
Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax 
Instructions
See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
• Business information (how to enter and update)
• Entry formats

– Dates
– Negative amounts
– Percentages
– Whole dollar amounts

• Are you claiming an overpayment?
• NAICS business code number and NYS principal business activity
• Limitation on tax credit eligibility
• Third-party designee
•	 Paid	preparer	identification	numbers
• Is your return in processible form?
• Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Electronic	filing	and	electronic	payment	mandate
• Online services
• Web File
• Form CT-200-V
• Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
• Fee for payments returned by banks
• Reporting requirements for tax shelters
• Tax shelter penalties
• Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
• Your rights under the Tax Law
• Need help?
•	 Privacy	notification

General information
All citations are to New York State Tax Law sections unless 
specifically	noted	otherwise.

Who must file
New York C corporations subject to tax under Article 9-A or 
Article 33, and corporations subject to tax under Article 9, §§184, 
186-a, and 186-e, whose second preceding year’s franchise, 
excise, or gross receipts tax after credits exceeds $1,000 must use 
this	form	or	file	online	to	satisfy	their	mandatory	first	installment	
(MFI)	of	estimated	tax	for	the	upcoming	tax	year.	If	the	second	
preceding year’s tax after credits exceeds $1,000 and the 
corporation is subject to the metropolitan transportation business 
tax (MTA surcharge), an MFI of estimated MTA surcharge is also 
required.	When	you	meet	the	above	requirements,	you	must	file	
Form	CT-300.

New York S corporations:	Do	not	file	this	form.	(§§197-b,	213-b,	
and 1514(f))

Note: If you do not have a second preceding tax year because 
a	return	was	not	required	to	be	filed,	then	you	are	not	required	
to	make	an	MFI	of	estimated	tax.	Do	not	file	this	form.	You	must	
still make a declaration of estimated tax, and pay the remaining 
installments of estimated franchise tax and MTA surcharge online or 
using Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations.	

When to file
The MFI for the franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax and MTA 
surcharge is due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month of 

the	tax	year.	For	example,	the	MFI	for	calendar	year	2024	is	due	
March	15,	2024,	with	Form	CT-300.

 Web File
 You can Web File Form CT-300 at www.tax.ny.gov. To get started,  
	log	in	to	your	Online	Services	account	(or	create	one).	From	the		 	
 Services menu, under Corporation tax, select Make estimated or   
 MFI payment. You can pay directly from your bank account or by   
	ACH	credit.

	Benefits	include:
• automatic calculation of amounts due
• scheduled payments (up to the due date)
•	 instant	filing	confirmation

Where to file
File and pay through your Online Services account at 
www.tax.ny.gov or mail Form CT-300 and payment to:

 NYS ESTIMATED CORPORATION TAX
PO BOX 15200
ALBANY NY 12212-5200

Private delivery services – See Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services.

Computation of MFI 
If the second preceding year’s franchise, excise, or gross receipts 
tax after credits exceeds $1,000, but does not exceed $100,000, you 
must	pay	25%	of	that	tax.	If	the	second	preceding	year’s	tax	after	
credits	exceeds	$100,000,	you	must	pay	40%	of	that	tax.

MTA surcharge –	A	first	installment	equal	to	25%	of	the	second	
preceding year’s MTA surcharge is also required if your second 
preceding year’s franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax after credits 
is	more	than	$1,000	and	you	are	subject	to	the	MTA	surcharge.	A	
first	installment	equal	to	40%	of	the	second	preceding	year’s	MTA	
surcharge is required if the second preceding year’s tax after credits 
exceeds	$100,000.

Authorized life insurance companies: If the second preceding 
year’s tax after credits exceeds $1,000, you must pay 40% of that 
tax amount and of the second preceding year’s MTA surcharge, if 
applicable.

Specific instructions
Enter your business information in the appropriate spaces provided 
on	the	form.	You	may	obtain	the	file	number	and	return	type	(form	
number) from your last New York State franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts tax return, you should enter the state franchise, excise, or 
gross	receipts	 tax	return	form	number	you	expect	to	file,	if	different.	
Do not enter slashes or dashes when entering the form number 
in the Return type	 box.	Enter	the	month,	day,	and	4-digit	year	
(in mm-dd-yyyy format) that your tax year begins and ends in the 
Beginning and Ending boxes under Tax year.

Note: To avoid delays in processing, you must enter a form number 
in the Return type	box.

Line instructions
Line A – Make your check or money order payable in United States 
funds.	We	will	accept	a	foreign	check	or	foreign	money	order	only	if	
payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. 
funds.
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Lines 1 and 3 – Enter the total tax after credits for the second 
preceding tax year; enter the amount for franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts	tax	on	line	1	and	for	the	MTA	surcharge	on	line	3.	

