
column 50% of line

h or 100% of line k,
whichever is

smaller .. ... . .... L

The amount(s) on line | is your household
credit. Transfer the line | amount(s) to
Form 1T-203, page 2, line 54, column A,
and also to line 54, column B, if filing
status 3 .

You cannot claim any unused part of your
spouse’s household credit.

Line 55

Subtract the amount on line 54 from the
amount on line 53 and enter the result.

Line 56

Other NY State credits

Enter the total amount of other New York
credits from Form 1T-203-ATT, Schedule OC,
line 7. These are: accumulation distribution
credit, New York State child and dependent
care credit, investment credit and retail
enterprise credit, special additional mortgage
recording tax credit, solar and wind

energy credit carryover and the research and
development credit. For more information, see
Instructions for Form [T-203-ATT, Schedule
OC, on page 22.

Line 57

Subtract the amount on line 56 from the
amount of line 55 and enter the resuit.

Line 58

Other NY State taxes

Enter the total amount of other New York
State taxes from Form IT-203-ATT, Schedule
OT, line 13. These are: minimum income tax,
separate tax on lump sum distributions,
separate tax on PASS funds, add-back of
investment credit and retail enterprise credit
on early dispositions and add-back of
research and development credit on early
dispositions. For more information, see
Instructions for Form IT-203-ATT, Schedule
OT, on page 23.

Line 59

Total New York State tax

Add lines 57 and 58 and enter the total on
line 59.

Lines 60 through 62 apply only to City
of New York taxes. If you are not subject
to City of New York taxes, do not fill in
these lines.

Line 60

City of New York nonresident earnings tax

Complete line 60 only if you are subject to
the City of New York nonresident earnings
tax.

If you were not a City of New York resident
but earned wages or conducted a trade or
business there (either as an individual or a
member of a partnership), you are subject
to the City of New York nonresident
earnings tax. Limited partners are not
considered to receive net earnings from
self-employment since they perform no
services for the partnership.

For more information, see page 24. Figure
your nonresident earnings tax on Form
NYC-203, City of New York Nonresident
Earnings Tax Return, and enter the tax on
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line 60. Attach Form NYC-203 to the back
of Form IT-203.

Line 61

City of Yonkers nonresident earnings tax

Complete line 61 only if you are subject to
the City of Yonkers nonresident earnings
tax. If you were not a City of Yonkers
resident but earned wages or conducted a
trade or business there (either as an
individual or a member of a partnership),
you are subject to the City of Yonkers
nonresident earnings tax. Figure your
nonresident earnings tax on Form Y-203,
City of Yonkers Nonresident Earnings Tax
Return, and enter the tax on line 61. Attach
Form Y-203 to the back of Form IT-203.

Line 62

Total City of NY and City of Yonkers taxes

Add lines 60 and 61 and enter the total on
line 62.

Line 63

Total NY State, City of New York and
City of Yonkers taxes

Add lines 59 and 62 and enter the total on
line 63.

Payments
Line 64

NY State tax withheld

Enter on this line your total New York
State tax withheld as shown on your wage
and tax statement(s). New York State Form
IT-2102 or federal Form W-2.

If you checked filing status @ enter-your
combined New York State tax withheld j
column A. If you checked filing status é
enter your separate amounts in columns A
and B.

Attach Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statement(s) to your return. If New York
State tax was withheld from annuities,
pensions, retirement pay or IRA payments,
attach Copy 2 of Form IT-2102P or federal
Form W-2P to your return.

Line 65 applies only to the City of New York
nonresident earnings tax. If you are not
subject to this tax, do not fill in this line.

Line 65

City of NY tax withheld

Enter your total City of New York tax
withheld as shown on your wage and tax
statement(s).

If you checked filing status @) . enter your
combined City of New York tax withheld in
column A. If you checked filing status (3,
enter your separate amounts in columns A
and B.

Attach Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statement(s) to your return. @
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If City of New York tax was withheld from
annuities, pensions, retirement pay or IRA
payments, attach Copy 2 of Form 1T-2102P
or federal Form W-2P to your return.

