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Introduction  This publication provides general filing information, describes certain 

New York State tax benefits, and contains other tax information that may be 
of special interest to senior citizens and retired persons. 
 
As a senior citizen or a retired person filing a New York State income tax 
return, you may qualify for special income tax benefits that can reduce your 
tax liability. These benefits include subtraction modifications that will 
reduce your New York State adjusted gross income and tax credits that may 
decrease your tax due or increase your refund. Even if you do not have to 
file a New York State income tax return, you may still be eligible to claim a 
refund of certain credits (see New York tax credits on page 16). 
 
See the Need help? section on the back cover of this publication or visit our 
Web site for information on how to obtain New York State forms and how 
to get assistance. For federal income tax information, access the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Web site (www.irs.gov) or call 1 800 829-1040. 

   
Estimated income 
tax requirements 

 New York State Tax Law requires you to pay income tax during the year, 
either through withholding or estimated tax.  
 
You may have to pay estimated tax if: 
 

• you are self-employed,  
 

• you receive a taxable pension or annuity, or  
 

• you receive any other income from which taxes are not withheld. 
 

 If you have substantially underpaid your taxes during the year (either 
through insufficient estimated tax payments or insufficient withholding tax, 
or a combination of the two), you will probably have to pay a penalty in 
addition to your tax. 
 
Generally, you must pay estimated income tax if you expect to owe, after 
subtracting your tax withheld and credits, at least $300 of either 
New York State, New York City, or Yonkers tax, and you expect your 
withholding and credits to be less than the smaller of: 
 

• 90% of your income tax liability for the current tax year; or 
 

• 100% of your income tax liability from the previous tax year (110% of 
that amount if you are not a farmer or fisherman and the New York 
adjusted gross income on that return is more than $150,000 or, if 
married filing separately, more than $75,000), based upon a return 
covering 12 months.  
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Note: Due to Tax Law changes enacted in 2010, in determining 
whether you paid 100% (or 110%, if applicable) of the tax shown on 
your 2009 tax return, you must recompute your 2009 tax using the new 
2010 itemized deduction income limitation rule and credit deferral 
rules (see Form IT-2105-I, Instructions for Form IT-2105). 

 
Additionally, nonresident individuals, estates, and trusts are required to pay 
estimated personal income tax on the gain, if any, from: 
 

• the sale or transfer of certain real property located in New York State 
(see Form IT-2663, Nonresident Real Property Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Form); and 

 
• certain sales, conveyances, or other dispositions of shares of stock in a 

cooperative housing corporation, in connection with the grant or 
transfer of a proprietary leasehold by the owner of the shares, where 
the cooperative unit represented by these shares is located in 
New York State (see Form IT-2664, Nonresident Cooperative Unit 
Estimated Income Tax Payment Form). 

 
You do not have to include in your estimate any amount of sales or use tax 
you expect to owe on your personal income tax return. 
 
If you are married, each spouse should maintain a separate estimated 
income tax account. If you and your spouse each maintain an estimated tax 
account and file a joint New York State income tax return, the balances of 
both accounts will be credited to your joint income tax return. 
 
For more information see Form IT-2105, Estimated Income Tax Payment 
Voucher for Individuals, and Form IT-2105-I, Instructions for 
Form IT-2105. 
 
Note: You can make estimated tax payments, check your balance, and 
reconcile your estimated income tax account online using our Web site or 
by writing us at: 
 

NYS Tax Department 
Estimated Tax Unit 
WA Harriman Campus 
Albany, NY 12227 

   
Request withholding 
from an annuity or 
pension 

 Payers of annuities and pensions are not required to withhold 
New York State, New York City, and/or Yonkers income tax from your 
pension or annuity payments. However, if your pension or annuity must be 
included in your New York adjusted gross income and is payable over a 
period longer than one year, you may request that the payer withhold 
New York State, New York City, and/or Yonkers income taxes. For more  
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information, see Form IT-2104-P, Annuitant’s Request for Income Tax 
Withholding. 

   
Which form 
should you file? 

 The New York State Tax Department has several different income tax 
forms available for individuals who must file New York State income tax 
returns. A brief description of each form follows. For more information on 
who must file, see the Who must file section in the instructions of any of the 
forms listed below. 

   
Form IT-150, Resident 
Income Tax Return 
(short form) 

 Short Form IT-150 is a simple, two-page New York State income tax return 
for full-year resident taxpayers who file federal Form 1040A, U.S. 
Individual Income Tax Return, or Form 1040EZ, Income Tax Return for 
Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents (and certain taxpayers who file 
federal Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return). Taxpayers using 
Form IT-150 can claim the most common income tax credits. 
 
You may use Form IT-150 if: 
 

• You were a New York State resident for the entire year. 
 

• Your federal adjusted gross income for the year was $900,000 or less. 
 

• You filed federal Form 1040EZ or 1040A (or could have, except your 
federal taxable income was over $100,000). 

 
• You were not a part-year resident of New York City or Yonkers 

(however, you may report nonresident earnings tax for Yonkers on 
Form IT-150). 

 
You can claim the following credits on Form IT-150: 
 

• New York State household credit 
 

• New York City household credit 
 

• Empire State child credit 
 

• New York State child and dependent care credit 
 

• New York City child and dependent care credit 
 

• New York State earned income credit 
 

• New York State noncustodial parent earned income credit 
 

• New York City earned income credit 
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• Real property tax credit 
 

• College tuition credit 
 
• New York City school tax credit 

   
Form IT-201, Resident 
Income Tax Return 
(long form) 

 If you are a full-year New York State resident and you do not qualify to file 
Form IT-150, you must file Form IT-201.  
 
You can claim the following income tax credits directly on Form IT-201: 
 

• New York State household credit 
 

• New York City household credit 
 

• Empire State child credit 
 

• New York State child and dependent care credit 
 

• New York City child and dependent care credit 
 

• New York State earned income credit 
 

• New York State noncustodial parent earned income credit 
 

• New York City earned income credit 
 

• Real property tax credit 
 

• College tuition credit 
 

• New York City school tax credit 
 

• Resident credit 
 
To claim any credits other than those listed above, or to report other 
New York State or New York City taxes, you must complete 
Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, and attach it to your 
Form IT-201.   