Lines 2 and 4 – If line 1 exceeds $1,000, but does not exceed 
$100,000,	multiply	line	1	and	line	3	by	25%	(.25).	If	line	1	exceeded	
$100,000,	multiply	line	1	and	line	3	by	40%	(.40).	Authorized life 
insurance corporations:	Always	multiply	by	40%	(.40).

CT-186-E filers: Use	the	worksheet	below	to	compute	your	MFI.

Line 5 – Line 5 is available as an option to satisfy the payment of 
the MFI of estimated tax by using overpayments from prior periods 
instead	of	remitting	additional	money.	You	are	not	required to apply 
overpayments	to	MFI.

If you choose to apply overpayments to MFI, include the total 
amount of all the overpayments you anticipate computing on the tax 
return	you	will	file	after	you	file	Form	CT-300.	Do not enter only an 
amount sufficient to satisfy your MFI amount due.

Note: The Tax Department applies all corporation tax payments to 
satisfy	the	earliest	tax	liability	first.	For	example,	the	application	of	
funds	may	differ	if	the	final	tax	due	computed	for	tax	year	2023	does	
not produce the amount of overpayment you applied toward your tax 
year	2024	MFI	payment.	Amounts	used	on	Form	CT-300	for	2024	
MFI purposes could be redirected or reduced to satisfy your tax 
year	2023	liability.	In	such	instances,	you	may	incur	penalties	and	
interest.

If you have any uncertainty about the available amount of 
overpayment that could be applied to the MFI, you should satisfy the 
MFI for tax year 2024 with a payment of new funds and disregard 
line	5.

Line 8 – Line 8 shows the amount of overpayment you estimate you 
will	have	after	applying	some	portion	to	your	MFI.

Even though Form CT-300 is due one month before the due date 
of the return for the preceding tax year, you are allowed to apply an 
overpayment	of	tax	that	you	expect	to	compute	when	you	file	your	
preceding	tax	year	return.

Example: A calendar-year filer is filing Form CT-300 by 
March 15, 2024, to make the MFI payment for 2024. The filer 
reasonably believes that when filing its 2023 return, due on 
April 15, 2024, it will have an overpayment for 2023. When filing 
Form CT-300, the taxpayer is allowed to include on line 5 the 2023 
overpayment as partial or full payment of the 2024 MFI requirement, 
even though the 2023 return has not yet been filed.

You must take into account the amount of overpayment that you 
applied to the MFI on Form CT-300 to determine the overpayment 
amount, or the balance due amount, on the return due one month 
later.	The	tax	return	and	instructions	contain	guidance	on	how	to	
account	for	this	application	of	overpayment.

 A Enter the total excise tax on telecommunication services from your 2nd preceding tax year’s  
   Form CT-186-E, line 1c 	...................................................................................................................  A
 B If line A is $1,000 or less, enter 0.	If	line	A	is	more	than	$1,000	but	not	more	than	$100,000,	enter	 
	 	 	 25%	(.25)	of	line	A.	If	line	A	is	over	$100,000,	enter	40%	(.40)	of	line	A.		........................................  B
 C Enter the tax due on gross income from your 2nd preceding tax year’s Form CT-186-E, line 2 	........  C
 D If line C is $1,000 or less, enter 0.	If	line	C	is	more	than	$1,000	but	not	more	than	$100,000,	enter	 
	 	 	 25%	(.25)	of	line	C.	If	line	C	is	over	$100,000,	enter	40%	(.40)	of	line	C.		.......................................  D
 E Add lines B and D; enter the result here and on Form CT-300, line 2, column A 	................................  E
 F Enter the total MTA surcharge related to telecommunication services from your second preceding  
   tax year’s Form CT-186-E, line 4c 	...................................................................................................  F 
 G If line A is $1,000 or less, enter 0.	If	line	A	is	more	than	$1,000	but	not	more	than	$100,000,	enter	 
	 	 	 25%	(.25)	of	line	F.	If	line	A	is	over	$100,000,	enter	40%	(.40)	of	line	F.		.........................................  G
 H Enter the total MTA surcharge on gross income from your second preceding tax year’s  
   Form CT-186-E, line 5 	.....................................................................................................................  H 
 I If line C is $1,000 or less, enter 0.	If	line	C	is	more	than	$1,000	but	not	more	than	$100,000,	enter	 
	 	 	 25%	(.25)	of	line	H.	If	line	C	is	over	$100,000,	enter	40%	(.40)	of	line	H.		.......................................  I
 J Add lines G and I; enter the result here and on Form CT-300, line 4, column B .................................  J

Form CT-186-E filers’ MFI worksheet