Line 66 applies only to the City of Yonkers
nonresident earnings tax. if you are not
subject to this tax, do not fill in this line.

Line 66

City of Yonkers tax withheld

Enter your total City of Yonkers tax
withheld as shown on your wage and tax
statement(s).

If you checked filing status @ , enter your
combined City of Yonkers tax withheld in
column A. If you checked filing status .
enter your separate amounts in columns A
and B.

Attach Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statement(s) to your return.

If City of Yonkers tax was withheld from
annuities, pensions, retirement pay or IRA
payments, attach Copy 2 of Form IT-2102P
or federal Form W-2P to your return.

Line 67

Estimated tax paid/Paid with 1T-370

Enter on this line the total of your estimated
tax payments for New York State, City of New
York and City of Yonkers. Also, include on
line 67 the amount you paid with Form IT-
370, Application for Automatic Extension of
Time to File.

[0 Estimated tax paid - Include on line
67 the total of your 1986 estimated tax
payments (include your last installment,
even if paid in 1987) and any
overpayment from your 1985 return that
was applied to your 1986 estimated tax.

If you checked filing status @ but made
separate 1986 estimated tax payments
(Form 1T-2105), enter in column A your
combined total estimated tax paid.

If you checked filing status (3) and made
separate estimated tax payments for 1986,
enter your separate payments in columns
A and B. If you made joint estimated tax
payments, you can divide your total
payments any way you both agree upon.
Do not include any amounts you paid for
the City of New York unincorporated
business tax. File the City of New York
unincorporated business tax directly with
the City of New York Finance
Administration.

' Paid with Form 1T-370 - If you filed Form
IT-370 to get an extension of time to file
Form 1T-203, NYC-203 and Y-203, include
on line 67 the amount you paid with Form
IT-370. Attach a copy of Form IT-370 to
your return.
if you checked filing status @ but filed
separate Forms |T-370, enter in column

e combined amount paid with your
arate Forms |T-370.

If you checked filing status ® and you filed
separate Forms |T-370, enter your separate
amounts paid in columns A and B. If you
filed a joint Form |T-370, you can divide
your total payment any way you both agree
upon.

Remember to attach a copy of Form IT-370 to
your return.

Line 68

Total payments

Add lines 64 through 67 and enter your total
tax payments on line 68.

Line 69

Payments applied to tax

If you checked filing status @ @ @ or
_enter in column A, line 69, the same
amount you entered in column A, line 68.

If you checked filing status @ you can
divide your total payments any way you want
between columns A and B.

Refund/
Amount You Owe

Apply your payments (line 69) against your
total tax (line 63) to see whether you have an
overpayment or a balance due.

If you checked filing status @ the New York
State Tax Department will automatically apply
one spouse’s overpayment against the other's
palance due unless the spouse who has the
overpayment attaches to the return a signed
statement asking that the overpayment be
refunded only to him or her.

Line 70

Overpayment

If line 63 is less than line 69, subtract line
63 from line 69 and enter your
overpayment on line 70. You can have ali
or part of this amount refunded to you. Any
remainder can be applied to your 1987
estimated tax. Any overpayment credited
toward your estimated tax cannot be
refunded after April 15, 1987.

Line 71

Refund

Enter the amount of overpayment from line 70
that you want refunded to you. You must file
a return to get a refund. The Tax Department
will not refund an amount of one doliar or less
unless you attach to your return a signed
statement asking for it.

If you checked filing status @ the Tax
Department will issue one refund check in
both names, unless one of ycu attaches a
signed statement asking that you each
receive your own refund.

If one column shows an overpayment that is
larger than the other column’s balance due,
subtract the balance due from the
overpayment and transfer the remaining
overpayment to line 71.

Collection of debts from your refund —
We will keep all or part of your refund if
you owe a federal, New York State, City of
New York or City of Yonkers tax liability,

past due spousal or child support in New
York State or if a judgment was filed
against you because you have not repaid a
student loan guaranteed by the New York
State Higher Education Services
Corporation or a national defense/national
direct, health professions or nursing
student loan provided to students at state-
operated units of the State University of
New York or the City University of New
York. Any amount over your debt will be
refunded.