   
Form IT-203, 
Nonresident and  
Part-Year Resident 
Income Tax Return 

 Use Form IT-203 if you are a nonresident or part-year resident of 
New York State and have New York source income. For the definitions of 
resident, nonresident, part-year resident, and New York source income, see 
the instructions for Form IT-203, or Publication 88, General Tax 
Information for New York State Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents – 
For tax year 2010. 
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New York State 
subtraction 
modifications 

 Certain tax benefits are provided to senior citizens and retired persons in the 
form of subtraction modifications. Subtraction modifications relate to 
certain items of income that are included in your federal adjusted gross 
income on your federal income tax return that may be subtracted out when 
computing your New York adjusted gross income. 
 
The following sections describe certain New York subtraction 
modifications that may be of special interest to senior citizens and retired 
persons. For a complete list of New York subtraction modifications, see 
Form IT-150/IT-201-I, Combined Instructions for Forms IT-150 and 
IT-201. 

   
Social security and 
equivalent railroad 
retirement benefits 

 Social security benefits and Tier 1 railroad retirement benefits that are 
included in federal adjusted gross income are exempt from state and local 
income taxes and may be subtracted from your federal adjusted gross 
income when computing your New York adjusted gross income. 

   
Railroad retirement 
benefits 

 If you included in your federal adjusted gross income either: 
 

• supplemental annuity or Tier 2 benefits received under the Railroad 
Retirement Act of 1974; or 

 
• benefits received under the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act; 

and 
 

• if those benefits are exempt from state income taxes under Title 45 of 
the United States Code, you may subtract the amount of those benefits 
from your federal adjusted gross income when computing your 
New York adjusted gross income. 

   
Pensions of  
New York State,  
local governments, 
and the federal 
government 

 Qualified pension benefits or distributions received by officers and 
employees of the United States, New York State, and local governments 
within New York State, are exempt from New York State, New York City, 
and Yonkers income taxes. This subtraction modification is allowed 
regardless of the age of the taxpayer or of the form the payment(s) take. 
 
This subtraction modification is allowed for a pension or distribution 
amount (to the extent the pension or other distribution was included in your 
federal adjusted gross income) from a pension plan which represents a 
return of contribution in a year prior to retirement, as an officer, employee, 
or beneficiary of an officer or an employee of: 
 

• New York State including State and City University of New York and 
the New York State Education Department who belong to the Optional 
Retirement Program.  
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• Optional Retirement Program members may only subtract that portion 
attributable to employment with the State or City University of 
New York or the New York State Education Department. 

 
• Certain public authorities, including: the Metropolitan Transportation 

Authority (MTA) Police 20-Year Retirement Program; the Manhattan 
and Bronx Surface Transit Operating Authority (MABSTOA); and the 
Long Island Railroad Company (LIRR). 

 
• Local governments within the state, including: 

 
• New York State (NYS) Teachers’ Retirement System; 

 
• New York City (NYC) Teachers’ Retirement System; 

 
• NYC Teachers’ Retirement IRC 403(b) plan; 

 
• International Union of Operating Engineers Local 891 Annuity 

Fund (Department of Education of the NYC School District) 
 

• NYC Superior Officers’ Council Annuity Trust Fund;  
 

• NYC Correction Captains’ Association Annuity Fund;  
 

• NYC Detectives’ Endowment Association Annuity Fund; 
 

• City University of New York (CUNY) Civil Service Forum 
Annuity Fund;  

 
• Sergeants Benevolent Association of the City of New York 

Annuity Fund; and 
 

• NYC variable supplemental funds (VSF), including:  
 

• Transit Police Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Transit Police Superior Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Housing Police Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Housing Police Superior Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Police Officers’ VSF, 
 

• Police Superior Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Firefighters’ VSF, 
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• Fire Officers’ VSF, 
 

• Corrections Officers’ VSF,  
 

• Corrections Captain and Above VSF. 
 

• The United States, its territories, possessions (or political subdivisions 
thereof), or any agency, instrumentality of the United States (including 
the military), or the District of Columbia. 

 
Distributions received from a New York State or local pension plan or from 
a federal government pension plan as a nonemployee spouse in accordance 
with a court-issued qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) that meets 
the criteria of Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 414(p)(1)(A) or in 
accordance with a domestic relations order (DRO) issued by a New York 
court retain their character as pension income. Therefore, if you receive 
distributions from a New York State or local pension plan or a federal 
government pension plan as the result of a DRO or QDRO, you are allowed 
the subtraction modification to the extent that the distributions are included 
in your federal adjusted gross income. 
 
If you received pension and annuity income as the beneficiary of a 
deceased officer or employee of the United States, New York State, or local 
government within New York State, you may also make this subtraction to 
the extent that the distributions are included in your federal adjusted gross 
income. 

   
Pension and annuity 
income exclusion 

 If you were age 59½ or older before January 1, 2010, you may exclude up 
to $20,000 of your qualified pension and annuity income from your federal 
adjusted gross income for purposes of determining your New York adjusted 
gross income. If you became age 59½ during the tax year, the exclusion is 
allowed only for the amount of pension and annuity income received on or 
after you became 59½, but not more than $20,000. Qualified pension and 
annuity income includes: 
 

• periodic payments for services you performed as an employee before 
you retired; 

 
• periodic and lump-sum payments from an IRA attributable to 

compensation for personal services, but not payments derived from 
contributions made after you retired that are not attributable to 
compensation for personal services; 

 
• periodic distributions from an annuity contract (IRC section 403(b)) 

purchased by an employer for an employee and the employer is a 
corporation, community chest fund, foundation or public school; 
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• periodic payments from an HR-10 (Keogh) plan, but not payments 
derived from contributions made after you retired; 

 
• lump-sum payments from an HR-10 (Keogh) plan, but only if federal 

Form 4972, Tax on Lump Sum Distributions, is not used. Do not  
include that part of your payment that was derived from contributions 
made after you retired; 

 
• periodic distributions from deferred compensation plans sponsored by 

state and local governments and tax-exempt organizations (under IRC 
section 457), for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002; and 

 
• periodic distributions of benefits from a cafeteria plan (IRC 

section 125) or a qualified cash or deferred profit-sharing or stock 
bonus plan (IRC section 401(k)), but not distributions derived from 
contributions made after you retired. 

 
The exclusion also applies to pension and annuity income received by an 
estate or trust if the income meets the requirements as described above. 
 
