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New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for ST-100 (Quarterly Return)
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* hack taxes without penalities or criminal prosecution.

It is very important to make the public aware of Tax Amnesty so that those who are eligible can take advant.age of this once in a

*Ilfetlme chance.
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- TAX AMNESTY PROGRAM

*New York State has initiated a Tax Amnesty Program which allows delinquent taxpayers a one-time only opportunity to pay their

XXX X XXX

% The cost of tax evasion in New York is high -- millions of dollars annually - and it is the honest taxpayers who pay this price. New %
» York State now has stiffer penaities, tougher enforcement measures and a sophisticated computer system to effectively catch and »

% prosecute those who do not pay their fair share.

N »*
# The Tax Amnesty Program will be in effect until January 31, 1986. Taxes covered under Amnesty include State and Local Sales  *
#*and Use Taxes, Personal Income Tax, Withholding Tax and various other taxes. ) »*
* For further information, call 1-800-CALL TAX from within New York State. If you are calling from outside New York State. call *
* 518-457-2924, or write: *
* AMNESTY *
* New York State *
* Department of Taxation and Finance *
* Albany, New York 12227 »*
*44444444444444444444#4444444**4444444444444444&4441444:&
— ALERT —
The following instructions for completing your Form ST-100 (Quarterly Sales and Use Tax Return) have been revised to in-
clude recent changes in the Tax Law regarding the sales of motor fuel and new penalty provisions.

THE SALES TAX RETURN

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed to each registered
vendor. You must file the preaddressed copy, and keep the se-
cond for your records.

The front of the return is a summary of business activity and
tax due. Page Two is used to report the details of taxable sales
and services and purchases subject to use tax and the total
state and local taxes due for each taxing jurisdiction. Although
this return is all that is required for most vendors, certain ven-
dors are required to file separate schedules in addition to the
return. (See “Schedules Which May Be Required”)

CHANGE IN FILING PERIOD

Monthly Filing

If

® you are a vendor who has total taxable receipts (including
purchases subject to use tax), rents and amusement
charges of $300,000 or more in any guarter,

—Qf—

* you are selling automotive fuel (motor fuel and/or diesel
motor fuel), and you sold 100,000 galions of automotive
fuel or more in any one of the previous four quarters,
whether or not these sales were taxable
you must file monthly returns beginning the first month
after that quarter.

To convert to monthly filing, notify the Sales Tax Registration
Unit, W.A. Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 408, Albany,
NY. 12227 (1 + 518 + 457-7311) immediately. Failure to file a
monthly return timely may result in penalty and interest
charges.

Annual Filing

)|f your total tax due is $250 or less for the 12-month period en-
ding May 31 and you can reasonably expect to owe no maore
than $250 in tax for the next 12 months, you may be entitied to
file annually instead of quarterly. Contact the Sales Tax
Registration Unit (address and telephone listed above) on or
before June 20 for the annual period June 1 - May 31.

Exception: If you are the holder of a validated Certificate of
Authority for Show Vendors, Form TP-376C or PR-169.1, you are
not permitted to file annually. You must continue to file
quarterly even if you expect to owe no more than $250 in tax
for the next 12 months.

SCHEDULES WHICH MAY BE REQUIRED

If you must file any of the following schedules, attach them to
Form ST-100 and include total tax amounts on Line 1 of the ap-
plicable return.

Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the schedules
for additional information.

Form ST-100.1 - Schedule U
Use Schedule U to report the following sales or purchases sub-
ject only to local sales and use taxes:

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of machinery
and equipment used directly and predominantly in
production, -

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of central of-
fice equipment or station apparatus used directly or
predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching
telephone or telegraph communication,

- instailation, repair, maintenance or service of parts, tools
and supplies used in connection with the above
machinery, equipment or apparatus,

- machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less,
tools and supplies used directly and predominantly within
New York City only,

- parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and sup-
plies used in or on central office equipment or station ap-
paratus used directly and predominantly in receiving or
initiating and switching telephone and telegraph com-
munication within New York City only.

Form ST-100.2 - Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel
rooms, food and drink, admissions to places of amusement,
club dues and cabaret charges. Presently, only vendors in the
counties of Chenango, Nassau, and Westchester are required
to file Schedule A. -



ST-150.1 (9/85)

Page 2

Form ST-100.3 - Schedule B ,
Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the
schedule which imposes a sales and use tax on the following
energy sources and services:
- telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential gas,
electricity and steam services,
- residential gas, electricity and steam services, and
- residential use of coal, fuel or oil or propane sold in con-
tainers of 100 Ibs. or more, and wood used for residential
heating.
Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax due to
those localities on the above energy sources and services pur-
chased tax free under direct payment permits or otherwise.

Form ST-100.5 - Schedule N
Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within
the City of New York:

- parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities
other than garages which are part of premises occupied
as private one-or two-family dwellings”.

- credit rating and credit reporting services.

- protective and detective services (except port watchman).

- beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services.

- charges from sale of services or for the use of weight
control salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths,
sauna baths and similar establishments.

- charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar
establishments.

*Effective September 1, 1985, certain residents of Manhattan
are exempt from the 8% additional parking tax imposed in
that county. See the instructions on Schedule N for additional
information.