Disclaiming of spouse’s debt — If you
checked filing status @ or @) and you do
not want to apply your part of the refund to
your spouse’s debt because you are not
liable for it, attach a signed statement to
that effect to your return and ask for your
part of the refund. You cannot amend your
return to disclaim your spouse’s debt.

if you have any questions about whether
you owe a federal, New York State, City of
New York or City of Yonkers tax liability,
past-due spousal or child support, whether
you have repaid your HESC guaranteed
student loan, or about the amount owed,
call or write to the agency shown below.

O For a federal tax liability —

(518) 472-3608

I.R.S. Special Procedures Function
Leo O'Brien Federal Building
Clinton and North Pearl Streets
Albany, NY 12207

(718) 780-6636

Internal Revenue Service
PO. Box 911 G.PO.
Brooklyn, NY 11202

(716) B46-5439

Internal Revenue Service

PO. Box 266 Niagara Square Station
Buffalo, NY 14202

(212) 264-1140

Internal Revenue Service
Attn: C: FS 3rd Floor

PO. Box 2827

New York, NY 10277

] For a New York State, City of New York or
City of Yonkers tax liability —

1-800-835-3554

outside NYS (518) 482-0683
NYS Tax Compliance Division
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227-0125

[ For past-due spousal or child support—

(518) 473-8029

NYS Office of Child Support Enforcement
Special Collections Unit

PO. Box 125

One Commerce Plaza

Albany, NY 12260

] For HESC guaranteed student loans—

(518) 474-0991
NYSHESC

99 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12225



(] For State University student loans—

(518) 474-3781

Student Loan Service Center
State University of New York
SUNY Plaza

Albany, NY 12246

[.! For City University student loans —

(212) 397-5682

City University of New York
Financial Aid Accounting
555 West 57th Street

New York, NY 10019

Line 72

NY State, City of New York and City of
Yonkers estimated tax for 1987

Enter the amount of overpayment from line
70 that you want credited to your New York
State, City of New York and City of Yonkers
estimated tax for 1987. Do not include any
amount that you claimed as a refund on
line 71.

Line 73

Amount you owe

if line 69 is less than line 63, subtract line 69
from line 63 and enter the amount you owe
on line 73.

If you owe more than one dollar, include
full payment with your return. (You do not
have to pay one dollar or less.) Make your
check or money order payable to “NY
STATE INCOME TAX"” and write your
social security number and ‘1986 income
tax” on it. Do not send cash. If you also
have to pay an underpayment of estimated
tax penalty (line 74), send one check or
money order for the total.

If you checked filing status @ you can add
your balances due and send one check or
money order for the total.

If one column shows a balance due that is
larger than the other column'’s overpayment,
subtract the overpayment from the balance
due and send a check or money order for the
net balance due.

Do not include any penalty or interest
amounts on line 73. If you include
penalties or interest with your payment,
identify and enter these amounts in the
right margin of page 2 of Form 1T-203 (but
not underpayment of estimated tax penality,
see line 74).

Line 74

Underpayment of estimated tax

If tine 73 is at least $100 and, in addition,
represents more than 20% of the tax shown
on your return, or you failed to make
payments of estimated tax or underpaid your
estimated tax liability for any payment period,
you may owe a penalty. Attach Form
1T-2105.9, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
Individuals, to Form IT-203 to show how you
figured the penalty or which exceptions

apply. If you owe a penalty, check the box at
line 74 and enter the amount of the penalty in
the space provided. For more information, see
the instructions for Form 1T-2105.9

Do not include any other penalty or interest
amounts on line 74. If you include penalties or
interest with your payment, identify and enter
these amounts in the right margin of page 2 of
Form IT-203.

Now continue with Step 4 below

Step 4

Check the figures on your return.

Step 5

Complete the top of your return.

Mailing label — Remove the peel-off label
from the cover of your packet and place it in
the name and address box at the top of
Form IT-203. Check the label to make sure
the information on it is complete and
correct. The series of numbers along the top
of the label shows your social security
information, the New York State form you
filed last year, and a mailing code for the
post office.