Qualified pension and annuity income does not include: 
 

• distributions received from a nongovernment pension plan as a 
nonemployee spouse in accordance with a court-issued qualified 
domestic relations order (QDRO) or in accordance with a domestic 
relations order (DRO) issued by a New York court. 

 
• distributions received as a result of an annuity contract purchased 

with your own funds from an insurance company or other financial 
institution. The payments are attributable to premium payments made 
by you, from your own funds, and are not attributable to personal 
services performed. 

 
Married taxpayers who both receive pension income are each entitled to 
a maximum pension and annuity income exclusion of $20,000 whether they 
file jointly or separately. However, you cannot claim any unused portion of 
your spouse’s exclusion. If you receive your own pension income and your 
deceased spouse’s pension income, you are entitled to a maximum pension 
and annuity exclusion of $20,000 each year. 
 
If you receive pension and annuity income of a deceased individual, you 
may take this subtraction (to the extent the distributions are included in your 
federal adjusted gross income), regardless of your age, if the deceased 
would have been entitled to it had the deceased continued to live. If the 
deceased individual would have become 59½ during 2010, you may 
subtract from your 2010 federal adjusted gross income the amount of  
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pension and annuity income received on or after the date that the deceased 
individual would have become 59½, but not more than $20,000. In addition, 
the amount of pension and annuity income exclusion attributable to the 
deceased individual that you are eligible to claim as a beneficiary must first 
be reduced by the amount subtracted on the deceased individual’s 2010 
New York State income tax return, if any.  
 
If the deceased individual has more than one beneficiary, the $20,000 
maximum amount of the pension and annuity exclusion must be allocated 
among the beneficiaries. Each beneficiary’s share of the $20,000 exclusion 
is determined by multiplying $20,000 by a fraction whose numerator is the 
value of the pensions and annuities inherited by the beneficiary, and whose 
denominator is the total value inherited by all beneficiaries of the deceased 
individual’s pensions and annuities. The total exclusion of the deceased 
individual and all beneficiaries cannot exceed $20,000 annually. 
 

Example: Two beneficiaries receive an inheritance of a decedent’s IRA 
and pension. At the time of inheritance, the value of the IRA and the 
pension is $100,000 and $400,000 respectively. Beneficiary A inherited 
50% of the decedent’s IRA ($50,000) and 75% of the pension account 
($300,000) for a total of $350,000. Beneficiary B inherited 50% of the 
decedent’s IRA ($50,000) and 25% of the pension account ($100,000) 
for a total of $150,000.  

 
The decedent would have been allowed the pension exclusion allowed 
under Tax Law section 612(c)(3-a) if the decedent had continued to live. 
However, the decedent had not taken any distributions from the IRA or 
pension at the time of death. Regardless of the amount of the 
distribution each beneficiary takes each year, if any, the beneficiaries 
must allocate the maximum exclusion in the same ratio as the total 
original inheritance is shared so that the total exclusion of all 
beneficiaries does not exceed $20,000. 

 
Beneficiary A’s maximum pension exclusion attributable to the 
decedent’s IRA and pension is limited to $14,000 annually.  

 
• $350,000/$500,000 = 70% 
• 70% X $20,000 = $14,000  

 
Beneficiary B’s maximum pension exclusion attributable to the 
decedent’s IRA and pension is limited to $6,000 annually.  

 
• $150,000/$500,000 = 30% 
• 30% X $20,000 = $6,000  

 
The maximum exclusion allowable, from the total of all sources that 
qualify for the exclusion, may not exceed $20,000. 
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If you have disability income that qualifies for the disability income 
exclusion and pension and annuity income that also qualifies for the 
exclusion, the total exclusion combined cannot exceed $20,000. (See 
Form IT-221, Disability Income Exclusion, for more information.) 

   
Long-term residential 
care deduction 

 If you are a resident in a qualified continuing care retirement community, 
you may be allowed a subtraction from federal adjusted gross income when 
computing your New York adjusted gross income for the portion of fees 
paid during the year that is attributable to the cost of providing long-term 
benefits under a continuing care contract. The amount of the subtraction is 
determined based on the fees paid for long-term benefits and your age. The 
maximum subtraction allowed for tax year 2010 is $4,110. If you are 
married, file a joint return, and you and your spouse both qualify, you may 
each claim the subtraction. However, you may not claim any unused part of 
your spouse’s subtraction. 
 
A continuing care retirement community is qualified if it has been issued a 
certificate of authority by the New York State Department of Health to 
operate as a continuing care community.  
 
In addition, a long-term care insurance credit is also available (see 
Long-term care insurance credit on page 20). 

   
Nonresident 
recipients of 
pension income 

 Income from pension plans described in section 114 of Title 4 of the U.S. 
code received while a nonresident of New York State is not New York 
source income and should not be included in the New York State amount 
column on Form IT-203, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax 
Return. 
 
The plans described in section 114 of Title 4 of the U.S. Code are as 
follows: 
 

• A qualified trust under section 401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) that is exempt from taxation under section 501(a) of the IRC. 
These qualified plans are the regular type of plans maintained by 
employers to provide retirement benefits to employees. They include 
both defined contribution and defined benefit plans. In addition to 
regular employee plans, also included in this category are Keogh  
(HR-10) plans for self-employed persons and section 401(k) deferred 
compensation plans. 

 
• A simplified employee pension (SEP) defined in section 408(k) of the 

IRC. These are plans under which employers, including self-employed 
individuals, contribute to Individual Retirement Accounts on behalf of 
their employees. 
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• An annuity plan described in section 403(a) of the IRC. These plans 
are basically the equivalent of qualified plans, but they are funded by 
annuity contracts. 

 
• An annuity contract described in section 403(b) of the IRC. These are 

tax sheltered annuities which utilize insurance contracts to fund a 
special type of pension arrangement available only to employees of 
public educational organizations (such as public schools) and certain 
other tax-exempt organizations. 

 
• An individual retirement plan described in section 7701(a)(37) of the 

IRC. These plans are Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), 
including Roth IRAs. 

 
• An eligible deferred compensation plan as defined in section 457 of 

the IRC. These are plans set up by state and local governments and 
any other tax exempt organizations which permit employees, subject 
to certain limits, to contribute pre-tax dollars to the plans. 

