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Instructions for Form CT1-186-P

1986

Report of Gross Income

Article 9, Section 186-a, Tax Law

General Information

Gross operating income must be reported for the 1986 calendar
year even if the taxpayer maintains its records and reports to
the IRS using a fiscal accounting period.

The annual report is due on March 15 following the close of
each calendar year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday or
legal holiday in any year, the report is due on the next
business day.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business’ name, ID
number, mailing address, business address, telephone number
or owner/officer information, complete the enclosed Form
DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If no form is
enclosed, call 1-800-462-8100 (from out of state (518) 438-1073)
to request one.

Who Must File Form CT-186-P

The following are required to file Form CT-186-P: Every utility
doing business in New York State that is subject to the
supervision of the State Department of Public Service or
Department of Transportation and every person doing business
in New York State who is subject to the State Department of
Public Service and who sells or furnishes gas, electricity,
steam, water, refrigerator, telephone or telegraph service by
means of mains, pipes or wires for ultimate consumption or
use by the purchaser in this state. The word person includes
persons, corporations, companies, associations, joint stock
associations, copartnerships, estates, assignees of rents,
persons acting in a fiduciary capacity, and persons, their
assignees, lessees, trustees or receivers, appointed by any
court whatsoever, that are subject to the supervision of the
State Department of Public Service. Utilities whose gross
income is taxable include, but are not limited to, street surface,
rapid transit, subway and elevated railroads, gas, electric,
steam, water, telephone, telegraph, bridge, express, transfer,
freight terminal companies and nonoperating railroads that
lease their property to others.

A utility subject to the provision of Section 186-a which has
gross income of less than $500 for the taxable period ending
December 31 is exempt from the payment of the tax under this
section. An exempt utility must still file a report.

Foreign Corporations - Maintenance Fee and License
Fee

Every foreign corporation authorized to do business in New
York State must pay an annual maintenance fee of $200. This
fee may be applied against the taxes due under Article 9,
except the license fee imposed by Section 181. If the total tax
(excluding the installment for 1987 payable with your returns on
Form CT-186, CT-186-P, CT-183 or CT-184) is less than $200, you
may apply any payment made with this report against the $200
maintenance fee. See Form CT-186, CT-183 or CT-184 for
specific instructions.

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee. See
Form CT-240, Report of License Fee.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Report

A request for an extension of time to file a tax report must be
filed on Form CT-5.9 on or before March 16, 1987. An extension
of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return does not
extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-P.

Declaration and Payment of Estimated Tax (Sec.
197-a, 197-b)

A taxpayer whose tax in the preceding year exceeds $1,000
must pay a mandatory first installment equal to 25% of the tax
imposed for the preceding year.

In addition to the mandatory installment, a taxpayer whose New
York State tax liability can reasonably be expected to exceed
$1,000 must make a declaration of its estimated tax for the
current year. The declaration of estimated tax (Form CT-400)
must be filed on or before June 15 each year.

The estimated tax shall be reduced by the mandatory first
installment paid with the preceding year’s tax report and the
balance paid in three equal installments due on June 15,
September 15 and December 15.

Tax on Gains Derived from Certain Real Property
Transfers (Article 31-B, Section 1449-a)

Every corporation with an interest in real property in New York
State must keep a record of the transfer of its stock and report
annually every transfer of a “controlling” interest in its stock
and any other information that may be required to enforce this
article.

Controlling interest of a corporation is either 50 percent or
more of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock,
or 50 percent or more of the capital, profits or beneficial
interest in such voting stock.

All corporations must answer both questions on page 1 of Form
CT-186-P. If the answer to both questions is yes, attach a rider
providing the following information:

® Name, address and identification number of the new
controlling stockholder. (Use social security number for
individuals and federal employer identification number
for corporations.)

® Date transfer was made.
® | ocation of real property.

Specific Instructions
Schedule A

L_ine‘ 2b - If the tax on this report exceeds $1000 a mandatory
first lpstallment is required for the period following that covered
by this report. Enter 25% of the tax shown at line 1.

