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New Information Regarding Due Dates and Other Requirements for Filing 

Information Returns Relating to Credit Card and Debit Card Payments 
 
 

This memorandum reminds financial institutions and other organizations 
that handle payment transactions that they must now file information 
returns with New York State. The memorandum describes the new 
reporting requirements and provides the due dates for the returns and 
other important information. 

 
 
General information regarding the filing requirements for information returns related to 
credit card and debit card payments 
 
 Chapter 57 of the Laws of 2010 (New York State budget legislation for 2010-2011), 
amended the Tax Law to require the filing of annual information returns with the Tax 
Department relating to credit and debit card payments to payees who have a New York State 
address or who are New York State taxpayers (referred to as New York State payees). These 
amendments follow the provisions of section 6050W of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) that 
require annual reports to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) by payment settlement 
entities, third party settlement organizations, electronic payment facilitators, or other third parties 
acting on behalf of payment settlement entities (referred to as reporting entities) reflecting the 
transactions with their payees.1   
 
 Under these amendments, a reporting entity that is required to file the information returns 
under section 6050W of the IRC must also file with the Tax Department either duplicates of all 
the information returns filed with the IRS or duplicates of any information returns related to New 
York State payees. The duplicate information returns required by New York State must be filed 
within 30 days of the filing of the information returns required by the IRS under section 6050W 
of the IRC.  
 
Due dates for filing the information returns with the Tax Department 
 
 Under the IRS rules, information returns under section 6050W are due by February 28th 
of the following year if the return is not filed electronically, or by March 31 of the following 
year if filed electronically. Accordingly, the first duplicate information returns must be filed 

                                                 
1 This legislation was previously described in TSB-M-10(7)C, Summary of Budget Bill Corporation Tax Changes 
Enacted in 2010, TSB-M-10(13)I, Summary of Budget Bill Personal Income Tax Changes Enacted in 2010, and 
TSB-M-10(18)S, Summary of 2010 Sales and Use Tax Budget Legislation. 
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with the Tax Department by either March 29, 2012, or April 30, 2012, depending on whether the 
information returns are filed with the IRS in a paper format or electronically.2 
 
 If the IRS grants a reporting entity an extension of time to file its information returns, the 
extension will automatically apply for New York State purposes. Accordingly, the due date for 
filing the duplicate information return with the Tax Department will be 30 days after the 
extended due date.   
 
 Also, if the due date for filing the duplicate information return with the Tax Department 
falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a day which is a legal holiday in New York State, the return will 
be considered timely filed if it is filed on the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday.  
 
New York State taxpayer information available to reporting entities 
 
 For reporting entities that choose to file information returns related only to New York 
State payees, the Tax Department will make available a database of New York State taxpayers 
and persons registered for sales tax purposes. The data base will be made available no later than 
45 days prior to the entity’s deadline for filing the information return. A reporting entity is 
prohibited from using this list or database for any purposes other than to enable them to comply 
with these filing requirements, and must sign a confidentiality agreement as to the contents of the 
data base.   
 
Penalty for failure to file information returns with the Tax Department  
 
 A $50 penalty may be imposed for each failure to file a duplicate information return with 
the Tax Department, with an annual maximum penalty of $250,000. The Tax Department has the 
authority to waive all or a portion of this penalty if it is shown that the failure to file was due to 
reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect, or if doing so promotes compliance with the Tax 
Law, or effective tax administration by the Tax Department. 
 
Additional information on filing requirements 
 
 All information returns filed under the authority of this new law must be filed 
electronically. In addition, the Tax Department suggests that for ease of compliance for the 
reporting entity, duplicates of all information returns required to be filed with the IRS be 
filed with the Tax Department, rather than just those for taxpayers with a New York State 
address or New York State taxpayers. Although the information returns may include information 
related to out-of-state payees, the Tax Department is prohibited from using any information not 
related to New York State payees.  
 
                                                 
2Note: Based on information available at the time TSB-Ms-10-(7)C, (13)I and (18)S were issued, they indicated that 
the first information returns filed with the Tax Department were going to be due on March 1, 2012.   
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 Additional information regarding these filing requirements, including instructions for 
filing the information returns with the Tax Department, will be available on the Tax 
Department’s Web site at www.tax.ny.gov.  
 
 (Tax Law section1703) 
 
 
 

NOTE: A TSB-M is an informational statement of existing department policies or of 
changes to the law, regulations, or department policies.  It is accurate on the date 
issued.  Subsequent changes in the law or regulations, judicial decisions, Tax 
Appeals Tribunal decisions, or changes in department policies could affect the 
validity of the information presented in a TSB-M. 