 
• A governmental plan as defined in section 414(d) of the IRC. These 

are plans established for its employees by the government of the 
United States, or a state or political subdivision of a state, or any 
agency or instrumentality of the United States or any state. 

 
• A trust described in section 501(c)(18) of the IRC. These are trusts 

created before June 25, 1959, that are part of a pension plan meeting 
special requirements and funded only by contributions of employees. 

 
• Any plan, program, or arrangement described in section 3121(v)(2)(C) 

of the IRC or any plan, program, or arrangement that is in writing, that 
provides for retirement payments in recognition of prior service to be 
made to a retired partner and that is in effect immediately before 
retirement begins, provided payments under the plan are part of a 
series of substantially equal periodic payments (which may include 
income described in the plans above) made for: 

 
(a) the life or life expectancy of the recipient (or for the joint lives or 

joint expectancies of the recipient and the designated beneficiary 
of the recipient); or 

 
(b) a period of not less than 10 years. 

 
However, a plan described above that is created solely to provide 
retirement benefits to employees that would exceed the benefits that 
could be provided to employees under a qualified plan (commonly 
referred to as excess benefit plans) is not subject to the periodic 
payment requirements set forth in (a) and (b) previously. These plans  
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will qualify as covered plans regardless of the payout period or the 
method (lump-sum, etc.) in which the payments are made. 

 
This provision relates to nonqualified deferred compensation 
arrangements. They are plans that are not recognized as qualified 
under the IRC. These are unlimited, flexible arrangements without 
contribution limits, funding requirements, or limits on payment 
provisions. These plans are often unfunded. 
 
The fact that payments may be adjusted from time to time pursuant to 
such plan, program, or arrangement to limit total disbursements under 
a predetermined formula, or to provide cost of living or similar 
adjustments, will not cause the periodic payments provided under such 
plan, program or arrangement to fail the substantially equal periodic 
payments test. 

 
For purposes of this section, the term retired partner is an individual 
who is described as a partner in section 7701(a)(2) of the IRC of 1986 
and who is retired under such individual’s partnership agreement. 

 
• Any retirement or retainer pay of a member or former member of a 

uniformed service computed under Chapter 71 (Computation of 
Retired Pay) of Title 10 (Armed Forces) of the United States Code. 
Uniformed forces means the armed forces (Army, Navy, Air Force, 
Marine Corp, and Coast Guard), the Commissioned Corps of the 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the 
Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service. 

 
If you are a nonresident of New York and receive pension income that is 
not included in one of the plans previously described, that income must be 
included in the New York State amount column of Form IT-203, 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. However, you are 
entitled to the pension and annuity income exclusion of up to $20,000 if you 
meet the conditions described in this publication under Pension and annuity 
income exclusion on page 11. 

   
New York tax 
credits 

 You may be able to reduce your income tax liability by claiming certain tax 
credits. If you are not required to file a New York State income tax return, 
you may still qualify to claim a refund of the real property tax credit and the 
New York City school tax credit. Some of the available income tax credits 
that may be of special interest to senior citizens and retired persons are 
identified below. For information on other New York State and 
New York City income tax credits, visit our Web site.  
 
Note: Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and 
before January 1, 2013, certain tax credits will be subject to a temporary 
deferral in any tax year that the total amount of these credits, that would 
otherwise be used to reduce your tax liability or be refunded or credited as 
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an overpayment to estimated tax, is in excess of $2 million. For more 
information, see TSB-M-10(5)C, (11)I, Temporary Deferral of Certain Tax 
Credits. 

   
Child and dependent 
care credit 

 If you qualify to claim the federal child and dependent care credit, you can 
claim the New York State child and dependent care credit (whether or not 
you actually claimed the federal credit). The New York State credit is based 
on a percentage of the federal credit.  
 
Full-year and part-year New York City residents may also qualify for the 
New York City child and dependent care credit (see the instructions for 
Form IT-216, Claim for Child and Dependent Care Credit). 
 
If you did not file a claim for the federal child and dependent care credit, 
you can still claim the New York State child and dependent care credit if all 
four of the following apply: 
 

1. Your filing status is Single, Head of household, Qualifying 
Widow(er) with dependent child, or Married filing joint return. 
However, see the special rule for Married persons filing separate 
federal and New York State returns in the instructions for 
Form IT-216. 

 
2. The care was provided so you (and your spouse, if you were married) 

could work or look for work. However, if you did not find a job and 
have no earned income for the year, you cannot take the credit. If 
your spouse was a student or disabled, see the instructions for 
Form IT-216. 

 
3. Your child (or other qualifying person(s) for whom the care was 

provided) lived in the same home with you for more than half the 
year. 

 
4. The person who provided the care was not your spouse, the parent of 

your qualifying child under age 13, or a person whom you can claim 
as a dependent. If your child provided the care, he or she must have 
been age 19 or older by the end of 2010.  

 
A qualifying person is: 
 

• A child under age 13 whom you can claim as a dependent (see also 
Special rule for children of divorced or separated parents in the 
instructions for Form IT-216). If the child turned age 13 during the 
year, the child is a qualifying person for the part of the year he or she 
was under age 13. 

 
• Your spouse who is disabled and not able to care for himself or 

herself. 
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• Any person who is disabled and not able to care for himself or herself 

whom you can claim as a dependent (or could claim as a dependent 
except that the person had gross income of $3,650 or more or filed a 
joint return). 

 
• Any person who is disabled and not able to care for himself or herself 

whom you could claim as a dependent except that you (or your spouse  
if filing a joint return), could be claimed as a dependent on someone 
else’s 2010 return. 

 
Caution: To be a qualifying person, the person must have lived with you 
for more than half of 2010. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-216, Claim for Child and 
Dependent Care Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or 
IT-203. 
 
For more information on the qualifications to claim the federal child and 
dependent care credit, see federal Publication 503, Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses. This federal publication is available on the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Web site at www.irs.gov. 

   
Earned income credit 
(EIC) 

 The New York State earned income credit (EIC) is a special income tax 
credit for certain people who earn income from work. If you claimed the 
federal EIC and file a New York State income tax return, you qualify to 
claim the New York State EIC. 
 
