|FAQs | Privacy | Security | Contact Us|
One Stop Credentialing And Registration - International Registration Plan
About the IRP Plan
The International Registration Plan (IRP) is an optional program for licensing commercial vehicles traveling in two (2) or more IRP jurisdictions. With the exception of Alaska & Hawaii, all US states, the District of Columbia and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan are all currently members of IRP.
All commercial vehicles weighing over 26,000 lbs. (gross weight) or having three (3) or more axles regardless of weight are eligible to register.
Under IRP, an interstate carrier files an application with the jurisdiction in which he/she is based. The IRP agreement allows the base jurisdiction to collect the registration fees for the other IRP jurisdictions the carrier has requested on their application form. The base jurisdiction issues a set of plates and a cab card for each vehicle. The cab card lists all the jurisdictions and corresponding weights that the carrier has requested.
Requirements for IRP Registration in New York State
In addition to having an established place of business in New York State or a non-IRP jurisdiction, you must provide the following:
International Registration Bureau Office Information
The International Registration Bureau's (IRB) office is located in Albany, NY. All transactions involving IRP registration must be processed in their office either by mail or in person or via the internet using OSCAR.
From NYS Thruway - Take Exit 23 and proceed on 787 north to Exit 4 (Downtown Albany). Follow signs for Route 20 west, up Madison Ave. Take a right on S. Swan St. DMV is the long, five-story building on your right.
From I-87 (Northway) - Take I-90 East to I-787 south. Take Exit 3B (Rt. 20 west - Madison Ave.). Follow signs for Route 20, up Madison Ave. Take a right on S. Swan St. DMV is the long, five-story building on your right.
Supporting Documentation Listing and Agencies
Proof of payment of HUT or TMT is required for a first time registration for all vehicles previously registered in NYS and all renewals. This tax is paid to the Department of Taxation & Finance. Acceptable proofs of payment are one of the following:
A fuel tax that must be paid to travel through jurisdictions. You will receive a set of stickers to place on your vehicle after payment of this tax. You do not need to provide proof of payment of this tax at registration time.
For further information about these taxes, please write or call:
Department of Taxation & Finance
HUT or IFTA 1-518-457-5342
Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT)
Any vehicle with a registered gross weight or combined gross weight of 55,000 lbs. or more is subject to this tax. HVUT is paid directly to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for the tax period from July 1 - June 30 each year. You must show proof of payment of this tax for first time registrations (*not required on newly purchased vehicles registered within 60 days of the purchase date) and all renewal transactions. Acceptable proofs of this tax are one of the following:
* Although you are not required to show proof of payment of this tax for vehicles being registered within 60 days of purchase, you must still file the 2290 for these vehicles and pay any required tax IMMEDIATELY to avoid possible penalty and interest for not filing.
For a copy of this form go to the IRS website.
For further information about this tax, please call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 or visit them on the internet at www.irs.ustreas.gov.
Carriers transporting household goods, passengers and property for hire within New York State are required to obtain intrastate operating authority from the NYS Department of Transportation. Please refer to your IRP manual for further information on other states and provinces that require operating authority. You do not have to provide proof of operating authority at time of registration .
To request an application or for further information about NYS operating authority, please write or call:
NYS Department of Transportation
Overweight, Oversize & Special Hauling Permits
Overweight permits must be obtained from the appropriate regulatory agencies if you want to register at a weight higher than the allowable weight for a jurisdiction. Please refer to your IRP manual for further details. If you want to register a tractor in New York at a weight that exceeds 80,000 lbs., or a truck over the maximum weight allowed by the bridge formula, you must first obtain an overweight permit or a PERM 65. For permit forms go directly to https://www.nysdot.gov/nypermits.
For further DOT information you may visit their website or you may write or call them at:
NYS Department of Transportation
Note: If you will be driving through the New York City area, you must obtain separate permits from NYC. Please call 718-935-6000 for further information.
IRP forms are currently available on our DMV Web Page.