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CT186-P1  Instructions for Form CT-186-P

Report of Gross Income
Article 9, Section 186-a, Tax Law

General Information
Gross income must be reported on a calendar-year basis even if you keep records and report to the
IRS using a fiscal accounting period.

The annual report is due on March 15 following the close of each calendar year. If March 15 fallson a Saturday,
Sunday or Holiday in any year, the report is due on the next business day.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Report

A request for an extension of time to file a tax report must be filed on Form CT-5.9 on or before
March 17, 1986. An extension of time granted by IRS to file a federal tax return does not extend the
due date for filing Form CT-186-P.

Declaration and Payment of Estimated Tax (Section 197-a and 197-b)
If your tax in the preceding year exceeds $1000, you must pay a mandatory first installment equal
to 25% of the preceding year’s tax.

In addition to the mandatory installment, you must make a declaration of your estimated tax for the
current year. This declaration of estimated tax (Form CT-400) must be filed on or before June 15
each year.

The balance of the estimated tax must be paid in three equal instaliments due on June 15,
September 15 and December 15.

Foreign Corporations - Maintenance Fee and License Fee

Every foreign corporation authorized to do business in New York must pay an annual maintenance
fee of $200. This fee may be applied against any taxes due under Article 9 except the license fee
imposed by Section 181. If the total tax, excluding the installment for 1986, payable with your return
on Form CT-186, CT-186-P, CT-183 or CT-184 is less than $200, you may apply any payment made

with this report against the $200 maintenance fee. (See Form CT-186, CT-183 or CT-184 for specitic
instructions.)

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee — see Form CT-240,Report of License Fee.

Who Must File Form CT-186-P

The following are required to file Form CT-186-P: Every utility doing business in New York State that
is subject to the supervision of the State Department of Public Service or Department of
Transportation and every person doing business in New York State who is subject to the State
Department of Public Service and who sells or furnishes gas, electricity, steam, water, refrigerator,
telephone or telegraph service by means of mains, pipes or wires for ultimate consumption or use
by the purchaser in this state. The word person includes persons, corporations, companies,
associations, joint stock associations, copartnerships, estates, assignees of rents, persons acting
in a fiduciary capacity, and persons, their assignees, lessees, trustees or receivers, appointed by
any court whatsoever, that are subject to the supervision of the State Department of Public Service.
Utilities whose gross income is taxable include, but are not limited to, gas, electric, steam, water,
telephone, telegraph, bridge, express, transfer, freight terminal companies and nonoperating
railroads that lease their property to others.

A utility subject to the provision of Section 186-a which has gross income of less than $500 for the
iaxable period ending December 31 is exempt from the payment of the tax under this section. An
xempt utility must still file a report.

See back for specific instructions »
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Tax on Gains Derived from Certain Real Property Transfers (Article 31-B, Section 1449-a)

Every corporation with an interest in real property in New York State must keep a record of the transfer
of its stock and report annually every transfer of a “controlling” interest in its stock and any other
information that may be required to enforce this article.

Controlling interest of a corporation is either 50 percent or more of the total combined voting power of all
classes of stock, or 50 percent or more of the capital, profits or beneficial interest in such voting stock.

All corporations must answer both questions on page 1 of Form CT186-P. If the answer to both
questions is yes, attach a rider providing the following information:
e Name, address and identification number of the new controlling stockholder. (Use social security
number for individuals and federal employer identification number for corporations.)
e Date transfer was made.
e Location of real property.

SCHEDULE A

Line 2. If the tax on this report exceeds $1000 a mandatory first instaliment is required for the period
following that covered by this report. Enter 25% of the tax shown at line 1.

Line 4. Enter total of all payments of estimated tax including any overpayment carryover from
preceding periods.

Line 6. INTEREST: If the tax is not paid on or before the due date (without regard to any extension of
time) interest must be paid on the amount of the underpayment from the due date to the date
paid. The interest rate should be determined in accordance with Part 603 of the Tax Regulations.

Line 7. ADDITIONAL CHARGES: Additional Charges for late filing are computed on the amount of
tax less any payment made on or before the due date.

a. If areturn is not filed when due or if the application for extension is invalid, add to the
tax 5% per month up to 25%. (Section 1085(a)(1)(A))

b. If areturn is not filed within 60 days of the due date, the addition to tax cannot be less
than the smailer of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax. (Section
1085(a)(1)(B))

c. Incase of failure to pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax, 2 % per month up to
25%. (Section 1085(a)(2))

d. The total of the additional charges in a and c may not exceed 5% for any one month
except as provided for in b above. (Section 1085(a))

If you do not think you are liable for these additional charges, attach a statement to your

return explaining the delay in filing and/or payment (Section 1085)

SCHEDULE B
Gross income includes receipts, without any deductions, from the following:
* Sales made or services rendered for ultimate use by a purchaser in this state.
¢ Profits from sales or securities, real property and personal property.
* Dividends, interest, royalties derived from New York sources (except those received from a
corporation, a majority of whose voting stock is owned by the taxpaying utility).
Profits (except sales for resale and rental) from any transaction within the state.
Chapter 29 of the Laws of 1985 amended section 186-a.2-a of the Tax Law regarding the treatment
of telephone and telegraph corporations. This amendment extends indefinitely the requirement
that a telephone and telegraph corporation must include in its determination of gross income or
gross operating income, in addition to receipts and profits from sales and services within this
state, that portion of revenues from interstate and foreign transmission service attributable to
New York State. Only those revenues from interstate and foreign transmission services which are
received because of sales made or services rendered for ultimaie consumption or use by the
purchaser, must be allocated and included in the taxable base under section 186-a. The aliocation of gross
operating income by a telephone or telegraph corporation must be computed on Form CT-186-a Attachment.
Allocation rules for receipts from interstate and foreign transmission service are described in TSB-M-82(6)C.

Sign Form CT186-P and mail to: Processing Unit
P.O. Box 1909
Albany, New York 12201

Include your federal identification number and file number on all correspondence.