New York City full-year residents and New York City part-year residents 
who claimed the federal EIC may claim a New York City EIC. You must 
file a New York income tax return to claim the New York City EIC. This 
credit is in addition to the New York State EIC or noncustodial parent 
New York State EIC (see the instructions for Form IT-215, Claim for 
Earned Income Credit). 
 
For tax year 2010, the New York State EIC is equal to 30% of your 
allowable federal EIC. However, the New York State EIC will be reduced 
by the amount of any New York State household credit you are allowed. 
 
New York State residents and part-year residents qualify for refunds of any 
EIC in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. Nonresidents do not 
qualify for refunds of the New York State EIC. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-215, Claim for Earned 
Income Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203. For 
more information, visit our Web site. 
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Real property tax 
credit 

 You may qualify for the real property tax credit if you are a New York State 
resident, your household gross income for the tax year was $18,000 or less, 
and you paid either real property taxes or rent for your residence. If all 
qualified members of the household are under age 65, the credit can be as 
much as $75. If at least one qualified member of the household is age 65 or 
older, the credit can be as much as $375. 
 
New York State residents qualify for a refund of any real property tax credit 
in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. Residents who are not 
required to file New York State returns may qualify for a refund of the full 
amount of the credit. Part-year residents and nonresidents of 
New York State do not qualify for this credit. 
 
If you are required to file a New York State income tax return, you should 
file Form IT-150 or IT-201 and attach Form IT-214, Claim for Real 
Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters. If you are not required 
to file a New York State income tax return, you can file Form IT-214 by 
itself. You should file this form as soon as possible after January 1, 2011. 
 
For more information, visit our Web site.  

   
Credit for purchase of 
an automated 
external defibrillator 

 This credit is available to taxpayers who purchase a qualified automated 
external defibrillator(s). The credit is equal to the lesser of the purchase cost 
of the unit, or $500. There is no limit on the number of units purchased 
during the tax year for which the credit may be taken. However, the credit 
cannot exceed $500 for each unit purchased. 
 
An automated external defibrillator, as defined under section 3000-b of the 
Public Health Law, is a medical device approved by the United States Food 
and Drug Administration, that: 
 

• is capable of recognizing the presence or absence, in a patient, of 
ventricular fibrillation and rapid ventricular tachycardia; 

 
• is capable of determining, without intervention by an operator, 

whether defibrillation should be performed on the patient; 
 

• upon determining that defibrillation should be performed, 
automatically charges and requests delivery of an electrical impulse to 
the patient’s heart; and 

 
• then, upon action by an operator, delivers an appropriate electrical 

impulse to the patient’s heart to perform defibrillation. 
 
The credit is not refundable, and you may not carry any unused credit 
forward to future years. 
 
 



Publication 36 (12/10) 

20 
 

To claim this credit, complete Form IT-250, Claim for Credit for Purchase 
of an Automated External Defibrillator, and attach it to your Form IT-201 
or IT-203. 

   
Long-term care 
insurance credit 

 The long-term care insurance credit is equal to 20% of the premiums you 
paid during the tax year for the purchase of, or for continuing coverage 
under a qualifying long-term care insurance policy. Any unused credit may 
be carried over to future tax years.  
 
The long-term care insurance credit is limited for part-year and nonresident 
individuals, estates, and trusts to the amount determined by multiplying the 
total credit by your income percentage. 
 
A qualifying long-term care insurance policy is one that 
 

• is approved by the New York State Superintendent of Insurance under 
Insurance Law section 1117(g); and 

 
• is a qualified long-term care insurance contract under Internal Revenue 

Code (IRC) section 7702B. 
 

or 
 

• is a group contract delivered or issued for delivery outside 
New York State; and 

 
• the group contract is a qualified long-term care insurance contract 

under IRC section 7702B. The premiums paid for this insurance 
qualify for the credit even if the policy is not approved by the 
New York State Superintendent of Insurance. 

 
A qualified long-term care insurance contract under IRC section 7702B is 
an insurance contract that provides only coverage of qualified long-term 
care services. The contract must 
 

• be guaranteed renewable; 
 

• not provide for cash surrender value or other money that can be paid, 
assigned, pledged, or borrowed; 

 
• provide that refunds, other than refunds on the death of the insured or 

complete surrender or cancellation of the contract, and dividends 
under the contract must be used only to reduce future premiums or 
increase future benefits; and 

 
• generally not pay or reimburse expenses incurred for services or items 

that would be reimbursed under Medicare, except where Medicare is a 
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secondary payer, or contract makes per diem or other periodic 
payments without regard to expenses. 

 
The credit is not refundable. However, any amount of credit or carryover of 
credit not deductible in the current tax year may be carried over to be 
deducted for the following year or years. 
 
For more information, see Form IT-249, Claim for Long-Term Care 
Insurance Credit, and the instructions for Form IT-249. 

   
Nursing home 
assessment credit 

 New York State allows a personal income tax credit for the portion of the 
assessment imposed on a residential health care facility (nursing home) 
pursuant to Public Health Law section 2807-d(2)(b) that is passed through 
to a private-pay resident of the nursing home. The amount of the credit is 
equal to the total portion of the assessment that is passed through and 
directly paid by an individual during the year (e.g., the total portion paid 
during 2010). The portion must be separately stated and accounted for on 
the billing statements or other statements provided to a resident of a nursing 
home, and must be paid directly by the individual claiming the credit. If an 
individual other than the resident of the home is actually paying the portion, 
the individual who paid the portion, not the resident, is entitled to claim the 
credit. If more than one individual is directly paying the total nursing home 
bill, the total portion of the assessment paid must be divided between them 
according to the percentage of the total nursing home expenses paid by each 
individual. 
 
An individual may claim the full credit even though the resident may be 
receiving benefits from a long-term care insurance policy. If a resident 
assigns his or her long-term care insurance benefits to a nursing home, the 
resident is treated as having paid that amount towards the total nursing 
home bill. The credit cannot be claimed for any portion of the assessment 
that is paid directly to the nursing home by a health insurance policy, with 
public funds (e.g., Medicaid or Medicare), or that is paid by a trust or other 
entity. 
 