O If your name (or your spouse’s name) or
address is wrong, cross it out and make
the corrections directly on the label.

0O 1f your social security number is wrong,
cross it out and enter the correct
information in the white space at the top of
Form IT-203. (Your social security number
is printed in the upper left-hand corner of
the label.) If this information is not on your
label, enter it in the white space at the top
of Form IT-203.

Occupation(s) — Enter your occupation in
the space at the top of Form IT-203. If you are
married, also enter your spouse’s occupation.

If you do not have a mailing label, enter all of

the following information on the lines at the

top of page 1:

0O Name and address (both names if filing a
joint or combined return)

O Social security number(s)

0O Occupation(s)

Step 6

Sign and date your return at the bottom
of page 2

You must sign and date your return. If you
are married and filing a joint or combined
return, you must both sign it. Your return
cannot be processed if you do not sign it.
You should have a copy of your return and
attachments and keep them in a safe place
if you need to refer to them later. If someone
prepares your return for you, be sure to get
a copy for your records.

If the return is for someone who died and
there is no surviving spouse to sign it, the
name and address of the person signing it
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must be printed or typed below the
signature.

Paid preparer must also sign your return

If you pay someone to prepare your return,
the paid preparer must aiso sign it and fill in
the other blanks in the paid preparer’s area
of your return. A person who prepares your
return and does not charge you, should not
fill in the paid preparer’s areas.

Step 7

Attachments

[ Staple Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statement(s) and any other forms and
schedules you used to the back of your
return at the upper left corner. (Please
staple once only.) Staple them in the
following order:

1 Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statements, face out

2 Form IT-203-ATT

3 Other New York State forms in form
number order

4 Any other schedules you used or
prepared yourself, including copies of
federal schedules

O If you owe any tax, staple your check
or money order to the top of the
front of Form IT-203.

O If you have to file Form 1T-201 due to
a change of resident status, attach it on
top of your Form |T-203. If you owe any
tax, staple your check to the Form IT-201.

CJ If you have to write to us, attach your
jetter to the front of Form IT-203.

Other attachments

IT-203-ATT

Withholding tax
statements

IT-203

Check or
money order

Step 8
Checklist

If your return cannot be processed, it will be
returned to you. This may delay your refund
or subject you to late filing penalties. Before
you mail your return, a quick check will help
you avoid common errors that cause
processing problems.

Did you:

[} Attach your peel-off label? If you do not
have a label, did you enter your name(s),
address, social security number(s), and
occupation(s) at the top of your return?

[J Check your filing status box?
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[ Check the Yes or No box at item B?

{71 Figure your limitation percentage on line
44a and enter it on lines 45 and 47a and,
if necessary, on lines 47b and 49?

{1 Check the standard or itemized
deduction box on line 45?

(0 Enter the number of exemptions in the
boxes on line 47?

{1 Claim any adjustments or credits that
you may qualify for?

[ Use the maximum tax rate, if you
qualify? (See line 51 instructions.)

'} Sign your return? (Both husband and wife
must sign a joint or combined return.)

[ Attach Copy 2 of your wage and tax
statement(s)?

[J Attach Form IT-203-ATT, if you are
subject to other NY State taxes, claimed
other NY State credits or are required to
complete Schedule A, Allocation of
Wage and Salary Income to New York
State?

(7] Make your check or money order payable
to ““NY State Income Tax’’ for the full
amount of any balance due?

Write your social security number and
‘1986 income tax’’ on your check or
money order?

Step 9

Use the preaddressed mailing envelope.

Use the preaddressed envelope that came
with your tax packet. If you are claiming a
refund, mark an “X" in the box on the front of
the envelope. If you do not have a
preaddressed envelope, address your
envelope

For refund returns:
New York State Income Tax
W.A. Harriman Campus — REFUND '86
Albany, NY 12227-0125
For all other returns:
New York State Income Tax

W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227-0125

Instructions for Form IT-203-ATT

Summary of Other
Credits and Taxes

If you are claiming any of the other New York
State credits or are subject to any of the other
New York State taxes listed below, complete
Form IT-203-ATT and attach it to your
nonresident return, Form 1T-203.