Form ST1-100.8 - Schedule E

This schedule must be tiled by vendors who sell diesel
motor fuel to the ultimate consumer, either in bulk or directly
into the ordinary fuel tank of the purchaser’s vehicle, or who
must report tax on the self-use of diesel motor fuel. Refer to
the specific instructions on that schedule regarding the method
of reporting sales taxes due.

Form ST-100.9 - Schedule R

This schedule must be filed by vendors to report sales tax
due on motor fuel (leaded, unleaded and premium gasoline)
sold at retail to the ultimate consumer or tax due on the
use of motor fuel. Refer to the specific instructions on that
schedule regarding the method of reporting sales taxes due on
motor fuel.

COMPLETING YOUR RETURN

Complete Page 2 of the sales tax return and any required
schedules BEFORE completing Page 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 2

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New
York State law to collect and distribute the sales taxes imposed
by local jurisdictions. The information on Page 2 of the sales
tax return enables the department to make the correct distribu-
tion. Credits that can be identified by locality should be taken
on the appropriate line on Page 2 of the return. Net credits
(negative amounts) should be shown in parentheses...

Notice to Retail Sellers of Motor Fuel and/or Diesel
Motor Fuel

Retail sellers of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel must report
all sales, self-use and sales taxes on automotive fuel on Form

ST-1009, Schedule R (motor fuet) andfor Form ST-1008, F
Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) only. The schedule(s) must be
filed with the vendor's sales and use tax return Form ST1-100,
together with any other applicable schedules.

Important: DO NOT include sales, purchases for self-use or
sales tax on automotive fuel on Page 2 of your Form ST-100 if
you are a retail seller of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel.

Column (a) - Taxing Jurisdiction

Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a
sales and use tax.

Column (b) - Combined Tax Rate

Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates that
apply in each of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)

Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales and
services, purchases subject to use tax, and sales and use
taxes for the localities listed in column (a). You must report
these amounts for the fuil period covered by the return unless
a shorter period is specifically indicated.

Column (c) - Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from
gross sales and services to arrive at taxable sales and ser-

vices. Make adjustments for transactions where the tax should
not be paid, such as returned sales on which the tax was
refunded to the customer, or on sales previously reported which
became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line for g
the locality where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the ven- C
dors's place of business on over-the-counter sales. Otherwise, =~
delivery occurs where the customer takes possession. (Excep-
tion: Delivery of a motor vehicle is determined by the pur-
chaser’s home address). Deliveries to points outside New York
State are not to be reported.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local
sales and use taxes are subject only to the 4 percent
state tax. Report receipts from sales and services in
these localities on the NEW YORK STATE ONLY line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate local sales
tax allowed for the items and services listed below does not
apply to New York City. On the New York City 4 percent line,
report the sale of the following to businesses located within
New York City:
1) fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively in
the production of tangible personal property for sale,

2) machinery, machinery parts with a useful life of more
than one year and equipment used directly and
predominantly in such production.

3) parts with a useful life of more than one year used in or
on telephone central office equipment or station ap-
paratus or comparable telegraph equipment used directly
and predominantly in receiving at destination or initiating
and switching telephone or telegraph communication, and

4) the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and ser-
vicing tangible personal property used directly and
predominantly to produce a product for sale by farming,.
including servicing tangibie personal property used in
erecting, adding to, altering or improving a silo (but noL/"
including the foundation), and the servicing of posts and
wire used to make and maintain a treilis for grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York
City 8% percent line, or on Schedule U.
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__} Column (d) - Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the vaiue of tangible personal proper-
ty or services purchased without payment of sales tax and us-
ed in your own operations. Do not include tangible personal
property or services which are resold or which quality for a pro-
duction exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if purchas-
ed by a New York State resident, business or branch of a New
York State business located outside New York State and ship-
ped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one
locality in New York State and the property is then used in
another locality in New York State, an additional use tax will be
due if the local tax rate is higher in the second locality and

- the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs,

. the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates
the property into real property situated in the second
locality, or

- the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the se-
cond locality in the course of his employment. trade.
business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the blank lines at the
pottom of Page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in Column (a)
and the additional rate of tax in Cotumn (b).

Column (e) - Sales and Use Taxes
Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns {c) and
(d) by the combined state and local tax rate in column (b)

On the last line enter the total amounts reported on both sides
of Page 2 in column (e) include this total in the amount you
report on Line 1, Page 1, of the return.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1

Name, Address and Identification Number

Correct any errors in the name, address, and identification
number printed on the preaddressed form. Please check the
appropriate box to indicate whether the change is for the actual
business address or for mailing purposes only.

Type of Business

Describe your principal business activity or type of business
(“retail grocery,”'wholesale furniture,” etc.).

Consolidated Return

If you have more than one place of business, and all business
locations are consolidated in this return, check the applicable
box.

