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New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for ST-100 (Quarterly Return)

New York State ]
Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for ST-101 (Annual Return)

THE SALES TAX RETURN

Two copies of the sales tax reporting form are mailed

to each registered vendor. You must file the
preaddressed copy. You may use the second as a
copy for your records.

The front of the return is a summary of business
activity and tax due. Page Two is used to report the
details of taxable saies and services and purchases
subject to use tax and the total state and local taxes
due for each taxing jurisdiction. Although this return
is all that is required for most vendors, certain
vendors are required to file separate schedules in
addition to the return. (See "*Schedules Which May

Be Required''.)

CHANGE IN FILING PERIOD

Monthly Filing

If in any quarter you have $300,000 or more in taxable
sales, services and/or purchases subject to use tax

-Or-
You are a registered distributor of motor fuel or diesel
mator fuel and have taxable sales of fuel which total
100,0C0 gallons or more in any quarter of the preceding
four quarters, you must file monthly returns in additicn to
the requiar quarteriy returns.
To cenvert to monthly filing, notify the Sales Tax Processing
Unit or your district tax office immediately. Failure to file a
monthly return may result in penalty and interest charges.

Annual Filing

I your total tax due is $250 or less for the 12-month period
ending May 31 and you-can reasonabiy expect to owe no
more than $250 in tax for the next 12 months, you may be
entitied to file annually instead of quarterly. Contact your
district tax office on or before June 290 for the annual period
June 1 - May 31,

Exception: If you are a person selling automotive fuel, or
are the holder of a validated Cerrificate of Authority for
Show Vendors, Form TP-376C. you are not permitted to file
annually. You must continue o file quarterly even if you
expectio owe no more than $250 in tax for the next 12
months.

If you are now filing an annual return and expect to pay over
3250 in tax for the next annual period, you must notify your
district tax office and be placed on a quarterly filing basis.
(In determining your anticipated tax, you should consider
recent rate changes.)

If the tax reported for this annual period is more than $250,
you will automatically be placed on a quarterly filing basis.

SCHEDULES WHICH MAY BE REQUIRED

If you must file any of the following schedules, atta
them to Form ST-100 or ST-101 and include total ta
amounts on Line 1 of the applicable return.
Exception: Do not attach Form ST-100.6, Schedule C,
Form ST-100 or ST-10! and do not include total tax
amounts on Line | of either return.

Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the
schedules for additional information.

Form ST-100.1 - Schedule U (Page 2 Supplement)

Use Schedule U (page 2 Supplement) to report the
following sales or purchases subject only to local
sales and use taxes:

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of
machinery and equipment used directly and
predominantly in production,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of
centrai office equipment or station apparatus
used directly or predominantly in receiving or
initiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of
parts, tools and supplies used in connection wit
the abcve machinery, equipment or apparatus,

- machinery parts with a useful life of one year or
less, tools and supplies used directly and
predominanily within New York City only,

- parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools
and supplies used in or on central office
eguipment or station apparatus used directly an
predominatly in receiving or initiating and
switching telephone and telegraph
communication within New York City only.

Form ST-100.2 (or Form ST-101.2) - Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hote
rooms, food and drink, admissions to places of
amusement. club dues and cabaret charges. Presently,
only vendors in the counties of Chenango, Nassau, and
Westchester are required to file Schedule A.

Form ST-100.3 - Schedule B
Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the
schedule which imposes a sales and use tax on the
following energy sources and services:

- telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential

gas, electricity steam services,
- residential gas, electricity and steam services, and
- residential use of coal, fuel oil or propane sold in
containers of 100 Ibs. or more. and wood used for

residentiat heating.
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Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use
tax due to those localities on the above energy
sources and services purchased tax free under direct
payment permits or otherwise.

Form S7-100.5 (or Form ST-101.5) - Schedule N
Use Schedule N to report sales of the following
services within the City of New York:

- parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at
facilities other than garages which are part of
pPremises occupied as private one-or two-family
dwellings.

- credit rating and credit reporting services. .

- protective and detective services.

- beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring,
pedicuring, electrolysis, massage and similar
services.

- charges from the sale of services or for the use
of weight control salons, health salons,
gymnasiums, turkish baths, sauna baths and
similar establishments.

- charges for occupany of hotels, motels and
similar establishments.

Ferm ST-100.6 - Schedule C

"his schedule must be used by vendors of motor fuel
who are not registered as distributors under the Motor
-uel Tax Law 1o report purchases and sales of

'2aded, unleadsd and premium motor fuels. The sale
o7 thess fuels is not a sale subject to tax, and is not
ncluded in taxable receipts.

