New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form IT-214
Claim for Real Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters

IT-214-|

Real property tax credit

If your household gross income was $18,000
or less, you may be entitled to a credit on your
New York State income tax return for part of
the real property taxes or rent you paid during
2001. If you do not have to file a return, you
can file for a refund of the credit by using
Form IT-214 only.

Who qualifies

Homeowners — To qualify for the real
property tax credit, you have to meet all of
these conditions for the tax year 2001:

— your household gross income was $18,000
or less;

— you occupied the same New York
residence for six months or more;

— you or your spouse paid real property taxes
on your residence;

— you were a New York State resident for all
of 2001;

— you could not be claimed as a dependent
on another taxpayer’s federal income tax
return;

— your residence was not completely
exempted from real property taxes;

— the current market value of all real property
(house(s), garage(s), land, etc.) you owned
was $85,000 or less;

— any rent you received for nonresidential
use of your residence was 20% or less of
the total rent you received.

Renters — To qualify for the real property tax
credit, you have to meet all of these conditions
for the tax year 2001:

— your household gross income was $18,000
or less;

— you occupied the same New York
residence for six months or more;

— you or your spouse paid rent for your
residence;

— you were a New York State resident for all
of 2001;

— you could not be claimed as a dependent
on another taxpayer’s federal income tax
return;

— your residence was not completely
exempted from real property taxes;

— the current market value of all real property
(house(s), garage(s), land, etc.) you owned
was $85,000 or less;

— the average monthly rent you and other
members of your household paid was $450
or less, not counting charges for heat, gas,
electricity, furnishings, or board.

If you meet all of these conditions as a
homeowner or renter, you are a qualified
taxpayer and may be entitled to the real
property tax credit.

You cannot file a real property tax credit
claim form for a taxpayer who has died.

Definitions

Members of your household include all who
share your residence and its furnishings,
facilities and accommodations whether they
are related to you or not.

However, tenants, subtenants, roomers, or
boarders are not members of your household
unless they are related to you in one of the
following ways:

— a son, daughter, or a descendent of either;
— a stepson or stepdaughter;

— a brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister;
— a father, mother, or an ancestor of either;

— a stepfather or stepmother;

— a niece or nephew;

— an aunt or uncle;

— a son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law,
mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or
sister-in-law.

No one can be a member of more than one

household at one time.

Household gross income is the annual total
of the following income items that you and all
members of your household received during
2001:

— Federal adjusted gross income (even if you
don't have to file a federal return).

— New York State additions to federal
adjusted gross income. For a list of these
additions, see Publication 22, General
Information on New York State’s Real
Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and
Renters, or the instructions for
Form IT-201. For Form IT-200 filers, the
New York State additions to federal
adjusted gross income are shown on
Form IT-200, line 9, Public employee
414(h) retirement contributions and line 10,
IRC 125 amounts from the New York City
flexible benefits program. See the
instructions for Form IT-200.

— Support money, including foster care
support payments.

— Income earned abroad exempted by
section 911 of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC).

— Supplemental security income (SSI)
payments.

— Nontaxable interest received from
New York State, its agencies,
instrumentalities, public corporations or
political subdivisions.

— Workers’ compensation.

— The gross amount of loss-of-time
insurance. (For example, an accident or
health insurance policy and disability
benefits received under a “no-fault”
automobile policy, etc.).

— Cash public assistance and relief, other
than medical assistance for the needy. (For
example, cash grants to clients, emergency
aid to adults, value of food vouchers
received by clients, etc.) Do not include
amounts received from the Home Energy
Assistance Program (HEAP).

— Nontaxable strike benefits.

— The gross amount of pensions and
annuities, including railroad retirement
benefits.

— All payments received under the Social
Security Act and veterans disability
pensions reduced by any Medicare
premiums deducted from your benefit
reported on Federal Form SSA-1099,
Social Security Benefit Statement.

Household gross income does not include
food stamps, medicare, medicaid,
scholarships, grants, surplus food, or other
relief in kind. It also does not include
payments made to veterans under the Federal
Veterans’ Dioxin and Radiation Exposure
Compensation Standards Act because of
exposure to herbicides containing dioxin
(agent orange), or pursuant to certain agent
orange product liability litigation.

Also, household gross income does not
include payments made to individuals because
of their status as victims of Nazi persecution
as defined in federal Public Law 103-286.

