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Instructions for Form CT-186-A
Report of Gross Operating Income

Article 9, Section 186-a, Tax Law

General Information

Gross operating income must be reported for the 1986 calendar
year even if the taxpayer maintains its records and reports to
the IRS using a fiscal accounting period.

The annual report is due on March 15 following the close of
each calendar year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday or
legal holiday in any year, the report is due on the next
business day.

Who Must File Form CT-186-A

Every utility, person, corporation, company, association or joint-
stock association not subject to the supervision of the State
Department of Public Service who is engaged in the sale or
furnishing of gas, electricity, steam, water, refrigeration,
telephone or telegraph service delivered through mains, pipes
or wires for ultimate consumption within this state must file this
report whether or not a tax is due.

Examples of taxpayers required to file Form CT-186-A include
owners of apartment buildings, office buildings, hotels, etc.,
who purchase any of the commodities listed above and resell
or furnish any part or all of the commodity to a tenant or guest
at identifiable, flat or metered rates for ultimate consumption
within New York State.

If gross operating income does not exceed $500 for the year,
you are exempt from the payment of tax. However, you must
file this annual report.

Exemption from Tax

The following are exempt from taxation under Section 186-a:
The State of New York, including its political and civil
subdivisions; municipalities of the State of New York; public
districts, not-for-profit corporations and associations organized
and operated exclusively for religious, charitable or educational
purposes; a corporation leasing from a city in New York State a
water works system, to supply water at cost for the purpose of
relieving water pollution in a river within such city; and

limited dividend housing corporations organized under the
Private Housing Finance Law.

Foreign Corporations - Maintenance Fee and License
Fee

Every foreign corporation authorized to do business in New
York State must pay an annual maintenance fee of $200. This
fee may be applied against the taxes due under Article 9,
except the license fee imposed by Section 181. If the total tax
(excluding the installment for 1987 on Form CT-186, CT-183 or
CT-184) is less than $200, you may apply any payment made
with this report against the $200 maintenance fee. See Form
CT-186, CT-183 or CT-184 for specific instructions.

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee. See
Form CT-240, Report of License Fee.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Report

A request for an extension of time to file a tax report must be

filed on Form CT-5.9 on or before March 16, 1987. An extension
of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return does not
extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-A.

Declaration and Payment of Estimated Tax (Sec.
197-a, 197-b)

A taxpayer whose tax in the preceding year exceeds $1,000
must pay a mandatory first installment equal to 25% of the tax
imposed for the preceding year.

In addition to the mandatory instaliment, a taxpayer whose New
York State tax liability can reasonably be expected to exceed
$1,000 must make a declaration of its estimated tax for the
current year. The declaration of estimated tax (Form CT-400)
must be filed on or before June 15 each year.

The estimated tax shall be reduced by the mandatory first
installment paid with the preceding year’s tax report and the
balance paid in three equal installments due on June 15,
September 15 and December 15.

Specific Instructions
Schedule A

Line 8 - Enter the total of all payments of estimated tax
including overpayment carryover from preceding year.

Line 10 - Interest - If the tax is not paid on or before the due
date (without regard to an extension of time) interest must be
paid on the amount of the underpayment from the due date to
the date paid. The interest rate should be determined in
accordance with Part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Line 11a - Additional Charges - Additional charges for late
filing are computed on the amount of tax less any payment
made on or before the prescribed due date.

a. If a return is not filed when due or if the application for
extension is invalid add to the tax 5% per month up to
25% (Section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If a return is not filed within 60 days of the prescribed
due date the addition to tax cannot be less than the
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be
shown as tax (Section 1085(a)(1)}(B)).

c. In case of failure to pay the tax shown on a return, add
to the tax, 2% per month up to 25% (Section
1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in
b above (Section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing
and/or payment (Section 1085).