SUMMARY OF BUSINESS ACTIVITY

, L ) It you are a retail seller of motor fuel andor diesel motor fuel:
L

do not report gross sales of automotive fuel in Box A;
e do not report taxable sales of automotive fuel in Box B;

e do not report purchases of automotive fuel subject to use
tax in Box C; and

o do not report credits related lo tax on automotive fuel in
Box D since these amounts are reportable only on
Schedutes E and R

Refer to the specific instructions which accompany Schedule E
and R to properly report the above trgnsactions

Box A - Gross sales and services.

Enter the total dollar amount of all sales made by the business
(except automotive fuel sales as stated under Summary of
Business Activity) including those exempt from sales taxes.
Do not include the amount of sales taxes coltected. Include ali
sales made within New York State (even if for delivery outside
New York State) and sales made at business locations outside
New York State for delivery into New York State. Do not nclude
sales made at business locations outside New York State which
do not involve deliveries into New York State

Box B - Taxable sales and services.

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject ¢ New York
State and local sales taxes (except automotive fuel sales as
stated under Summary of Business Activity). This figure is
the total amount from Column (c) on Page 2 of the return and
any schedules filed.

Box C - Purchases subject to use tax.

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax
including personai property purchased at retail on which no tax
was paid at the time of purchase (except automotive fuel sales
as stated under Summary of Business Activity). include pro-
perty used in the operation of your business if it does not
become part of a product for resale or is not eligible for a pro-
duction exemption. This figure is the total amount from Column
(d) on Page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Remember: Do not include tangible personal property pur-
chased for inventory or, property or services which qualify for a
production exemption.

Also, if the amounts in Boxes B and C total $300,000 or more,
see “Change in Filing Period, Monthly Filing."

Box D - Total credits claimed on Page 2.

Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the tax claimed
on Page 2 or any schedules filed, except those reported on
Schedules E and R, as noted under Summary of Business
Activity. Show in parentheses net credits on Page 2 or
schedules. Credits must be substantiated by attaching a state-
ment and any other supporting documentation explaining the
basis for the credit claimed. Do not include this amount in any
amount entered on line 2a. Do not include credit for prepaid
sales tax on motor fuel in this box.

SUMMARY OF TAXES DUE

Line 1 - Sales and Use Taxes. :
Enter the total amount of tax due from Column(e) on Page 2
and the total amount of tax due from Column (e) from
Schedules A, B, E, N, R and U (Page 2 Suppiement).
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Line 2a - Credits.

Enter credits other than the credit for prepaid sales tax on
motor fuel that cannot be identified with a specific locality.
(Credits that can be identified by locality should be reported on
the appropriate lines on Page 2 of the return or on any
schedules filed.) Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior
quarter and you did not apply for this amount by filing the ap-
propriate refund application, enter the amount on this line. See
the instructions for Line 5 for more information on refunds.
Attach documents verifying claims to your return.

Line 2b - Advance Payments.

Enter the total amount of advance payments. Attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid
part of your tax in advance. Do not include payments from
'Form FT-945, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
on this line.

Line 2c - Total.
Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 - Sales and Use Taxes Due.
Subtract Line 2¢ from Line 1.

Line 4 - Late Filing Charge.

If you file your return or make payments after the due date, you
must pay a late filing charge which consists of penalty and
interest.

Penalty

ALERT

The following NEW penalty computation is effective
for taxes required to be paid or returns required to
be filed on or after September 1, 1985.

For failure to file a return with no tax due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return with tax due, if such return
is:
® 1-60 days late, the penalty will be 10% of the tax due for
the first month plus 1% of the tax due for each month
thereafter, but in no instance less than $50.00, or

e 61 or more days late, the penalty will be the greatest of (A
one of the following:
i 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or
ii. the lesser of $100.00 or 100% of the tax due, or
ii. $50.00. -

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate determined under Part 603 of
the Tax Regulations and is compounded daily. Call the Tax-
payer Assistance number listed below to get the current rate.

Line 5 - Amount Due.
Add Lines 3 and 4.

If this amount is an overpayment you may either:

(1) claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by
entering this amount on Line 2a on Page 1 of the return,
or -

(2) apply for a refund.

In order to apply for a refund, you must file Form AU-11,
Application for Refund or Credit of Sales and Use Tax,
except if the overpayment is the result of a credit for
prepaid sales tax on motor tuel sold at retail; in such
case, you must file the appropriate application:

o Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold Other than at Retail Service Sta-
tions, or

o Form FT-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales
Tax on Motor Fuel Sold by Retail Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11, F1-949, or
FT-950) to your return. This application must be filed
separately and mailed to the address shown on that form.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized
officer or employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other profes-
sional preparing the return must also sign it on the line
designated “Signature of Preparer (if other than Vendor).”

You must keep all records and other supporting documents used in completing your return and be able to produce
them on request by the State Tax Commission or its agents for at least three years after filing your return. If you
need further assistance, or copies of any schedules mentioned, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau as indicated

below:
PHONE

For forms or publications

WRITE

If you need to write, address your letter to:

from wiéhin New York State, call toll free 1+800+462-8100 NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
“from outside New York State, call 1+ 518+ 438-1073 Taxpayer Assistance Bureau L/
For Information W. A. Harriman Campus
from within New York State, call toll free 1+ 800 +342-3536 Albany, New York 12227
1+518 +438-8581

from outside New York State, call