-orm S7-100.7 - Schedule D

“nis schaduie must be filed by distributors of motor
uel registered ynder the Motor Fuel Tax Law to
=Dort sajes taxes due on leaded, unleaded and
>remium motor fuéls. Refer to the specific
Tstructions on the schedule regarding the msthod of
20orting sales taxes due. Any use tax due on fuel
gken from inventory for use in the distributor's
'2hicles must also be reporied on the Schedule D.

‘orm S7-100.8 - Schedyle E

s schiedule must be filed by distributors of diesel

10tor fuel registered under the Miotor Fuel Tax Law o
=P0ri saies taxes due on diesel motor fuel. Reier 10 the
s2cific instructions on the schedule fegarging the method
“reporting sales taxes due. Any tax due on fuel taken from
'ventory tor use in the distributors's vehicles must also be
*dorted on the Schedule E

NNUAL FILZRS ONLY: Schedule D has not been
<luded in your packet. if you are required to file this
*hedule. you can obtain it by calling 1-800-462-8100,
Sm within New York State or 1-518-457-0111 fram

COMPLETING YOUR RETURN

Complete Page 2 of the sales tax return and any
required schedules before completing Page 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 2

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required
by New York State law to collect and distribute the
sales taxes imposed by locai jurisdictions. The
information on Page 2 of the sales tax return enables
the department to make the correct distribution.
Credits that can be identified by locality should be
taken on the appropriate line on Page 2 of the return.
Net credits (negative amounts) should be shown in
parenthesis.

Notice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel
and/or Diesel Motor Fuel

Distributors of motor fue!l and/or diesel motor fuel
registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law must report
all sales, self-use and sales taxes on automotive fuel
on form ST-100.7, Schedule D (motor fuel) and/or
Form $T-100.8, Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) only.
The schedule(s) must be filed with the vendor's sales
and use tax return Form ST-100 or ST-101.

DO NOT include sales, purchases for seli-use or
sales iax on automotive fuel on Page 2 of your Form
ST-100 or ST-101 if you are a registered distributor of
motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel.

Exception: Diese! moior fuel sold in bulk 10 purchasers who
do not furnish an acceprable exempltion dgocument or
certificaic te.g. TP-146.4 or PR-122) should be 1aved on the
acruai sefiing price and should be reporied on Page 2.
Vendars viie are no: regisiered as disiribuiors of automotive
Juelare NOT reguired 1o report sales of automosive fuel as
1axciie suies on rtheir sales and use tax returns.

Column (a) - Taxing Jurisdiztion

Column (2) lists the name of each locality now
imposing a sales and yse tax.

Column (b) - Combined Tax Rate -

Cotumn () lists the combinad state and local tax
reies ihat apoly in each of the localities listed in
column /35).

Columns (z). (d) and (2)

Columns (). {d) and (e) a2 used lo repori iaxable saies and
ServiCes. purchases subjeci 1o use tax. and saies and use
laxes for the localines lisied in column (a). You must report
these amounts for the full pariod covered by the return
unless a shorer peniod is speciiically indicated.

Column (c) - Taxable Sales and Services

Coibtrrmmt mats mmn [ RPN Sy I
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services. Make adjustments for transactions where the tax
should not be paid, such as returned sales on which the tax
was refunded to the customer, or on sales previously
reported which became bad debts.

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line
for the locality where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at the
vendors's place of business on over-the-counter sales.
Otherwise, delivery occurs where the customer takes
possession. (Exception: Delivery of a motor vehicle is
determined by the purchaser's home address). Deliveries
to points outside New York State are not to be reported.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local
sales and use taxes are subject only to the 4 percent
state tax. Report receipts from sales and services in
these localities on the NEW YORK STATE Only line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate
focal sales tax allowed for the items and services
listed below does not apply to New York City. On the
New York City 4 percent line, report the sale of the
following to businesses located within New York City:

1) fuel and utility services used directly and
exclusively in the production of tangible personal
property for sale,

2) machinery. machinery parts with a useful life of more
n one year ang equipment usad directly and
dominantly in such production,

3) parts with 2 usesiul life of more than one year used in
or on telephone central office equipment or station
apparatus or comparable telegraph equipment used
directly and predominantly in receiving at destination
or inttiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication, and

4) the services of installing, repairing, maintaining
and servicing tangible personal property used
directly and predominantly to produce a product
ior sale oy farming, including servicing tangible
nerscrnal property used in erecting, adding to,
altzring or improving a silo {but not including the
foundation), and the servicing of posts and wire
used to make and maintain a trellis for grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York
City 8% percantiine. or on Schedule U.