_Line 4- Enter the total of all payments of estimated tax
including overpayment carryover from preceding periods.

Line 6 - Interest - if the tax is not paid on or before the due
date (without regard to an extension of time) interest must be
paid on the amount of the underpayment from the due date to
the date paid. The interest rate should be determined in
accordance with Part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Line 7a - Additional Charges - Additional changes for late
filing are computed on the amount of tax less any payment
made on or before the prescribed due date.

a. If a return is not filed when due or if the application for
extension is invalid add to the tax 5% per month up to
25% (Section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If a return is not filed within 60 days of the prescribed
due date the addition to tax cannot be less than the
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be
shown as tax (Section 1085(a)(1)(B)).
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¢. In case of failure to pay the tax shown on a return, add
to the tax, 2% per month up to 25% (Section
1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in
b above (Section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing
and/or payment (Section 1085).

Schedule B

Gross income includes receipts, without any deductions, from
the following:

® Sales made or services rendered for ultimate use by a
purchaser in this state.

® Profits from sales of securities, real property and
personal property.

® Dividends, interest, royalties derived from New York
sources (except those received from a corporation, a
majority of whose voting stock is owned by the
taxpaying utility).

® Profits (except sales for resale and rental) from any
transaction within the state.

® Chapter 29 of the Laws of 1985 amended section
186-a.2-a of the Tax Law regarding the treatment of
telephone and telegraph corporations. This amendment
extends indefinitely the requirement that a telephone
and telegraph corporation must include in its
determination of gross income or gross operating
income, in addition to receipts and profits from sales
and services within this state, that portion of revenues
from interstate and foreign transmission service
attributable to New York State. Only those revenues
from interstate and foreign transmission services which
are received because of sales made or services
rendered for ultimate consumption or use by the
purchaser, must be aliocated and included in the
taxable base under section 186-a. The allocation of
gross operating income by a telephone or telegraph
corporation must be computed on Schedule E of Form
CT-186-P. Allocation rules for receipts from interstate and
foreign transmission service are described in
TSB-M-82(6)C.

Schedule E

The allocation for telephone and telegraph corporations shall
be based on gross operating revenue from transmission
services performed wholly within New York State plus the
portion of revenue from interstate and foreign transmission
services attributable to New York State. There are two
nonelective rules used to determine the New York State portion
of gross operating revenue from interstate and foreign

transmissions. (See TSB-M-82(6)C). If you also file Form CT-184
use the same figures in this schedule as used in Form CT-184,

Schedule C.

Line 37 - Enter all gross operating income derived from
activities wholly within New York State. This will
normally be the amount reported to the New York
State Public Service Commission as gross

operating income derived from intrastate activities.

Line 38 -
and 39

Accounting rule method - This method must be
used when the taxpayer employs a uniform system
of accounts as required for federal or state
regulatory purposes. Attach a copy of your New
York State Public Service Commission Report.
Line 40 - Property rule method - Use only property used in
connection with interstate and/or foreign
transmission services located in and out of New
York State to compute the property allocation.

Line 40a - The value of real property must be determined
without allowances for depreciation or amortization.
Enter in column a the value of real property located
in New York State. Enter in column b the value of
real property everywhere.

Line 40b - To compute the average value of rented real
property, multiply the rent payable during the period
covered by this report by eight (8). Enter in column
a the value of rented real property located in New
York State. Enter in column b the total of ali rented
real property everywhere.

Line 40c - The value of tangible personal property must be
determined without allowance for depreciation or
amortization. Enter in column a the value of
tangible personal property located in New York
State. Enter in column b the value of tangible
personal property everywhere.

Line 40d - Compute the average value of rented tangible
personal property in the same manner as rented
real property (see line 40b).

Line 40e - Allocate intangible assets to the commercial
domicile of the taxpayer.

Line40 g - Divide total of column a, assets located in New York
State, by total of column b, total assets everywhere.

Line 41 - Multiply interstate gross operating income by the
property allocation percentage from line 40g.
Line 42 - Multiply foreign gross operating income by the

property allocation percentage from line 40g.