If you need more forms or schedules, see
Forms and Assistance on page 7 of these
instructions.

Columns A and B

Form IT-203-ATT has two columns where
entries can be made. If you checked filing
status , enter your own credits and taxes
in the same columns that you used on Form
IT-203. All others use column A only.

Schedule OC
Other NY State Credits

If you are claiming any of the New York State
credits listed below, fill in Schedule OC.
These credits do not apply to the City of New
York or City of Yonkers nonresident earnings
tax. New York State does not allow any
credits similar to those allowed under federal
law for the elderly, earned income, political
contributions, etc.

Line 1
Accumulation distribution credit

Enter the amount of accumulation distribution
credit. If you are a beneficiary of a trust who
received an accumulation distribution, you
may be allowed a credit for New York State
incomes taxes paid by the trust (Sections 621

and §40 of the Tax Law). Attach a schedule
m ing how you figured your credit.

Line 2

NY State child and dependent care credit

Enter the amount of New York State child and
dependent care credit (Section 606(c) of the
Tax Law). You can claim this credit if you
were allowed a child and a dependent care
credit on your federal income tax return.
Enter in the boxes on line 2 the number of
qualifying persons cared for in 1986 and the
amount of federal child and dependent care
credit. You can claim 20 percent of your
federal credit multiplied by your limitation
percentage, but not more than the tax shown
on Form IT-203, line 53, less any
accumulation distribution credit claimed on
line 1 of Form IT-203-ATT. Use the following
worksheet to figure your New York State child
and dependent care credit.

Child and Dependent Care Credit ——I
r— Worksheet

a. Enter your federal credit
for child and dependent
care expenses

b. Enter 20% of line a b.

c. Tentative credit. Multiply
line b by limitation per-
centage from line 44a
of Form IT-203 c.

d. Enter your tax from
Form 1T-203, line 53 d.

e. Enter any credit from
line 1 of Schedule OC e.

f. Subtract line e from

line d f.
g. Enter the amount of

line corlinef,

whichever is smaller g.

This is your New York State child and
dependent care credit.

Transfer the amount on line g to line 2 of
Schedule OC. Also, transfer the amount on
line a (federal credit) to line 2 in the box to
the right of the doliar sign ($).

If you checked filing status @ transfer your
credit to the column of the spouse having
the smaller New York taxable income (see
Form IT-203, line 50).

Line 3

Investment credit and

retail enterprise credit

Enter the amount of investment credit and
retail enterprise credit. If you produce
goods by manufacturing, processing,
mining, agriculture or other similar
activities, you can claim a tax credit for
investment in certain depreciable or
recovery property and for qualified
rehabilitative expenditures on property
located in New York State (Section 606(a)
of the Tax Law). To figure this credit, fill in
Form 1T-212, Investment Credit and Retail
Enterprise Credit, and attach it to your
nonresident return. For more information,
see the instructions for Form IT-212.

Note: You can claim the investment credit and
retail enterprise credit or the research and
development credit, but not both. For more
information on the research and development
credit, see line 6 instructions.

Line 4

Special additional mortgage recording
tax credit

Enter the amount of special additional
mortgage recording tax paid to record a
mortgage for the purchase of residential
property (located in New York State)
consisting of more than six dwelling units
or the purchase of business property
(located in New York State). If you are the
lender, enter the amount of special
additional mortgage recording tax you paid
to record the mortgage for residential
property (located in New York State)
containing six dwelling units or less with
separate cooking facilities. This credit does
not apply to the tax paid to record the
mortgage on a single residential dwelling
unit where you are the purchaser. If you
are claiming this credit, see additions A-5
and A-6 on page 12 of these instructions.



Partners — Include your distributive share
of the special additional mortgage
recording tax credit from Form IT-204.

Electing New York S corporation
shareholders — Include your prorated
share of the S corporation’s special
additional mortgage recording tax from
Form CT-3S.