Where a nursing home does not separately state the portion of the 
assessment passed through to a resident on the resident’s billing statements, 
the nursing home should provide the resident (or the person to whom the 
resident’s billing statements are sent) with a summary statement that 
indicates the total portion of the assessment paid by or on behalf of the 
resident during 2010 (or any succeeding year). There is no particular form 
for this statement. However, the statement must contain the name of the 
residential health care facility, the name of the resident of the facility, the 
period covered by the statement (e.g., calendar year 2010) and the amount 
of the assessment that was passed through and actually paid (not the billed 
amount) by or on behalf of the resident during the calendar year. For 
example, if the resident’s January 2011 bill was actually paid in 
December 2010, the amount of the assessment passed through for January 
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would be included on the 2010 summary statement provided by the nursing 
home. 
 
You may claim a refund of any nursing home assessment credit which 
exceeds your New York State income tax liability. 
 
To claim the credit, you must complete Form IT-258, Claim for Nursing 
Home Assessment Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201 or 
Form IT-203. 

   
New York City school 
tax credit 

 The New York City school tax credit is available to a New York City 
resident or part-year resident who cannot be claimed as a dependent on 
another taxpayer’s federal return.  
 
Married persons filing a joint return and surviving spouses with income of 
$250,000 or less are entitled to a credit of $125. All other taxpayers with 
income of $250,000 or less are entitled to a credit of $62.50. There is no 
credit allowed for taxpayers with income of more than $250,000.  
 
If you are a New York City resident or part-year resident, you may qualify 
for a refund of any school tax credit in excess of your New York City 
resident tax due. The credit is required to be prorated if the taxpayer 
changes his or her New York City resident status during the tax year. 
 
Taxpayers filing New York State returns on Form IT-150, IT-201, or 
IT-203, can claim this credit directly on their tax return. See the instructions 
for these forms for more information. 
 
You can claim the New York City school tax credit even if you are not 
required to file a New York State income tax return. See Form NYC-210, 
Claim for New York City School Tax Credit, and the instructions for 
Form NYC-210. 

   
Sales or use tax  You must report any unpaid sales or use tax owed for 2010 on your 

personal income tax return for 2010. You owe sales or compensating use 
tax if you: 
 

• purchased an item or service subject to tax that is delivered to you in 
New York State without payment of New York State and local tax to 
the seller; or 

 
• purchased an item or service outside New York State that is subject to 

sales tax in New York State (and you were a resident of 
New York State at the time of the purchase) with subsequent use in 
New York State. 

 
Note: You may be entitled to a credit for sales tax paid to another 
state. See the exact calculation method for sales tax in the instructions 
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for Form ST-140, Individual Purchaser’s Annual Report of Sales and 
Use Tax. 

 
For sales and use tax purposes, a resident includes persons who have a 
permanent place of abode in the state. Accordingly, you may be a resident 
for sales tax purposes even though you may not be a resident for income tax 
purposes. See the instructions for Form ST-140 for more information. 
 
You may not use your personal income tax return to report: 
 

• any sales and use tax on business purchases if the business is 
registered for sales and use tax purposes. You must report this tax on 
the business’s sales tax return. 

 
• any unpaid sales and use tax on motor vehicles, trailers, all-terrain 

vehicles, vessels, or snowmobiles. This tax is paid directly to the 
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. However, if you will 
not be registering or titling your motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain 
vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile at the DMV, you should remit the tax 
directly to the Tax Department using Form ST-130, Business 
Purchaser’s Report of Sales and Use Tax, or Form ST-140. 

 
An unpaid sales or use tax liability commonly arises if you made purchases 
through the Internet, by catalog, from television shopping channels, or on 
an Indian reservation, or if you purchased items or services subject to tax in 
another state and brought them back to New York for use here. 
 

Example 1: You purchased a computer over the Internet that was 
delivered to your house in Monroe County, New York, from an 
out-of-state company and did not pay sales tax to that company. 

 
Example 2: You purchased a book on a trip to New Hampshire that you 
brought back to your residence in Nassau County, New York, for use 
there. 

 
You may also owe an additional local tax if you made a purchase in a 
locality in New York State and brought the item into or subsequently used 
the service in another New York State locality where you were a resident 
and that locality had a higher tax rate than where you made the purchase. 
 
If you are not filing an income tax return but owe sales or use tax for 2010, 
you must pay any unpaid sales or use tax liability by filing Form ST-140, 
Individual Purchaser’s Annual Report of Sales and Use Tax, by 
April 18, 2011. Alternatively, you may file Form ST-141, Individual 
Purchaser’s Periodic Report of Sales and Use Tax, periodically to report 
sales or use tax liability on other than an annual basis.  
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For additional information, see the instructions for Form IT-150 or 
Form IT-201, and Publication 774, Purchaser’s Obligations to Pay Sales 
and Use Taxes Directly to the Tax Department. 

   
When to file  You should file your income tax return as soon as you can after 

January 1, 2011, but not after April 18, 2011. If you file for a fiscal year, 
your return is due by the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the end 
of your fiscal year. 
 
When a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you are 
permitted to file and pay on the next business day. 

   
Automatic six-month 
extension of time to 
file 

 If you cannot meet the filing due date, you may request an extension of time 
by filing Form IT-370, Application for Automatic Six-Month Extension of 
Time to File for Individuals. The filing date for your income tax return will 
be automatically extended for six months if you file Form IT-370 on or 
before the due date and pay any income tax due with your Form IT-370. 
You must also pay any sales or use tax you owe at the time you request the 
extension.  
 
If you have Internet access, you can Web file your extension request for 
free on our Web site. If you are using a paid preparer who must e-file your 
personal income tax return, the preparer must e-file your request for 
extension. If you are using tax preparation software, check your software 
package to see if you have the option to e-file your request for an extension. 
 
An extension of time to file does not extend your time to pay; full payment 
must be made of any balance due with this automatic extension of time to 
file. You may pay by check, money order, electronic funds withdrawal, or 
credit card.  
 
Note: The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for 
nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an 
error by the bank or the department, the department will not charge the fee. 
 
You must estimate your New York State, New York City, and Yonkers 
income taxes due, but be as exact as you can with the information you have 
(see Estimated income tax requirements on page 5). If we later determine 
that your estimate was not reasonable, the extension will not be allowed, 
and you may be subject to penalty and interest.  
 