A residence is a dwelling that you own or rent,
and up to one acre of land around it. It must
be located in New York State. If your
residence is on more than one acre of land,
only the amount of real property taxes or rent
paid that applies to the residence and only one
acre around it may be used to figure the credit.
(If you do not know how much rent or real
property tax you paid for the one acre
surrounding your residence, contact your local
assessor.) Each residence within a multiple
dwelling unit may qualify. A condominium, a
cooperative, or a rental unit within a single
dwelling is also a residence.

A trailer or mobile home that is used only for
residential purposes is also a residence.

Real property taxes paid are all current,
prior, and prepaid real property taxes, special
ad valorem levies and assessments levied and
paid upon a residence owned or previously
owned by a qualified taxpayer (or spouse, if
the spouse occupied the residence for at least
six months) during the tax year. You may elect
to include real property taxes that are
exempted from tax under section 467 (for
persons 65 and older) of the Real Property Tax
Law (veterans’ tax exemption does not
qualify). If you do not know this amount,
contact your local assessor.

Real property taxes paid also include any real
estate taxes allowed (or which would be
allowable if the taxpayer had filed a return on
a cash basis) as a deduction for
tenant-stockholders in a cooperative housing
corporation under section 216 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

If any part of your residence was owned by
someone who was not a member of your
household, include only the real property taxes
paid that apply to the part you and other
qualified members of your household own.

If your residence was part of a larger unit,
include only the amount of real property taxes
paid that can be reasonably applied to your
residence.

If you owned and occupied more than one
residence during the tax year, add together the
prorated part of real property taxes paid for
the period you occupied each residence.

Rent constituting real property taxes paid
is 25% of the adjusted rent paid on a
New York residence during the tax year.

Adjusted rent is the rent paid after
subtracting any charges for heat, gas,
electricity, furnishings, or board. If these
charges are not separately stated, complete
lines 23 through 26 of Form IT-214 to figure
25% of adjusted rent. Do not include any
subsidized part of your rental charge in
adjusted rent.

If any part of your residence was rented by
someone who was not a member of your
household, include in line 23 of Form 1T-214
only the amount of rent you and members of
your household paid.

If you moved from one rented residence to
another rented residence during the tax year,
add 25% of adjusted rent paid for each
residence.
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Which form to file

To claim the real property tax credit, complete
Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property Tax
Credit, and attach it to Form IT-200 or

Form IT-201. (You cannot claim this credit on
Fast Form IT-100.) If neither you nor your
spouse has to file a New York return, but you
qualify to claim the credit, just file Form IT-214
to claim your refundable credit.

If you are filing or have filed an original

Form IT-214 without attaching it to a return,
such as Form IT-200, please enter your
daytime telephone number including the
area code. This voluntary entry will enable the
Tax Department to correct minor errors or
omissions by calling you rather than writing or
sending back your Form IT-214. You are not
required to give your telephone number.

To file an amended Form IT-214, get a blank
Form IT-214 for the tax year involved, and
write Amended at the top of the form.
Complete the form by entering the corrected
information.

If more than one member of your household
qualifies for the credit, each must file a
separate Form IT-214. See the line 17
instructions for division of the credit. However,
if you are married and filing a joint tax return,
you must file a joint claim on Form IT-214.

When to file

If you are filing a New York State income tax
return, attach Form IT-214 to it. File your
New York State income tax return as soon as
you can after January 1, 2002, but not later
than April 15, 2002. If you live in the state of
New York (except the city of New York and the
counties of Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and
Westchester), Connecticut, Maine,
Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode
Island, or Vermont, the deadline is April 16,
2002.

If you don't have to file a New York State
income tax return, file Form 1T-214 as soon as
you can after January 1, 2002.

If you filed a New York State resident income
tax return without claiming the real property
tax credit, you may still be able to claim the
credit. To claim the credit for tax year 2001, file
Form IT-214 as soon as you can, but no later
than April 15, 2005.

Filing Form IT-214 for past years

If you did not file Form IT-214 for previous
years, you may still be able to receive a real
property tax credit for those years. To see if
there is still time for you to file Form IT-214,
see the table below:

Year Last date to file
1998 April 15, 2002
1999 April 15, 2003
2000 April 16, 2004
Need help?

E Telephone assistance is available from
8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time),
Monday through Friday.

Tax information: 1 800 225-5829

Forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Refund status: Access our Web site or call
1 800 443-3200;
if electronically filed: 1 800 353-0708;
direct deposit refunds: 1 800 321-3213
Automated service for refund status is available
24 hours a day, seven days a week.

