

Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Real Property Tax Services

RP-496

(6/20)

Application to Renounce Previously Granted Exemption(s)

Name(s) of owner(s)					
Mailing address of owner(s) (numb	er and street or PO box)		Location of property (street address)		
City, village, or post office	State	ZIP code	City, town, or village	State	ZIP code
Daytime contact number	Evening contact r	number	School district		
E-mail address			Property identification: Tax map number or section/block/lot: (see tax bill or assessment roll)		
1 Exemption(s) being reno	ounced:				
2 If you are renouncing the	e STAR exemption, a	are you doing so o	only for the purpose of receiving the STAR	credit? .	. Yes No
			e, on and after the following date <i>(mmddyyyy</i> late on which your primary residence chan		
Signature		ate	Signature		Date
Part 2 – For use by the	County Director:				
The amount that must be	-	n with this renu	nciation request is:		
Sum of the subtotals on Form(s) RP-496-W (attach form(s))				. \$	
Processing fee: This fee does not apply if o		1 and either:			
 the applicant answered Yes on line 2, or school taxes have not yet been levied on the assessment roll on which the exemption appears 				\$	500.00
Total			\$		
Part 3 – For use by the	County Treasurer	:			
Amount paid by applicant	Da	ate payment received			
Amounts distributed to:					
Town/City: \$					
School: \$					
Village: \$					
Special district(s) (give name	e and dollar amount for	each district. For e	xample: District A, \$300; District B, \$250):		
State (STAR only): \$					

Instructions

Authorization

Real Property Tax Law § 496 authorizes a property owner to voluntarily give up his or her claim to a tax exemption on one or more preceding assessment rolls.

Time and place for filing

A property owner may file a voluntary exemption renunciation application with the County Director of Real Property Tax Services (or in Nassau or Tompkins Counties, with the Chief Assessing Officer; this form does not apply to real property located within New York City). The application must be filed no later than ten years after the levy of taxes upon the assessment roll on which the renounced exemption appears. Do **not** file the form with the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance or the Office of Real Property Tax Services.

Calculation of amount owed

The County Director, after consulting with the assessor when appropriate, shall compute the total amount owed by the property owner. For the STAR exemption, the amount owed is the actual amount of the tax savings. For all other exemptions, the amount owed is the assessed value that was exempted multiplied by the applicable tax rate or rates. Interest shall then be added at the rate prescribed by Real Property Tax Law § 924-a, or by such other applicable law, for each month, or portion thereof, since the levy of taxes upon such assessment roll. A processing fee of \$500 also shall be charged. The processing fee does not apply if only the STAR exemption is being renounced and either:

- the renunciation is only for the purpose of switching to the STAR credit, or
- school taxes have not yet been levied on the assessment roll on which the exemption appears.

Notification

After entering the amount owed in Part 2 of the application, the County Director shall return the application to the property owner. The Director also shall send a copy of the application to the assessor, and in the case of a STAR exemption, a copy to the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

Distribution

The property owner shall pay the total amount due to the County Treasurer no later than 15 days after the notification is mailed to the owner by the County Director. The Treasurer shall issue a payment receipt to the property owner. After deducting the \$500 processing fee (if applicable), the Treasurer shall distribute the taxes and interest owed to the affected municipal corporations, and, in the case of the STAR exemption, to the Commissioner.