If you expect to receive a refund or anticipate having no amount of 
New York State, New York City, or Yonkers income tax or state or local 
sales or use tax remaining unpaid as of the due date of your return, we will 
accept a copy of federal Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of 
Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, in place of Form IT-370.  
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Send us a copy of federal Form 4868 on or before the due date of your 
return. Write New York State copy at the top of the form and mail it to: 
 

Extension Request–NR 
PO Box 4126 
Binghamton, NY 13902-4126 

   
Automatic extension 
for death of a spouse 

 Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, if your spouse 
dies within 30 days prior to the due date for filing a personal income tax 
return or paying the tax due on that return, the department will grant you an 
automatic extension of 90 days to file your income tax return and to pay the 
tax due on the return. No penalties or interest for late filing or late payment 
will be imposed during this 90-day extension period.  
 

• If you file a paper return, you must enter the decedent’s date of death 
in the space provided and you must enter D9 in the special condition 
code box provided on the front page of the New York State personal 
income tax return. 

 
• If you e-file your return, you must enter the decedent’s date of death 

in the space provided and must enter D9 in the special condition code 
box. If the tax preparation software does not support a special 
condition code, the return should be filed on paper following the 
instructions in the preceding paragraph. 

   
Electronic tax 
filing (e-file) 

 You can file your income tax return electronically (e-file) using your 
personal computer and an approved, commercially available software 
package, or you can choose to have a tax professional e-file for you. 
 
If you choose to use a tax professional, ask the preparer if he or she is 
authorized to e-file your income tax return. Any tax professional that can 
e-file federal tax returns is authorized to e-file New York tax returns, as 
long as they are using software that has been approved for the New York 
e-file program. You can also access the IRS interactive e-file provider site 
(www.irs.gov) to help you find a tax professional or tax preparation 
business near you.  
 
E-filing is the fastest way to receive your refund. The speed and accuracy of 
computers allow electronic returns to be processed faster than paper returns, 
and using tax preparation software greatly reduces the possibility of errors 
and delays. To receive your refund even faster, you may choose to have it 
deposited directly into your savings or checking account (see Direct deposit 
of refunds on page 27). 
 
E-filing is faster and more accurate than paper filing, and, if you qualify, it 
may be free. Several tax preparers and tax preparation software providers 
offer free or discounted e-filing. You may also be able to file your return 
yourself using the Internet.  
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You may pay a balance due on an e-filed return by submitting a check or 
money order with Form IT-201-V, Payment Voucher for E-Filed Income 
Tax Returns; by using your credit card; or by authorizing the Tax 
Department to withdraw the payment from your bank account (electronic 
funds withdrawal). You must include authorization and account information 
for electronic funds withdrawal with your electronic return, and you cannot 
change it once it is transmitted. To avoid interest and penalties, your check 
or money order must be mailed, credit card payment authorized, or 
electronic funds withdrawal made, by the filing due date. 
 
For more information and a complete list of forms that can be e-filed, visit 
our e-file Web site (www.tax.ny.gov). 

   
Payment options  If you have a balance due on your return, you may pay by check or money 

order. You may also pay a balance due by using your credit card or by 
electronic funds withdrawal. For specific information on selecting a 
payment option, see the instructions for the tax form or tax preparation 
software you are using. 
 
Note: The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank for 
nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an 
error by the bank or the department, the department will not charge the fee. 

   
Electronic funds 
withdrawal 

 If you file your New York State income tax return and you have a balance 
due, you may authorize the Tax Department to make an electronic funds 
withdrawal from your designated bank account. By choosing this option, 
you authorize the New York State Tax Department to transfer money from 
your account to the state’s account. 
 
Authorization and account information for electronic funds withdrawal 
must be included with your return and cannot be changed once it is filed. 
You must specify a payment date that is on or before April 18, 2011. If you 
file before the due date, money will not be withdrawn from your account 
before the date you specify. To avoid interest and penalties, you must 
authorize a withdrawal on or before the filing due date. If you designate a 
weekend or a bank holiday, the payment will be withdrawn the next 
business day. 
 
For more information, see the instructions for the form or tax preparation 
software you are using, or visit our Web site. 

   
Paying by credit card  You can use your American Express Card, Discover/Novus, Visa, or 

MasterCard to pay the amount you owe on your 2010 New York State 
personal income tax return (Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203) or to make 
2011 quarterly estimated income tax payments. You will be charged a  
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convenience fee, and terms and conditions may vary between the credit card 
service providers.   
 
For more information on the credit card program, visit our Web site or refer 
to the instructions of the tax form you are using. 

   
Overpayments, 
refunds, and 
collection of debts 

  

   
Direct deposit of 
refunds 

 You have the option to have your income tax refund deposited directly into 
your bank account. Payment by this method is more secure since there is no 
check to get lost or stolen. With direct deposit, you will receive your refund 
faster than if it were sent by mail. Direct deposit is more convenient since 
you do not have to go to the bank to make a deposit. For more information, 
refer to the instructions for the tax form or tax preparation software you are 
using. 

   
Refund by mail  If you compute an overpayment on your income tax return, you may choose 

to have the overpayment refunded by check via US mail. The Tax 
Department will mail your check to the mailing address listed on your 
income tax return. 
 
Note: Paper check refunds might be significantly delayed as compared to 
using direct deposit. 

   
Estimated tax for 
2011 

 You have the option of applying all or a portion of your overpayment to 
your 2011 estimated income tax account by completing the appropriate 
line(s) on your income tax return. If you choose to apply all or a portion of 
your overpayment to your 2011 estimated income tax, you generally cannot 
change that decision after April 18, 2011. 

   
Collection of debts 
from your refund 

 We will keep all or part of your overpayment (refund) if you owe a 
New York State tax liability or a New York City or Yonkers personal 
income tax liability; if you owe past-due support or a past-due legally 
enforceable debt to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or a New York State 
agency, or to another state; if you defaulted on a governmental education 
loan, state university, or city university loan; or if you owe a 
New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We will refund any amount that 
exceeds your debt. 
 
A New York State agency includes any state department, board, bureau, 
division, commission, committee, public authority, public benefit 
corporation, council, office, or other entity performing a governmental or 
proprietary function for the state or a social services district. 
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If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due legally 
enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact the IRS or the state 
agency. 
 
For New York State tax liabilities or New York City or Yonkers personal 
income tax liabilities, call (518) 457-5434 or write to:  
 

NYS Tax Department  
Collections and Civil Enforcement Division 
W A Harriman Campus 
Albany, NY 12227 

 
For information relating to a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, call 
(212) 232-3550. 