From outside the U.S. and outside Canada:
(518) 485-6800

Fax-on-demand forms (available 24 hours a day,
seven days a week): 1 800 748-3676

Hearing and speech impaired
telecommunications device for the
deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110
(8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., eastern time)

Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us
= Estimated tax: Access our Web site to check
your balance and reconcile your account.

3

G\ Persons with disabilities: In compliance
with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we

will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting

rooms, and other facilities are accessible to

persons with disabilities. If you have questions

about special accommodations for persons with

disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

’@J If you need to write, address your letter

to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Line instructions

You must enter your social security
number(s) in the boxes to the right of the
peel-off label. Be sure your social security
numbers are in the same order as your
names. Do not enter information in the spaces
of the address, the county of residence, the
school district name, or school district code
number boxes if all the information on the
peel-off label is correct.

If you do not have a peel-off label, print or type
the information requested in the name and
address box at the top of the front. Enter your
name, address, social security number, and
county of residence as of December 31, 2001.
Married taxpayers enter both social security
numbers. On the bottom line of the name and
address box, enter the address of the

New York residence that qualifies you for this
credit if it is different from your mailing
Ia_lddress. If not, enter the word same on this
ine.

Filling in your claim form

Please keep your name and address entries
within the spaces provided. For example, your
first name and middle initial should not go past
the vertical line separating them from your last
name, and your last name should start to the
right of the vertical line. Similarly, your mailing
address, ZIP code, etc., should be kept within
the boxes provided.

Form IT-214 has been designed to let us use
the latest scanning and image-processing
equipment. Rectangular boxes and white entry
areas have been printed on the form to guide
you in making your handwritten entries. This
will enable our scanning equipment to more
accurately read your return and let us process
it more efficiently. Please spend a moment
reviewing the method below for making your
entries:

— Please print (using a blue or black ballpoint
pen; no pencils, please) or type all X marks
and money amounts in the boxes or spaces
provided.

— Do not use dollar signs, commas, decimal
points, dashes, or any other punctuation
marks or symbols. All necessary
punctuation has been printed on the form.

— Write your numerals like this:

213145lL[7[8[10] ¥

— Carefully enter your money amounts so
that the whole dollar amount ends
immediately to the left of the cents
decimal, and the cents amount starts
immediately to the right of the cents
decimal.

— Make your money amount entries in the
white areas allowing one numeral for each
box.

Example: If your entry for line 10 is $3,525.50,
your money field entry should look like this:

el 36125(510

— Leave blank any spaces and boxes that do
not apply to you.

Line 5

If you were a resident of a nursing home or if
your residence was completely exempted from
property taxes in 2001, check the Yes box. If
not, check the No box.

Generally, residents of nursing homes do not
qualify for this credit since they are all
considered to be members of one household
which usually exceeds the household gross
income level of $18,000 and the average
monthly rent level of $450. If you are a
resident of a nursing home and you check the
Yes box, do not file Form IT-214 unless you
attach a statement explaining how your
household does not exceed these two
limitations.

Residents of housing facilities that are
completely exempt from paying real property
taxes do not qualify for this credit. Some
examples include, but are not limited to,
residents of public housing projects and senior
citizen homes. Find out if your residence is
completely exempt from paying real property
taxes by asking the management of your
housing facility. If you check the Yes box on
line 5, do not file Form IT-214.

Line 6

Enter the number of members of your
household, including yourself, who are filing a
Form IT-214 for 2001. Count a joint claim filed
by husband and wife as one Form IT-214. See
the instructions for line 17 if more than one
member of your household is filing

Form IT-214.

Line 7

Among other conditions (see Who qualifies), a
household member 65 or older must have paid
real property taxes or rent to qualify for this
credit. If you checked the Yes box on line 7,
indicating that you or a member of your
household was 65 or older on January 1,
2002, enter the social security number of that
person in the box Qualifying social security
number. Enter same if it is your social security
number.

Line 8

Check the appropriate box. If you owned your
residence for part of the year and rented your
residence for part of the year, check the Own
box.

Complete Schedule A or B and
Schedule C on the back of
Form IT-214 before continuing
with line 9.

Schedule A (homeowners)

Enter on lines 19 and 20 any county, city,
town, village, or school district taxes and
assessments that you and all qualified
members of your household paid during 2001.
(Do not include penalty and interest charges.)
Persons age 65 or older may enter on line 21
the amount exempted from taxation under




section 467 of the Real Property Tax Law (do
not include the veterans’ tax exemption or the
STAR exemption). However, if you choose to
make an entry on line 21, your credit, before
limitation, will be only 25% (instead of 50%) of
your eligible real property taxes. You may want
to figure your credit both ways to see which
results in the greater credit. Add lines 19
through 21, and enter the total on line 22.
Transfer this amount to line 10 on the front of
Form IT-214.