Line5

Solar and wind energy credit carryover

Enter the amount of solar and wind energy
credit carryover. This carryover can be
claimed only if you previously figured the
credit as a New York State resident and
did not use all of the credit on your prior
tax returns. 1985 was the last year that
taxpayers filing on a calendar-year basis
could claim this credit. Section 606(c)(2)(6)
provides that any unused credit can be
carried over to the following year or years.
Taxpayers carrying over any unused credit
from 1985 to 1986 should attach a copy of
their 1985 Form 11-218, Solar and Wind
Energy Credit, to their 1986 return.

Line 6

Research and development credit

Enter the amount of research and
development credit. If you use certain
property for research and development
purposes in the experimental or laboratory
sense, you can claim this credit. Qualified
property must be located in New York
State and be depreciable or recovery
property purchased after June 30, 1982 for
use in a trade or business (Section 606(h)
of the Tax Law). To figure this credit, fill in
Form IT-217, Research and Development
Credit, and attach it to your return. For
more information, see IT-217-, Instructions
for Form IT-217.

Note: You can claim the research and
development credit or the investment credit
and retail enterprise credit but not both. For
more information on the investment credit
and retail enterprise credit, see line 3
instructions.

Line7

Total

Add lines 1 through 6; enter the total on line
7, and transfer it to Form IT-203, line 56.

If you checked filing status @ transfer the
line 7 totals to the same columns of Form IT-
203, line 56. You cannot apply any of your

unused credits against the tax of your spouse.

Schedule OT
Other NY State Taxes

If you are subject to any of the New York
State taxes listed below, you must complete
Schedule OT.

Line 8

NY State minimum income tax

Enter your New York State minimum
income tax. If you had tax preference
items from New York State sources (see
Form 1 T-220, line 21) totaling more than
your allowable specific deduction, you may
be subject to the New York State minimum
income tax. Complete Form iT-220 and
attach it to your nonresident return. For
more information, see 1T-220-l, Instructions
for Form IT-220.

Line 9

NY State separate tax on lump sum
distributions

Enter your New York State separate tax on
lump sum distributions which were wholly or
partly derived from or connected with New
York sources. If you received a lump sum
distribution from a qualified retirement plan,
which is wholly or partly derived from or
connected with New York State sources, and
you have elected the special ten-year
averaging method of figuring your federal tax
on the ordinary income portion of this lump
sum distribution, figure your New York State
separate tax on Form IT-230 or IT-230.1 and
attach it to your Form IT-203. For more
information, see I1T-230-|, Instructions for
Forms IT-230 and I1T-230.1.

Line 10

NY State separate tax on PASS funds

Enter your New York State separate tax on
PASS (parents’ and students’ savings) funds.
A nonresident is subject to this separate tax
on PASS funds if he is a former resident of
New York State who created a PASS fund
while he was a resident and the fund
terminates because it no longer has any
eligible beneficiaries, or the creator of the
fund died without having included a provision
in his will or made an inter vivos (living) trust
provision to continue the fund after his death.
Fill in Form 1T-270 and attach it to your Form
1T-203. For more information, see Publication
320, Tuition Deduction and the PASS Plan.

Line 11

Add-back of investment credit and retail
enterprise credit on early dispositions

Enter the amount of add-back of investment
credit and retail enterprise credit on early dis-
positions of investment credit and retail
enterprise credit property. If you dispose of
property on which an investment credit and
retail enterprise credit has been taken or if the
property ceases to be in qualified use before
its useful life or specified holding period ends,
you must add-back in the year of disposition
the difference between the investment credit
and retail enterprise credit taken and the
investment credit and retail enterprise credit
allowed. Complete Form 1T-212 and attach it
to your nonresident return.
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Line 12

Add-back of research and development
credit on early dispositions

Enter the amount of add-back of research
and development credit on early dispositions
of property. If you dispose of property on
which the research and development credit
has been taken, or if the property was
removed from qualified use before its useful
life or specified holding period ends, you
must add-back in the year of disposition the
difference between the credit claimed and the
credit allowed for actual use. Complete Form
IT-217, Research and Development Credit,
and attach it to your return.