   
Privacy and 
confidentiality 

 The Tax Law contains strict secrecy provisions to protect the confidentiality 
of tax returns and tax return information. Consequently, you must give 
specific written authorization to a practitioner, paid preparer or other 
representative before he or she will be given access to your confidential 
records or be allowed to represent you before the Tax Department or the 
Division of Tax Appeals. There are various levels of authorization you can 
give, as described below. 

   
Third-party designee  If you want to authorize a friend, family member, or any other person 

(third-party designee) you choose to discuss your tax return with the 
New York State Tax Department, check the Yes box in the Third-party 
designee area of your return and enter the information requested. 
 
If you check the Yes box, you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) are 
authorizing the Tax Department to discuss with your designee any questions 
that arise during the processing of your return. You are authorizing the 
designee to: 
 

• give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your 
return; 

 
• call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your 

return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and 
 

• respond to certain Tax Department notices that you share with the 
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The Tax 
Department will not send notices to the designee. 

 
You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind you 
to anything (including additional tax liability), or otherwise represent you 
before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to perform those 
services for you, you must file a power of attorney with the department. 
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The authorization will end automatically one year after the later of the 
return due date (including any extension) or the date you filed your return. 

   
Power of attorney  A power of attorney is evidence that a practitioner or other person may act 

on your behalf. The power of attorney must contain explicit authorization 
for your representative to act for you, and must be properly completed and 
signed. 
 
The Tax Department prefers that practitioners use one of the department’s 
power of attorney forms:  
 

• Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, or  
 

• Form ET-14, Estate Tax Power of Attorney. 
 
The department will accept other forms if they contain all the necessary 
elements as required on the Tax Department forms.  
 
Tax Department power of attorney forms may be used for New York State 
tax matters, New York City tax matters, or both. 

   
Consumer Bill of 
Rights Regarding 
Tax Preparers 

 Taxpayers who use the services of paid tax preparers are entitled to 
protection from unfair treatment. While most tax preparers act within the 
law and treat their clients fairly, there are some that do not. 
 
All tax preparers are subject to certain requirements concerning refund 
anticipation loans (RALs) and refund anticipation checks (RACs). Tax 
preparers are prohibited from advertising RALs as refunds (for example, 
advertising a RAL as an instant refund). Additionally, any advertisement by 
a tax preparer that mentions RALs must state conspicuously that a RAL is 
in fact a loan and that a fee or interest will be charged by the lending 
institution. The lending institution must be identified in the advertisement. 
In addition, before a taxpayer enters into a RAL or an agreement for a 
RAC, the tax preparer facilitating the loan must provide a disclosure 
statement to the taxpayer in writing.  
 
The Tax Department produces and makes available an informational flier 
providing certain information for consumers about their rights regarding tax 
preparers. The flier is Publication 135, Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding 
Tax Preparers, and it is available on our Web site. 
 
Note: Tax preparers (except those listed as Exempt preparers below and tax 
preparers who prepare tax returns within New York City) are required under 
the General Business Law (Article 24-C) to provide you with contact 
information and a copy of Publication 135, Consumer Bill of Rights 
Regarding Tax Preparers. 
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Requirement to 
provide contact 
information 

 Tax preparers are required to provide each of their customers with a receipt 
containing an address and phone number at which the preparer can be 
contacted throughout the year. If the actual person who prepared the return 
is an employee, partner, or shareholder of an entity (business), the general 
address and phone number of the business should be on the receipt. 

   
Exempt preparers  The following tax preparers are exempt from the requirements to provide 

you with contact information and a copy of Publication 135: 
 

• an employee or officer of a business enterprise who is preparing the 
tax returns of that business enterprise; 

 
• a fiduciary, and the employees of the fiduciary, who advise or assist in 

the preparation of income tax returns on behalf of the fiduciary estate, 
the testator, trustee, grantor, or beneficiaries; 

 
• an attorney who advises or assists in the preparation of tax returns in 

the practice of law, and his or her employees; 
 
• a certified public accountant (CPA) licensed under the New York State 

education law or licensed by one or more of the states or jurisdictions 
of the United States, and his or her employees; 

 
• a public accountant licensed under the New York State education law 

and his or her employees; 
 

• an employee of a governmental unit, agency, or instrumentality who 
advises or assists in the preparation of income tax returns in the 
performance of his or her duties; and 

 
• an agent enrolled to practice before the Internal Revenue Service 

(IRS). 
   
New York City tax 
preparers 

 Tax preparers operating within New York City are not subject to the 
provisions of Article 24-C of the General Business Law for tax returns 
actually prepared within the city. Instead, Subchapter 8 of Chapter 4 of 
Title 20 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York provides rules 
that apply specifically to tax preparers operating in New York City.  
 
For more information on New York City’s consumer bill of rights regarding 
tax preparers, visit the New York City Department of Consumer Affairs 
Web site (www.nyc.gov/consumers) or dial 311 (212-NEW-YORK if you 
are outside New York City). 
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Metropolitan 
Commuter 
Transportation 
Mobility Tax 
(MCTMT) 

 The MCTMT applies to certain employers. It also applies to individuals 
(including partners in partnerships, and partners and members of limited 
liability partnerships (LLPs) and limited liability companies (LLCs) that are 
treated as partnerships for federal income tax purposes) who have net 
earnings from self-employment and who are engaging in business within 
the metropolitan commuter transportation district (MCTD).  
 
The Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) is defined 
under section 1262 of the Public Authorities Law. The MCTD includes 
New York City (the counties of New York (Manhattan), Bronx, Kings 
(Brooklyn), Queens, and Richmond (Staten Island)), and the counties of 
Rockland, Nassau, Suffolk, Orange, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester. 
 
For more information, visit our Web site or call the MCTMT Information 
Center at (518) 485-2392.  
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Need help?

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 A.M. to
  4:30 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
Refund status:	 (518) 457-5149
  (Automated service for refund status is
  available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.)
Personal Income Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5181
To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure 
that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and 
other facilities are accessible to persons with 
disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, call 
the information center.

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you 
have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Internet access: www.tax.ny.gov
Get answers to your questions; check your 
refund status; check your estimated tax 
account; download forms and publications; 
get tax updates and other information.