Schedule B (renters)

Enter on line 23 the total rent you and all
members of your household paid during 2001;
do not include any subsidized part of your
rental charge. Figure the amounts to be
entered on lines 24, 25, and 26. Transfer the
amount on line 26 to line 10, on the front of
Form IT-214.

If the monthly average of your adjusted
rent (line 25) was more than $450, stop;
you do not qualify for this credit.

%chedule C

(homeowners and renters)

List the name, social security number, and
year of birth of everyone, including yourself,
who lived in your household in 2001. If you
need more space, list additional names on a
separate sheet and attach it to Form IT-214.
Enter in the boxes on line 27 the total number
of household members.

Figure your household gross income by
completing lines 28 through 35.

Enter on line 28 the total federal adjusted
gross income of you and all members of your
household. If you or any members of your
household do not have to file a federal return,
include the amount that would be included in
federal adjusted gross income if a federal
return had been required.

Enter on line 29 the total additions to federal
adjusted gross income required by

section 612(b) of the Tax Law. For a list of
these additions, see Publication 22, General
Information on New York State’s Real Property
Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters, or
the instructions for Form IT-201. For

Form IT-200 filers, the New York State
additions to federal adjusted gross income are
shown on Form IT-200, line 9, Public
employee 414(h) retirement contributions and
line 10, IRC 125 amounts from the New York
City flexible benefits program. See instructions
for Form IT-200. Include the total of these
additions that apply to you and all members of
your household, even if a New York State
income tax return is not required.

Enter on lines 30 through 34 the total of each
type of income you and all members of your
household received during 2001 that was not
included on lines 28 and 29.

If someone was a member of your household
for only part of the tax year, include on lines 28
through 34 the income he or she received
while a member of your household.

Add lines 28 through 34, and enter the total on
line 35. Round this amount to the nearest
whole dollar, and transfer it to line 11 on the
front of Form IT-214. If this amount is more
tha8.$18,000, stop; you do not qualify for this
credit.

Line 9

If you qualify for an exemption from taxation
under section 467 of the Real Property Tax
Law and elect to enter this exemption on
line 21, check the Yes box. If not, check the
No box.

Line 10

Real property taxes paid or 25% of
adjusted rent paid

If you owned your residence for all of 2001,
enter your real property taxes paid (line 22) on
line 10.

If you rented your residence for all of 2001,
enter 25% of your adjusted rent paid (line 26)
on line 10.

If you owned your residence for part of the

tax year and rented your residence for part
of the tax year, add 25% of your adjusted rent
paid (from Schedule B) to the prorated part of

any charges you list on Schedule A. Enter the

total on line 10.

Line 15

If you entered on line 21 any amount of taxes
not paid due to the exemption for persons 65
or older (section 467 of the Real Property Tax
Law), figure 25% of line 14, and enter the
result on line 15. If you did not make an entry
on line 21, figure 50% of line 14, and enter the
result on line 15.

Line 16
Credit limitation

Using the following table, find your credit
limitation according to the amount of your
household gross income (line 11) and the age
of qualified household members (line 7). Be
careful to select your limitation from the proper
column.

If the And you checked

amount on Yes on line 7, No on line 7,
line 11 is: enter on line 16: enter on line 16:
$* 0to 1,000 $375 $75
1,001to 2,000 358 73
2,001to 3,000 341 71
3,001to 4,000 324 69
4,001to 5,000 307 67
5,001to 6,000 290 65
6,001to 7,000 273 63
7,001to 8,000 256 61
8,001to 9,000 239 59
9,001 to 10,000 222 57
10,001to 11,000 205 55
11,001 to 12,000 188 53
12,001to0 13,000 171 51
13,001to 14,000 154 49
14,001t0 15,000 137 47
15,001t0 16,000 120 45
16,001t0 17,000 103 43
17,001to 18,000 86 41
*This may include a negative amount.
Line 17

Real property tax credit

The real property tax credit for your household
is the amount on line 15 or line 16 - whichever
is less. Enter the lesser amount on line 17.