Schedule B

A taxpayer required to file this form must report all purchases
of gas, electricity, steam, water or refrigeration which form the
basis for the tax. If any of the commodity is sold for ultimate
consumption or use within New York State, the taxpayer must
show the quantity sold, selling price of the commodity sold and
the quantity of the commodity consumed by the taxpayer which
was not sold.
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In order to avoid double taxation of the commodity under
Article 9, Section 186-a, the CT-186-A taxpayer should report the
quantity and initial purchase price of the commodity it sold for
uitimate consumption or use to the utility from which the
commodity was purchased. The utility can then deduct from its
gross taxable income on Form CT-186-P the price it charged the
Form CT-186-A taxpayer as a sale for resale.

In determining gross operating income, receipts include cash,
credits and property of any kind or nature without any
deductions for the cost of property sold, the cost of materials
used, iabor, services or other costs, interest or discount paid,
or any other expense.

Line 14 - Enter ail receipts from the sale or furnishing of each
commodity made for ultimate consumption or use within New
York State.

Line 15 - Enter all receipts from services rendered for ultimate
consumption or use within New York State which are directly
connected with the sale or furnishing of each commodity.

. S

Line 16 - Deductions ailowed from receipts comprising gross
operating income are uncollectable accounts and taxes
imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the federal
government where the taxpayer is merely a collecting agency
for the taxing authority (e.g. state and local sales tax, federal
excise taxes).

Schedule C

Taxpayers such as hotels, motels, or apartment houses within
New York State, which supplement for their guests or tenants
telephone facilities and services supplied by a telephone
company, are engaged in the sale of telephone service and are
required to complete Schedule C and compute gross operating
income.

Line 23 - Receipts from service charges on toll calls must
include total amounts received from all toll calls - intrastate,
interstate and foreign - less the charges payable to telephone
and telegraph companies (including federal excise taxes and
local sales taxes), but without the deduction of rent for
equipment.

Line 24 - Enter all receipts from the sale of other telephone
services that exceed the charges paid to the telephone
companies.

Schedule D

Taxpayers who sell or furnish telephone or telegraph service for
ultimate consumption or use within New York State are
required to complete Schedule D and compute gross operating
income. Gross operating income includes gross operating
revenue within New York State and that portion of gross
operating revenue from interstate and foreign transmission
service attributable to New York State.

The portion of gross operating revenue from interstate and
foreign transmission service attributable to New York State is
computed by using the accounting rule method or property rule

method. (See TSB-M-82 (6) (C)). If you file Form CT-184 use the
same figures in this schedule as used in Form CT-184,
Schedule C. Include in gross operating income only those
revenues from interstate and foreign transmission services that
are received because of sales made or services rendered for
ultimate consumption or use by the purchaser.

Line 26 - Enter all gross operating income derived from
activities whoily within New York State. This will
normally be the amount reported to the New York
State Public Service Commission as gross
operating income derived from intrastate activities.

Line 27 - Accounting rule method - This method must be

and 28 used when the taxpayer employs a uniform system
of accounts as required for federal or state
regulatory purposes. Attach a copy of your New
York State Public Service Commission Report.

Line 29 - Property rule method - Use only property used in
connection with interstate and/or foreign
transmission services located in and out of New
York State to compute the property allocation.

Line 29a - The value of real property must be determined
without allowances for depreciation or amortization.
Enter in column a the value of real property
located in New York State. Enter in column b the
value of real property everywhere.

Line 29b - To compute the average value of rented real
property, muitiply the rent payable during the
period covered by this report by eight (8). Enter in
column a the value of rented real property located
in New York State. Enter in column b the total of
all rented real property everywhere.

Line 29¢ - The value of tangible personal property must be
determined without allowance for depreciation or
amortization. Enter in column a the value of
tangible personal property located in New York
State. Enter in column b the value of tangible
personal property everywhere.

Line 29d - Compute the average vaiue of rented tangible
personal property in the same manner as rented
real property (see line 29b).

Line 29e - Allocate intangible assets to the commercial
domicile of the taxpayer.

Line 29g - Divide total of column a, assets located in New
York State, by total of column b, total assets
everywhere.

Line 30 - Multiply interstate gross operating income by the
property allocation percentage from line 29g.

Line 31 - Multiply foreign gross operating income by the
property allocation percentage from line 29g.