Column (d) - Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the vai_z of tangitle
personal property or services purchased without

payment of sales tax and used in your own operat
Do not include tangible personal property or servi
which are resold or which qualify for a productior.
exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use t:
purchased by a New York State resident, busines:
branch of a New York State business located outs
New York State and shipped or brought into the
State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid i
one locality in New York State and the property is
then used in another locality in New York State, a-
additional use tax will be due if the local tax rate i
higher in the second locality and:

- the user is a resident of the locality where ust
occurs,

- the user, in the performance of a contract,
incorporates the property into real property
situated in the second locality, or

- the user is a nonresident but uses the propert
in the second locality in the course of his
empioyment, trade, business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the b!
lines at the bottom of Page 2. Enter the taxing
jurisdiction in Column (a) and the additional rate o
tax in Column (b).

Column (e) - Sales and Use Taxes

Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in
columns (c) and (d) by the combined state and loc.
tax rate in column (b).

On the last iine enter the total amounts reported o:
both sides of Page 2 in column (e). Include this tot
in the amount you report on Line 1, Page 1, of the
return.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1

Name, Address and Identification Number
Correct any errors in the name, address. and
identificziion number print2d on the preaddressec
form.

Type of Business

Describe your principal business activity or type o’
business (“‘retail grocery," **wholesale furniture,”
‘‘automobile service station.” etc.)

Consolidated Return

if you have more than one place of business, and «
business locations are consolidated in this return,
check the applicable box.
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JMMARY OF BUSINESS ACTIVITY

tice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel
d/or Diesel Motor Fuel

fOu are a registered distributor of motor fuel

d/or diesel motor fuel, you must file Schedule D
otor fuel) and/or Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) to
dort your transactions related to automotive fuel.
a result,

do not report gross sales of automotive fuel in
Box A,

do not report taxable sales of automotive fuel in
Box B,

do qot report purchases of automotive fuel
subject to use tax in Box C, and

do not report credits related to tax on automotive
fuel in Box D.

fer to the specific instructions which accompany’
nedules D & E to properly report the above
nsactions.

x A - Gross sales and services.

ter the total amount of all sales made by the
siness. including those exempt from sales taxes.
> not include the amount of sales taxes collected.)
lude all sales made within New York State (even if
delivery outside New York State) and sales made
:?usiness locations outside New York State for
ivery into New York State. Do not include sales
_de at business locations outside New York State
ich do not involve deliveries into New York State.

x B - Taxable sales and services.

€r the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New
k State and local sales taxes. This figure is the total
ount from Column (c) on Page 2 of the return and any
iedules filed.

x C - Purchases subject to use tax.

er the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use
including personal property purchased at retail on

€A no tax was paid at the time of purchase. (Include
perty used in the operation of your business if it does not
ome part of a product for resale or is not eligible for a
2uction exemption.) This figure is the total amount from
umn (d) on Page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Page 4

Remember: Do not include tangible personal
property purchased for inventory or, property or
services which qualify for a production exemption.

If the amounts in Boxes B and C total $300,000 or
more, see ‘‘Change in Filing Period, Monthly Filing."’

Box D - Total credits claimed on Page 2

Enter the total amount of credit against the tax claimed on
Page 2 or any schedules filed. Show in parentheses net
credits on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be
substantiated by attaching a statement and any other
supporting documentation explaining the basis for the
credit claimed. Do not include this amount in any amount

entered on line 2a.

SUMMARY OF TAXES DUE

Line 1 - Sales and Use Taxes.

Enter the total amount from Column (e) on Page 2,
Line 1 on Schedule U (Page 2 Supplement) or any
amounts from Schedules A, B, D, E and N.

Line 2a - Credits.

Enter credits that cannot be identified with a specific
locality. (Credits that can be identified by locality
should be reported on the appropriate lines on Page
2 of the return or on any schedules filed.) Attach
documents verifying claims to your return.

Line 2b - Prepayments. ,
Enter the total amount of the prepayments. Attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, issued to you if you

paid part of your tax in advance.

Line 2¢
Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 - Sales and Use Taxes Due.
Subtract Line 2¢ from Line 1.

Line 4 - Late Filing Charge.
If you file your return or make payment after the due

date, you must pay a late filing charge. This charge
consists of a penalty of 5 percent of Line 3 for the
first month of delay and 1 percent per month for each
additional month (or part of a month) of delay up to a
maximum of 25 percent, as well as interest
determined under Part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Line 5 - Amount Due.
Add Lines 3 and 4.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an
authorized officer or employee. An accountant,
lawyer, or other professional preparing the return
must also sign it on the line designated ‘‘Signature of
Preparer (if other than Vendor)."

you need further assistance or copies of any schedules mentioned, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau

s calling 1-800-342-3536 for information or 1-800-462-8100 for schedules. If you are calling from outside New York
ate, call 1-518-457-0111 for information or scheduies. You should keep your records and other supporting
:cuments used in completing your return and be able to produce them on request by the State Tax Commission