If more than one member of your household is
filing Form 1T-214, divide the line 17 amount
equally among all filers. You can divide the
line 17 amount any way you want if you each
agree to the amount of your share and attach
a copy of the agreement to your Form IT-214.
Enter only your share of the line 17 amount on
your Form IT-214 (and on your return if you
have to file one).

If you are married and filing a joint

Form IT-214, you do not have to divide the
credit. However, if you do not want to apply
your share of a credit to a debt owed by your
spouse, you must also file Form IT-280,
Nonobligated Spouse Allocation (see
Collection of debts from your refund and
Disclaiming of spouse’s debt on the next
page).

If you are filing a 2001 New York State
income tax return, transfer your line 17
amount to Form IT-200, line 37 or

Form IT-201, line 60.
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Your credit will be subtracted from the amount
of tax you owe. Any amount over the tax you
owe will be refunded to you.

Sign Form IT-214 and attach it to the return
you are filing.

If you pay someone to prepare Form IT-214,
the paid preparer must also sign it and fill in
the other blanks in the paid preparer’s area. If
someone prepares Form IT-214 for you and
does not charge you, that person should not
sign it.

Line 18
Authorization for paid preparer

If you want to authorize the Tax Department to
discuss this return with the paid preparer listed
at the bottom of your Form IT-214, mark an X
in the Yes box. If you do not want to authorize
the Tax Department to discuss your return with
that paid preparer, mark an X in the No box.

By marking an X in the Yes box (and only the
Yes box), you authorize the paid preparer or
other employees of a designated tax return
preparer firm to receive confidential
information from the Tax Department relevant
to this return. This does not provide a paid
preparer with authority to make any binding
commitments on your behalf with the Tax
Department.

If you want to designate an individual to
represent you or otherwise act on your behalf,
such as by executing waivers, consents, or
closing agreements, you must file

Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that
designation with the Tax Department.

Copies of statutory tax notices or documents
(such as Notice of Deficiency) will not be sent
to paid preparers. If you want copies of
statutory tax documents sent to a
representative, you must file Form POA-1.

Note to paid preparers — When signing a
taxpayer’s New York State income tax return,
you must use the same number (social
security number or federal preparers tax
identification number) that you use when
preparing federal income tax returns.

Failure of paid preparers to conform to
certain requirements - A penalty of $50 per
return or claim for refund will be assessed a
paid preparer for failure to comply with any of
the following requirements:

— failure to sign the tax return or claim for
refund;

— failure to include the identifying number of
the paid preparer (if an individual paid
preparer is an employee of an employer or
a partner in a partnership that is a paid
preparer, the return or claim for refund
must also include the identifying number of
the employer or partnership);

— failure to furnish a completed copy of the
tax return or claim for a refund to the
taxpayer not later than the time the return
is presented for the taxpayer’s signature;

— failure to keep a completed copy of the
return or claim for refund prepared for each
taxpayer or to keep the name and
identification number of each taxpayer for
whom a return or claim for refund was
prepared on a list and to make the copy or
list available for inspection upon request.

The period for keeping a completed copy of
the return or information on the list is

three years after the due date of the return
(without regard to extensions) or three years
after the date the return was presented to the
taxpayer for signature, whichever is later. The
period for keeping a completed copy of a claim
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for refund is three years from the time the
claim for refund was presented to the taxpayer
for signature.

For each of the requirements listed, a paid
preparer may be subject to a maximum
penalty of $25,000.

If you are not filing a 2001 New York State
income tax return, sign and date Form IT-214
and mail it to:

STATE PROCESSING CENTER

PO BOX 61000

ALBANY NY 12261-0001

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery
service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to
file your return. However, if, at a later date,
you need to establish the date you filed your
return, you cannot use the date recorded by a
private delivery service unless you used a
delivery service that has been designated by
the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.
(Currently designated delivery services are
listed in Publication 55, Designated Private
Delivery Services. See Need help? on page 2
of these instructions for information on
ordering forms and publications.) If you use
any private delivery service, whether it is a
designated service or not, address your return
to: State Processing Center,

431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

a Direct Deposit

Complete lines 36a through 36c¢ if you want us
to deposit your real property tax credit directly
into your bank account instead of sending you
a check. Do not complete these lines if you
are filing Form 1T-214 with your New York
State income tax return. Instead, complete the
lines for direct deposit on the return that you
are filing.

You can contact your financial institution to
make sure your deposit will be accepted and
to get your correct routing and account
numbers.

Line 36a

Enter your 9 digit routing number. If the first
two digits are not 01 through 12, or 21 through
32, the direct deposit will be rejected and a
check sent instead. On the sample check on
this page, the routing number is 090090099.