Line 13

Total

Add lines 8 through 12; enter the total on line
13; and transfer it to Form 1T-203, line 58.

If you checked filing status (3), transfer the
amounts in each column on line 13 to the
same columns on Form IT-203, line 58.

Line 14

Investment credit and retail enterprise
credit refund for new businesses

Enter the amount of investment credit and
retail enterprise credit refund for new
businesses. If your new business qualifies,
you can claim a refund for the amount of your
current year’s unused investment credit and
retail enterprise credit instead of carrying it
over to next year. For more information, see
IT-212-1, Instructions for Form IT-212.

Important: Also include the amount of your
investment credit and retail enterprise credit
refund for new businesses on Form 1T-203, in
the total for line 64. On the dotted line next to
line 64 write “ICR” and show the amount.

Line 15

Net investment credit available for
carryover to 1987

Enter the amount of net credit available for
carryover to 1986 from Form iT-212, page 2,
line 14(c).

Schedule A — Page 2

Allocation of wage and salary income to
New York State

Complete this scheduile if you earned income
inside and outside New York State, and your

income is not based on the volume of
business transacted.

Failure to complete Schedule A and attach it
to your Form IT-203 will result in a delay in
the processing of your return.

For more information about Schedule A,

see page 8 of these instructions.



T-203-1 (1986) New York State Tax Rate Schedule

If amount on Form IT-203, line 50, is:

over but not over Enter on Form IT-203, line 51:
$ 0 $1,000 2% of amount on line 50
1,000 3,000 $ 20 plus 3% of amount over $ 1,000
3,000 5,000 80 plus 4% 7 " " 3,000
5,000 7,000 160 plus 5% " " " 5,000
7,000 9,000 260 plus 6% ” " " 7,000
9,000 11,000 380 plus 7% " " " 9,000
11,000 13,500 520 plus 8% " " " 11,000
13,500 16,000 720 plus 9% ” " " 13,500
* 16,000 18,500 945 plus  10% ” " " 16,000
18,500 21,000 1,195 plus  11% ” " " 18,500
21,000 23,500 1470 plus 12% ” " 21,000
23,500 26,000 1,770 plus  13% ” " " 23,500
26,000 ... ... 2,095 plus 13.5% " " 26,000

*If the amount on Form 1T-203, line 50, is more than $16,000, you may be entitled to a New York State
maximum tax rate of 9.5% on personal service income. See page 18 of these instructions and Form
IT-250.

You do not owe any New York State income tax if you were a New York State nonresident for the
entire taxable year and you checked:

] Filing status(1)and your Form 1T-203, line 32, federal amount, is $4,000 or less.
OJ Filing status or and your Form IT-203, line 32, federal amount, is $8,000 or less.
U] Filing status or and your combined Form [T-203, line 32, federal amounts, are $8,000 or less.

Family Adjustment Tax Rate Schedule

If amount on Form IT-203, line 49 is:
over but not over Enter on Form 1T-203, line 52:
$ 0 $1,000 2% of amount on line 49
1,000 3,000 $20 plus 3% of amount over $1,000
3,000 4,000 $80 plus 4% of amount over $3,000
Mail Your Return Telephone Assistance
Mail your return in the pre- For forms and publications, in NY State only, call toll-free 1-800-462-8100.
addressed envelope that came From areas outside NY State, call (518) 438-1073.

with your tax packet. If you do

not have one, address your For information, in NY State only, call toll-free 1-800-342-3536.

From areas outside NY State, call (518) 438-8581.

envelope —
For refund information only, please wait until after April 15 to call toll-free, in NY
For refund returns: State only, 1-800-443-3200.
New York State Income Tax From areas outside NY State, call (518) 438-6777
W.A. Harriman Campus —
REFUND ! 86 P Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Albany, NY 12227-0125 If you need to write, please address your letter to:

For all other returns: NY State Tax .Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
New York State Income Tax W.A. Harriman Campus
W.A. Harriman Campus Albany, NY 12227-0125
Albany, NY 12227-0125