Your check may state that it is payable through
a bank different from the one where you have
your checking account. If so, do not use the
routing number on that check. Instead, contact
your bank for the correct routing number to
enter on this line.

Line 36b

Check the box for the type of account,
checking or savings.

Line 36¢

Enter the account number where you want
your real property tax credit deposited. If you
selected Checking on line 36b, enter the
account number shown on your checks. (On
the sample check on this page, the account
number is 1357902468. Be sure not to include
the check number.) If you chose Savings on
line 36b, you can get your savings account
number from a preprinted savings account
deposit slip, your passbook or other bank
records, or from your financial institution. The
account number can be up to 17 characters
(both numbers and letters). Include hyphens

but omit spaces and special symbols. Enter
the number from left to right and leave any
unused boxes blank.

The department will not notify you that your
refund of your real property tax credit has
been deposited. However, if the amount we
deposit is different from the amount of real
property tax credit you claimed on your
Form 1T-214, we will send you a written
explanation of the adjustment within

two weeks from the date your refund of your
real property tax credit is deposited.

We will make every effort to comply with your
request for direct deposit. However, we cannot
be responsible when a bank refuses a direct
deposit. Some financial institutions, for
example, do not allow a joint credit claim to be
deposited into an individual account. If your
bank refuses the direct deposit or the deposit
cannot be made for any other reason, we will
send a check to the mailing address shown on
your return. If you encounter any problem
with the direct deposit of your claim of
your real property tax credit to your
account, call toll free 1 800 321-3213. The
processing time is approximately six to

eight weeks.

Collection of debts from your refund — We
will keep all or part of your refund if you owe
past-due support or a past-due legally
enforceable debt to the Internal Revenue
Service or a New York State agency. This
includes any state department, board, bureau,
division, commission, committee, public
authority, public benefit corporation, council,
office, or other entity performing a
governmental or proprietary function for the
state or a social services district. Any amount
over your debt will be refunded.

Disclaiming of spouse’s debt — If you are
married and you do not want to apply your part
of the refund to your spouse’s debt because
you are not liable for it, complete Form IT-280,
Nonobligated Spouse Allocation and attach it
(not a photocopy) to your original return.
We need the information on it to process your
refund as quickly as possible. Once you have
filed your return, you cannot file an amended
return to disclaim your spouse’s defaulted

student loan or past-due support liability or
past-due legally enforceable debt owed to a
state agency. (However, you will be notified if
your refund is applied against your spouse’s
defaulted student loan or past-due support or
past-due legally enforceable debt owed to a
state agency, and you did not attach

Form IT-280 to your return. You will then have
ten days from the date of notification to file
Form IT-280. This will result in a delay in your
refund and extra work for you.) For more
information, see Form 1T-280.

If you have any questions about whether you
owe a past-due legally enforceable debt to the
Internal Revenue Service or a state agency,
contact the IRS or that particular state agency.

For New York State, New York City, or Yonkers
tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554
(outside the U.S. and outside Canada call
(518) 485-6800), or write to NYS TAX
DEPARTMENT, TAX COMPLIANCE DIVISION,

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS, ALBANY NY 12227.

Make sure you receive your refund

Every year about 40,000 refund checks are
returned to the Tax Department, largely
because of mailing address problems. Many of
these checks eventually reach their owners
after this delay, but many others never do,
despite our best efforts.

You can receive your refund check without
delay. Please remember these important
points:

® Make sure you enter your social security
number(s) at the top of your return.

® We mail the refund to the address shown
on the return.

® Don’t assume that we already have your
correct address. Check it.

® Make sure the address is complete -
include c/o if necessary, and P.O. Box and
apartment numbers, if any.

® |f you're moving, notify the U.S. Postal
Service of the new address.

® |f you use a computer, make sure your
software is printing your address properly.

® Make sure everything is legible.

® |f someone else is preparing your return,
make sure they have your correct address.

JOHN SMITH
MARY SMITH

999 Maple Street
Somplace NY 10000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

1234

1 5-0000&‘

|

DOLLARS

SOME BANK
Somplace, NY 10000

For

(line 36c)

Do not include the
check number.

¢ [TTO0900T)): (3357902068 ||'].EEILI/

Note: The routing and account numbers may appear in different places on your check.

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the New York
State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of
that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset
and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud
prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other

purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of the Registration and Data Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department,
Building 8, Room 338, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the

United States and Canada, call (518) 485-6800.



